Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled


Bedrooms 5
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

5 Bedroom, 3 Baths, 3 Levels, Hot Tub, Mountain View, Wooded Lot

This home, Rainier Lodge, is professionally managed by Massanutten Vacation, a local vacation rental home company.

Reservations must be made on our website. We'll email the link to you when we receive your email inquiry. We do not have reservations enabled on HomeAway.




Easy access into and around the main level of the house for guests with mobility issues.

This newly remodeled and furnished home is near the top of the mountain; a short walk to the slopes! Walk to swimming, mini-golf and go-karts! Also walk to skiing, snowboarding & snow tubing. !

Big hot tub on the lower back deck. Adirondack chairs around a warming outdoor gas log fire table and a gas grill on the top deck.

Enjoy grilling on the deck for the family!

WIFI included! Books, movies &family board games are included in this home.

* This home has a set of safety rails for a bed to keep little ones from falling out.

Located on the same street as our Peak Retreat, Acorn Lodge, Dukes Den and Stone Splendor homes. Around the corner are Blue Ridge Overlook, Shenandoah Sunrise, and the Hollow homes! These homes are ideal for family reunions.




Ground Level: Enter the great room (living room & dining room); large flatscreen cable TV, 3D Bluray player in the living room. The furnished deck is off dining area.

The kitchen is off the living room and has an opening in the wall to the dining area to make passing food and dinnerware easy!

The master bedroom is to the right as you enter the front door and has a king bed, cable TV, and a full bathroom.

Upstairs is a loft with a bumper pool and game table. To the left of the loft is a bedroom with a queen bed. To the right of the loft is another bedroom with a queen bed. Also to the right, just before the bedroom, is a full bathroom.

Lower level has a family room with a large flatscreen cable TV, X-Box game system & Bluray player, a foosball table and a game table. Off the back of the family room is the deck with the big hot tub. A full bathroom is off to the family room.

On either side of the family room is a bedroom. One bedroom has a queen bed and a set of twin bunk beds. The other bedroom has 2 sets of twin bunk beds.

This Massanutten Vacation Home is approximately 3000 square feet, and is ready for your visit with the following items:

* Central air & heat

* Linens for all beds

* Toaster or toaster oven

* Coffee maker and filters

* Cookware, bakeware and dinnerware

* Washing machine & dryer

* Microwave oven

* Cable TVs

* Dishwasher

* Books & Family Board Games

* Gas grill

Items you will need to bring:

* Bath towels, hand towels and washcloths

* Cell phone (no landline phone at this home)

* Dishwasher & dish detergent

* Laundry detergent

* Camera & film

* Trash bags

* Paper goods (bathroom tissue & paper towels)

* Baby items

* Toiletries

***10% MILITARY DISCOUNT on the rental fee given when you reserve this home. Holidays are excluded. Thank you for your service!


1) The reservation must be in the name of the person whose name is on the military ID.

2) A copy of your unexpired U.S. military ID card, current orders, or Veteran's Administration ID must be submitted with your signed rental contract to get this discount.

Mark through all social security numbers on the military ID copy.

Write MILITARY next to the Payment Details on page 1 of your rental contract.

Your rental contract will not show the discounted amount. Military discount will be applied once your rental agreement & military ID are received in our office.

3) Military IDs received after payment has been made will not be honored for the discount.

4) This discount is given to active duty, reservists and retired military persons.

5) Military discount is not given to civilians, civilian affiliates, contractors, Senior Executive Service (SES), Federal affiliates or Military affiliates accompanying the Armed Forces.

All Reservations: Refundable security deposit and cleaning fee additional.


1) Not valid in combination with any other discounts.

2) Not valid on reservations made previous to special rates being posted.

Please call 540-289-9033 for more info.


WALK to the outdoor swimming pool, ski lodge, mini-golf, go-karts & more! Less than 5 minutes to 2 golf courses. Less than 10 minutes' drive to the WATER PARK!

Area Information:

In Massanutten: All the recreational facilities in Massanutten are a 10 minutes or less drive from this home!

Outdoor Swimming Pool, Skiing, Snowboarding, Snow Tubing, Arboretum, Playgrounds, Go-Kart Track, Summer Tubing, Tennis, Golf, Miniature Golf, Fishing, Hiking, Biking, Horseback Riding, Water Park, Large Arcade Room, Skate Park, Dining.

Outside Massanutten: Day Spa, Antiquing, Museums, Shenandoah River, Swimming, Fishing, Hunting, Canoeing, Kayaking, Scenic Train Rides, Skyline Drive, Wineries, Natural Bridge, Art and Pottery Galleries, Dining, Historic Downtowns, Caverns, Shopping, Colleges & Universities, Churches, Mosque and Synagogue.

Charlottesville, Harper's Ferry, Lexington, Richmond, Roanoke, Staunton, and Washington D.C. are all within a 1-3 hour drive.

More Details

Property Manager
Massanutten Vacation- Katrina, Laresa and Kathy
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 11, 2017

About Massanutten Vacation- Katrina, Laresa and Kathy

We are a family of five and we like to vacation with friends. Our teenage children enjoy walking with their friends to the go carts, putt putt, ski lodge, and hiking trails.

Massanutten Vacation- Katrina, Laresa and Kathy purchased this house in 2012

Why Massanutten Vacation- Katrina, Laresa and Kathy chose Shenandoah Valley

We choose this property because of its location in 'The Kettle', the five bedrooms, and the two living areas which give the children their own area to enjoy. The house also works great for multiply couples as it has one king, three queens, and 3 sets of bunk beds. We chose Massanutten because of the friendly people, skiing, indoor water park, tubing, golf, hiking, caverns & wineries.

What makes this house unique

We love to be in 'vacation mode' and have added as many fun activities to enjoy by all to the house. One group can enjoy bumper pool, while others are playing foozball and still another can be in the hot tub or enjoying s'mores at the firepit. Three flat screen TVs allow video games, and two movies to play concurrently. We want everyone to make great family memories at Rainier Lodge!


Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Encounters at the Ski Lodge
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Two golf courses in Resort
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Ski lodge and Fairways resturant
Nearest Ski
0.2 Miles
Close to slopes

House at top of resort near ski slopes, pool, hiking trails, mini golf, go-carts, ice skating, indoor water park, tubing, ziplines and lodge.


McGaheysville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , on main living floor
    Bedroom 5 - 2 bunk bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 bunk bed
  • Two queen bedrooms on top floor. Master bedroom on main floor. Lower floor has two bedrooms. First with queen and bunk bed and second with 2 sets of bunk beds.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Tennis ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Area Information: *In Massanutten: All the recreational facilities in Massanutten are within a 10 minute drive from this home! Outdoor Swimming Pool (Summertime, only) Skiing, Snowboarding, Snow Tubing, Arboretum, Playgrounds, Go-Kart Track, Summer Tubing, Tennis, Golf, Miniature Golf, Hiking, Biking, Horseback Riding, Water Park, Large Arcade Room, Skate Park, Dining. *Massanutten recreational facilities (except playgrounds, arboretum and hiking) have fees guests must pay. Outside Massanutten: Day Spa, Antiquing, Museums, Shenandoah River, Swimming, Fishing, Hunting, Canoeing, Kayaking, Scenic Train Rides, Skyline Drive, Wineries, Natural Bridge, Art and Pottery Galleries, Dining, Historic Downtowns, Caverns, Shopping, Colleges & Universities, Churches, Mosque and Synagogue. Charlottesville, Harper's Ferry, Lexington, Richmond, Roanoke, Staunton, and Washington D.C. are all within a 1-3 hour drive.


Very Good! 4/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

63% Complete
9% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
18% Complete
average rating of 4.0 based on 11 reviews

I was not happy with this house,

  • 1 of 5

I would never want to rent this house again,lights did not work ,I had to buy light Bulbs,house was dirty,propane tank was empty,

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry you were not happy with the Rainier Lodge house. It's one of our most popular homes, because of it's location, décor & furnishings, and amenities. Your review is surprising. We did not receive any emails from you about the problems you say you encountered. We would have been happy to take care of you if you’d given us the opportunity to make things right for you while you and your family were here. Light bulbs blow out in many homes on the mountain, because of a problem with the electric service from the electric company not matching the service from the breaker box to the house. When multiple light bulbs are blown out we get them to the house for our guests. The house was cleaned prior to your arrival, then the cleaning passed our rigorous inspection. If the house truly had been dirty, and you had told us, we would have sent housekeeping to clean for you. Again, you gave us no indication of this so we had no chance to fix it for you. The lease you signed clearly explains any propane at the house is for your use, however if you run out of propane you are responsible for buying it. When guests don't realize this it means they did not read their lease before signing it. We urge all our guests to read the lease before signing it. It's an important legal document that explains a lot, so you understand a lot before you send it to us and make payment. For almost 12 years our goal has been to provide lovely, clean, well-maintained vacation homes in and near Massanutten, and excellent customer service for everyone coming to stay with us. We've succeeded in doing just that and have many families stay with us over and over, again. We do hope you will come stay with us, again. Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Place, Love It!

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely love this house! This was my second time staying at this house and still seize to amaze me! Process was very easy and the customer service was impectiable! Will stay again!!

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great family time

  • 5 of 5

Booking our vacation weekend was smooth and easy. This house is much larger on the inside then it looks, very spacious for multiple family's to enjoy the stay. The fooz ball game needs fixing but the kids still played it. We appreciated the wifi access and hot tub. Great location to the lodge for skiing and tubing. Although the driveway a bit steep, we had plenty of space to park 4 cars on the road safely. A maintenance person cleared our driveway and front porch and laid salt down each without having to contact anyone. Was a great stay !!!

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a great stay and thanks for the feedback. The foosball table has been replaced for your future enjoyment. We also painted all the bathrooms and replaced some linens and furniture to keep it fresh and updated. Appreciate you staying with us and hope you will again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful experience

  • 5 of 5

I had booked this property for a weekend getaway with friends. It offered a great mix of bedrooms for singles and couples, a hot tub (very important for some of us!), and an open living room that appeared great for socializing.

I was a bit worried based on previous reviews but emailed with the company and they assured me that as long as I read and adhered to the contract, there would be no problem. We were extremely careful to follow the directions and leave everything as we found it, and we got the full deposit back.

This property was well-received by my friends and I got many compliments on the choice. The management company was responsive and pleasant to work with. Hope to stay here again.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Bad Experience

  • 1 of 5

The house was dated. Some rooms didn't even have a TV. I had a nice time at Massanutten, but the house could have been a lot better. They make you check-in after 3pm. For what! It had not been cleaned in weeks. The house had a stagnant feel when we opened the door. Mold was in a couple of the bathrooms. The hot tub smelled like mildew. I wasn't told that we didn't have access to the indoor facilities. Other than that we had a good time at the resort. I should have received my cleaning fee back. I complained to the rental company and they was supposed to get back to me about my complaint, but didn't! Still waiting for cleaning fee return.....Almost forgot! Don't go in the winter!!!! That driveway (Very Steep Hill) to the property is treacherous!!!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback. All the bathrooms have been treated and painted with new shower curtains. There is parking for 4 on the street and the clearing of the driveway is automatically taken care of during winter snows.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Awesome house

  • 5 of 5

House is awesome. Perfect location and we enjoyed the sights!

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Damage Deposit $300

$300 Fully Refundable damage deposit. Damage deposit is refunded after house is inspected and cleaned and we have verified there are no Pay-Per-View charges on the cable bill from during your stay.

$200 paid at time of booking. The balance is paid one month prior to the check-in date.
Contact Massanutten Vacation at or 540-289-9033.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties