Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Lakefront Cottage With a Spectacular View Near Cornell and Ithaca College

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,200 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedroom, 3 Baths, Living, Dining And Recreation Areas

Year round cottage fully equipped with washer and dryer. Three bedrooms on the second floor with two full baths: two with queen beds and one with bunk beds. First floor bedroom, full bathroom, recreation area, wet bar, big screen TV and office area. Fully equipped kitchen, dining area and large living area on the second floor. Wrap around porch. Fully furnished with dishes, linens, cooking utensils, games, cable TV. There is a dock with a large grassy area for relaxing and a place for children to play. Perfect for Cornell and Ithaca College graduations.


Owner
Beth Carroll
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 2, 2017

About Beth Carroll

Beth Carroll is a direct descendants of the Smith Family who settled and still live in the 19 century farmhouse less than a mile from the cottage. Family members have vacation homes and still live in the surrounding area.

Beth Carroll purchased this cottage in 2003

Why Beth Carroll chose Seneca Lake

Three generations of our family has been vacationing in the area during the summers and spending long weekends in the spring, fall and winter. The cottage has been our place to relax, enjoy the beauty of the area and take part in the many events taking place in Watkins Glen and Ithaca.

What makes this cottage unique

The cottage and the local area are unique. Enjoy tastings at dozens of nearby wineries; dine at some of the finest restaurants in the region; attend any number of sporting events; play golf, sail or just relax and unwind.

Amenities

Hector Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 bunk bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • one with en suite bathroom and tile shower
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 5 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

4.8/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

Lakefront Cottage With a Spectacular View Near Cornell and Ithaca College
average rating of 4.8 based on 5 reviews
4

Lovely Home

  • 4 of 5

We were very happy with our stay. Pros - Tons of space, Plenty of toys for the kids there, friendly neighbors, beautiful view, very clean, all amenities you could need, quiet location, close to tons of vineyards and breweries. Con - and the only reasons I didn't give it a 5 star rating. 1. The descriptions says the house has AC. It does not. There is 1 window unit in 1 bedroom meant to cool only that bedroom. Which left the rest of the house an absolute oven! There is no cross breeze to cool it off. 2. The owners communication is poor. It took her one time a couple days which wasn't bad but another time 1 1/2 weeks. Both of those were through email. One other time we called her with a question when we were there and never got a call back. Having said that I would still stay there again...just bring my own extra window air conditioning units.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were sorry that the renters were dissatisfied with our home due to the afternoon heat and the inability to contact us. On hot sunny days most renters (and we) use our Sunsetter Awning and sun screen, sun blocking curtains on the glass deck doors, and two large ceiling fans to keep the upstairs area comfortable. We have an AC unit in one bedroom (as indicated in the listing) and have added another in a second bedroom. The downstairs is naturally cool (or warm in the winter) as it is below ground on 3 sides. There are plenty of fans and window fans. Posted information for renters includes the phone number for the local professional management company we use to insure that our guests are well cared for. We use this company as we travel often in the summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful Lake View

  • 5 of 5

Our group of three couples spent a long weekend. The cottage is very nice and had everything we needed. The location was great for touring so many wineries. We would definitely stay there again and would certainly recommend it. The only thing we could have wished for was warmer weather so we could have enjoyed beautiful Lake Seneca.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Super Location!

  • 5 of 5

We had a group of 3 couples that spent a long weekend. We arrived on a Thursday late afternoon. We went down the road to the closest winery, Penguin Bay, and bought some supplies. We then unpacked our snacks, built a campfire and had just the best time catching up and watching the sun set on the lake sitting on the dock!! We had more than enough room and were very pleased with the quiet location that was still close to everything we wanted to see. We would love to come back again!!

  • Submitted: May 16, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pittsburgh, Pa
5

Awesome time!

  • 5 of 5

Our group of 8 had an excellent time in the lakefront cottage! The cottage is very nice and had everything we needed and more! We truly enjoyed our stay. We would definitely love to stay there again! We had more than enough space for everyone and then some. We took advantage of having a kitchen and made some big meals and played games.

It was easy to get to and close to a lot of wineries. We hired a local driver to take us on a wine tour and had the best time! Being right on the lake was so nice and relaxing. The area was beautiful as the leaves were changing for the season. All in all, it was a perfect weekend.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
New Jersey
5

Great week!

  • 5 of 5

Your cottage is perfect for kids. You did a wonderful job with the completely new downstairs area and entertainment room. We really enjoyed our stay and all the area has to offer. we'll see you next year!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Elmira
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Two Goats Brewery
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Bonavista
Nearest Train
50 Miles
Syracuse
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Route 414
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Red Newt, Dano's, Stone Cat Cafe
Nearest Ski
40 Miles
Greek Peak
Car: necessary

An ideal location for attending graduation at Cornell University and Ithaca.

A year round vacation area that features boating, fishing, water skiing and sight weeing in the summer. Boutique winneries and distilleries offer festivals and events in the winter, fall and spring. Fall foliage season is spectacular Winters feature ski mobile adventures and cross country skiing with downhill skiing 40 minutes away. Watkins Glen offers year round events at the world famous race track, featuring Nascar events.. The Corning Glass Center and glider rides are nearby.. So is,Ithaca, with Cornell University, Ithaca College, a farmers market and great restaurants,

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hector Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 11 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,800
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$350
$1,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Pet Fee $35

IN DEFERENCE TO OUR REPEAT GUESTS, WE DO NOT CONFIRM SUMMER SEASON (WEEKLY) RESERVATIONS UNTIL AFTER THE FIRST OF THE YEAR.

Memorial Day weekend through Labor Day weekend - Saturday to Saturday rentals only.
Charge of $35 per pet per rental. Other dates are a minimum 2-night booking for $300 per night.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.

You might like these similar properties