Newly built Lake home on one of the best kept secrets in Michigan! Nearly private all sports, Lake St. Helen this home features; Master bedroom (King size) w/master bath walk in shower, 1 (King size) bedroom,1 (Queen size) bedrooms, 1 teenage bedroom w/(full size) bunk bed and (full) trundle, 1 kids suite 2 (full size) bunk beds and (Queen size) futon. Gourmet kitchen w/prep station, bar and knook seating areas. Dinning room overlooking large deck and beach (seats 12+). Living room with theater surround. Separate stereo sound controlled areas including the decks and the dinning room. Fire pit ring for campfire songs or making s'mores. Boat dock with bench to oversee the beautiful lake, fishing or the awesome sunsets. To keep the inside clean this home offers a outdoor shower and separate bath to wash off the sands from the beach along with a foot wash right off the deck! Take an afternoon siesta on the hammock right off the waters edge.
- House3100 sq. ft.
- Half Baths1
- Min Stay3 - 7 nights
100 Ft Beach And Lake Front 5 Bdm 3.5 Baths Awesome Sunsets!
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few hours
- Calendar last updated:
- Aug 17, 2018
About Ben Castle
Born and raised in Michigan currently live in Chicago. Purchased this property in 1996 and tore down and rebuilt in 2008-09.
Ben Castle purchased this House in 1996
Why Ben Castle chose Saint Helen
My wife has been coming up to this lake since she was in high school. We bought this property because of the location and what surrounds. Even on the busiest of holidays the lake is never busy! With 28 miles of shoreline only 4 miles are built on and that makes this the perfect lake. When we lived in Michigan it was a 2 hour trip and we were away from the every day hustle, now it takes us about 4.5 hours from Chicago. This property is 15 minutes from Higgins Lake, Houghton Lake and West Branch. Only 75 minutes from Traverse City and 90 minutes from Mackinac Island and the Upper Peninsula. Located just minutes from quality golf clubs such as The Dream, The Nightmare, The Quest, Forest Dunes and Fox Run. 15 minutes from the outlet mall in West Branch.
What makes this House unique
We love the 'private like' lake and the sunsets and the ability to take a short day trip to some great activities!
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Absolutely stunning setting on the water with a sandy beach!
The house is beautiful, well laid out, LARGE and easily kept our group comfortable. Then the views while sitting on either deck or in the dining room were breathtaking. Add to this the sandy beach with great swimming water and the fire pit by the water that was great for cooking our s’mores! The manager met us there, gave a complete tour of the house including which switches operated what. Fully stocked with kitchen equipment, utensils, etc. and bathrooms were spacious and stocked with towels. The Sandcastle was one of our best vacation spots we have rented for our large extended family. Plus close to Houghton and Higgins Lake and about 90 minutes from Mackinac Island and the bridge. Just can’t say enough good about our week. Kudos to all involved with the Sandcastle and the ease of arrival and departure procedures.
The entire Henning family from Norrh Carolina, Florida, Georgia and Michigan.
To the entire Henning family it was a pleasure to have you at The Sandcastle! You treated the home as if it was your own. We are so happy that you were able to have a comfortable stay with your extended family! It’s awesome to hear that you enjoyed our beach and the fire pit and how nice the swimming is. We hope to see you soon back at The Sandcastle! Safe Travels!
Renter beware...not all as promised.
Says a caretaker will stop by to see if you need anything. Didn't happen and the number that was given to contact her was disconnected. 4 washcloths for the whole house. No dishcloths and only two dish towels. Washer did not work. No storage in bedrooms. There are no reading lights in the living room, we purchased a light so we could see to read and stitch. Also the owner has not returned our security deposit and it's been over a month.
Can not recommend this place.
James we are sorry that your stay at The Sandcastle wasn't enjoyable and that there were a few issues with your stay. Yes our cloths washer broke down and when you called me I worked on a solution for you to have your wash cleaned at the local laundry mat. As to the wash cloths and dish towels they are stored in the linen closet in the bathroom and had you let me know you couldn't find them I would of been happy to point you to them. We don't have over head lighting in the living room and we may look at the possibility of a floor lamp. Unfortunately our manager had emergency surgery on the Tuesday of your stay and could not preform her duties. When I checked in with you on that Thursday regarding your laundry you seem to be ok from what you expressed to me. I understand you were not happy to have to pay for the shade you broke and that you had to wait for the cost of that replacement but once we received the cost invoice your damage deposit was refunded less the damages you caused. Best wishes!
Perfect for families
Our stay at the Sandcastle was wonderful. It is a beautiful place that was perfect for our children and their families. The grandchildren ranged in ages from 6 months to 9 years old and the set up of the house, the beach etc was perfect for us. The beach was just what the kids needed. We Had a pretty bad storm come through and knocked power out, but thanks to the generator that automatically came on, we were good. Ben was quick to respond to all my emails and helped to direct us to a marina for a pontoon boat rental. St Helen is a small town but that is what we wanted. We would highly recommend this place if you are looking to relax and watch amazing sunsets.
Your family was great and took great care of The Sandcastle! We are so happy the kids had a great time on our beach and that the pontoon referral worked out. I am also happy that you enjoyed the paddle board rentals. It
was unfortunate to hear about the storm, but was happy to hear that the emergency generator system worked for you. You were our first guest to ever have to utilize it! Hope to see you and your family back at The Sandcastle soon. Safe travels.
Surpassed our expectations!!
We cannot say enough about how much our entire family; our children and their spouses, and our 13 grandchildren, enjoyed our stay in August at The Sandcastle. The 'Cottage' and property were beautiful and certainly exceeded our expectations. The Sandcastle is so well and comfortably furnished and was very clean and well maintained, indoors and outside. We could see that a lot of thought went into the building of this beautiful home including the outdoor shower which was such a great way to wash the sand off at the end of the day. The 'foot shower' before stepping up on the deck is also a great idea. There is plenty of space in the house for a large group though we were blessed with fantastic weather for our entire stay, so we spent the majority of our time on the deck and the great beach. Our grandchildren started their days playing in the sand and were in the lake for hours. The water is shallow for a distance so that was great for them. One of our sons brought his boat so we were able to enjoy skiing and tubing on Lake St. Helen which is large and was not crowded at all. The very nice fire pit allowed for campfires and s'mores every evening along with absolutely amazing sunsets. Obviously, we don't know Lake St. Helen in its' entirety, but we can't imagine a better location for a cottage than the Sandcastle.
Ben Castle was easy to work with and contact. He responded to any emails very quickly. We would not hesitate to recommend the Sandcastle to others, in fact we already have, and the pictures that our children posted on Facebook have prompted people to ask about the Sandcastle and our vacation. We are thankful that the Castles are willing to share this little piece of 'Heaven on Earth' with others.
George and Andrea
Delightful stay at The Sandcastle
Our extended family (including kids and grandkids) enjoyed our week's vacation at The Sandcastle in St Helen. We found the house to be clean and ready for us when we arrived. The house is well equipped inside and outside. Very quiet location...beautiful view across the lake especially at sunset. It was fun to watch the many pontoon boats and fisherman on the lake. Enjoyed No Limits pizza, ice cream at the Peach Pit and Birch Pointe Golf Club.
Another great stay at the Sand Castle!
Would recommend to anyone who likes the beach, the lake (fishing to tubing) and glorious sun sets!
Additional information about rental rates
Preferred Sunday to Sunday but can be flexible depending on time and circumstance.