Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

***NEWLY BUILT*** Lakefront Cottage

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

This beautiful, newly built cottage sits on a spacious acre of manicured lawn, overlooking Carnachan Bay. With a private lakefront and stunning sunsets, this is the perfect vacation spot for anyone! Whether you are planning an intimate weekend by the campfire or a large gathering with family and friends, this getaway spot will provide you with the right accommodations to suit your any need.

It is located just minutes from Sandbanks Provincial Park and a short drive to Kingston's 1000 Island Tours and Prince Edward County wineries, restaurants and shopping. This spot is ideal for fishing, boating and swimming.

The cottage is approximately 2000 square feet, with 3 bedrooms (sleeps up to 10 people) and 2.5 bathrooms. Fridge, stove, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, pots and pans, cooking utensils, dishes, cutlery, glasses, etc. are provided. Internet, Satellite TV, Board Games, DVD Player and a variety of DVD movies are available for use.

A 12' wide x 48' long upper level deck, attached to the house facing the water, plenty of additional space for entertaining with family and friends. Walkout from kitchen and master bedroom.

More Details

Owner
Alda Henderson
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 12, 2017

Amenities

Greater Napanee Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Powder Room - toilet , 2 rolls of toilet paper, hand soap and hand towel supplied
    Basement Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , 2 rolls of toilet paper, hand soap and hand towel supplied
    Ensuite Bathroom - toilet , tub , shower , 2 rolls of toilet paper, hand soap and hand towel supplied
  • Each bathroom will have 2 rolls of toilet paper, hand soap and hand towel supplied. We ask that you bring what you need for your stay.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double
    Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Ensuite bathroom and walk-in closet.
  • All beds have comforters, we ask that you bring your own pillows, sheets and bath towels.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
We have maintenance staff that can assist with any problems/issue's during your stay.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

63% Complete
27% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
***NEWLY BUILT*** Lakefront Cottage
average rating of 4.3636365 based on 11 reviews
5

Happy times at the cottage

  • 5 of 5

We very much enjoyed our stay. The cottage is in a great shape and conveniently located in a quiet area but close to the highway and access via ferry to the area of wineries, cideries, breweries, nature walks and beaches of Sandbanks.

An important added bonus was that owners/managers were closeby and immediately available to address our needs and answer every question.

The cottage is large to provide privacy to our 3 families staying there.

Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, thank you for this review. We are pleased to hear that you and your guests enjoyed your stay. It's great that you all explored what this area has to offer. We hope to see you back next year! Warmest Regards, THE HENDERSON RETREAT Alda Henderson/Property Manager
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Big Clean Cottage with Large property

  • 4 of 5

We stayed for one week and really enjoyed our stay. Unfortunately the water level was really high and we were not able to use the dock. Not the cottages fault though. This cottage is very close to the ferry which takes you to Picton. Fishing was great!!! The cottage was Very clean when we got there. Lots of space to play.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Nick, thank you for this review. Yes, although the dock was not able to go in this year, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay regardless. It's great that the fishing was a success. We hope to see you back next year! Warmest Regards, THE HENDERSON RETREAT Alda Henderson/Property Manager
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely lakefront property with a great deck and spacious home!

  • 4 of 5

My spouse, kid and I spent a happy nine days at this beautiful property. When cousins from Nova Scotia decided to visit at the last minute, along with the in-laws, there was plenty of room for meals and card games, and there were enough beds for all. When it was the three of us, we enjoyed the BBQ, large deck and well-equipped kitchen. The lakefront and firepit were great features!

We used the Glenora Ferry almost daily and had a fabulous dinner at "The Inn" next to the Lake on the Mountain... and Sandbanks was always a treat (get there early on summer wkds).

Inside, the modern amenities of the cottage were a real plus -- and outside, the second-floor deck was the best spot for relaxing, and first-floor walk-out made for easy access to the backyard and water. The owner/property manager is attentive and friendly.

We definitely recommend the Henderson Retreat!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Catherine, thank you for this wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you and your guests had a great time at The Henderson Retreat. We hope to see you again in your future travels. Warmest Regards, Alda Henderson/Property Manager
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property and view. Very clean and welcoming! Very friendly property owner/manager!

  • 5 of 5

Our group of 9 girls ventured to the Henderson Retreat for a bachelorette party! Had a fabulous time. Enjoyed our time at the clean and welcoming home on a beautiful property! We also visited the Drake Devonshire for brunch and 4 local wineries just across the Glenora Ferry! Very friendly and accommodating property owner/manager! Would definitely reccommend!

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Katie, thank you for this wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you and your guests enjoyed your stay at The Henderson Retreat. It was a pleasure dealing with you as well. Thank you for leaving the cottage in the same condition as when you arrived. Congratulations to the bride! Warmest Regards, The Henderson Retreat
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Girls Getaway

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at your beautiful cottage this past weekend and I just wanted to let you know how much we appreciated our stay, and for your thoughtfulness given the tornado warning Saturday night. I would highly recommend your cottage to any friends & family. It was true to the photos and very accommodating (specifically the garbage arrangement and recycling as this helped facilitate a large group of girls). Thank you again for the beautiful stay! :)

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Total Disappointment

  • 1 of 5

It is unfortunate to say that this cottage was a total let down for us. We had a weekend planned for the ladies with lots of delicious food on the menu. The major issue was that neither the oven, nor BBQ worked well.

Firstly one of the burners on the stove top was burn out and labelled as such on the oven, but not mentioned in the listing.

Secondly, although the oven worked, it did not seem to heat up to the temperature that it said it was at. We had a Sheppard’s pie that took 5 hours to cook at 450 degrees C and a quiche that took 1.5 hours to cook at the same temperature.

Lastly, the biggest disappointment was that the BBQ also did not heat up properly either. We checked that the propane was full and made sure the gas was on. We had a steak dinner planned for 9 people, which was essentially ruined. We contacted the owner, who said she would email the neighbour to come by once she got home, but by that point the dinner was already ruined.

When we contacted the owner again regarding the state of the cooking appliances, she said that she would rectify this in future by leaving instruction. This was unsatisfactory and insulting to hear that she thought that 9 people could not figure out how to work an oven or BBQ.

The cottage itself was fine, but definitely not what we expected and we felt that we were overcharged in the end.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the cottage. The satisfaction of our guests is important to us. We understand that problems/issue’s may arise during our guests stay, so we provide maintenance staff that can assist in a timely manner. When your problem arose, we offered this service and you refused. The appliances noted were thoroughly inspected and are in good working condition. We take pride in maintaining the cottage and providing assistance when needed.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
7.8 Kilometres
Picton
Nearest Ferry
2 Kilometres
Glenora Ferry
Nearest Golf
7.8 Kilometres
Picton
Nearest Motorway
1 Kilometres
Highway 33
Nearest Restaurant
7.8 Kilometres
Picton
Nearest Beach
18.4 Kilometres
Sandbanks Provincial Park

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $81.44
Damage Deposit $407.2

A $500.00 (non refundable) deposit is required to secure the booking, and the balance plus the $500.00 (refundable) damage deposit is to be paid in full 60 days prior to occupancy.

PLEASE NOTE:
vrbo service fee's are separate from the cottage rental payments, vrbo collects the service fee directly from all travelers and we collect the cottage rental payments through our own setup noted on the agreement.

Any questions regarding payment process, please contact us at: thehendersonretreat@outlook.com

PLEASE NOTE: Holiday week-end rate: $700.00/night, (3 night minimum stay)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties