Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Unit 411, Fantastic Ocean View, Modern 2BR/2BA South Kihei, Beach, Pool, Surfing

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Large 2 Bedroom, 2 Full Baths Newly Remodeled With Fantastic View

Modern, fully updated spotless condo with a great view of the beach. Everything is new, from the stainless appliance package to the commercial sized washer and dryer, Egyptian cotton beach towels and super high quality linens. Two large bedrooms and two full baths. Over 1000 square feet of open, airy space.

Please feel free to call me at 360-929-0413 (Seattle time Zone) to discuss any specific needs or fees.

-great ocean view: take in the outstanding view through the wall to wall, floor to ceiling glass wall in the living room/kitchen

-completely remodeled: everything is new, including appliances, commercial washer/dryer, furniture, bedding and all utensils, right down to the Henckel knives

-great, central location: walk to shopping, dozens of restaurants, beaches, surfing, stand up paddle boarding, snorkeling and more. There are days we never use our car!

-two large bedrooms, each with a cal-king bed

-two full bathrooms, bright with new tile, granite and cabinets

-fully air conditioned, one of the few units in the building outfitted with a state of the art ductless, silent air conditioning system.

-free Wi-Fi, long distance to us and Canada, cable

-free parking

-beach toys included, snorkels sets, chairs, cooler, umbrella, thick beach towels, sand toys, boogie boards

-high quality Costco inflatable queen bed available for the kids

Every time we enter our condo, we are struck by how beautiful the view is. One wall of the living room is entirely made of glass, and the light fills the whole space. The lanai is over 16 feet wide and provides a great space to hang out, watch the waves and surfers, and enjoy the tropical weather.

Update, on 9/24/13 we installed a $9k sliding glass door unit even though the old unit functioned fine. The update is just part of our commitment to make sure our guests have a great experience. I am so happy with this change. The difference the insulated, double pane glass made was huge. Very energy efficient and so quiet. There are only 12 units in all of the building with these doors. I wouldn't stay in a unit without them.

We have furnished our condo to be modern and comfortable. You will find full sized couch and chairs, two king sized beds, tons of storage, large closets. The kitchen is outfitted with a new whirlpool appliance suite including microwave, dishwasher, self cleaning glass topped range and refrigerator with ice maker. We even have special outlets that have USB chargers built into them. The kitchen is outfitted with top quality pans, knives and small appliances.

Free WiFi, phone calls to the us and Canada. A large flat screen TV in the living room and another flat screen in one bedroom. Both have blue ray players attached.

Island surf is in a great central location. Immediately to the north is a area the locals call 'the Triangle'. It has lots of shops and scores of restaurants and night spots. Across the street is Kalama park, offering playgrounds, roller hockey, volleyball, surfing, stand up paddle boarding, kayaking and wide open spaces to play catch or just hang on the grass. You can watch your friends and family play in the surf right from the front room.

A short drive to the south puts you in the heart of Wailea with upscale dining, shopping and more wonderful beaches.

Island surf houses many great businesses. You can rent bicycles, get a manicure or spa treatment, book a scuba dive, rent surf boards, or eat a great plate lunch all without never leaving the building.

There is a pool and BBQ area on the second floor, both with ocean views.

Amenities include:

-air conditioning in ALL rooms.

-two flat screen tvs, with blue ray players

-free phone calls to the us and Canada

-free wireless internet

-beach toys including snorkel gear, Tommy Bahama beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, umbrella, coolers, sand toys

-huge washer and dryer, ironing board and iron but dryer has steam function so probably will not need to iron!

-new kitchen: dishwasher, microwave, glass topped self cleaning oven, coffee maker and grinder, blender, toaster, tea pot, rice cooker, high end knives, pots and pans.

-our on-island contact is within walking distance to the condo and will promptly attend to any issues you may encounter.

If a one bedroom could fit your needs, please look at our other unit, # 698750

This condo is licensed for vacation rentals, Hawaiian tax id w06580022-01. Beware of condo owners not providing their tax number, often they are scams or not licensed. If you are looking at a rental that does not provide their number, they are probably operating illegally. Please be careful, the state is enforcing these and you may find yourself without a place to stay when you arrive. Try googling 'nonpermitted vacation rentals target of enforcement' to see newest article on the issue.

More Details

Owner
Matt Keller
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 22, 2017

About Matt Keller

We live in the Seattle area and have been visiting Hawaii frequently for the past 15 years. After visiting different islands, we settled on Maui as the best combination of recreation and amenities. We believe you simply cannot do better than Maui. There is a reason the movie stars vacation here!

After looking at scores of condos, we snapped up our unit in the Island Surf. It had the best combination of views, layout, and location. We have found that we can park our car for days at a time and walk to everything. Our unit was dated and tired, so we launched into a full scale remodel. We love the newness of the unit now and the modern feel.

Our plan is to retire and split our time between Maui and Seattle area. Until then, we wanted to share our great location and remodeled unit with others.

We hope you enjoy Maui as much as we do.

Aloha,

Matt and Colleen Keller

Matt Keller purchased this condo in 2012

Why Matt Keller chose South Maui

We have seen Island Surf on all of our trips to Maui. In fact, we have rented surf boards on the bottom floor in the building. When a unit came for sale, we jumped at the opportunity. It has such a great location, is within walking distance to so many amenities, and the unit has great views with a open and airy feel. It also was over 1000 square feet, huge by Hawaiian standards. After looking at Island Surf for so many years, we are still in awe that we were able to buy here.

What makes this condo unique

The best benefit of Island Surf is the view. Following close behind is the size and layout of the unit, 1000 square feet with one wall entirely of glass providing a great, open feeling. Combine that with the central location and ability to walk to so many attractions and you just can't beat it.

Amenities

Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
  • 6 stories
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , Ensuite full bath; new granite/cabinets access thru bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , Full bath accessed off of hallway
  • New tile, vanities and countertops in both bathrooms. Bathrooms are open, bright and clean.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Cal-King Bed with private bath, huge closets
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Second Bedroom has Cal-King and hallway full bathroom
  • Large bedrooms each with a Cal-King bed. Each bedroom has two nightstands with storage and a 6 drawer dresser. In addition, the closets are large and provide ample space to hang all your clothes. Each bedroom has its own dedicated air conditioner unit, part of the high end split ductless system. Bedroom with on-suite bathroom also has a television.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 3 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(88 traveler reviews)

95% Complete
3% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Unit 411, Fantastic Ocean View, Modern 2BR/2BA South Kihei, Beach, Pool, Surfing
average rating of 4.943182 based on 88 reviews
5

Great property across from the beach

  • 5 of 5

Condo is very clean and well equipped with kitchen supplies, beach gear and guidebooks. The property owners are very responsive to email and helpful. There is a beach across the street. Highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Dan, Thanks again for choosing us for your vacation. We try and equip our unit with kitchen, beach and other supplies in a manner that exceeds expectations. I'm glad it had a positive impact on your vacation. We love the beach across the street also, it's called Ili Ili beach and is hidden, most locals don't even know it's there...that's why you often have it to yourself. And, it's only a 4 minute walk! Looking forward to having you back! Mahalo, Matt and Colleen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland, Oregon
5

Everything is Here!

  • 5 of 5

This unit has everything we needed for our fantastic vacation on Maui! The furnishings and finishes were clean and comfortable, and the whole place has a modern, updated vibe. The wall of windows were of such high quality that the street noise was completely blocked out, making the unit quiet when we wanted that. The a/c units in the various parts of the house really worked well, so sleeping was very comfortable (plus, the beds are really comfortable!). We loved having chairs, snorkel gear, coolers, boogie boards, a big beach umbrella and beach towels all provided for us, so we didn't have to worry about a thing when headed to the beach. The location is right across the street from a park with beach access just steps away. There are restaurants and shops close by too, making this a great location for walking. The kitchen had plenty of little extras, as well, and it was very well stocked with all of the necessities. We would love to stay here again if we get to come back someday! Matt was friendly and responsive to all of our questions and made the whole experience very pleasant. Thank you, Matt and Colleen!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Kim, Thanks for your kind review and for staying with us. I'm glad the unit lived up to your expectations and that you would like to return. Hopefully we will see you again, sooner rather than later! Mahalo, Matt and Colleen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
highland
5

Great location...veru nice condo..we have reserved it already for next year.

  • 5 of 5

The reason why we rated this a five-star condo is for several reasons number one the owners are extremely easy to deal with very responsive and willing to work with me. And the condo itself is extremely clean equipped and with everything you would need as well as ice chest big and small , chairs for the beach , beach towels ,snorkels , boogie boards , noodles everything you could think of to use for the beach. We have stayed at several places in Maui and this our 10th trip to Maui and I have to say has been one of our favorite trips mainly due to the location and just how nice the condo is we've already made reservations for next year we look forward to coming back and staying in 411 again.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean updated condo with great location from beaches and restaurants.

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Matt and Colleen for sharing your beautiful condo to our family. We had an awesome time in Maui. The condo is very well kept from good quality bedding to appliances. Matt and Colleen equipped their condo with useful beach gears and supplies to make your stay really comfortable.

I really appreciated the thorough instructions and emails with informations about the condos and tips about beaches and restaurants.

We will definitely recommend the condo to our friends and families. We would definitely stay here again our next trip to Maui.

Thank you so much Matt for being so accommodating to our family.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Mylinh and Family, Thanks so much for staying with us. I am always so glad to hear when families want to come back to our unit or are recommending it to their family/friends. We try and keep top of the line linens and bedding, I think the small things make a difference and it sounds like they did to you. Looking forward to hosting you again! Mahalo, Matt and Colleen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Highland, MI
3

Clean and well stocked but not exactly what I expected.

  • 3 of 5

Let me start by saying the condo is beautiful. But when we initially pulled up to the building we thought we had been swindled. The outside of the building was average, at best.

We entered the unit and were pleasantly surprised at how beautiful it was. Bedrooms were spacious. It was certainly well stocked. But here are the things that let me down. Both bedrooms face the parking lot. No opening the windows for an ocean breeze or view there. Actually no opening the windows at all in the bedrooms. The view from the family room was exactly like pictured. I'm not sure how I missed all the power lines. Uggggh. And it's on a busy road across from the beach. So if you leave the door wall open you hear morning tourists at the surf shop next door or cars driving by. No way you could hear a wave at all. I should have looked closer. The final bummer is that we found about 4 bugs over the course of our 6 days. We didn't keep food around. My youngest slept on the floor the first couple days until that happened. It was a bummer. Other than those couple of things our family of five had a great time. Unfortunately not having a master bedroom view of the ocean and to not hear the ocean were two deal breakers for a return trip for us. I should have caught that and not Matt's fault. So keep that in mind as you read this.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Jennifer, Thanks for staying with us. I'm glad you had a good time and that you consider the condo beautiful. I wish you had called me regarding not being able to open the bedroom windows. Both bedroom windows have latches and open on both ends to provide a great breeze. We love the location of the condo in the center of so much activity, and often sit on the lanai and have coffee while listening to the city wake up. There's no way to provide such a great, central location without some urban noise. I've stayed at places that have views from every window and the only sound is waves crashing. Those are fun units, however, they are several times the cost of our unit. It sounds like you had a great vacation and that's what Maui is all about, I'm glad you and your family enjoyed the island. Mahalo, Matt and Colleen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful condo

  • 5 of 5

This unit is superbly appointed with all the comforts of home and then some. Super clean and quiet (even the airconditioners) nicely decorated, comfortable beds and pillows, modern high quality appliances and a pretty ocean view to top it all off. The building itself is not much to look at, so stepping into the condo felt like walking into an oasis of comfort. It it is stocked with helpful supplies so no worries if you forgot something, even a nice selection of games, films and books. A lovely condo in a great location; centrally located for accessing all of Maui but not right in a high-density/commercial area. Matt the owner was super helpful and attentive. Very pleasant experience.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Linda: Thanks for staying with us and for the great review. I'm so glad the unit worked well for your family and that the " modern, high quality" appointments added to your vacation. We try and keep everything on the newer side in our unit, from furniture to linens. Glad you felt the condo provided a very pleasant experience, looking forward to hosting you again. Mahalo, Matt and Colleen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Kahului Airport, code OGG
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
The Triangle
Nearest Ferry
18 Miles
Lahaina
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Piilani highway
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
The Triangle
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Cove park

Fantastic central location. This is a great launching point for exploring all of Maui, or park the car and you are within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and lots of beach activities

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning Fee $135
Tax Rate 14.42%

Contact owner for long term stay discounts and repeat stay discounts.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.