Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

**Wind-A-Brook Lodge** Rustic, Country Contemporary and Well Appointed!

Bedrooms 1
Property type lodge


About the property

Close Enuff & Far Enuff from EVERYTHING -> 8.8 miles from The Old Port

Guest Review: "Overall, I strongly recommend this place to anyone wanting to visit Portland and get the true "Maine experience."

Unit includes:

* 1 Queen Bedroom and 1 Queen Futon in living area (Unit capacity is 4 ppl. 2 privately per separate sleeping area including 1 full bedroom and 1 sleeper sofa/futon. Bath is private and is in the unit.

* Full Kitchen with Dishwasher, Refrigerator w/ Ice and Full Cook Stove & Microwave

* Full Bath with Shower

* Washer & Dryer in Unit

* Free Parking

* 12 Acre Property with 50-75 yard chipping green

* Snowmobile from main local routes - Westbrook Trail Blazes

* 50 in LCD TV with Free Cable

* Dinnerware and Cookware

* Nature and Wildlife available on their own terms ; )

* Rental unit is attached to host's main home

* Portland's Old Port 8.8 miles

* Sebago Lakes Area 10 miles

* Skiing within 30 miles

* Drive-In 1 mile

* Restaurants and Food Delivery are Close by...

* Pick up and Local Shuttle is negotiable

* Babysitting can be accommodated


CHECK-IN is 3PM or otherwise noted. CHECK-OUT 11AM

Lost Key Fee is $125.00

*** Quiet time from 10pm-8am ***


*** The owners are very big movie buffs so we thought we would offer a 10% booking rate per night discount for the following correct answer ***

Name the MOVIE TITLE that the following line is from..... ;-)

"Hey, I don't have all the answers. In life, to be honest, I failed as much as I have succeeded. But I love my wife. I love my life. And I wish you my kind of success."

More Details


Westbrook Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Building Type:
  • chateau / country house
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Guest of our renters are required to be pre-approved and are not allowed for overnight unless in an emergency.
  • Please do not leave unit unoccupied while DISHWASHER and/or CLOTHES WASHER & DRYER are being used.
  • Excessive happiness is always welcomed...
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • full double spaced, step-in shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1 full private bedroom. Living area has queen sleeper/futon
  • Books
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theater
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Private Chef available for dinner only. Must book in advance. Additional Charge. ** Babysitting services can be accommodated


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
22% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
**Wind-A-Brook Lodge** Rustic, Country Contemporary and Well Appointed!
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 12 reviews
Houston, TX

Perfect place to stay while visiting Portland, ME

  • 5 of 5

This was the prefect place to stay while exploring the Portland, ME area. The owners are so nice and have thought of everything you might need to have a comfortable stay. The kitchen is very well stocked. We cooked breakfast and dinner each night, and had lunch while out and about during the day. It is on the most peaceful property and we were glad we chose to stay in this cabin instead of in a hotel room in quaint, but noisy, Portland. We met people who were staying in downtown Portland and they complained about the noise. The cabin is a large 1/1, with an open concept kitchen/dining/living area. Fullsize appliances, gas stove, bagel toaster... There is a large screen TV with a ton of channels. Really, we lacked for nothing in this place. John and Julie were above and beyond helpful when we were trying to get to our next leg of our vacation and hit a slight transportation snag.

There is so much to see and do in Portland, which was only about a 15 minute drive from the cabin. The grocery store is only about 5-7 minutes away. We did a Lobster Crawl on a Foodie Tour that was great fun, informative and delicious. We attended a play at a local theater, which was just outstanding (the play was about the life of Billie Holiday.) We did our own pub crawl, sampling many local brews. We also hiked in the Bradbury Mountain State Park. The shopping is fantastic, with lots of unique shops. Don't miss the Holy Donut shop - unbelievable handmade donuts. Try the Maple Bacon Donut! We would definitely stay here in the future.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We want to thank you very much for the thoughtful and warm comments and hope to see you for a visit in the future.... Travel safe and take good care... ~ John & Julie Poulin
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Great location, cute place

  • 4 of 5

We a very nice one night stay at Wind-A-Brook Lodge. The hosts greeted us upon arrival and were very friendly. The space is very nice and has a nice rustic feel with beautiful finishings. It's a short drive to Portland, breweries and the town of Westbrook, which has some good restaurants.

The only thing we were a bit surprised by is that the property is directly attached to the owner's home and there is a closed off door in the bedroom that connects to the owner's living area. This wasn't a huge deal, but as a result the unit feels much less private than we had originally anticipated. In retrospect, we can see via the pictures that this is the case, but without directly knowing it, I feel like it was hard to infer from the listing.

  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying...since the overall home sits in the center of 12 acres, its more private and secluded than 99% of the rentals you will ever find.... Since you only enjoyed just the one and only night we hope you come back for a longer stay to fully take in this peaceful 5 STAR setting and the numerous amenities we provide each and every valued guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful weekend here! We came at a beautiful time of year with the surrounding foliage alight with color. John was very friendly and attentive to us.The house was charming , rustic, comfortable in every way and impeccably clean. We will definitely come back we were so happy with it. Would highly recommend this country cottage.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for staying with us for a few outstanding fall days in Maine! We welcome you folks back anytime and highly recommend you to any host who wishes to inquire. We work hard to make sure each stay is a close to perfect as can be offered and are very pleased to have made your visit so enjoyable. Best wishes~ John & Julie Poulin
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Sacramento, CA

Quaint, rural, private property. friendly hosts

  • 4 of 5

Although not spending too much time on the property, it was an enjoyable stay, particularly its rural (but not far from main highway) and rustic feel. John and Julie were friendly hosts and respected our privacy as well. If you were to stay on the property most of the time, the kitchen is great (fully equipped) and everything was cozy, well maintained and comfortable. John and Julie put together a nice binder full of places to eat, etc. Large TV, too with cable. Good reception. We would have liked more storage space particularly since there were three of us, but overall enjoyed the stay very much.

The one

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for these thoughtful comments. They will certainly help us improve the overall experience for our future guests. We are adding a closet in the unit as a matter of fact so it will be perfect for your next visit. Take care ... John & Julie Poulin
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Bay City, Michigan

Location beautiful but not the privacy we were looking for.

  • 1 of 5

The location of this rental is very nice, however if you are renting this you should know a few things before doing so. 1) Your bedroom is directly on the other side of the owners living room door. This did not make my boyfriend and I comfortable at all. We are not bed and breakfast people because we prefer more privacy. Also, I specifically rented this property due to having a Jacuzzi. I have rented several other rentals in the past from VRBO that have had this amenity and after a day of vacationing, hiking, etc. that is how we like to unwind. I was told upon arriving that the pool/Jacuzzi closes at 7pm. It confused me this wasn't listed anywhere and that it had not been brought up previously as several emails were exchanged before putting a deposit down on this property and I found it very odd that this had never been discussed. I am lucky if I eat dinner by 7pm so when was I ever going to have time to use this before it closes. Needless to say we left that night and stayed at a hotel where we had privacy and where we could use the Jacuzzi until 11pm. Maybe this rental would work for some as "like I said," it was a beautiful place, it just wasn't what we were looking for unfortunately the only thing that was refunded to me was the cleaning deposit which was a costly lesson to learn. We still managed to enjoy our vacation I just didn't want it to go without mentioning these things as I read reviews and wish someone would have made me aware and I wouldn't have wasted my money. Maine is gorgeous though and I recommend it to anyone. We had a great vacation despite this bump in the road.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that this was not what you were looking for as we feel the listing is 100% accurate as are all the photos in the listing. In fairness to the readers and future guests, your review is not at all accurate and misleading. We discussed this listing and its amenities in detail on the phone when you called me directly on AUGUST 29 at 1:32 PM. We discussed this unit being part of the overall main home which is 3700Sq ft and can be seen clearly in our photos. We also discussed this unit having all of its own separate and numerous amenities as experienced by several previous five star guests. On Labor Day morning (your arrival date)at 8:23AM, we also sent a note asking for your anticipated arrival time so that we could be here to meet/greet you and also so we could enjoy the holiday. After no response until 3:40PM, I texted your number on the reservation and asked again which you responded quickly. You arrived at our property 5 hours later after letting us know you were having dinner and doing groceries. You finally arrived at approx. 8:45PM which was after dark and you asked about our pool/Jacuzzi which we offer access to for guests from 10AM until 7PM. THIS IS CLEARLY NOTED IN THE RENTERS MANUAL WE PROVIDE AND POINTED OUT. The pool area is 50 yards from the main house, and it is a very dark walk. We limit access hours for liability reasons and my wife and I explained this to you in person. It is also worth noting that your rental fee was only 50% paid with the damage deposit included in the UNPAID RENTAL PORTION. After discussing the possibility of a refund, you agreed to the amount being refunded to you and you also acknowledged this in your SMS/text message to us on your departure... IT READS: _______________________________________ "Again, I am so sorry about all of this. We are going to go. Thank you for agreeing to refund the 50 deposit. Your place really is beautiful it just wasn't what we were looking for." 9:56PM _______________________________________ Again, we are sorry you did not have the experience you expected.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 16

Beautuful and peaceful

  • 5 of 5

We recently rented the lodge and it was lovely. The grounds at the lodge were beautiful, peaceful and rustic.... exactly what we were looking for. A great place to stay out of the hubbub of central Portland. John couldn't have been any more hospitable. Clean, roomy and just overall pleasantly enjoyable. Thank you John!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much for these warm comments. We greatly appreciate your time here as guests and look forward to a future visit from you fine folks... All our very best wishes... John & Julie Poulin
Did you find this review helpful?
17 0


John & Julie Poulin
Member since: 2017
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 20, 2018

About John & Julie Poulin

*** The owners are very big movie buffs so we thought we would offer a 10% booking rate per night discount for the following correct answer ***

Name the MOVIE TITLE that the following line is from..... ;-)

"Hey, I don't have all the answers. In life, to be honest, I failed as much as I have succeeded. But I love my wife. I love my life. And I wish you my kind of success."

Guestbook comments from the owner

"Thank you both very much, we had a great time. .... Thanks again!"
Jul 2017
  • 1 of 3


Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
Cleaning Fee $37
Tax Rate 9.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties