Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927


Bedrooms 6
Half Baths1
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 6 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 18)

Tucked into the Heavenly Valley, just below the California Ski Lodge, you'll find our Ski and Sun Shangri-la. Your gonna love it and you've earned it!! For the big family, the wedding party, families sharing a super-time in the snow or on the lake, our house is the one you've been looking for. Over the years many families and groups have enjoyed the size and great location of our home. This year we installed all new carpet,a new roof, a new wood stove/with firewood and painted the interior. We're ready for the next generation of vacationers to South Lake Tahoe.

Your large family or group will fit just fine in our six-bedroom home. No waiting for your turn in the shower, there's an over-sized hot water heater, that's ready when you are. Three and a half bathrooms means no waiting when you really can't wait. No waiting for your turn in the hot-tub either, it's super-sized too. Relax in the tub with your favorite beverage and let the snowflakes fall, as you take in the mountain view from our huge deck. Bring some Beach Towels from home so you can save your bath towels for showers.

Ready to ski, our road takes you right into the Heavenly California Lodge Parking Lot, just one-quarter of a mile up the hill. Head to the beach this summer, just a half mile down the hill. Did I mention the location? Oh, yeah I did. Sample the great restaurants and the shopping in Heavenly Village. How about a movie in the new Village Theater and then some pizza just across the street at Bob Dogs? It's really great. Or, how about the Grown-ups go Wine Tasting at the New Village Wine Shop and the kids can test their luck at the new arcade, or take a spin on the ICE-SKATIING RINK. Speaking of luck, you can check your's out; Harrah's, Harvey's, Caesar's and the Horizon all less than a mile from our front door.

Does it sound like I like South Lake Tahoe? I love it!! The house has it all with A 50' Vizio 2014 upstairs, a new Samsung Flat Screen in the downstairs den that has it's own fireplace. Two additional TV's with VHS and DVD players, and WIFI so bring your laptops. How about a game of pool or ping-pong? You'll have to head for the downstair's den and game room. The kitchen has a full set of plates, glasses and silverware, and all the cooking utensils you'll need to create a feast for the family. Over 3,300 sq.ft. of comfort and convenience. Don't forget, YOU'VE EARNED IT!!

Keywords: 200 yds to Heavenly Parking Lot

More Details

Rex Holm
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 11, 2017

About Rex Holm

City of South Lake Tahoe Rental Permit #784

Rex Holm purchased this house in 2004

Why Rex Holm chose South Lake Tahoe

Best Location in Heavenly, this house can't be beat. Please check renters' comments.

What makes this house unique



Nearest Motorway
0.2 Miles
Hwy 50
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Nephele's, Riva Grille, Scusa's
Nearest Ski
0.1 Miles
Heavenly Valley, Calif. Base Lodge
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Ski Run Marina
Car: recommended

Ice Skating in new Heavenly Village, 1/2 mile above Ski Run Marina Beach.


South Lake Tahoe House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Queen size Beds (4), Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) 1 single rollaway, Bunk Beds (2) 4 BEDS, 1 DOUBLE AND 3 SINGLES
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Two fireplaces, Computer, Internet, No Smoking or Pets, There are 4 parking spots, 2 in the garage and 2 in the driveway


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(65 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
9% Complete
3% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
average rating of 4.5692306 based on 65 reviews

We had the best trip!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Our whole wedding party was able to stay under one roof. Our wedding reception was perfect and the weather was perfect. Everyone commented that the house was terrific. Close to everything we had planned. Thank you so much. We can't wait to plan our 1 year anniversary getaway.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so pleased our home had a Role in the wedding. My wife and I are so pleased. Hurry back and thanks.Rex
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Affordable house right next to everything

  • 5 of 5

Rex's spot is great for big groups looking to go up Heavenly Mountain, gamble in Nevada (a short drive away), or just relax in Tahoe. We were a large party in town over Labor Day for a wedding and the house was perfect for our needs. The house is in a quiet part of town but still feels central and close to everything. I highly recommend this vacation rental!

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Anna, so glad to hear you had a great time and enjoyed our home and it's location. As always, thanks for taking such good care of our home and hurry back up the hill . Thanks, Rex
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location and roomy!

  • 5 of 5

You really can't get a better location than this for either skiing or to go downtown. The cabin was roomy and comfortable and the transaction was very easy. If you have a large group and need a place, I would highly recommend this property!

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Charlie, I'm so glad you chose our home for your mini-vacation. Your kind words will make a decision by a future renter much, much easier. Hurry back to the house and thanks again. Rex
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richland, WA

location and house size helped us to have a wonderful family reunion!

  • 3 of 5

Overall, we had a wonderful time at this property.

Pros: 1) plenty of room for our family of 11 adults and 7 little ones. 2) 3.5 of bathrooms great--a must! 3) living room provided plenty of room to gather the whole family 4) room for most of us at the dining room table 5) hot tub was a hit!!!!! 6) propane BBQ wonderful 7) location was close to beaches and grocery shopping 8) new carpet and wood floor in kitchen/living room nice 9) enclosed deck was great especially since we were able to let our little ones and dog walk around outside without the need to worry about them 10) Thank you Rex for greeting us when we arrived and discussing the parking/neighbor issue. We were made aware of part of the parking issue when we signed up--that we could only park 4 cars and fortunately did not have problems with the neighbor.

Cons. 1) Later when discussing our parking options we were told to use Harvey's parking garage. This worked fine for us, but we were uncomfortable with parking there when we were not staying there or using the casino but since there were few options, we did it. 2) the basement beds were in great need of being upgraded and were pretty uncomfortable. 3) game room/family room in the basement also in need of upgrading.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Always enjoy reading the renters views and impressions of their stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Napa County


  • 5 of 5

Centrally located and suited our family well. A few minor hiccups, but Rex was very accomodating and replied quickly to our needs.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ashley, thanks for your kind words. Such a pleasure to have you and your family renting our home. Thanks, Rex
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Do not recommend

  • 2 of 5

I rented this place for a short family weekend get away two weeks ago. We had a large group and there wasn't a lot of choices when I was searching two weeks before the trip. The size of the place was perfect for my family and there was enough of beds for everyone. The place was very conveniently located, it is close to the lake and downtown.

The reason I gave this place a two star mainly because of the poor sanitation of the house and the condition of the furniture.

1. There were ticks on the living room couch. My brother in law found tick bits on his legs after he was awake from a nap on the couch on the first night. My boyfriend also found a tick on his leg when he was getting ready to shower. He killed the tick and there was a burst of blood from the tick.

2. We saw a mouse running across the kitchen and living room few times during our staying and there were lots of spider webs on the ceiling.

3. Kitchenware was not clean and the kitchen cabinets were dirty and have lots of junk. We were worried the mouse would attack our food in the evening, so we put all of our food in the car before we went to sleep.

4. The refrigerator in the kitchen was not cold enough, our ice cream melted and water bottle wasn't cold even after keeping them for 24 hours in the refrigerator. We ended up transfer all our food into the refrigerator in the garage. The water dispenser also broke, can't use.

5. There was a pool and pingpong table in the basement, but there was no air circulation in the room and it was stuffy. The pool and pingpong tables were very old and in a bad condition.

6. The beds quality were very poor, my family all have back pain after sleeping two night at the place, none of us rest well.

One last comment, the place doesn't have AC it was very hot on the days we went. Due to the sanitation situation of the place we observed, we even worry if the beddings and towels were actually being cleaned.

P.S. I read your responses to renters that gave the place a negative review. Your excuse was always being this is your home and we should not expect everything is in a good condition. I am 100% disagree with this statement. We are not expecting perfection, but we are expecting at least staying at a clean place. I have stayed in cabins and camped many times before so my negative comments are not because I'm a "hotel person".

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Other worldly I'm helpless to respond. About 5% of homes in South Lake Tahoe have AC. There were mice when 2 weeks in a row Garbage was not taken outside to be picked up. It was a period of extreme heat and this tenants inability to operate the Whole House Fan. Never has anyone mentioned ticks in my 14 years of home rentals. It's just too easy for People to vent their anger here, sometimes.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Damage Insurance $59

Christmas Week $3000 and New Year's Week $3000. There is no pet fee!!

No large deposit, just $49 for damage ins. and $150 for cleaning. That's It!!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.