check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Adventure or just relax!

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
chateau / country house
Sleeps
16
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
4
Minimum Stay
3 nights

Description

Almont Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description

So much to do you will want to extend your vacation!

This luxurious home is located on Spring Creek frontage with views of the only Colorado covered wooden timber framed bridge. This 3000+ square foot home is built from three cabins that were reclaimed from the famous Spring Creek Resort as well as other reclaimed wood structures. World class fishing and hunting is this area is its legacy. Other mountain activities are at their finest as well. With Harmels Ranch Resort within walking distance, makes for a fine dining experience on the banks of the Taylor River. White water rafting is top notch on the Taylor River with many options to choose from. Other activities include horse back rides, Mtn. Biking on Dr. Park trail or other famous trails nearby, rock climbing, zip lines, fishing on rivers and lakes, hiking, biking, golfing, mountain climbing, 4 wheel driving tours, mine tours, wildlife and bird watching, boating, and more. Adventure awaits so come and live it up!

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Owner
Courtney Scales
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
December 5, 2016
Call Owner

About Courtney Scales

This home is mosty finished with antique lumber and historical cabins.. The construction was inspired by the log cabins that were once part of the Spring Creek Resort founded in the early 1900's. A mostly reclaimed lumber home was built green and includes a Geo Thermal heat/cooling system. This home holds special value due to its creek frontage and historical nature along with the many activities that the Rocky Mountains hold.

Courtney Scales purchased this chateau / country house in 2003

Why Courtney Scales chose Southwest

The privacy in a desireable mountain location, which has many activities to enjoy, makes this home a place to return to. Close to both Gunnison and Crested Butte also makes it a very unique experience. This large home also has a separate apartment above the garage with a big deck to add to the large and comfortable accommodations. Private fishing and creek access with viewing, camping, or grilling at creekside are a great benefit for our guests.

What makes this chateau / country house unique

Private creek access with world class trout fishing. Also, backcountry access is straight out the front door. This is a private creek hangout with grill, fire pit, and views in a location that is remote but also a short drive to Crested Butte, Almont, or Gunnison. The nearby ranch resort adds extra activities and a great restaurant/bar. Lots of sun, fun, and Mountain views.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

Adventure or just relax!
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews
2

OVERPRICED WITH A FEW PROBLEMS

  • 2 of 5

Five of us made arrangements to rent this house a couple of months before our trip. It was just about the only house available in the Almont, CO area given the late notice and the fact that we only had one week available for the vacation. The owner of the house did not make contact with us before our arrival, so I contacted him a few days before our scheduled arrival date. He was cordial, and explained how to access the house.

The house is well located halfway between Taylor Reservoir and Crested Butte. If you're there to ATV, the location is excellent. Very scenic area. The house was clean when we arrived. Plenty of parking in front.

We encountered several problems with the house -- mostly minor, some less so. The biggest problem was that there were mice in the house on both the first and second floors. We saw them several times. The kitchen is very disorganized and the cookware is in poor condition. There are multiple light bulbs out throughout the home. The ceiling fan and light are not working in the master bedroom. The shower in the master bedroom smells of mildew -- especially when the steamer is turned on. Maintenance is required on the patio furniture (staining) and yard maintenance is needed (weeds and grass high and around the children's play set in the back yard). The bed pillows are of poor quality, as are some of the beds. There are large gaps between the logs in the log wall in one of the downstairs bathrooms -- perhaps needs chinking.

One partial roll of paper towels was left in the kitchen for us. I called the owner when we ran out and he suggested we go to Gunnison to buy more (20 miles away). When I explained that other VRBO properties we've rented have supplied paper towels in the kitchen, he said that wasn't his policy. We hung up the phone and in a few minutes he was at the front door with paper towels. We were grateful -- but why weren't they there to start? Also, I received a call from the owner about the internet service -- which was spotty. He asked that we limit internet usage because the service there is cellular and he was close to the monthly data limit. Our party was not responsible for the internet usage -- I suppose guests who had stayed earlier in the month were. At any rate, with that they are charging for this rental, this should not have been an issue.

All in all, we would not rent this property again. Or recommend it.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This persons review was in retaliation because I had forbid them from renting again. They were very difficult to deal with! But this gives me a chance to market the home with better discriptions of how large and nice the home really is. This is a remote mountain style home in very rural area that sits directly on Spring Creek. A world class fishing and riding destination.. Its a custom and bold rustic style log home that is very large. It incorporates 3 historic log structures from original Spring Cr. Resort and massive doug fir beams reclaimed from historic Pueblo train station. The grey siding is reclaimed from a large sawmill on the Oregon Coast. It is filled with many other antiques and fun artworks from aroung the world. Its only overpriced for a five person group if you cant afford it. It is setup for groups up to 16+ persons. -wifi is limited because of remoteness. -Kitchen is huge! lots of cabinets and things are stored in them. We dont know how else to organize a kitchen. A short stay one may not even find all the different cooking tools. -Rustic logs in the bathroom are historic. Interior logs does not require chinking and panelling behind logs does not allow view from other rooms. Its sealed. -mice or was it the many chipmunks? either way its remote mountains with alot of wildlife. How about the resident bears or mountian lions or a badger or coyote or fox. I have not had a mouse problem yet. I have had an elk, bighorn, and deer problem though, eating my nice grass in the yard. -the yard is mowed, the playground hardly gets used and is not in the yard. -I also rent VRBO and never had paper towels provided. There is a store 1/4 mile away.and they have paper towels. -Spices were provided and lots of them. Better than paper towels I think. -All the bedding is new this year. -I will replace the bad light bulbs. Its an on going process is such a large home with more than ample lighting. The light bulbs are in the downstairs utility/wash room cabinets and in the upstairs utility/washroom. Also, there are 57 windows in this home by Pozzi windows. High end! -Hardwood chestnut flooring thoughout the home and stairway. High end! -All this home is missing is the hot tub on the 600 square foot deck overlooking the creek. I am working on fixing that problem! Looking forward to another great summer next year with multiple bookings already! 99% of our guest have the time of there lives.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Doug/Almont property

  • 4 of 5

The property was excellent. Wonderful deck, with a small stream beyond the deck as well as a fire pit, provided wonderful evening ambiance. Well appointed including a steam shower in the master bedroom. We loved the large round dining table for cocktails and conversation.

Only two slight negatives. 1) Why VRBO will not provide an actual address to the property is beyond me. It was a hassle trying to track down the owner to verify we were at the correct property. 2) The dishwasher was full and there were dirty towels in the master bedroom hamper. No trash bags or dishwash soap.

We will recommend to friends and family

Strongly recommend Garlic Mikes in Gunnison for dinner.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the Review! Just a note, there were trash bags in the laundry room and extra dish soap too. Above the washing machine. I will find a less conceled spot because now you mention it, its not very obvious. Sorry about the towels in the hamper. Its alot of cleaning to do and must have been overlooked. I will mention it to cleaning service. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Arkansas
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay so much. Ample room and more for 7 of us. Easy access to everywhere we wanted to go and things to do. Lovely house!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Home and awesome location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days. Arrived Thursday afternoon to have Courtney meet us at the house. He was very nice, laid back and gave us good instructions which were actually pretty small and simple. We had a large group. 3 couples and 2 children and dog. The house is perfect for just about anything. Each one of our friends said the house was awesome. The kitchen is so roomy we had dinner in each night. It's right next to Dr. Park which is an awesome ride if you are experienced rider. We were able to get to trail 401 pretty quickly if you take the short cut way to Crested Butte.

Overall I would book this place again in a flash. The creek, patio, kitchen, bathroom (all of which had their own theme) was very nice and felt like home.

Thank you again as we completely enjoyed this property and will tell all our friends about it.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Louisville, CO
5

Great home, great location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for four nights this July, and it was not nearly enough time. The house is beautiful and the location is excellent for fishing, biking, and relaxing. The patios are perfect for watching a storm pass or catching the morning sun while you drink coffee. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Panahndle, TX
5

Gorgeous!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time! The home is beautiful, well maintained and has every possible amenity you can think of. Thank you!!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Gunnison
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Harmel Ranch Resort
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Skyland or Gunnison
Nearest Train
150 Miles
Grand Junction
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Hwy 135
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Harmels Ranch Resort
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Mt. Crested Butte
Nearest Beach
30 Miles
Blue Mesa Reservior

This scenic and remote home is unique due to its short drive to Crested Butte or Gunnison. Most amenities can be located within a 10 minute drive with all others within a 30 minute drive. Lots of great restaurants nearby and mountain activities just out your backdoor. This home includes private fishing on Spring Creek. Also, motorbike, ATV, 4-wheel drive, or OHV enthusiasts have the privilege of accessing a variety of rides from the driveway of this home. One can go to Aspen, Almont, or Crested Butte all on 4 wheel drive roads and/or single track. Park and ride! Privacy is the main attraction to this luxurious home. Wildlife is often just a look out the window. Full access year round can make this rental the type of vacation one wants to return to for all seasons.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Almont Chateau / Country House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$465
$2,900
$9,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Refundable damage deposit $600
cleaning fee $200 + Tax
Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Tax Rate 4.9%

Complete payment due on total rental fee is required 15 days before check in, unless other arrangements have been made. Someone will meet you at the property for your check in time that must be made in advance.

Groups larger than 10 are required to rent the apartment additional.

The Apartment is available upon request and an extra charge of $150 per night. Please contact us for more information.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Almont Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Kids Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Upstairs washroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , includes a stacked washer/dryer and large wash bin sink
    Bathroom 4 - double sinks, luxury steam shower, jet tub, natural tile
    Guest Bath - toilet , shower , unique rustic shower design in slate tile w/copper sink
  • 4 bathrooms in main house and a bathroom in the studio apartment.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Master - 1 king
    Nevada Room - 1 queen
    Guest room - 1 king , 1 double
    Apt. Suite - 4 twin/ single
    Popout Room - 2 twin/ single
    Brook Room - 3 double , 3 twin/ single
  • 5 bedrooms and a studio apartment with kitchenetet and bathroom. Groups of more than 12 are required to rent the apartment for an extra fee.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties