Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Dog and Family Friendly, Beautiful Beach House with Large Yard

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

3 Bedroom, 2 Bath Designer Dream Beach House, 2 1/2 Blocks To Beach

Live like a local in a beautiful and charming newly remodeled dream beach house. Just a 5 minutes walk to the sand at gorgeous family friendly wind n sea beach. Private yet close to all amenities.

3 bedroom, 2 bathroom house with room for 5 adults and 5 children to sleep comfortably. 2 master bedrooms with king size beds (one with en-suite bathroom, the other with a private patio), a kids bedroom with 2 sets of bunk beds and their own flat screen tv. The house also has a comfortable full sized sofa bed and twin daybed in the living room. All new mattresses throughout are memory foam and very comfortable.

Large private yard with shade sail covered lighted brick patio for dining and entertaining, large grass area for playing ball, frisbee and croquet or fetch with your dog, bbq, outdoor dining, large kitchen with breakfast nook for gourmet meals, washer and dryer.

Seashell cottage is a lovely and charming beach house that you'll love calling home!

More Details

Sharon Simmonds
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 19, 2018

About Sharon Simmonds

I design dog toys for a living, love to travel and spend time with good friends and family.

Sharon Simmonds purchased this house in 1976

Why Sharon Simmonds chose Beach Barber Tract

I grew up near La Jolla and have always loved the charm and beauty. Wind n Sea Beach is truly beautiful and Sea Shell Cottage is a lovely and peaceful place to vacation.

What makes this house unique

If you love good design, close proximity to the beach, restaurants and shops, kid and pet friendly - happy places, you'll love staying at Sea Shell Cottage.


Beach Barber Tract House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Memory foam mattress, En-suite bathroom.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Memory foam mattress, Private patio
    Bedroom 3 - 2 bunk bed , 4 beds with memory foam mattresses, flat screen TV.
  • Two master bedrooms, one with en-suite bathroom and the other with a private patio. Kids room has two sets of bunk beds and a large wall mounted flat screen TV with blu-ray player.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(39 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Dog and Family Friendly, Beautiful Beach House with Large Yard
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 39 reviews

Overall Satisfied

  • 4 of 5

We were overall happy with this property. This was our first experience with renting a property to stay in and were a bit nervous. The house was reflected well in the pictures. The owners of the property were pleasant and easy to work with. The house itself was very clean and spacious. We all LOVED how the sun came through to the kitchen every morning, very bright and welcoming while making big breakfasts in the morning! We had 5 adults(mother-in-law was small enough to stay in one of the kids bunks) and 3 children. A well stocked kitchen as far as dishes and pots and pans. Plenty of bath towels. Lots of hand soap and dish soap. Yard was great as well as the patio table and chairs. Great central location. Loved our daily walks to the beach. Also enjoyed the convenience of 7-11 around the corner. It was stocked with the usual needs of forgotten items when traveling plus the regular 7-11 things. The kids liked walking there everyday for a Slurpee! Our biggest complaint was there was not anywhere for my parents and mother-in-law to sit comfortably for the whole week. There is a desperate need for a couple lounge chairs with higher backs and higher off the ground for senior citizens to sit comfortably. The daybed in the family room was not an option for them to sit in because of not having a back to support them while sitting even with the pillows on the bed. And the couch was very low to the ground as well as had a very low back and was very deep. They were not able to get back up once seated with out help from either place. That left them the option of hard chairs from the kitchen table or the hard benches with no back support at the farm table. Unfortunately, if they traveled with us again, we would choose not to stay in this house for the sole purpose of them not having anywhere to sit. Also the lighting in the dining/family room was poor in the evening. We had a hard time doing puzzles and playing games due to the low lighting. A few suggestions for people staying would be to bring extra toilet paper, paper towels, dishwasher liquid, trash bags and kitchen towels. Bottom line is....without our parents we would definitely stay here again! With added lounge chairs, all of us would stay here again!!!

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed yourselves. We will be adding a few extra seating options (that would be suitable for seniors who are less mobile) based on your suggestions. We really appreciate your input so that we can continue to provide guests of Sea Shell Cottage with a wonderful vacation experience!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Loved the place

  • 5 of 5

Thank you the place was fantastic we enjoyed every minute of it.

location perfect just a couple of minutes away from windandsea beach.

Only thing the TV was not working or at least I didn't manage to make it work but with this surrounding nobody needs a TV.

We will come back

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you had a wonderful time at Sea Shell Cottage! The TV works perfectly, for some reason the wires were plugged in incorrectly. It's all taken care of now.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house and location

  • 4 of 5

This house was perfect for our families! We loved the space of the house and the beautiful fenced yard! We felt comfortable and well taken care of. Our only complaint was that it could be a little cleaner in some areas, and the dishwasher didn't work too well. It was nice over all though and not too dirty, it was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cleanliness is extremely important to us! Our cleaners are very thorough and take their job very seriously.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location, cute house!

  • 4 of 5

The location was fantastic! Lots of walkable things to enjoy. For two families with small kids, this spot was a great fit!

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great family-friendly beach house

  • 4 of 5

Our group of 7 kids and 3 adults had a comfortable stay in this cute house. There was plenty of room for everyone to hang out in the living room or outdoors, and there were plenty of places to sleep. The location was ideal for walking to the beach, La Jolla Village or driving down to camp in Mission Bay. The house has a laundry machine, which we used quite a bit.

As another guest mentioned, we heard barely any noise from the nearby 7-Eleven or restaurant.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Good Family Place.

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay. The house was comfortable enough for the size family we were. (A few things were not in tip top shape, but nothing terrible.) The walkable beach is a bit rough for the ages of the kids we had, but Mission Beach and Pacific Beach were drivable within a few miles and perfect for ages 4-8. It was great to have the boogie boards and pails, etc for use at the house. There were plenty of restaurants within a short drive. Torrey Pines Park and nature center were great for some hikes; amusement park for kids at Mission Beach was fun; and house was walkable to the seals.Fenced in yard was perfect for kids; outdoor table for eating was also great!

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
12.5 Miles
San Diego Lindbergh Field
Nearest Motorway
3.5 Miles
Highway 5 and Highway 52
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
Wind N Sea Beach
Car: recommended

Wind n sea is a lovely area of la jolla! Our house is 2 1/2 blocks to the beach and also within walking distance to the village. We are close to restaurants, shops, a spa, exercise facilities including a heated public pool and tennis courts.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $180
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 10.5%

Cleaning Fee Schedule:
a) 1 cleaning fee ($180 total) required for a 7-14 day stay.
b) 2 cleaning fees ($360 total) required for a 15 - 30 day stay (we pay for a 3rd cleaning during a 30 stay).
c) Cleaning fee schedule repeats for days stayed beyond 30.

Please note: the cost estimator does not include cleaning for stays longer than 7 days. Cleaning fees will be adjusted during actual billing.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties