Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Sea-theme Charmer $3800 wkly

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

4 BR-2 Bath, [Max.8 guests] No smoking. No pets.

The sunny yellow Mermaid House features a lovely beach theme decor. 4 BR, 2 full baths. Market/deli-around the corner, pizza, organic , + restaurants, gym within 1 block. 2 zone Central Air. Washer/Dryer. Porch, Deck, Patio & fenced yard. Private Parking + ample free street parking. Safe, quiet neighborhood. At night, hear the surf from the deck. Walk to ocean 8 blocks-BROADWAY BEACH; which has outdoor café, restrooms, & sand showers.

Barbara Morgan
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 16, 2017

About Barbara Morgan

Owners purchased this 1905 historic home as a private family retreat, and began sharing it as THE MERMAID HOUSE the summer of 2012.

Barbara Morgan purchased this house in 2006

Why Barbara Morgan chose Historic District

Walk to beach (8 block stroll) + many neighborhood amenities within 1-4 block area: deli-market, gourmet cheese, health food store, CVS drug store, casual eateries; ice cream shop, taco restaurant, pizza, empanada eatery, coffee cafe, antiques & other shops, & restaurants. Great location.

What makes this house unique

Fabulous wrap around wicker filled front porch & a rear deck and patio for lazing and grilling.


Cape May County Zoo
The DryDock Restaurant & Ice Cream Bar
"Wonderful ice cream and good casual food."
Bella Vida Garden Cafe
"Just steps from our door; unique food and wonderful breakfasts. Busy on Sundays, try other..."
Cape May Point State Park
"Lighthouse and tour, 3 boardwalk nature trails, see the SWANS! 0.5, 1 mile and 2 mile. M..."
The Carriage House Cafe & Tearoom
"at the Physick Estate on Washington St. Has seasonal festivals on site, gift shop, Trolley..."
Lobster House Seafood Market
Cape May Carriage Co
"Romantic horse carriage rides with informative narration."
Cape May Whale Watch & Research Center
"Best at sunset, dinner avail if you go by or call earlier in day; see the Island and dolphin..."
West End Garage, Cape May
"unique and local artist gifts and antiques"
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Bella Vida Cafe, & Panicos Italian (all 3 1 bloc)
Car: recommended

Cape May is a 2 mile square area at the southern tip of NJ, excellent beaches, Come enjoy a delightful Victorian Beach atmosphere. The entire town is a National Historic Site. We recommend Broadway Beach, with food, restrooms & outside showers.


Historic District House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , Second floor; twin sinks
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , First floor; single pedestal sink.
  • NOTE: Bathrooms are on the 1st and 2nd floor. There is not a bathroom on the 3rd floor.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • MERMAID ROOM - 1 queen , second floor
    GARDEN BEDROOM - 1 queen , second floor
    SEASHELL Bedroom - 1 queen , third floor
    AHOY Bedroom! - 2 twin/ single , 1 baby crib , Third floor
  • Two bedrooms on second floor Two bedrooms on third floor
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 8 beach chairs
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Beach Umbrella, Patio Umbrella, 8 Beach chairs included. Linens & Towels may be ordered (at your expense) from several area vendors. one of which is: SEA DREAMS LINEN SERVICE 609-898-0714. The RENTAL AGREEMENT IS NO OBLIGATION TO REVIEW. Questions always welcome!


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

91% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
Sea-theme Charmer $3800 wkly
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 12 reviews

What an incredibly beautiful , comfortable home in a fantastic neighborhood.

  • 5 of 5

Barbara and Ron were wonderful to deal with. They literally are opening up their home and allowing fortunate travelers the opportunity to share in their love of Cape May. The home is beautifully decorated and very comfortable to "live" in. We were a family of 7 ...2 adults and 5 children ages 14-24. There is a delightful cafe and cute little market right down the street (2 houses away) which was wonderful. Saved us many times from running to the supermarket. We biked everyday to the beach and in to town and each took only about 4-5 minutes. The glorious front porch was so relaxing to have morning coffee on and we had a blast trying to find all the "mermaids" in the house. The house was received in immaculate condition ...and their was a lovely note and welcome present waiting for us. A wonderful touch. We would absolutely come back to the Mermaid House! Just loved it!

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thanks for the glowing review, wonderful guests and welcome back anytime! Barbara
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Mermaid House is lovely

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed staying in the beautiful, tasteful and comfortable Mermaid House. It was walk-able to the beach and shops, very clean, charming and had all the conveniences we required. The owner, Barbara was responsive, helpful and very pleasant to communicate with.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lovely guests, hope you come again! Thank you for leaving the house in such nice condition.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

The Perfect Spot close to all

  • 5 of 5

I love the MERMAID HOUSE. This is the second time my family and I stayed here because of the owner's attention to detail, cleanliness and beach style decor. It truly feels like a retreat. Everything you think you need you find in this fully-equipped home. Staying for just a couple of days makes you feel like a native Cape May-er.

The proximity Is close to everything but away from the traffic and hustle and bustle during the peak of the season. We are looking forward to finding a date next year we can visit and stay for longer!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review, you are favorite visitors!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Southampton, NJ

Keith and Donna Lubner

  • 5 of 5

The Mermaid house was extremely comfortable and clean. We enjoyed sitting on the porch and having coffee in the morning or wine in the evening. We were able to walk to nearby shops, the beach, promenade and the outside Washington Street Mall. We also enjoyed biking throughout the neighborhood, as the side streets were very quiet. You couldn't ask for a more roomy and excellent place to stay. The owners were very accommodating with any questions we had.

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
New York

Under the Sea

  • 5 of 5

We just stayed at this lovely home in July and had a wonderful time! The house is charming and well cared for by the owners. Our family really enjoyed the furnishings and the decor was especially fun with all of the mermaid touches. It was very apparent that the owners take great pride in their home and we were respectful of that during our stay. The accommodations could not have been nicer and our family of 8 had a terrific week! There is plenty of room to spread out and plenty of parking as well. A few of our favorite things were the bike rentals, dolphin watch boat tour and the "Backstreet Cafe Simply Delicious" (which is a hidden gem of a restaurant within walking distance of the house). We received a full refund of our security deposit within days of leaving and a thank you note from the owner. All in all a perfect family vacation!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Perfect guests! We try very hard and its wonderful when guests enjoy the house and have a terrific Cape May vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Ridgewood, NJ


  • 1 of 5

My family and I just returned from a week at The Mermaid House. Let me start off by saying that the house is lovely, comfortable and very "beachy". However, the owner kept more than half of our security deposit for leaving fingerprints on the walls and doors. We were also criticized for allowing our kids to eat cheerios on the outside deck and the owners complained that they "had to spend and hour poking cereal through the deck with a coat hanger" when we left. In addition, we were accused of breaking a wine glass even though we did no such thing. The owner actually called us "dishonest people" in our final email correspondence.

We have rented beach homes every year since I was a child and can honestly say that we've never had any type of issue or problem (in 30+ years). We tried very hard to keep the house neat and tidied up after ourselves all week and really felt like we did. I didn't realize that scouring the windows, walls and deep-cleaning was expected of us as we paid a lot of money to rent this house for a week (doesn't a cleaning service normally come in after each renter to really clean and disinfect everything in preparation for the next family?).

Not in this case and we were expected to keep this FAMILY VACATION HOUSE like a museum. Completely ridiculous. That being said, I would NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOUSE FOR ANY FAMILIES WITH CHILDREN as the owners were completely CHILD UNFRIENDLY in our experience. They have also been very rude and accusatory which I find completely unprofessional and unacceptable.

Bottom line, we had a great week (we would've had a great week at any house in Cape May) but feel that the expectations of the owner are extremely unrealistic. If you don't mind spending as much as they charge on a rental for a week just to be expected to be followed by a white glove inspection, this may be the perfect house for you.

As for our family, we will definitely be going elsewhere for future stays in Cape May.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were more than fair~ given the amount of excess cleaning and large stain on the living room carpet. We have never kept a deposit for excess cleaning, but the gunk & stains warranted it in this case. We kept $99; 1/2 of a 2 room professional carpet cleaning fee (the renters did not report the damage per the terms of signed contract, nor did they perform even basic cleaning). Unbeknownst to them, they were the 1st rental of the season and the carpets had been cleaned for their arrival. Our guests are mostly families with children, but we have never had to scrub walls. We deducted $150 for excess cleaning; contractually- they agreed to leave the house in as received condition, which appears both in our listing and contract. We sent a courteous. factual explanation letter, with photograph of damage. We responded with explanations to their numerous texts. We clean thoroughly to be sure our guests receive the top notch environment we are proud to provide. These guests were given ( 3 hour early) 1 pm check in. However, our next guests arrived to wet carpets, and barely got into the house at 4pm- We realize accidents do happen, but If the renter had called about the spill when it happened we would have sent a carpet service to clean during their visit. The broken wine glass was in the recycling bucket. We take great pride in the house being clean, and lovely for all our guests, and we self clean to be sure that is the case~ it is not fair to leave a situation whereby the next guests receive a lesser environment. In four years of rentals, this is only the 2nd time any renter lost a portion of their deposit; the other was for a broken window. A security deposit is to correct damage & excess cleaning is clearly mentioned in the contract. Whether or not they agree with what clean is, there is no justification to leave and fail to report damage. It is true we provide an upscale environment and are not a bare bones rental. Our venue was obviously not the right type of property for this family. Fortunately, we have had, and continue to look forward to, very nice, appreciative, and respectful travelers. Since they enjoyed themselves and thought the house was so lovely, we feel a 1 star rating is not warranted.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.

Additional information about rental rates

Please, leave THE MERMAID HOUSE in as good as received condition. Failure to leave the house in condition specified in Short Term Rental Agreement can necessitate deduction from the Security Deposit. This is a rare occurrence and has only happened twice in 5 years.

1/2 rate due with signed Rental Agreement, mailed to you. Balance due 30 days before rental begins, + damage deposit check of $500. WE WILL NEVER ASK YOU TO WIRE MONEY.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.