Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Beautiful Luxury Oceanfront, Newly Remodeled - Non-Drive Portion of the Beach!

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 1,706 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

GreatOceanCondos offers Unit 605 at Southwind!

Construction in the complex from October until July of 2018, we do offer discounts if you would still like to stay here.

At Great Ocean Condos we help families make memories that last a lifetime. Our 2 day minimum stay excludes holidays and peak season dates of January through March and Memorial Day through Labor Day. Nightly rates listed are based on a 7 night stay. Shorter stays are welcomed when we have last minute availability. Just click the "Ask Manager a Question" button below to receive the BEST possible rate! During peak season we accept Saturday to Saturday bookings only, but try to accommodate any length stay whenever possible. The Great Ocean Team is ready to book your next beach vacation!

Beautiful, Luxury Oceanfront Newly Remodeled- Non Drive 3Br/3Ba

This beautiful ocean front direct unit is a 3/3 with breathtaking views from the east and west!

Located on the quiet, non-driving side of beautiful New Smyrna Beach, this completely renovated, Fabulous ocean views from the minute you walk into this 1706 square feet, luxurious, newly remodeled and fully accessorized 3 bedroom, 3 bath condo.

This unit is completely remodeled and professionally decorated.. Flat screen TV'S in the comfortable living room and each bedroom, DVD player, wireless internet, cable TV, granite counter tops, travertine showers and floors throughout. New stainless steel appliances in this large ocean view kitchen and a large granite island makes this condo unique and spacious. The master bedroom has patio access and furnished with a king size bed, private bathroom and large walk in shower. The second bedroom is furnished with two queen size beds and private bath. The third bedroom is furnished with a queen bed and a bunkbed. A washer and dryer is conveniently located in-unit. This direct ocean front unit offers fantastic views from every window.

Enjoy the peaceful covered lanai for watching dolphins, and for relaxing to the sounds of waves crashing on the best kept unspoiled beach in Florida.

The Southwind, located on the non-driving portion of New Smryna Beach, is an 11 story oceanfront condo equipped with tennis/basketball courts, shuffleboard courts, a beautiful grass lawn, and a gated oceanfront pool. The complex, built in 1980, has 55 individual two- and three- bedroom condos. Each condo is equipped with a washer and dryer. Be warned- once you stay here, you'll want to come back again and again.

Southwind, Tasteful New Smyrna Condo Rentals

The Southwind, known as "one of the best buildings on the beach," has recently undergone a $1 Million renovation. A state-of-the-art entry gate system has just been installed, making this one of only a few facilities on New Smyrna Beach with restricted, gated access. The oceanfront pool is seasonally heated and you'll find plenty of lounge chairs, both inside the gated pool deck and out on the beachfront sun deck as well. In addition, high speed wireless internet access is now available for all guests so you can stay connected to the outside world while listening to the soothing sounds of the ocean waves. Follow the sidewalk to the beach access stairs and take in the panoramic Atlantic Ocean view.

What's Near The Southwind?

The Southwind is located on the south end of New Smyrna Beach. Great fishing, boating, and canoeing opportunities abound at Mosquito Lagoon and JB's Fish Camp, located near this complex. Bethune Beach is just south of here, and the car free beaches in front of The Southwind provide the perfect landscape for family sandcastle building, quiet walks, or carefree bike rides on the sand.

What Else is Going on at The Southwind?

As a guest here, you'll have access to the complex's 11th floor penthouse recreation lounge which provides a great area for gatherings. This penthouse lounge has a kitchen, two billiard tables, card tables, and even a fireplace! From the roof deck, you can take in fantastic views of both the ocean and the Halifax River. You'll have the unique opportunity to view both sunrise and sunset over the water! Because of its close proximity to Orlando, and its unique small town feel, locals love it here. New Smyrna is known as "Central Florida's Beach." If you're up for a day trip, know that Central Florida's well known attractions such as Disney, Universal Studios, and Sea World, are all under a 90 minute drive away.

More Details

Property Manager
Message GreatOceanCondos For Lowest Rates and Specials
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
November 23, 2017

About Message GreatOceanCondos For Lowest Rates and Specials

Welcome to Great Ocean Condos and Homes. We are the largest vacation rental management company in the New Smyrna Beach area. We were founded in 2008 by Jennifer Frankenstein who has grown the company from her single condo unit to over 300 properties accommodating over 5000 reservations per year. We are available 24/7 before, during, and after your stay to answer any questions that you may have about your property, our company, and the local area. We provide our guests with superior service, many options for their vacation stays, and quick response times. Our trademarked phrase is “Look Before you Book” and our customers do! We look forward to finding the perfect beach vacation spot for you.

The Great Ocean Team

Why Message GreatOceanCondos For Lowest Rates and Specials chose New Smyrna Beach

From the Owner: Complete remodel as of January 2013. Clean, spacious, and comfortable.

Guestbook comments from the manager

What a great place. We love southwind!
Feb 2013
  • 1 of 2

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Daytona Beach International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Many Local Choices
Nearest Ferry
3.5 Miles
Water Taxi Express
Nearest Train
25 Miles
Sanford Amtrack Station
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Interstate 95
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Many Local Choices
Nearest Beach
New Smyrna Beach
Car: recommended

About New Smyrna Beach

Located on Florida’s east central coast, New Smyrna Beach is a quiet seaside retreat at the southern mouth of Ponce de Leon Inlet. It is a small, historic city, and yet offers 13.2 miles of beach to enjoy. At only 55 miles northeast of Orlando, it serves as a favorite get-a-way destination for many Central Florida residents and has garnered significant notoriety as a surfing destination, often hosting American Surfing Professionals’ competitions. Surfers can bring their own equipment or rent from the numerous surf shops along the beach. New Smyrna Beach is the second oldest town in Florida and what many call “the old Florida of yesterday.” Quaint shops on historic Flagler Avenue and friendly folks are what New Smyrna Beach is all about. Through the years, the City of New Smyrna Beach has maintained tight controls on growth, resulting in a limited number of low-rise condominiums being constructed. The city has also held strict parameters on beach traffic which, in addition to protecting beach goers, simultaneously protects nesting sea turtles. It is a nesting ground for loggerhead sea turtles, and Florida’s loggerhead population is the largest in the nation.

What to do in New Smyrna Beach?

Enjoy the many activities that come with staying right on one of the finest sandy beaches in Florida. You’ll find water sports, beachcombing, fishing, golf, shopping, and many local dining choices within walking distance. Once you stay here, you’ll want to come back again and again. We recommend that you call today to reserve your space as our condo books up very quickly. And, if you have never been to New Smyrna Beach in the off-season, find out for yourself why the locals feel it’s the best kept secret in town! New Smyrna Beach in the Fall and Winter is a great time to visit due to smaller crowds, beautiful weather, lower prices, and a beach that you’ll have practically all to yourself.

New Smyrna Beach Festivals

The downtown historic district, on Flagler Avenue, is the perfect location for a number of festivals throughout the year. The New Smyrna Beach Food Festival happens every April, offering a tasting of the beach’s best food and drink. The Cinco de Mayo celebration in May is a family fun time with live music and dancing in the streets. In August, the Shrimp and Seafood Festival begins, featuring tons of seafood as well as a display of unique arts and crafts. Jazz lovers come in the droves for the city’s annual Jazz Fest in September, featuring live music on street stages and in local venues around New Smyrna Beach.

New Smyrna Beach Museums and the Arts

The Atlantic Center for the Arts is the backbone of the lively New Smyrna Beach arts scene. The arts center has received great recognition for its eco-friendly design. The complex of buildings houses art exhibitions, performances, and is home to an artist-in-residence program. There are several art galleries in the downtown New Smyrna Beach area, such as Florida Galleria and TaDa Gallery which showcase works of local artists. The city is home to the Black Heritage Museum which has a collection of artifacts that date back to the 1920s.

New Smyrna Beach Parks and Recreation

Not only is there plenty to do on the beach, the New Smyrna Beach area includes many parks which offer camping, fishing, hiking, and other activities. Lake Ashby Park, a 64 acre waterfront park, offers many outdoor activities such as primitive camping, fishing, canoeing, horse trails, sport courts, and a boat ramp. Smyrna Dunes Park is 73 acres of land giving visitors of New Smyrna Beach the opportunity to view wildlife and sand dunes up close and personal. The park features elevated walkways, picnic areas, observation areas, and a pavilion.

Proximity to World Famous Attractions

Visitors of New Smyrna Beach return year after year because of the location, affordability, and wonderful family atmosphere. Disney World Resorts, Magic Kingdom, Epcot, Disney’s Hollywood Studios, and Disney’s Animal Kingdom are all only a 90 minute drive away. Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and Sea World are only 75 minutes away. And the famous Kennedy Space Center is only 45 minutes away.

Amenities

New Smyrna Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 6
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1706 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 Full Baths
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
  • King size bed in Master 2 Queen size beds in Second Bedroom 1 Queen + Twin Bunks in the Third Bedroom
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

54% Complete
27% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
Beautiful Luxury Oceanfront, Newly Remodeled - Non-Drive Portion of the Beach!
average rating of 4.181818 based on 13 reviews
3

The sofas were peeling on your skin and clothes I was embarrassed for my guest

  • 3 of 5

Needs some upgrades and care it could be so nice the kichen was so nice and view but I rented for the luxury too! Sofas bad!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Norre, Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy you were able to enjoy the nice kitchen and wonderful view! We are sorry to hear about the sofa peeling on your skin, but we were happy to reimburse you! The owner of the unit is now going to replace the sofa as well! Please come back again soon to utilize your return guest discount! -The Great Ocean Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Worst Stay in New Smyrna

  • 1 of 5

I will state up front, we knew we were booking during hurricane season, as that is the only time our family could be off work at the same time. My mother was in contact with the Condo all week after Hurricane Irma hit. She was told all was good. The day of our arrival, we realized we would be arriving before check-in time, so we called to see if it would be okay, and was told that was fine. As soon as we arrived, we were not able to get into the gate. Luckily, someone else that was staying there, told us how to get in. My mom went to the office to pickup our Welcome Packet with all of the information and keys. There was no packet, the door was locked and there was no one there. She made a phone call and was given the information on how to enter the condo, but was told that the manager must have forgotten to put our packet out and she wouldn't be back until Monday morning. When we walked into the Condo, it continued to get worse. There was a pile of sand on the island in the middle of the kitchen and sand all over the floor. You could tell the one of the bathrooms hadn't been cleaned. There was spit at the bottom of the mirror, hair on the countertop and someone's leftover bath products in the shower. So, once again, my mother had to call the number and explain that it wasn't clean and they said they would send someone out right away. My parents decided it wasn't a big deal and vacuumed the floor and wiped down the counters, but why should WE have to clean a Condo we just paid money to rent? A lady did come out and clean the bathroom, but again, this should have already been spotless before we arrived. Once everything was unpacked, we decided to take a look around the property and again, more disappointment. There was no pool furniture out and no steps to get down to the beach. Long story short, there was no manager on Monday to get our packet. Tried again on Tuesday, still no manager, but a maintenance worker was able to give us our extra keys and our passes to the Roof where the lounge is (but we went three nights not having access to it). We didn't get pool furniture until Tuesday. We didn't get steps to the beach until Friday (our last day). What I don’t understand, is if you knew you had people there renting a Condo, why were new steps not a priority? If not a complete set of stairs, why not an alternative or a temporary solution? The reason I am giving this one star is because the Condo itself was nice, with the exception of the couches.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Katelin, Thank you for writing a review. We are sorry the welcome package was not prepared for you prior to your arrival. This is something that is taken care of by the complex on-site office and not ours. Unfortunately, they probably did not make it back to NSB promptly following the hurricane. We apologize, but are glad you were able to gain access. Our properties sustained very minimal damage following the storm. Things like damage to the steps to the beach do happen when sustained winds affect the area, but overall there were no major damage to any condos. The cleanliness of the property is unacceptable. Thank you for giving us the chance to correct it, but we would have come back as many times as it took to get it right and we encourage are guests to call us as we are always available. The owner has been informed of the couches and is in the process of replacing them. We are sorry about the inconveniences during your stay, but would still love to have you back for a better time and we do offer return guest discounts. -The Great Ocean Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful condo, very comfortable for our family.

  • 5 of 5

Our multi generation family really enjoyed staying at Southwind 605. The bedrooms were generously sized with just the right kind of beds for our family of 8. The three bathrooms are newly renovated and very nicely appointed. Of course, nothing beats the view from the living room. NSB pristine beach was right outside. We stayed for two week and loved every minute.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Carol-Lynn, Thank you so much for the review! We are so happy that your family could enjoy the newly renovated unit, and pristine beaches! Please come back again soon to utilize your return guest discount! -The Great Ocean Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautifully decorated! Great time at the beach!

  • 4 of 5

Condo had everything we needed. We loved New Smyrna Beach.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello David, Thank you for your review. We are glad that this property had everything that you needed. Please come back soon and utilize your return guest discount. -The Great Ocean Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Quebec City, Canada
5

Almost perfect

  • 5 of 5

Hi,

We really liked our stay. Unfortunately, one or two things were a bit negative. When we arrived at the condo on saturday pm, the manager's office didn't have our reservation. She told us that Great ocean condos forgot to contact them, so we had to call you to tell you to call her and inform her of our reservation. We went eating, and when we came back, everything was al right. But it was a bit of a stress. Regarding the condo, everything was "almost" perfect. First, the light in the kitchen was really poor. Second, we had access to the lounge, but the key card was working half the time. At night, at like 9h30, it didn't work, altough the lougne was open until 10pm. Other than that, everything was perfect, and we will come back for sure. Thanks!!

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Math, thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We believe in excellent communication, not only with our guests but also with onsite management. When you made us aware of the onsite management missing our email requesting the check in package, we were happy to call immediately on your behalf. We were also happy to send you to dinner, while another key was provided. While we thank you for your review, we aim for 100% guest satisfaction which is what you will receive on your next trip as well as a discount. We look forward to giving you the truly perfect vacation! -Jennifer and The Great Ocean Team
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
4

awesome condo and beach

  • 4 of 5

The condo, location and views were exceptional. I would have given 5 stars but their were several things this wonderful condo should have had. There were no metal cooking utensils, no decent cookie sheet, broken toaster, no can opener that worked. The oven and frying pans were horrible. VERY frustrating kitchen to cook in due to the above.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2015
  • Stayed: April 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Katherine, Thank you for your response. We have forwarded your review to the owner of the condo and are suggesting the addition of additional cooking utensils for guests in their condo's kitchen. We are happy to hear that other than the cooking frustrations, you enjoyed your beach stay at this lovely beach condo. Please call us again on your next trip to Florida!
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable