check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Sea-theme Charmer 4BR $3800 wkly; Weeks avail beginning July 2017!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
7 nights

About the property

4 BR-2 Bath, [Strict/Max.8 guests] No smoking. No pets.

The sunny yellow Mermaid House features a lovely beach theme decor. 4 BR, 2 full baths. Market/deli-just around the corner, pizza and 3 restaurants within 1 block. 2 zone Central Air. Washer/Dryer. Porch, Deck, Patio & fenced yard. Private Parking + ample free street parking. Safe, quiet neighborhood. At night, hear the surf from the deck. Walk to ocean 8 blocks-BROADWAY BEACH; which has outdoor café, restrooms, & sand showers.


Owner
Barbara Morgan
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 31, 2016

About Barbara Morgan

Owners purchased this 1905 historic home as a private family retreat, and began sharing it as THE MERMAID HOUSE the summer of 2012.

Barbara Morgan purchased this house in 2006

Why Barbara Morgan chose Cape May

Walk to beach (8 block stroll) + many neighborhood amenities within 1-4 block area: deli-market, gourmet cheese, health food store, CVS drug store, casual eateries; ice cream shop, taco restaurant, pizza, empanada eatery, coffee cafe, antiques & other shops, & restaurants. Great location.

What makes this house unique

Fabulous wrap around wicker filled front porch & a rear deck and patio for lazing and grilling.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

Sea-theme Charmer 4BR $3800 wkly; Weeks avail beginning July 2017!
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 11 reviews
5

Mermaid House is lovely

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed staying in the beautiful, tasteful and comfortable Mermaid House. It was walk-able to the beach and shops, very clean, charming and had all the conveniences we required. The owner, Barbara was responsive, helpful and very pleasant to communicate with.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lovely guests, hope you come again! Thank you for leaving the house in such nice condition.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The Perfect Spot close to all

  • 5 of 5

I love the MERMAID HOUSE. This is the second time my family and I stayed here because of the owner's attention to detail, cleanliness and beach style decor. It truly feels like a retreat. Everything you think you need you find in this fully-equipped home. Staying for just a couple of days makes you feel like a native Cape May-er.

The proximity Is close to everything but away from the traffic and hustle and bustle during the peak of the season. We are looking forward to finding a date next year we can visit and stay for longer!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review, you are favorite visitors!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Southampton, NJ
5

Keith and Donna Lubner

  • 5 of 5

The Mermaid house was extremely comfortable and clean. We enjoyed sitting on the porch and having coffee in the morning or wine in the evening. We were able to walk to nearby shops, the beach, promenade and the outside Washington Street Mall. We also enjoyed biking throughout the neighborhood, as the side streets were very quiet. You couldn't ask for a more roomy and excellent place to stay. The owners were very accommodating with any questions we had.

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
New York
5

Under the Sea

  • 5 of 5

We just stayed at this lovely home in July and had a wonderful time! The house is charming and well cared for by the owners. Our family really enjoyed the furnishings and the decor was especially fun with all of the mermaid touches. It was very apparent that the owners take great pride in their home and we were respectful of that during our stay. The accommodations could not have been nicer and our family of 8 had a terrific week! There is plenty of room to spread out and plenty of parking as well. A few of our favorite things were the bike rentals, dolphin watch boat tour and the "Backstreet Cafe Simply Delicious" (which is a hidden gem of a restaurant within walking distance of the house). We received a full refund of our security deposit within days of leaving and a thank you note from the owner. All in all a perfect family vacation!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Perfect guests! We try very hard and its wonderful when guests enjoy the house and have a terrific Cape May vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Ridgewood, NJ
1

Mermaid

  • 1 of 5

My family and I just returned from a week at The Mermaid House. Let me start off by saying that the house is lovely, comfortable and very "beachy". However, the owner kept more than half of our security deposit for leaving fingerprints on the walls and doors. We were also criticized for allowing our kids to eat cheerios on the outside deck and the owners complained that they "had to spend and hour poking cereal through the deck with a coat hanger" when we left. In addition, we were accused of breaking a wine glass even though we did no such thing. The owner actually called us "dishonest people" in our final email correspondence.

We have rented beach homes every year since I was a child and can honestly say that we've never had any type of issue or problem (in 30+ years). We tried very hard to keep the house neat and tidied up after ourselves all week and really felt like we did. I didn't realize that scouring the windows, walls and deep-cleaning was expected of us as we paid a lot of money to rent this house for a week (doesn't a cleaning service normally come in after each renter to really clean and disinfect everything in preparation for the next family?).

Not in this case and we were expected to keep this FAMILY VACATION HOUSE like a museum. Completely ridiculous. That being said, I would NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOUSE FOR ANY FAMILIES WITH CHILDREN as the owners were completely CHILD UNFRIENDLY in our experience. They have also been very rude and accusatory which I find completely unprofessional and unacceptable.

Bottom line, we had a great week (we would've had a great week at any house in Cape May) but feel that the expectations of the owner are extremely unrealistic. If you don't mind spending as much as they charge on a rental for a week just to be expected to be followed by a white glove inspection, this may be the perfect house for you.

As for our family, we will definitely be going elsewhere for future stays in Cape May.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were more than fair~ given the amount of excess cleaning and large stain on the living room carpet. We have never kept a deposit for excess cleaning, but the gunk & stains warranted it in this case. We kept $99; 1/2 of a 2 room professional carpet cleaning fee (the renters did not report the damage per the terms of signed contract, nor did they perform even basic cleaning). Unbeknownst to them, they were the 1st rental of the season and the carpets had been cleaned for their arrival. Our guests are mostly families with children, but we have never had to scrub walls. We deducted $150 for excess cleaning; contractually- they agreed to leave the house in as received condition, which appears both in our listing and contract. We sent a courteous. factual explanation letter, with photograph of damage. We responded with explanations to their numerous texts. We clean thoroughly to be sure our guests receive the top notch environment we are proud to provide. These guests were given ( 3 hour early) 1 pm check in. However, our next guests arrived to wet carpets, and barely got into the house at 4pm- We realize accidents do happen, but If the renter had called about the spill when it happened we would have sent a carpet service to clean during their visit. The broken wine glass was in the recycling bucket. We take great pride in the house being clean, and lovely for all our guests, and we self clean to be sure that is the case~ it is not fair to leave a situation whereby the next guests receive a lesser environment. In four years of rentals, this is only the 2nd time any renter lost a portion of their deposit; the other was for a broken window. A security deposit is to correct damage & excess cleaning is clearly mentioned in the contract. Whether or not they agree with what clean is, there is no justification to leave and fail to report damage. It is true we provide an upscale environment and are not a bare bones rental. Our venue was obviously not the right type of property for this family. Fortunately, we have had, and continue to look forward to, very nice, appreciative, and respectful travelers. Since they enjoyed themselves and thought the house was so lovely, we feel a 1 star rating is not warranted.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

End of Summer Fun

  • 5 of 5

The Mermaid House was the perfect way to end our summer! My husband and I and our families stayed at the house for one week and it was superb. The listing and photos are great, but the house in person is even better! The house was very clean when we arrived and all aspects were functioning and very nicely decorated. The owners are very thorough in their directions, communication, and answered every question I had promptly. Our family of 6 + 1 child had ample space in the house to have 'alone' time when needed. We enjoyed the location - blocks from the beach and town. Though it was a bit difficult to walk with our young toddler and the 'grandmas' - driving wasn't ever a hassle. I would DEFINITELY recommend this property and hope to return next summer.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1

Map

Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Bella Vida Cafe, & Panicos Italian (all 3 1 bloc)
Car: recommended

Cape May is a 2 mile square area at the southern tip of NJ, excellent beaches, Come enjoy a delightful Victorian Beach atmosphere. The entire town is a National Historic Site. We recommend Broadway Beach, with food, restrooms & outside showers.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Historic District House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$3,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Please, leave THE MERMAID HOUSE in as good as received condition. Failure to leave the house in condition specified in Short Term Rental Agreement can necessitate deduction from the Security Deposit. This is a rare occurrence and has only happened twice in 5 years.

1/2 rate due with signed Rental Agreement, mailed to you. Balance due 30 days before rental begins, + damage deposit check of $500. WE WILL NEVER ASK YOU TO WIRE MONEY.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Historic District House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , Second floor; twin sinks
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , First floor; single pedestal sink.
  • NOTE: Bathrooms are on the 1st and 2nd floor. There is not a bathroom on the 3rd floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • MERMAID ROOM - 1 queen , second floor
    GARDEN BEDROOM - 1 queen , second floor
    SEASHELL Bedroom - 1 queen , third floor
    AHOY Bedroom! - 2 twin/ single , 1 baby crib , Third floor
  • Two bedrooms on second floor Two bedrooms on third floor
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 8 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Beach Umbrella, Patio Umbrella, 8 Beach chairs included. Linens & Towels may be ordered (at your expense) from several area vendors. one of which is: SEA DREAMS LINEN SERVICE 609-898-0714. The RENTAL AGREEMENT IS NO OBLIGATION TO REVIEW. Questions always welcome!

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties