Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Great Location Short Drives To Mackinac Island Traverse City Golf

Sleeps22
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 3,100 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

100 Ft Beach And Lake Front 5 Bdm 3.5 Baths Awesome Sunsets!

Newly built Lake home on one of the best kept secrets in Michigan! Nearly private all sports, Lake St. Helen this home features; Master bedroom (King size) w/master bath walk in shower, 1 (King size) bedroom,1 (Queen size) bedrooms, 1 teenage bedroom w/(full size) bunk bed and (full) trundle, 1 kids suite 2 (full size) bunk beds and (Queen size) futon. Gourmet kitchen w/prep station, bar and knook seating areas. Dinning room overlooking large deck and beach (seats 12+). Living room with theater surround. Separate stereo sound controlled areas including the decks and the dinning room. Fire pit ring for campfire songs or making s'mores. Boat dock with bench to oversee the beautiful lake, fishing or the awesome sunsets. To keep the inside clean this home offers a outdoor shower and separate bath to wash off the sands from the beach along with a foot wash right off the deck! Take an afternoon siesta on the hammock right off the waters edge.


Owner
Ben Castle
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 21, 2017

About Ben Castle

Born and raised in Michigan currently live in Chicago. Purchased this property in 1996 and tore down and rebuilt in 2008-09.

Ben Castle purchased this house in 1996

Why Ben Castle chose Richfield Township

My wife has been coming up to this lake since she was in high school. We bought this property because of the location and what surrounds. Even on the busiest of holidays the lake is never busy! With 28 miles of shoreline only 4 miles are built on and that makes this the perfect lake. When we lived in Michigan it was a 2 hour trip and we were away from the every day hustle, now it takes us about 4.5 hours from Chicago. This property is 15 minutes from Higgins Lake, Houghton Lake and West Branch. Only 75 minutes from Traverse City and 90 minutes from Mackinac Island and the Upper Peninsula. Located just minutes from quality golf clubs such as The Dream, The Nightmare, The Quest, Forest Dunes and Fox Run. 15 minutes from the outlet mall in West Branch.

What makes this house unique

We love the 'private like' lake and the sunsets and the ability to take a short day trip to some great activities!

Guestbook comments from the owner

DESPITE UNUSUALLY COOL WEATHER, OUR CLAN HAD A BLAST AT THIS BEAUTIFUL LAKEFRONT HOME..HOME IS UNDERSTATED IN IT"S VRBO DESCRIPTION.. GREAT LAYOUT WITH SEVERAL ROOMS/BEDROOMS OVERLOOKING LK. ST, HELEN..HUGE DEEP SAND BEACH BORDERS SANDY-BOTTOM AND SHALLOW WATER FOR KIDS TO ENJOY..TWO GREAT SITTING AREA"SON DECK TO WATCH KIDS AND /OR TIP YOUR FAVORITE BEVERAGE..CLOSE EAZY TRAVEL TO ST.HELEN-WEST BRANCH-HOUGHTON LK. AND EVEN ROSSCOMMON TO SHOP..THIS HOME IS #1 ON OUR LIST FOR OUR 2018 VACATION.. THANKS BEN FOR ALLOWING TO SHARE YOUR GREAT HOME !!!!!!!!!! DICK AND KATHY Y
Jun 2017
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Richfield Township House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 22
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , master bath seperate toilet room walk in shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , main level
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , main level
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , outdoor shower , outdoor only shower and toilet room
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 22
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , main level
    Bedroom 4 - 1 bunk bed , main level bunk bed is full size and has a trundle full siz
    Bedroom 5 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , 2 bunk bed , 2nd level full size bunks queen futon 50inch flat screen tv
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , main level
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 2nd level master suite with 50inch smart television
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Great Location Short Drives To Mackinac Island Traverse City Golf
average rating of 4.8 based on 26 reviews
1

Renter beware...not all as promised.

  • 1 of 5

Says a caretaker will stop by to see if you need anything. Didn't happen and the number that was given to contact her was disconnected. 4 washcloths for the whole house. No dishcloths and only two dish towels. Washer did not work. No storage in bedrooms. There are no reading lights in the living room, we purchased a light so we could see to read and stitch. Also the owner has not returned our security deposit and it's been over a month.

Can not recommend this place.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: James we are sorry that your stay at The Sandcastle wasn't enjoyable and that there were a few issues with your stay. Yes our cloths washer broke down and when you called me I worked on a solution for you to have your wash cleaned at the local laundry mat. As to the wash cloths and dish towels they are stored in the linen closet in the bathroom and had you let me know you couldn't find them I would of been happy to point you to them. We don't have over head lighting in the living room and we may look at the possibility of a floor lamp. Unfortunately our manager had emergency surgery on the Tuesday of your stay and could not preform her duties. When I checked in with you on that Thursday regarding your laundry you seem to be ok from what you expressed to me. I understand you were not happy to have to pay for the shade you broke and that you had to wait for the cost of that replacement but once we received the cost invoice your damage deposit was refunded less the damages you caused. Best wishes! Safe travels Ben Castle The Sandcastle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for families

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at the Sandcastle was wonderful. It is a beautiful place that was perfect for our children and their families. The grandchildren ranged in ages from 6 months to 9 years old and the set up of the house, the beach etc was perfect for us. The beach was just what the kids needed. We Had a pretty bad storm come through and knocked power out, but thanks to the generator that automatically came on, we were good. Ben was quick to respond to all my emails and helped to direct us to a marina for a pontoon boat rental. St Helen is a small town but that is what we wanted. We would highly recommend this place if you are looking to relax and watch amazing sunsets.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Donna, Your family was great and took great care of The Sandcastle! We are so happy the kids had a great time on our beach and that the pontoon referral worked out. I am also happy that you enjoyed the paddle board rentals. It was unfortunate to hear about the storm, but was happy to hear that the emergency generator system worked for you. You were our first guest to ever have to utilize it! Hope to see you and your family back at The Sandcastle soon. Safe travels. Ben
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Surpassed our expectations!!

  • 5 of 5

We cannot say enough about how much our entire family; our children and their spouses, and our 13 grandchildren, enjoyed our stay in August at The Sandcastle. The 'Cottage' and property were beautiful and certainly exceeded our expectations. The Sandcastle is so well and comfortably furnished and was very clean and well maintained, indoors and outside. We could see that a lot of thought went into the building of this beautiful home including the outdoor shower which was such a great way to wash the sand off at the end of the day. The 'foot shower' before stepping up on the deck is also a great idea. There is plenty of space in the house for a large group though we were blessed with fantastic weather for our entire stay, so we spent the majority of our time on the deck and the great beach. Our grandchildren started their days playing in the sand and were in the lake for hours. The water is shallow for a distance so that was great for them. One of our sons brought his boat so we were able to enjoy skiing and tubing on Lake St. Helen which is large and was not crowded at all. The very nice fire pit allowed for campfires and s'mores every evening along with absolutely amazing sunsets. Obviously, we don't know Lake St. Helen in its' entirety, but we can't imagine a better location for a cottage than the Sandcastle.

Ben Castle was easy to work with and contact. He responded to any emails very quickly. We would not hesitate to recommend the Sandcastle to others, in fact we already have, and the pictures that our children posted on Facebook have prompted people to ask about the Sandcastle and our vacation. We are thankful that the Castles are willing to share this little piece of 'Heaven on Earth' with others.

George and Andrea

August 2016

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Royal Oak, Michigan
5

Delightful stay at The Sandcastle

  • 5 of 5

Our extended family (including kids and grandkids) enjoyed our week's vacation at The Sandcastle in St Helen. We found the house to be clean and ready for us when we arrived. The house is well equipped inside and outside. Very quiet location...beautiful view across the lake especially at sunset. It was fun to watch the many pontoon boats and fisherman on the lake. Enjoyed No Limits pizza, ice cream at the Peach Pit and Birch Pointe Golf Club.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Another great stay at the Sand Castle!

  • 5 of 5

Would recommend to anyone who likes the beach, the lake (fishing to tubing) and glorious sun sets!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful week

  • 5 of 5

We are returning visitors to the Sandcastle and had another wonderful week - the house set up is wonderful for our extended family including grandparents, "kids", and grandkids - each of our three family units had our own space and the kid room upstairs was great for afternoon "quiet time" watching movies while the parents relaxed and prepped dinner. We rented a boat and each of the four boys (4,4,5,7) were successful in catching fish throughout the week. The large sandy beach area was a huge hit all week and love the shallow entrance to the lake just off the dock for the boys to splash and play in. Overall wonderful experience at the house; working with the owner Ben Castle is great; and the house manager Lisa is prompt, respectful, helpful and efficient with all questions throughout the week.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us here at The Sandcastle. We were so pleased to have you and your family back this year and that you enjoyed your stay again!! Your family took great care and left The Sandcastle in great shape. We all look forward to having you back next year and yes you can book now for next year. Safe travels!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
cleaning fee $300

Preferred Sunday to Sunday but can be flexible depending on time and circumstance.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties