Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Family friendly and great get-away

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths2
Space 930 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Serenely situated between the mountains and the ocean, this comfortable country cottage rests on twelve thousand square feet of property fenced on all four sides. Exiting the home from the rear porch and patio you can enjoy the beautiful Ko’olau Mountain Range with Kualoa Ranch in the back. The beach can be viewed from the front of the property and is one of Oahu’s loveliest. The beach is a short distance from the home and is accessed by a common thoroughfare. Not only is the beach a favorite of the Ka'a'awa locals it is a safe area to swim, snorkel, paddleboard and kayak as it has a protected reef. The beach offers solitude as not many locals and others frequent it. At night you will be lulled to sleep by the sound of the ocean. This home is well suited especially to families and children.

Large back yard.

After coming from the beach there is a large enclosed outdoor hot and cold water shower situated on the sidewall of the house.

The back patio has about 600 square feet of covered area for entertaining, and has a table and 8 chairs for outdoor lounging. Off to the side is a storage area and toilet.

The kitchen has been completely renovated in 2012 with ceramic tile floors, granite counter tops, a large kitchen sink, cabinets outfitted w/lots of storage space, a full range stove and oven, a full-sized refrigerator/freezer with ice maker. The dining area has a dining table to seat six and a microwave oven. The living room and hallway are carpeted. The comfortable couch could provide sleeping for 1 additional person. There are 3 bedrooms with a queen, full, and 2 twin beds in each of the rooms respectively. Two of the rooms have full-sized dressers and all three rooms have closets. The 2 bathrooms with toilet and wash basin in the master bedroom and the main bathroom with bathtub/shower, toilet, wash basin and storage cabinet were renovated in 2012 as well with ceramic tile floors and granite counter top. The home has solid hardwood oak flooring throughout with carpeting in the living room and hallway.

This home was built in the late 1960’s by the original owners whose passions for fishing and love of the ocean and gardening brought them to this spot which they believed to be truly “paradise on earth”. This home continues to be owned and maintained by the original owner’s descendants with gratefulness and love of the home and land.

Kualoa Ranch offers horseback trail rides, ATV ride tours, jungle tours, and paniolo (Hawaiian) BBQ’s. The ranch has been the site of many movies including 'Jurrasic Park', 'King Kong', 'Lost', '50 First Dates', and current hit TV Series - Hawaii 5-0. The ranch provides movie set tours.

More Details

Owner
Diane or Colin
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 23, 2017

About Diane or Colin

Born and raised in Hawaii. Have lived on the windward side of Oahu since the 1970's. My spouse and I have 3 children and 5 grandchildren

Diane or Colin purchased this house in 2010

Why Diane or Colin chose Kaaawa

This property has been owned by my family since the 1960's. It continues to provide wonderful weekends for my husband and myself, children and grandchildren since it is so close to one of the best beaches on the island. My daughter and I had an opportunity to acquire it when the trust decided to offer it for sale. 'Kaimalino' means calm, quiet ocean at low tide - our daughters have fond memories spent enjoying the beach and ocean with Tutu and Tutu Papa.

What makes this house unique

The property is large and fenced on 4 sides. The beautiful beach is a short walk away. Very quiet in the day and evenings. Magnificent mountain view.

Amenities

Kaaawa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 930 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , ceramic tiled floors, granite countertop, new kohler faucets
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , ceramic tiled floor, Corian wash basin, new kohler faucets
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , toilet located in patio area storage room
  • large enclosed outdoor shower (hot and cold water) for use after coming back from the beach; located on side of house
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • master bedroom has queen bed, full size dresser, half bath (toilet and basin), full closet. Second bedroom has extra long full bed, full size dresser, full closet. Third bedroom has two extra long twin beds, full closet. All bedrooms have solid hardwood oak flooring throughout
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(61 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Family friendly and great get-away
average rating of 4.9344263 based on 61 reviews
5

clean and neat

  • 5 of 5

It was nice to have a kitchen and everything along to go with it. Bedrooms had plenty of room for everyone.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Coralee Thank you for staying at our home; Great to have had you as our guests. Safe travels back home. Please come and stay with us again on your next trip back to the islands
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and cozy home!

  • 5 of 5

How do I even start? The property was phenomenal! It was clean....I mean spotless! The place is loaded with everything you could asked for...from kitchen towel, bath towel, sanitizing wipes, trash bags....so much to list. You can't go wrong with this property.

The owners were great and respond quickly. The entire booking process was easy. Our deposit was refunded real quick as well.

I loved how it is very spacious in both indoor and outdoor. My kids had so much fun running around the yard playing with the provided toys. The in-laws and I love the backyard mountain view. It's breathless and keeps your mind so relax while you sit and enjoy your morning coffee.

The distance was a bit far from all the tourist attraction but we did not mind at all...we love the drive. All those beautiful views along the coast will cut your taveling time short and by the time you know it, you've arrived at your destination.

The neighbor was such a charm. She made us feel so welcome. Since we had extra eggs and water, I gave it to her the day we departed the island. She is definitely someone you would want as your next door neighbor. Sadly our family didn't really get to explore the beach near the property. Our schedule was so booked throughout the entire stay. Maybe our next trip we will definitely make it our priority to visit it.

Make sure you are fully aware there is no AC on this property. If you do not mind the heat, you will be perfectly fine. Our first day was a little rough because we felt like we were being toasted in an oven. But we got use to this Hawaii weather and learned how to work around it. We can't complain because this information is disclosed to renters. It was our decision to rent it and we have no regrets. The property overall was great! I will definitely rent this place again and recommend the home to other renters. Thanks again Colin and Diane for sharing your beautiful property with our family!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful nice and cozy place.

  • 5 of 5

How do I even start? The property was phenomenal! It was clean....I mean spotless! The place is loaded with everything you could asked for...from kitchen towel, bath towel, sanitizing wipes, trash bags....so much to list. The owners were great and respond quickly. The entire booking process was easy with them. Our deposit refund was fast too. I loved how it is very spacious in both indoor and outdoor. My kids were having so much fun running around the yard playing with the provided toys. The in-laws and I enjoyed the mountain view every morning with our coffees. The distance was a bit far from all the tourist attraction but we did not mind at all...we love the drive because there's so many things to view along the coast. The neighbor Annette was such a charm. She made us feel so welcome. Since we had extra eggs and water, I gave it to her the day we departed the island. She is definitely someone you would want as your next door neighbor. I was a bit sad because although we stayed 10 days, the family didn't really get to explore the beach near the property. It was a gorgeous view from afar. I plan to go again and this time, it will definitely be on my list. The only thing to consider before renting the place is there is no air conditioner, so if you do not mind the heat, you will be fine. Our first day was a little rough because we felt like we were being toasted in an oven. But we got use to this Hawaii weather and learned how to work around it. We can't complain though because the owners disclosed the information. It was our decision to rent it and we have no regrets because the property overall was great! I will definitely rent this place again and recommend the home to other renters. Thanks again Colin and Diane for sharing your beautiful property with our family!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Gosh Amanda... we're just so glad you and your family had a wonderful trip to the islands. Sorry that there wasn't enough time for you to squeeze in some play time at the nearby beach. We think it's one of the best as it's so private and all to yourself. We do try to do our best to make out home as warm and clean for our valued guests. Please come back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Welcoming and Lovely

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for sharing your wonderful family home with ours, we felt so at home and comfortable. The love you have for your home is evident in every detail, thank you so much for a wonderful stay on O'ahu!

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Catherine Thank you for staying at Kaimalino. So happy you had a wonderful vacation. You're welcomed back on your next trip back to the islands
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vacaville
5

Great Place!

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for a family with 3 grown children. Great organization in the home. Clean and fan placements! We were able to hit the North Shore or get to the city if we wanted. Neighbors were nice and helpful. Would've stayed longer if we could. Would definitely return.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Abby. Great that you had a nice return to the islands after so many years away. Come back again soon and visit us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
5

Perfect Accomodations

  • 5 of 5

You cannot go wrong booking with Colin and Diane. First of all, they are incredibly accommodating despite the many questions I had and countless changes to our party size. They had been very understanding and quick to respond throughout the entire process which goes a long way when planning a week long trip 4,000 miles away from home.

Once we arrived at the house the very first thing everybody noticed was how clean the entire place was. Colin and Diane clearly take pride in keeping a clean home. The next thing we noticed was how well stocked it was. From extra bedding, to the countless supply of towels, to a fully (and I mean fully) stocked kitchen, we were not left wanting anything.

We found that we spent a good majority of our time at the house outdoors in the large patio and gorgeous backyard. The view of the mountains were AMAZING and we could not get enough of it. The beach was a short 2 minute walk away and it was absolutely beautiful.

Do yourself a favour and use the outdoor shower sooner rather than later. I can understand how hesitant some may be showering outside but, believe me, you will not regret it. One housemate waited until nearer the end of the trip to use it and she was kicking herself for waiting so long.

The place was easy enough to find and get to, plus the neighbourhood was very nice. The neighbours on either side were also very polite. You will hear the roosters crowing in the early morning but I found that the sound of the nearby ocean drowned them out so they were not really an issue for any of us.

All in all, these accommodations were perfect. We are already planning a trip back, and if Colin and Diane will have us, this would be the first place I would consider staying in Oahu.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks John for your wonderful review. We're humbled by all the great things you shared about your stay. Would love to have you back again on your next return to the islands.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Turtle Bay
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
Kamehameha
Nearest Restaurant
13 Miles
Haleiwa Joes in Kaneohe
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Kaaawa Beach
Car: necessary

Waikiki (Ala Moana Shopping Center, Diamond Head, Honolulu Zoo) - 45 minutes; Pearl Harbor - 40 minutes: Honolulu Airport - 40 minutes; Laie: Polynesian Culture Center, BYU-Hawaii, LDS Temple - 15 minutes : Kahuku: shrimp trucks, Muni 9-hole public golf course - 20 minutes; Turtle Bay Resort: dining, snorkeling, golf (Palmer & Fazio courses), surfing - 30 minutes; North Shore: Sunset, Pipeline, Waimea Bay - 40 minutes; Haleiwa - shave ice - 50 minutes; Kaneohe Bay: glass bottom boat: 20 minutes 7-11 half mile, grocery story 15 minutes away

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $175
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 14.98%

Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
Half of total due on booking. Balance due 30 days prior to arrival
$175 Cleaning Fee
Contact owner about Cancellation Policy
our calendar may not be up to date; please contact owner directly to confirm availability
General Excise Tax License and Transient Accommodation Tax: Hawaii Tax I. D. # W02103324-01

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.