Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

New 3 Br, 2 Ba Full Log Cabin, Sleeps 8-10

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Chalet, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 8 (in beds) - 10 with 2 in sleeping bags)

New in 2007, 3 Br, 2 Ba, Full Log Cabin. 1 King Br upstairs, gorgeous master bath w/ full glass shower off Master BR, Views of the Mountains. Game Room Loft with Ice Hockey and Fooseball, Downstairs Lofted Ceiling Great Room (Dining Room Table seats 8 + 3 more on Granite Counter Top Bar, All Granite Counter Top Kitchen, Stainless Steel Appliances throughout. Full Laundry and Mud Room Side Entry Way. Large Pantry. Large driveway: Parking for 3 cars. Wrap around wooden deck with custom exterior lighting on all 2 sides, perfect for entertaining;

Jim Ostrich (owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 4, 2018

About Jim Ostrich (owner)

Born and raised in Southern California! Moved to San Diego with the Navy after graduating from UCLA, and work for Qualcomm (building the processor chips in your cell phone). Have 3 kids and love the snow, desert, mountains, and the lake! Everything Big Bear offers a short drive away up the mountain!

Jim Ostrich (owner) purchased this chalet in 2013

Why Jim Ostrich (owner) chose Sugarloaf

Native Southern Californian, always loved hiking, camping, jeeping and mountain biking which lead me to Big Bear for years! Decided to buy this immaculate log cabin for my own use, and decided to share it with others when I am not using it for myself.

What makes this chalet unique

Full Log Cabin nestled in the pines with views of the San Bernardino mountains. Close to the ski slopes, with a park for the kids to play at near by. Mountain biking trails in the National Forrest at the end of Wabash street. Neighborhood market close by! With plenty do do in Big Bear all year around.


Sugarloaf Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Adjoins Master Bedroom Upstairs
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Downstairs Bathroom #2
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master Bedroom Upstairs, views of the mountains
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Downstairs Queen Bedroom
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Double + Twin Bunk Bed, with separate twin
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
New 3 Br, 2 Ba Full Log Cabin, Sleeps 8-10
average rating of 4.5 based on 12 reviews
Mission Viejo/CA

A Wonderful Stay In The Snow

  • 5 of 5

We had a group of 10 including teenagers and 2 dogs. The Cabin was very comfortable, well appointed, clean and cozy. It was a great experience, Jim was very accommodating by letting us check in a bit early so we could unload and prepare our evening meal for a bunch of hungry skiers that arrived in town earlier that morning. That was very appreciated!!

The kids loved the hot tub and games etc and we were able to prepare all our meals for 10 people with relative ease. There were sufficient towels and blankets and having use of a washer/dryer made it great with a group of our size.

We would love to return again! Thank you Jim for making our trip a memorable one!

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Woodland Hiils

Wonderful experience and great location

  • 5 of 5

We spent a wonderful weekend in this cabin for my son's birthday. The house itself is beautiful and seemed brand new. The furniture was well maintained and very comfortable. The kids loved the Foosball and air hockey tables. We went during the winter and it snowed while we were there. It was amazing. About 1/2 mile up the street was a wide open mountain area that was open to the public. We went sledding and snowball fights. Perfect family getaway. Owner was responsive and accommodating. We didn't have any problems whatsoever. Would definitely stay again.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Spent Christmas weekend with family

  • 5 of 5

I choose the house because I was very much interested in what was available with the house.

I liked the pictures on VRBO and the descriptions, location. I was concerned regarding the reviews and the

rules. But after staying at the home I understand why he has concerns and has the rules which

are not that many. Its just to keep the home in the great conditions it is in. I would recommend this property

and rent it again.

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


  • 1 of 5


When we booked this place we noticed that a previous review had mentioned the owner claiming false allegation of damage and keeping the deposit. We took a chance and booked anyway BIG MISTAKE. We took pictures of the cabin to show it's initial condition as backup.

The cabin itself is very nice, and in a decent location within Big Bear, but the real negative experience came after we checked in. We let the owner know the air hockey table was not working within minutes of us arriving. He asked if we needed it fixed and we said it wasn't a big deal. The next morning we noticed the garbage disposal button was under the sink, and informed him. That day we returned from snowboarding to receive an extremely hostile email from James telling us he had sent cleaners to the house without informing us, while we were out, and without our consent. He claimed the cleaners said we had put scratches in the wood, took apart the beds, and damaged the air hockey table. From here our experience was horrible since our entire group was not able to enjoy the weekend and we spent Saturday night and Sunday cleaning and documenting more.

We responded informing him that the scratches were there prior to our arrival, the bed he thought was taken apart was a medical air mattress for my friend who has scoliosis, and that we informed him the day before there was damage. We told him we had pictures upon arrival and prove this. Correspondence was like talking to a wall as he never acknowledged anything we said and would keep coming back with more false allegations. Upon asking about getting a deposit back the next week, James then claimed the house smelled like Marijuana and we would lose the entire deposit. I should mention this was a WORK RELATED TRIP, with chemist and engineers, and no one did drugs.

Regardless of if James is getting bad information from his cleaning crew since he wasn't there to see anything, or he is delirious, he is non-responsive and wouldn't even provide an official write up for us to claim the insurance. VRBO state they are only mediators and can't get involved. So unless you want to go to small claims court to get your deposit back, or deal with a hostile owner who is a pathological liar, DON"T STAY HERE. Trust me and the previous December review when we tell you this guy is delusional and scamming the system. I'm sure he'll have some bs response like he did with the other review, so be careful!

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: There is clearly listed NO SMOKING policy in this house. The guest called me to send over a repair person to fix several items they noticed upon arrival. I sent over my housekeeper and electrician. They probably didn't think I would be that attentive to their request. Upon arrival the housekeeper and electrician noticed the house smelled of pot smoke. Clearly a violation of the no smoking policy, which forfeits their deposit (as listed on the listing and rental agreement). As there is no way to get pot nor cigarette smoke out of the house quckly once it occurs it affects future guests, especially during the holiday season. With 3 witnesses and a subsequent visit by the Sheriff's department for a police report, this guest was notified that their deposit was forfeited for the reasons listed. There was some ancillary damage also which they denied. If you are not a responsible, trustworthy, law abiding person you will have problems in life with accepting the consequences for your own actions, and in the end blame everyone else but yourself as this guest has done!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 2

Beautiful cabin, feels like home.

  • 5 of 5

Well maintained, clean and in a quiet neighborhood. Minutes from the slopes. We had 3 generations in the cabin. Grandma and Grandpa stayed home and relaxed while the teens snowboarded and the 40 somethings enjoyed the village. We all enjoyed the spa and the cozy wood stove. If you are addicted to technology this may not be the cabin for you. We couldn't get the internet or phone service which was not a terrible thing as the teenagers actually talked to us. We couldn't get the upstairs TV to work either but that's not why we were there so not a big deal.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
Seal Beach

Beautiful cabin, great for kids and big family's.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here in Jan 2016, we had a great time up here and no issues :). The game room was perfect to keep the kids entertained. There was lots of snow up there this time so we also enjoyed playing in that and being able to wash our wet clothes in the laundry room. The cabin was beautiful, they really paid attention to detail when building and furnishing this place. I was a bit scared when I recieved the rules/details for the cabin. Things like: $25 for each bag of trash let behind, $25 for each tv/DVDs cord unplugged and not plugged back, $100-250 for soiled carpet or scratched wood. It's kind of scary because you don't know what you are going to get charged for, owners can potentially charge you for whatever they want so it was a bit nerve racking. I should also mention there are quite a few cameras set up on the exterior of the cabin. We did end up getting our full deposit back so I think the owner is just trying to keep everything in as much order as he can. All in all we would love to rent from him again, good luck.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2


Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $175
Pet Fee $125
Damage Insurance $59
Damage Deposit $1,000

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties