Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

*NEW Community Pool*

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 2,800 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

5 Bedrooms, 3.5 Bathrooms (Sleeps 12)

Ross Chapin-designed cottage nestled in the woods, yet only a block from downtown, delivers all that New Buffalo has to offer. This beautiful new construction features wood floors, a stone gas fireplace, granite counter tops, stainless appliances, an open front porch, a screened porch off the master, and skylights throughout delivering natural light. There are 5 bedrooms, 3.5 baths and a 3rd floor loft with daybed & trundle. The property accepts rentals for groups up to 12 with ample space. The cozy kitchen/living/dining space offers ample space for entertaining.

Cozy and quaint with all the modern conveniences, our cottage in the woods is sure to feel like a second home for your vacation!

The Bartley Cottage is part of the Merchant Street Cottages development and we are excited to announce the addition of a community pool! This is available to GUESTS ONLY of our community. The pool is less than a minute walk from the back door!

Sandy & Pete are the wonderful caretakers of this property who ensure that it is in pristine condition upon arrival. They take great pride in their work and it shows.

PLEASE NOTE: No pets are allowed.

More Details

Owner
Carla Schmiedeler
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
50%
Calendar last updated:
November 19, 2017

What makes this cottage unique

Beautiful design with amazing access to New Buffalo's quaint downtown, the beach, and the AMTRAK for a trip into Chicago. New Buffalo is not a tourist destination...more like your 2nd hometown with friendly people, great food, and relaxing luxury.

If you like a fun night out...2 casinos are within miles and the Stray Dog is always filled with action.

Amenities

New Buffalo Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , 1st floor
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , 2nd floor
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , In Master, 1st floor
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , Basement
  • Towels provided
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master Bedroom, 1st floor with full bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2nd floor, access to full bath on 2nd floor
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 2nd floor, access to full bath, 2nd floor
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Basement, access to full bath in basement
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Basement w/access to bath; large private living area
  • Bedroom 1, 2, and 5 have TVs Linens provided
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We are often asked about our proximity to the Amtrak rail. This has never been an issue for any of our guests. The latest train departs at 10:20 pm from the New Buffalo depot and the earliest train that comes through town is during the 9 o'clock hour.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
27% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
*NEW Community Pool*
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 22 reviews
5

Perfect spot for our family reunion!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay in New Buffalo! Carla couldn't have been more accommodating as we needed to make a last minute reservation. We were so appreciative and this house turned out to be the perfect place for us!! We loved gathering in the living room/kitchen area. Another favorite spot was the fire pit area. The weather was gorgeous and we took several easy walks to the beach and downtown shops and restaurants. Thanks for allowing us to stay at your beautiful home!

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

House was nice. I was disappointed in lthe beds and pillows. However overall the place was nice.

  • 4 of 5

I loved the house location. Very close to the beach and only a house away from the pool. I wish it had more of a closed in yard for the kids. The kids loved watching the trains go buy on the screened in porch. The grill is a little wobbly and should be replaced. Plenty of beach towels and beach chairs and also bean bags to play with. My family really enjoyed our vacation. Also the library was an added treat for the kids and only a block away.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. I will replace all of the pillows and the grill immediately. I will also add pillow toppers to two of the 4 adult beds so that guests have a variety of softness levels to choose from. Again, thank you for your feedback. I strive for a 5 star stay and hope that your next stay in New Buffalo exceeds your expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Illinois
5

Wonderful place for a family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect for our entire family. The teenagers loved being able to watch movies and tv downstairs without disturbing anyone. Loved the screened-in porch for late nights. And the pool was perfect for the little kids when the weather prohibited beach activities. All in all, it was a fantastic vacation house.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

We had a wonderful time!

  • 4 of 5

It was a perfect place to spend the weekend with family, it was just the girls! There was plenty of room for all of us. We would love to go back!

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Woodstock, IL
4

Great place with a few areas for improvement

  • 4 of 5

The overall place was great. Bedrooms and bathrooms were lovely. Common areas were all really small considering the number of people the house sleeps; with 10 of us, it was tight in the living room, kitchen, dining room, and porch. Pictures are deceiving. All bed pillows are beyond awful. We have rented frequently with VRBO and Home Away and have had bad pillows, but these were virtually flat in all 5 bedrooms. Bring your own, or hopefully owner will replace bed pillows. We inquired about the gas grill before we arrived, as we had a nice dinner planned for Saturday night. After an hour on the grill on high, the pork loin was not even brown. This was disappointing. The bedrooms in the basement are really nice, but extremely cold, even though we had unseasonably warm weather. These 2 bedrooms are probably great in a hot summer. All the being said, it was a really nice place, with ongoing development going on in the whole block. Oh, and when you arrive don't panic about the close proximity to train tracks ; the trains didn't run during the nighttime sleeping hours. Walking distance to town.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Great home for a family gathering

  • 4 of 5

The Bartley Cottage was the perfect rental for our trip to New Buffalo. The home was perfectly laid out with 5 large bedrooms, 3.5 baths and a bonus loft. Plenty of room for everyone to gather and yet space for privacy as well. The house was clean, well furnished and decorated and even had toiletries in the bathrooms and some staples in the kitchen.

The location of the house was absolutely perfect. We could walk to everything downtown and the beach. This was particularly nice with a large family as it enabled everyone to come and go to downtown as they liked. The house is also two doors away from the pool which was really nice - made it easy for people to go for a quick dip.

Would love to come back again, maybe for a girls weekend in the fall. After staying here, it would be hard to find another home with the same level of amenities and location.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Nearest Train
0.2 Miles
Amtrak
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
New Buffalo Lakefront Park & Beach

We are a very short walk from downtown New Buffalo and the beach as well as the Amtrak station. If you plan a trip into Chicago, be sure to book your tickets on the Amtrak well in advance as it does sell out quickly in the summer. Alternately, you can drive to Michigan City and catch the train into the city. Check schedules online and keep in mind that Michigan City is Central Time!

Every visit in New Buffalo requires a trip to the Stray Dog, as well as Oinks Dutch Treat ice cream shop. For an adult dinner, we strongly recommend the Brentwood Tavern (make reservations).

For outdoor activities other than the public beach, we recommend renting kayaks at the Galien River on Red Arrow Highway, hiking at the Indiana Dunes (a short drive) or if you have younger kids check out the county water park and playground also on Red Arrow.

If you are up for shopping, it is as easy as strolling into downtown New Buffalo! There are many wonderful shops in town. If you are up for a short trip in the car, head to Michigan City for the outlets or head out on Red Arrow for antiques and other quaint shops.

Additional recommendations are available in our guest book.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $125
Tax Rate 6.0%

***Pets are NOT allowed!!!***
A $500 refundable damage deposit is required. Rates are subject to change until confirmed.
Rates do not include cleaning fee ($125 - my cost).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties