Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Country setting, Reunions, Weddings, 20 miles west Waco

Bedrooms 6
Space 5,300 sq. ft.
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Large Country home, 5300 sqft, 5 Bdrm, 3 bath, Pool, 100 acres w 40 mile views

Beautiful, expansive, country home (5300 sqft) sits on 100 quiet acres for your family and friends to explore. Check in 5pm check out 9 am. Enjoy the large lap pool or sit under the stars by a warm fire pit on cooler evenings. Game room offer more entertainment options with card table, board games, ping pong table, TV, DVD and Play station. Relax by one of two fireplaces – one in the dining area and the other in the glass-walled sunroom. Large, open country kitchen generates interest for preparing meals together. Home offers 6 queen beds (each sleeping 2 adults) and two Daybed/trundle bed (2 single). For extra needs, the game room has a set of bunk beds. Home sleeps up to 17, with 3 baths. Two- story home, with game room upstairs and all other living spaces and bedrooms on main floor. Keep the outside world at bay -- no cable/internet/phone.

Location: 20 miles west of Waco (off Hwy 6), across the river from President George. Bush’s property.

More Details

Ron Finn
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2017

About Ron Finn

I grew up in Austin, TX and graduated from UT Austin as a Petroleum Engineer. This home represents many happy memories – large family reunions, friends lounging by the pool, BBQ weekends, and peaceful evenings gazing at stars while warming by an open fire pit. There is nothing quite like the country air and a dose of Mother Nature to bring about a sense of peace and well-being. The landscape has much to view of Texas Hill Country. Some are even intrigued by nearby President Bush’s “Western” White House.

Ron Finn purchased this farmhouse in 1996

Why Ron Finn chose Texas

Secluded and peaceful. Located halfway between Austin and Dallas Ft Worth, east of Waco.

What makes this farmhouse unique

Peacefull nights, fresh air, and a starry sky make this an interesting retreat for family and friends to connect. Pool days and nights, family meals, and board games make for a family vacation to remember.


Valley Mills Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 5:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 9:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 20
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Number of guest. 20 max .If more show up than prepaid for we will need to collect $10 per person per day.
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , This bathroom has a jetted tub and a combination tub/shower
  • 3 bathrooms. 3 tubs -- 2 with jets, one traditional; 2 showers.
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Queen bed, sleeps two.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Queen bed sleeps two.
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen , Queen beds sleeps four
    Bedroom 5 (Study) - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , sleeps three
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Queen bed sleeps two,twin sleeps one
    Bedroom 6 (Game Room) - 2 twin/ single , bunk beds, sleeps two children.twin sleep two
  • Home has six sleeping rooms.Three wings plus game room upstairs.
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
Beautiful, country home provides the 100 acre setting to create your perfect memories. Can be used for reunions and/or events (weddings, Baylor/Waco events).


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

54% Complete
37% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
Country setting, Reunions, Weddings, 20 miles west Waco
average rating of 4.3783784 based on 37 reviews

Great for family reunion

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 18 had a blast. The property is beautiful. Rolling landscape with beautiful trees. The stars at night are amazing. The house was the perfect size for our large group. There was enough space for us to spread out but still be around each other. The screened-in back porch was a favorite meeting spot. The kitchen had everything we needed from pots and pans to a wine opener. The owner Ron and the ranch manager Don answered all of my questions and made sure we had everything we needed. The only thing to be aware of is the 9 am check out time. That was very early especially since we stayed up all night. Even so, we had a fantastic time and would return in a heartbeat. Thank you Ron for sharing your beautiful property.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad your family had a great time.Sorry about the early checkout,Sometimes we have others coming in the same day and we need time to make it ready.If not we can let the folks take their time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Family Reunion

  • 4 of 5

The ranch was great for our small family reunion. Room for everyone under one roof and plenty of space. The kids loved the pool.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
stephenville tx

Great place, very spacious!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at this property. Lots of room for everyone, swimming pool was nice. Land caretaker was very helpful and always available to help us. Overall a nice stay !

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful scenery but not what we expected

  • 2 of 5

We chose this property for our annual girls trip and there were several positives and negatives. The positives: 1) large house that would accommodate all 8 of us, and then some, and that provided more than adequate sleeping arrangements 2) 100 acres of beautiful land that offered great views 3) 3 ovens in the kitchen and 2 refrigerators that were greatly appreciated and helped with that many people 4) pool. The negatives: 1) the house had extremely low water pressure and no two sources of water could be used at the same time. The toilet by the bedrooms had issues flushing and the shower by the bedrooms was almost not useable 2) the listing offers 100 acres of land and a private pool provided for our use. It is not very private when the caretaker is working a short distance away banging on his tractor and making distracting noises. We are of the opinion if we rent the property, the caretaker should only be there if we need something, not always on the property. The first day he was mowing the grass and hit a waterline which then had to be fixed, the second day he was there most of the afternoon and the third day they showed up just as we were leaving (and we left an hour prior to having to be out) 3) the house is definitely outdated and in need of some repairs and tlc. We thought the photos were not completely accurate and were either old or photoshopped.

While we enjoyed our stay in Waco, we were disappointed in the rental, especially for the price, and would not choose to stay there again. It was surprising as most of the online reviews were so positive but we did not have the same experience.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Guest and Future Guests, I am disappointed by some of your experiences and hope my comments will help you and future guests. The water pressure is not and has never been an issue at the ranch and it is not an issue now. However, your experience is accurate. Unfortunately, the care-taker had adjusted the water valve to make repairs and then failed to reset appropriately. Had you contacted me (the owner) or the caretaker, the proper setting would have been adjusted immediately and you would have avoided this unfortunate issue. Unfortunately, the water pressure concern was unknown to us as you did not let us know. It was corrected as soon as we were made aware. Second, you are completely correct in that the caretaker should not have been by the house during your stay. I have spoken with him about this. And while it does not help your experience, it will help others. Additionally, I am told your arrival was a bit early, the house had just been cleaned from previous guests, and the caretaker was grooming the grounds. Last, the old farmhouse is just that. It is not the Ritz Carlton and has never been promoted as such. Most people like the charm of a large farmhouse, open gathering areas, the pool, and the lull of cows on 100 acre meadows. You do not mention what was not working or needing TLC. We are underway with a few improvements, but nothing that impacts the functionality of the house. While the rooms do get rearranged from time to time, the pictures do accurately reflect the furniture and the property. I believe the farmhouse is priced appropriately and was priced at less than $100 per night per guest for your stay. You cannot find comparable space, peace, privacy, or price in a crowded hotel. Though I wish you the very best in finding your next get-away.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing property

  • 5 of 5

Everything was nice and exactly like we expected.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You William. I know the kids and grandma had a great time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely Easter Weekend Family Reunion

  • 4 of 5

We spent Easter weekend at this lovely get a way ranch home. We had 14 kids between 13 months and 12 years. They were able to run and play all day long out in the open range. The yards were huge and manicured beautifully. The home had multiple sliding glass walls that allowed us to open the home and feel the lovely spring breeze. This is a great place for a large group. HUGE kitchen with 4 dining tables to feed everyone. We mostly loved sitting on the new partially enclosed large back porch. If the beds had been larger with better quality mattresses our stay would have been 5 star perfect.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay.It is a large home and great for kids.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
24 Miles
Nearest Train
25 Miles
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Hwy 6
Car: necessary

Texas hill country,close to Western White House ,GW Bush ranch.Hill Top view.lots wild life,deer,turkey,dove.Note. Gps is off by 5 miles further away fom Waco


Rates & Availability

Valley Mills Farmhouse Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Christmas -New Years
Dec 22 2017 - Feb 5 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $300
Pet Fee $300
Damage Deposit $195

100% Refund less $100 if canceled 5 months before stay.Extra Bodies or animals will be charged.
$400 for Dog or Cat.$25 per person per day that was not in estimate

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties