Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

3 ACRE LUXURY WATERFRONT ESTATE

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 3,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedrooom modern home on the Lynn Haven River.

River Haven is a 3.4 acre waterfront wooded estate in the resort city of Virginia Beach. This property is perfect for family vacations. The recreational activities on site include fishing, crabbing, swimming, kayaking, sunbathing and grilling out. You can do it all without ever having to get back in the car. If you wish to sample the beaches around the area, you only have an easy freeway driving of 20 minutes. When you are done with the crowds, you can come back to your very own oasis.

The pool is now heated for your comfort. You will no longer feel that chill when getting in the water.

The boat dock has ample space for lounging as a second focal point of your enjoyment. You can see beautiful sunrises and sunsets from the dock. Crab traps are provided so you can catch fresh crabs for that real Chesapeake Bay experience. Previous guests also had fun catching fish from the boat dock.

The house is a modern home with all the amenities that you would expect and more. There are 4 bedrooms with comfortable bedding for 8 people. But there is enough room for 10 if need be.

The kitchen has just been upgraded with high end appliances including a double wall oven, induction cook top, under the counter ice maker, extra large refrigerator and freezer. An outdoor grill is available of course.

There is a home gym with elliptical machine, tread mill, weights and a weight bench.

There is a full bath with shower downstairs next to the gym. Master suite has a king bed. A deck over looking the water is attached to the masters suite. A 3rd shared full bath with tub and shower is located in the upstairs hallway. The second bedroom has a queen bed. The third bedroom has a queen bed. The fourth bedroom has 2 double beds. All bedrooms has a TV with movie channels. Internet TV is available via Apple TV. You may sign in to your own Netflix or Apple account to watch movies and shows.

The house is booked solidly during the summer by the week. Preferred check in day is Saturday although Sunday to Sunday is possible. Please note that the property is located in a upscale quiet neighborhood. The property is not a good location for events such as weddings or receptions. Holding of such events constitutes a violation of the rental contract.

More Details

Owner
Michael Ho
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 17, 2017

About Michael Ho

Local business owner

Michael Ho purchased this house in 2004

Why Michael Ho chose Virginia Beach

This is the best property around for a secluded relaxing summer vacation. Ample activities are available and you do not have to leave the property to have fun. It is also very close to all area beaches. The house is great for families with children.

What makes this house unique

For those who like sea food, fresh blue crabs can be caught from the dock during the summer. You can also fish right off the dock. For the serious fisherman, some of the best fishing on the East Coast is available locally.

Pool is heated so that even adults will want to get in not just kids.

Amenities

North Central House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master bathroom - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • Master's bathroom has a jetted tub and 2 person shower. The downstairs bathroom was remodeled.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 bunk bed
  • Master bedroom has a balcony over looking the river. 2nd and 3rd bedrooms are perfect for adult couples. 4th bedroom is set up for kids.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Hot tub is not offered during summer rental season due to health and safety concerns.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
12% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3 ACRE LUXURY WATERFRONT ESTATE
average rating of 4.8 based on 25 reviews
Pittsburgh
3

Waterfront Property

  • 3 of 5

The property was beautiful, a meandering path to the dock. The space in the house was good with a big kitchen and living space. Nice pool. Unfortunately, we were unable to use the boat lift or dock due to electrical problems (no adjustment was offered or made). Also, after a storm passed through, the pool needed attention (in addition to the hour that we provided). Michael came over after work, but there was no one there before 5, which in our opinion was unacceptable. For a weekly rental, there should have been staff available to focus on the needs of the property during the day in my opinion. If it were a monthly or yearly rental, the response was perfect. Additionally, the overall cleanliness of the property was not that great. The previous renters must have had a dog because the place was covered in fur. There was also evidence of past insect problems that the cleaners did not address (dead roach in the kitchen drawers) and was totally unacceptable. There was an AC glitch as well. To cool the living space was not an issue, but 2 of the 3 bedrooms would not cool down, I don't know about you, but I'd rather have a cool bedroom and warmer living space than what we had.

If we didn't rely on the reviews so much in making our vacation choices, I would not write any of this because I don't like to respond negatively, but reasonable expectations were not met while the high rental price was.

On a positive note, Michael was easy to reach and responded either via text or calls.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the feedback. In regard to the boat lift. All efforts were made to resolve the problem. I Had to contact 2 different electricians to diagnose the problem. The repair required removing and rewiring 100 yards of wiring underground to the boat dock.. The work is being scheduled but unable to have it performed until after the summer rental season. Very few people actually ask to use the boat lift. The prior tenant did bring a boat and tied it to the dock and managed ok. This is the first time in 15 years that there was an electrical problem with the boat dock. I am in my 5th season of rental. 12 to 14 weeks each summer. My house cleaner has been reliable and the house always sparkled each time. I will give the feed back to the house keeper. The renter from the prior week did have dogs with them. I am trying to be pet friendly since it is a frequent request. I may reconsider that. I have hired pool service before. I am never really satisfied with once a week check up and having to wait in line for storm clean up. It is honestly easier to just do it myself. There was a very bad storm during the week, which was remnants of hurricane Harvey. If I was to wait for a pool service to clean up, it would have probably been days. I am not aware of anyone in town who would service the pool at a moments notice after a bad storm since everyone else is having the same problem. . This is the first complaint about the AC ever. The temperature can be adjusted to comfort. The thermostat was pre-set to 71 degrees. The preset can be easily overridden and push the temperature lower. For future tenants, please call for any issue during your stay so I can address them while you are here. Hope everyone had a good time otherwise. Thank you Michael
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Property was exactly as it was described. Definitely secluded and private which was a plus for us!

  • 4 of 5

Our stay was great! The kids had so much fun. Would definitely recommend to other.

Only complaints were the neighbors to the right of the house, they created alot of constant, loud, and annoying noise. It would have also been nice if the jacuzzi was up and running.

But really besides those 2 things the place was great!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: My next door neighbor is obsessed about his yard and you may be hearing his yard equipment. I think that may be what is going on. I am sorry if that was an issue during your stay. I am glad everyone had a good time otherwise. Hope to see you again. Michael
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Loved. loved, loved it.

  • 4 of 5

Everything was fantastic. Plenty of room for everyone and all their things. This house is not only amazing, Michael has stocked it with everything you could possibly ever need. My only complaint is that the pool is so warm on those very hot, humid days it isn't that refreshing plunge you are hoping for. Thank you Michael. We had a wonderful time in your lovely home.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review. The pool is heated but the temperature can be turned down. I wish you had texted me and let me known. I recall your week was particularly warm with temperature in the high 90s. I usually set the heater at 88 degrees to keep the water warm at night. This might have been a little high for your week. I am glad you had a great stay otherwise. Thank you for the kind comments. Michael
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Time

  • 4 of 5

A great house. Lots of room. The pool was amazing as was the dock. It would be nice if you could see the water from the house. The guys enjoyed fishing and the kids loved the pool. If you travel with kids you should bring you're own kids kitchenware as everything is glass. Also there is a step down from the dining room to the lIvins room that is tile, be mindful of this as one of our little ones hit his head wit in the first hour. Overall the house is great and I would definitely go again!

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review. I am sorry about the accident in the den. There is some restriction on how much I can trim the plants along the waterline. I will get my yard people to tackle it during the off season when the leaves are gone and I can tell what can be cut down. Glad you all enjoyed the waterfront property. It is a lot of fun to catch crabs and even more fun eating them. Michael .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the property! The boat dock, pool, kitchen, office and just the overall space is wonderful! The home is tucked away but within 10-15 mins of many shops. If we need to visit Virginia Beach again we will be sure to book this home!

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review. Michael
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place with everything you need

  • 5 of 5

This was a perfect place for us, it was very nice and had everything it said. Private but close to everything. We can't wait to go back.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review. Michael
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
14 Miles
Norfolk International Airport
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
I264
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Bone Fish
Nearest Beach
9 Miles
Virginia Beach Resort Area
Car: necessary

The house is located sit on the Lynnhaven River. The Dock has boat lift. The waterway connects to the chesapeake Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. At the mouth of the Lynn Haven River, There are many restaurants that are accessible by boat. These are local favorites away from the tourist area. The house is centrally located from area beaches. A short drive by car will bring you to all area attractions.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Cleaning $250
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 8.0%

Initial deposit of $1000 is refundable prior to 30 days from check in date minus $300 cancellation fee.
No refunds given within 30 days of check in date.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.