Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxurious Mountain Home in Exclusive Golf Community

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

3 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath Private Mountain Home in Golf Course Community

This mountain retreat is in the exclusive Burlingame Country Club community located in Sapphire, NC. This is the perfect home for a weekend away to enjoy the outdoors. Go ahead and plan your getaway to the mountains!

Beautifully furnished home with a completely remodeled kitchen that has all the newest features such as granite counters, stainless appliances and new cabinetry. Light wood floors and vaulted ceilings create a bright and open living space. A cozy TV room and huge screened porch make this mountain chic retreat perfect for a relaxing getaway.

In addition to the beautiful golf course and scenery, other nearby attractions include hiking, biking, and horseback riding at Panthertown Valley in the Nantahala National Forest, Gorges State Park, and Whiteside Mountain. There are lots of beautiful waterfalls to see within an hour drive any direction, like Triple Falls near Brevard, NC, a three-tiered waterfall with a 120-foot drop along the Little River, recently featured in the movie The Hunger Games. The hike is short and steep, and the view is worth it. You can also go toward Franklin and Highlands, NC, to see Cullasaja Gorge, Bridal Veil Falls, and Dry Falls. Also, check out the general area info for Cashiers, NC, which is a 15 minute drive away.

More Details

Property Manager
Susan Bristow
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2018


Sapphire House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • whitewater rafting
Check out the nearby hiking, biking, and horseback riding at Panthertown Valley in the Nantahala National Forest, Gorges State Park, and Whiteside Mountain. There are many places within a short distance to see amazing waterfalls, such as Whitewater Falls which is the highest east of the Rocky Mountains - the total drop is 700 feet! Also take a look at the general area info for Sapphire, NC and Cashiers, NC (a 15 minute drive). There is a ton of information about all of the great things to do in this area.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
Luxurious Mountain Home in Exclusive Golf Community
average rating of 4.428571 based on 14 reviews

Great location and beautiful surroundings!

  • 5 of 5

House was just what we were looking for...cozy and all the essentials for our weekend away with our fur babies. There’s even a cute little dog park in walking distance. Susan was available and responsive to all questions/concerns we had during our stay. We would definitely go back...only downfall was the hot tub wasn’t working but Susan was having it serviced the week after we left so hopefully it will be fixed for our next visit!

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry about the hot tub. It seems to have trouble staying warmer than 60 degrees in this below zero weather we’ve been having lately.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very nice home

  • 5 of 5

Very nice home and everything provided. Pretty area of the country. Owner very responsive and cooperative.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Vacation cut short

  • 1 of 5

It is not a luxurious Mountain Home. It could have been if it had been kept up, but it was not. Upon arrival we found that the dishwasher did not work due a defective door closure. The dryer did not work. Several of the light bulbs were burned out. The garage was dirty and the golf cart was filthy. The garbage cans and the area where the cans were kept was a disaster area. There was no garage door opener for one of the garages. It took eleven days,from the date of our arrival, for the repairs to be completed.

This home needs a lot of work to merit the "Luxury Home" moniker. We cut our vacation short by over a week. We wasted a lot of money. Very disappointing.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Try as you may, you just can't make some people happy! My team has gone over and above to address every issue in a timely and professional manner.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great house - neighbors not so much.

  • 2 of 5

The house was super nice and clean. However, this house is not good for younger crowds. You have to be super quiet while on the porch at night or the neighbors will call the security guard. We had the pleasure of speaking to him twice. He was a nice guy. We had no problems with him. However, whoever reports back to the owner advised that we had been spoken to seven times and there was a police report. We never saw a policeman. We were also accused of trashing the house? We are not that kind of people. We were respectful both times with security. We felt that the reports that were given to the owner were spiteful and intended to defame our character. I could go on about the unfriendly feelings but will finish by saying that only people over 60 would enjoy the atmosphere.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I would agree with your assessment. BURLINGAME is for mature clients. Also, please refer to #5. of your signed lease agreement which is underlined. "#5. Renters understand that the home is it in a quiet residential neighborhood, and agree to make every effort to avoid disturbing others nearby with excessive noise or by behavior." The fact that seven different neighbors had called security between 10 pm and 2 am is testimony enough. The security guard visited the home twice and I was told to let you know that if it happened again, police would be called. I appreciate that neighbors are discerning at maintaining the quiet enjoyment of this unique and beautiful place. Since you are a first time renter with VRBO, I hope in future you consider that your enjoyment should not infringe on the enjoyment of those around you, whether young or old.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sugar Land

Great mountain get a way !

  • 5 of 5

Great property very comfortable.

Second year we have rented this property.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not your mother's mountain cabin!

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our family of five to enjoy a long Thanksgiving weekend! Everything was top quality - the linens and towels to the kitchen utensils. The kitchen was well equipped with all you would need except for knives. No worries because you're not in the kitchen much at this home. There was a chipping green 2 minutes from the home and in the other direction, 2 minutes, a river and waterfall. The hot tub was an extra that Susan was gracious enough to let us enjoy. Susan was easy to work with. Stop your search! This home is a gem!

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Pet Fee $50
Damage Deposit $300

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties