The Vrbo Bear stayed here
We found this property to be beary special
4 Bedrooms, 5 Baths (Sleeps 8-24) with Mountain Views on New Recreation Path
Why Cary Stephan chose Mount Crested Butte
This Crested Butte house also has a unique history with the original owner building it to showcase the ski area to visitors from Europe and hosted numerous foreign exchange students and ski teams. The home has a European flavor to it and a family friendly vibe.
What makes this House unique
The views are amazing: from every window you see mountains and wilderness. Even though the house is quite large, every room feels cozy. Having family rooms on 2 floors allows kids to be on one level and the adults on the other. There's plenty of space for everyone! With the year-round free shuttle bus across the street and the recreation path right outside the front door, we can leave our cars at the house and easily get everywhere we want to go. When we bought the chalet our children were 13, 14 and 16 and we loved that they had the freedom to take the bus to go skiing, to the summer activity center, or to bike/hike and we felt safe.
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Vrbo Bear Stay review
There was so much room! We had 18 people there and there was room to spare.
A great condo for a large family. The kitchen is so nicely equipped for cooking large meals. Each bedroom had it’s own humidifier which is a welcome addition. A large gathering space for eating, playing games and visiting. Views out every window were a plus.
Large place with terrific mountain location.
The place is large and can sleep a ton of people. One of the ovens did not work (which has been an issue since January according to another review) which made cooking difficult as the working oven is small. Otherwise, a large kitchen. Places like this are typically not necessarily the cleanest but besides the coffee maker, the house was neat and tidy so great job cleaning crew! Biggest issue came from the main fire place in the main social/living room. We could not get it started. I grew up with a fireplace and had 2 engineers with me following directions...nothing. Apparently there is a remote to control it, it was missing. I contacted one of the owners who got back to me fairly quickly but did not know and said his wife would reach out with answers. This did not happen. Instead I got a text message at 1 am asking if it was lit. The next day they told me they were informed I received a voicemail from a woman who could help and I should call her, but I did not get a call from anyone. At this point we were all rather annoyed and disappointed as well as freezing. No matter how much heat we attempted to utilize in the house elsewhere, it was very cold in the living room. Ordinarily, I don't think the fireplace would be as significant of an issue as it was, but it was a chilly weekend in the teens. The bedrooms were great. Everyone seemed pretty happy with the sleeping accommodations and the heat worked in those rooms. Location is ideal, close to a bus stop to get to the ski resort and is very walk-able even in ski boots. I think with a working fireplace and oven, this would have been an easy 5-star review. We had planned to spend most evenings cooking and hanging out in the house as a large group of friends but given the fireplace issues, we opted to spend non-ski hours in town as it was vacation and didn't want to deal with it as it seems neither do they. Anyway, the place is good, probably great when it's up and running. Would rent again.
We're sorry for the inconvenience and discomfort of the fireplace not working. You should have gotten a better response from us and we apologize. The caretaker company has gotten the fireplace fixed now.
Very spacious. The large oven didn't work.
We had a great time staying here. The kids had their space away from the adults. The only negative experience was the large oven wasn't baking.
Thank you for renting. We're sorry you weren't happy with the large gas oven, we wish you had contacted us during your stay so we could have addressed it. We will look into it.
Amazing house for families!!!
The location is perfect for skiing and getting into town! Great big kitchen and amazing fireplace on the front porch to enjoy the views :)
The house has a lot of character and space. It was perfect for our group.
If you are looking for more of an old ski house this place is perfect! The kitchen is huge and great for cooking for large groups. The owner was very accommodating.
Crested Butte is the last great Colorado ski town--it's an actual historic mining town founded in the 1860s, not a manufactured resort. The town is quaint, the locals are friendly, and the activities too numerous to list them all. Designated as the Wildflower Capital of Colorado, it has a laid-back attitude and you feel welcome to stay & linger, not rushed out for the next visitor. One of the things we love is how safe we feel with our kids there: they can take the bus right outside the house to going skiing, mountain biking, or to town to get ice cream and we know they'll be okay.
Hiking and mountain biking in the area simply can't be beat and the road to the trailheads goes right by the house. You can even take a bus to the trailhead from the stop across the street. We highly recommend the wildflower hikes and the West Maroon Pass trails where you can hike up to look over the mountains at Aspen. We have hiking trail guidebooks at the house for you to use.
Likewise, the ski area is only 1/5 mile down the road and the bus stop across the street will take you there. We're only one stop away from the ski area so it's like the convenience of ski-in/out without the cost! The skiing at Crested Butte is really phenomenal, it has runs for people of all ability levels and amazing extreme terrain if you're up for it. It still feels like the small, cozy ski resort we remember from our youth but it has expanded greatly. And the slopes get the afternoon sun which is really nice--you don't get the shadows and ice that most resorts do.
Crested Butte is also a place where artisans come to practice their craft, whether it's in traditional art or in food and drink. And for dining there are so many great restaurants! We recommend The Secret Stash (pizza), Pitas in Paradise, Ginger Cafe (asian), Le Bosquet (french), Sherpa Cafe (indian/nepalese), Ryce (asian), and Lobar's (sushi). There are several places that serve excellent artisan drinks and cocktails--our favorites are the Dogwood Cocktail Cabin (you have to try the Beetnik and Poco Loco drinks and the tostada appetizers are out-of-this-world) and Montanya Distillers which makes their own rum and has a wonderful concoction in the Maharaja plus non-alcoholic drinks for the kids.
If you want a memorable vacation in the heart of the Rocky Mountains then Crested Butte is the place to visit and we'd love to have you stay at the Alpenglow Chalet!