Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Still a few nights left for this summer!

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

Far enough to feel peaceful & close enough for convenience

Ideally located , this 40 acre ranch lies in the center of the triangle between Kalispell, Columbia Falls and Whitefish Montana, which gives the peacefulness that only privacy can provide. The proximity to lakes, rivers, a national park and three cities makes it a perfect 'get away' spot. For the past 14 years, this location has been declared a nature conservancy site which assures no further development can happen here. The result keeps the nature abundant, such as bear, deer, elk, moose, etc. There is an electrically fenced corral for those vacationers who choose bring personal horses in order to use the facility and, on horseback, enjoy the miles of trails emanating from our property.

The home is a lodge style 4,000 square foot, 2 1/2 story home decorated in a style describable as Montana Lodge accented with Native American and ranch furnishings. There are 5 bedrooms, three of which sleep 2 each, one which sleeps three and a large bonus bunk style bedroom which can sleep 8 conveniently. Total 17)

The great room is open plan, high truss supported 16 foot ceiling and wood burning stone fireplace. The custom kitchen with concrete and copper counter tops is spacious and and is designed for casual group entertaining. Additionally, there are both a bay window eating area and adjacent bar. Right off the kitchen is the second story deck with BBQ, copper fire dish and plenty of rustic furniture. It's built to be used and enjoyed.

The master suite enjoys a propane fireplace and private deck and hot tub. Afternoon cocktails can be served in a separate rustic gazebo.

More Details

Debbie Adams
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 21, 2018

About Debbie Adams

Debbie and Stew 'defected' from the San Francisco area in fall of 1994, came to Whitefish and started a retail Home Accent store which has become a destination for visitors as well as locals. Bear Mountain Mercantile is conveniently located on Central Ave in downtown Whitefish.

They designed and built their dream home to be 'lived in' and, in accents, honoring to Debbie's Native American heritage.

Debbie Adams purchased this house in 1999

Why Debbie Adams chose Whitefish

This 40 acre property was a perfect location to design and build their dream home. It has been a wonderful place to raise their family, and a variety of pets, as well as enjoy a continual stream of wildlife visitors. This Deeded Nature Conservancy sanctuary is completely private yet only 10 minutes from town.

What makes this house unique

The home and property feel miles from civilization, yet all the magnificent features and facilities of Flathead Valley experience are readily available within a few miles. It's a ranch 'happening' similar to the experience which caused John Steinbeck say.'I am in love with Montana.For some other ststes I have admiration, respect, even some affection, but with Montana it is love.'


Whitefish House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 17
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Has double sinks
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , This bathroom was just added upstairs in the Bunk Room.
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 17
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 bunk bed , Queen/twin bunk bed
    Bedroom 5 - 2 queen , 3 bunk bed , Upstairs bunkroom sleeps 8 in 3 bunk beds
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
  • Master suite has a propane fireplace & hot tub on private deck.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
Still a few nights left for this summer!
average rating of 4.75 based on 16 reviews

Perfect for our family Christmas vacation--lots of space and snow!

  • 5 of 5

This property was great for our family of 6 adults and 5 children. Plenty of room for everyone to hang out or find quiet. We all loved the bunkbed annex for all the children. The kitchen was terrific with 2 dishwashers and 2 ovens and large enough for several cooks. We enjoyed the art and counting the number of bears throughout the home. Debbie is a wonderful host. She had decorated for Christmas so we had a tree for presents. She also made sure the road was plowed for our very early exit flight. Everyone had a great time.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Dorothy! We enjoyed having your family & so glad you all enjoyed our home as well as the fantastic abundance of fresh snow! We’d love for your family to come back & enjoy our beautiful summer as well!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very peaceful sitting on the deck in the evening

  • 4 of 5

Great place for kids, love the the decor and all the space to spread out.. The only real complaint would be it needs a little maintenance, and door locks on the bathroom doors and master bedroom... Otherwise great place, we would rent it again.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Lisa, I'm sorry that you had concerns about maintenance. If I you had let us know we would have been more than happy to address them. We raised our family in this home & never felt the need to have locks on our bedroom door, or for that matter on any of the interior doors. Sorry that was an issue for you. Debbie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful location for a family reunion.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the Broken Arrow Ranch from June 15-22, 2017 for a family reunion to celebrate our parents 55th Wedding Anniversary. What a spectacular home and location! Debbie had arranged for her friend meet us and lead us to the ranch which is the last property on the gravel road. She had a bottle of Champagne waiting for us to celebrate my Mom and Dad.

16 of us easily stayed at the ranch with room for all. We enjoyed yard games, sitting on the beautiful deck, hiking, Glacier National Park, whitewater rafting which our 76 your mom did, horseback riding, going into Whitefish to Big Mountain and taking the chair lift to the top and the kids enjoyed the alpine slide. The kids and adults really enjoyed their dogs which helped ease missing ours at home.

Debbie and Stew were very attentive to our needs and very helpful with ideas on where to eat or things to do. Debbie even gave us recommendations for a photographer who came out and took our family photos, which turned out great!

I would highly recommend this property for a vacation spot. It is on 40 acres with lots of wildlife and seclusion but close enough to towns and Glacier National Park.

We are already taking about when we would be able to go back.

Thanks you Debbie and Stew for a memorable family vacation.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kelly! We really enjoyed having you & your family stay at our ranch! We love having people that enjoy & embrace nature & the beautiful surroundings that we are fortunate to call home! We would live for your family to visit again & are glad that we were able to add to your overall family vacation!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

A few things you should know before renting this property...

  • 2 of 5

1) The house does not have air conditioning. The bedrooms do not have ceiling fans. If you are coming in July or August, there's a decent chance you'll be uncomfortable depending on how the weather is. The basement stayed cool, but the kitchen, living room, master bedroom, and especially the bunk room were miserably hot during our week in July.

2) The owners live on property in a small cottage next to the main house. We expected privacy and seclusion since this is a 40 acre property out in the woods. Instead we arrived to discover that we were going to have next door neighbors all week.

3) The owners have 3 or 4 very large dogs that are allowed to run loose. Although I didn't mind them, others in my group didn't like it. The dogs occasionally barked at odd hours, crowded around the door of the house, crowded around the cars when we pulled in, and other things you'd expect from a pack of dogs.

It's a very nice house, but I regretted renting it for these reasons.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Nick, I'm sorry you had issues with our home. If you had a promlem with our dogs you could gave let us know & we would have kept them up at our cabin. Also while you were here it was abnormally hot!! We can't control the weather but we would have willingly gotten some fans. Our cabin is not in view of the house you rented & basically the only times you saw me was when I was watering the plants! We sense your dissatisfaction may come from the fact that your reservation was for 8 adults & no children. The fact that we live on the 40 acres & could see kids & extra cars made it clear there was a discrepancy. Your father told me how many were in your party & I informed him that that was a problem as the rate is per person. The difference owed was $1,700! Our site clearly states the charges.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Wonderful family get away!

  • 5 of 5

This beautiful home on a lovely property was perfect for our family post Christmas holiday! We had 16 people varying in age from 8-83! And there was enough room for all of us quite comfortably! Debbie was very attentive, all of our needs were definitely met! The young adults loved the hot tub after a long day of skiing/boarding and the long dining room table was perfect for games and having meals together. The home was very well equipped, it was great having two dishwashers, a washer and dryer and a BBQ. The property was about a fifteen minute drive to town and a twenty five minute drive to the ski hill, slightly longer due to the snow that fell daily, awesome for powder skiing and boarding. We would highly recommend this property! Thanks Debbie!!

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jan! We are so glad you & your family enjoyed your stay at our property. It was our pleasure having you & hope your travels may include Whitefish in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Beaverton, OR

Secluded getaway surrounded by quaking aspens, huge mountains, lakes and rivers!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here 5 days for a small family reunion and there were lots of empty beds. The house has plenty of room for 18 comfortably, and the kitchen is well appointed for a large group (huge gas stove plus barbeque and two nice dishwashers.) The house is nicely decorated in a western theme you would expect up in bear country.

We didn't see any bear, but there were lots of dear in and around the property (be careful driving in the evening.) Debbie checked in a couple times to make sure we had everything we needed and she was a perfect host.

10 minutes to downtown Whitefish with lots of great restaurants and shopping, and 20 minutes to West Glacier with the most glorious views you've ever seen (make sure you drive up the going to the sun highway.) Fishing, whitewater rafting and horseback riding everywhere...

If you're from the Pacific NW, you'll feel right at home on this wonderful ranch. If you're from anywhere else, be prepared to fall in love with this awesome part of the country and the down to earth people who live here.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Airport
18 Miles
Glacier Park International (FCA)
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Blue Moon Bar, Dance Hall, Restaurant & Rodeo Site
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Whitefish Lake Golf Course
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Whitefish Railroad Station
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Highway US 2 and Highway US 93
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
More than 20 restaurants within 5 mile radius
Nearest Ski
6 Miles
Big Mountain Ski Area @ Whitefish Resort
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Whitefish Lake City Beach
Car: necessary

The 40 acre Broken Arrow Ranch is conveniently located between Kalispell (6 mi), Whitefish (5 mi) and Columbia Falls (4 mi). Offering the 'sanctuary' of a forest location with the convenience of nearby activities and amenities. Glacier Nationsl park is 15 miles, Big Mountain Ski area and Resort is within 6 miles. Running rivers and pristine lakes welcome swimmers, boaters and fishermen and close by are countless opportuities for hiking and horseback throughout the areas adjacent to the ranch.

Your hosts are well versed in things that are 'must see or must do' and are happy to assist guests in planning activities and outings and, if desired, make reservations.

For example: in the winter, snow related action might include guided dogsledding, downhill and cross country skiing, ice fishing, ice rink skating, a massage followed by dinner in a gourmet restaurant, then back to the ranch for hot tub and 'night caps' in front of the great room fireplace.

Summertime activities may include running a river white water rafting or a hike in Glacier Park, some sun at the beach time, or, perhaps a boating picnic on Whitefish Lake followed by an evening of theater and late evening dining. Maybe watching a rodeo or visiting a Indian Powwow would be an adventure...

Montana 'has it all'; that's why it's called 'The Last Best Place'. 'T'is a poor man who's never watched an eagle fly' according to John Denver.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $150
Pet Fee $100
Property Damage Protection $99

Cancellation policy: If cancellation occurs before the 30 day period prior to occupancy AND owner is able to replace the renter with another rental, then cancelling party will receive a refund of 40 of the 50% down payment. If cancellation occurs 30 days or less before occupancy no refund will be made.

Pets are welcome, however, rates will be negotiable, depending on pet.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.