About the property
- Townhome1250 sqft
- Half Baths1
- Minimum Stay1 - 7 nights
2 bd 2 1/2 Bth sleeps 6*Direct OCEAN FRONT VILLA*OCEAN FRONT POOL*
Welcome to our Gulf front townhome at the Cape Villas. Located just steps from the gulf front pool and a very private wide beach. This area is a place where the beach and nature collide to make a magical vacation spot. Certainly one to experience.....and one you will never forget.
Floor Plan: Ground Level-kitchen with new cabinetry and laundry closet; dining area, ½ bath and gulf front living room. The living room includes a sleeper sofa, large flat screen TV and Blu-Ray player and opens onto the nicely furnished, gulf front screened porch. 2nd Level-Bedroom 1 – queen bed, flat screen TV, balcony and a full bath with tub/shower combo; and Bedroom 2 – gulf front master bedroom with king bed, flat screen TV, full bath with tub/shower combo and a gulf front screened porch. with nice, sturdy furniture and a ceiling fan.
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within one day
- Calendar last updated:
- May 22, 2018
About Lasinda McDaniel
We are the McDaniel family from the suburbs of Washington, D.C. My husband grew up in Georgia and I grew up in Alabama. We vacationed with our families on the Gulf growing up. It has always been a dream of ours to own our own beach home on the panhandle of Florida. There quite simply is no other beach that compares. We visited the Cape San Blas area a few years ago and fell in love with the uncrowded beaches and abundant wildlife and natural beauty. We knew then that this is the place we would live someday. We are so thankful our three children will grow up making memories here at the beach. We are happy to share this place with you and your family.
Lasinda McDaniel purchased this Townhome in 2013
Why Lasinda McDaniel chose Port St. Joe
We chose this beach home because of the beautiful quite area. And, we loved the idea of having a home located between the beautiful towns of Port Saint Joe and Appalachacola.
What makes this Townhome unique
Our beach home is located directly on the Gulf.....beautiful views and uncrowded beaches...and a Gulf front pool shared by only twelve homes. Our home and beach are dog friendly :)
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 10:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.
it was a little below expectations
The whole complex is in need of a little repair. The unit needs new furniture and updates, the glass sliding doors on second bedroom need to be cleaned or replaced, cant see out of it. The Bayou is nice but it makes the gulf water murkey. There is hardly any view from the downstairs living area. There are lots of beach toys and chairs and umbrellas. Kitchen was well stocked. The best place was master bedroom screened porch. Screens needed to be replaced.
Hello! Thank you for your comments and suggestions. The screens have been replaced! Thanks for letting me know. The complex has been undergoing external upgrades over the past couple of weeks.....including a new pool fence. The parking side sliding glass has some moisture trapped between the two panes of glass....it is not dirty. Honestly, I have chose not to replace it becuae no one seems to care if the view of the parking lot on the back side of the building is a little cloudy. Not worth the $3000 it costs to replace a hurricane rated sliding glass door. There is nothing at all wrong with the furnirure....I suppose opinions are a matter of personal taste. I find that guests who are accustomed to the newer, flashier types of condos that are abundant in Destin and Panama City may have expectations that are difficult, if not impossible, to find on Cape San Blas and Indian Pass. There are no new multi unit developments in cape and pass area. NO big deluxe resorts....or shiny towering condos here. The entire area is small, older multi unit buildings and private single resident homes. That is what makes the cape and pass so special..quiet and peaceful..natural and BEAUTIFUL:) Hence, our nickname, "the Forgotten Coast". If your expectations are to find new and shiny.....you will be disapppinted in the entire cape and pass area. The is much to find that is absolutely breath taking and wonderful.
Great location for a variety of nature activitites!
Our stay started off a little rocky but ended being a wonderful stay. The Cape San Blas area is one of our families favorite locations in North Florida. I have been visiting the area since 1976 when I was in Scouts.
"Cape Sea LaVie" is very comfortable and well appointed. When we arrived the hot water heater was not functioning. But thanks to quick action and response from the area manager following the problem being reported, the hot water was restored relatively quickly. Many thanks. The villa is located just a few steps from the Gulf of Mexico. When you are done for the day with the sun, sand and surf, a crystal clear swimming pool beckons for a quick dip in the fresh water before dinner- be sure to wash off the sand before getting into the pool.
We chose to prepare most of our means during our week long stay. Our meal planning included two trips out for special meals. Our first stop was Joe Mama's Wood Fired Pizza. (http://www.joemamaspizza.com/) WOW! If you go get the smoky bacon mac and cheese to share. One morning we treated ourselves to some fresh donuts from Weber's Little Donut Shop (https://www.facebook.com/pages/Webers-Little-Donut-Shop/1560514830876583?nr) If you want to treat yourself to some warm fresh donuts get there early. The door opens at 7:30am and they usually sell out before 9:00am - get there early to make sure you can get some of the Deluxe Chocolate & Pecan Fried Croissants. Our ding outings were rounded out on the last night of our stay. Despite the heavy downpour of rain, we braved a trip into Port Saint Joe to dine at the Sunset Coastal Grill - (http://www.sunsetcoastalgrill.com/). Had it not been raining we would have been able to watch one of the area's famous sunsets.
All-in-all a great trip and a nice little villa to base our vacation. We hope to visit again next year.
Our second year to enjoy this rental!
This is our second time to rent this property, and we'll be going back. In addition to close access to a beautiful beach, the property is clean and well stocked with household items. The first time I rented, I was a little concerned about renting a dog-friendly place that has upstairs carpet, but both times, the home was immaculate. The porch leading to the beach has a ceiling fan and was the perfect place for our dog to air-dry after coming off the beach, and there is a space under the stairs that housed our extra-large dog crate.
Also, this is the only rental I've ever visited for which we truly did not need beach chairs, umbrellas, or sand toys (there are also crab pots, if you feel like catching your dinner!). We had a small maintenance problem while we were there, and the property manager came promptly, left her telephone number in case we had further problems, and texted me later to make sure all was still well.
The beach is fantastic and uncrowded; there was only a scattering of other families in the mile or so of beach that we could see on either side of us. This is perfect for our family, but if your ideal beach trip includes crowds and lots of restaurants and shopping (in other words, 30A), this is not the area for you. The beach is dog-friendly, as are most of the people you'll meet on the beach. Our large, water-loving dog spent every available minute out on the beach with us, but most people take their dogs out for strolls in the morning and evening.
Thanks so much for your kind review. We hope to have you visit again soon!
One my favorite places
It's a great place. Huge beach, serene and private atmosphere for a super-stressed and depressed person, who wants to be away from anything and just chill. No shopping, no 'entertainments' in the classical Disney World sense. I traveled with my very old dog and he loved our walks on the beach.
Four stars have little to do with the house itself. It's just a general score that includes the weather conditions: only one swimming day out of seven because of the troubled and muddled water; two days of thunderstorms. In the house: very steep stairs to the second floor, which was a bit of a challenge for my dog; a very soft bed in a master bedroom, so I had to use another room to sleep (originally I planned to travel with my son, but he started working during his college graduation, so I had two bedrooms to choose).
The place is clean and fairly well-stocked on necessary and fun stuff. The cellular connection is almost non-existent, but the wifi helped a lot.
The bayou looked a bit scary in the beginning, but was actually quite nice. My dog figured out how to cross it. I was just afraid to step on a crab, but they were smart enough to move out of your way.
In general, very beautiful and quiet place.
Beautiful & Quiet Beach!
Loved, loved, loved the clean and empty beach! Our recent stay will truly be one we will remember with lots of fun, fishing, sun, surf, and crab chasing. Picking our own spot of heaven on the beach was an easy task every day as there was plenty of room for us and all of our stuff! We never had neighbors closer than 100 feet away! We fished the surf, watched dozens of dolphins not far from where we were standing, had small sting rays come into the shallow waters, and even a small black tip shark made a brief appearance. I've never been able to pick up so many live starfish on any beach I've ever been to and it was a real treat for our grandchildren to hold them. We walked the beach early morning and night by the full moon. The beach is so clean you don't have to worry where you're walking in bare feet! And the sand is not that deep, hard to walk through, make you tired kind of sand.
We bought a really cool toy that was lit with bright colors that we shot into the air on the beach one night - that was the most fun!
The view from the lush grass in the back yard is fabulous! It looks across the bayou but it's lower so not in view. The vast span of white sand beach between the ocean and the bayou was really impressive. We did have to cross the bayou to get onto the beach every day but the water depth only ranged from 2 inches to maybe 8 inches and was very easily traversed.
The condo was fully stocked with all possible chairs, crab nets, cast nets, sand toys, boogie boards, pool floats, and umbrellas you could possibly use! The interior of the condo was much nicer than average. It has extra high ceilings, textured walls, fully stocked kitchen, nice linens, and cold A/C thank goodness. The ceiling fan in the ocean side bedroom only has one speed but at least one was there and it works!
The drive into town only takes about 15 minutes but we were pleased to find Piggly Wiggly's prices were extremely reasonable. We went into Apalachicola for dinner 2 nights which is only 20 minutes east of the condo. We bought fresh shrimp at one of the local places on the bay and the ladies there really know their seafood!
We had a fabulous time and all decided we are never going back to Gulf Shores, Destin, Panama City, or any other beach with high rise condos with thousands of people - EVER again! We are already making plans to go back to this place next year or maybe the year after since we'll have a newborn this time next year.
Thank you so very much for your kind words. I am beyond thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We think it is a very special place, too! We had always gone to Gulf Shores or Destin......until we found Cape San Blas. Hope to have you back soon :)
Where's the Beach?
I’ve lost count of how many beach chairs and umbrellas I’ve purchased over the years, so I really appreciated that the townhouse was well-stocked with beach equipment. Unfortunately, the house wasn’t stocked with beach access. If you want to pop out your door and take a short stroll to the surf, this is not the place for you. Money Bayou runs in front of Cape Villas. It’s about 30’ wide and 4’ deep. There is not, and never has been, a bridge. I saw one fisherman hold up his equipment and wade across. There are critters in there, so I chose the alternative and walked through the yards and driveways of four houses and used a developer-owned bridge with no trespassing signs posted to reach the beach. Then I walked through the sand and crossed a restorative area. The owner emailed me AFTER my credit card payment posted to tell me I would not have direct beach access, and I had permission to use the bridge that is NOT next door. I found the walk uncomfortable at best. If you are thinking of renting any unit in Cape Villas, you will not have easy or direct access to the beach, so ask lots of questions before you book.
I had to work during some on my visit, so I was delighted to find that the WiFi was fast and the signal strong. Finding a comfortable place to sit with my laptop was another issue. The furniture just wasn’t very comfortable. Sitting for more than twenty or thirty minutes just didn’t work well. I needed to be on line for hours at a time, so the situation wasn’t really very workable. WiFi does work on the picnic table by the pool, but again comfort is an issue.
The pool was very well-maintained. It was clean, and everything was in working order. Most evenings, I enjoyed having the pool to myself. Only twelve units share the pool, and schools were still in session, so it was adult friendly. I should mention that generally, Cape Villas has a very communal feel. Somebody is probably going to chat with you while you’re firing up the barbecue grill.
Most of the units were occupied during our two week stay, and I think every unit had at least one dog in it. There are two large fields across the parking lot with supplies of bags for picking up doggie poop. The area is shaded, safe, and comfortable. MOST people followed the rules and leashed their dog/s. I found the area very convenient, especially for walking the dog late at night.
Thank you for your review. As always, we appreciate feedback. If any of our guests have questions, issues or concerns before or during their stay, we go above and beyond to resolve them quickly and to the very best of our ability. Our guest's satisfaction is incredibly important to us. After your stay, there really isn't anything we can do to make things "right" for you. We never want our guests to feel inconvenienced. If given the opportunity, we do what we can to make things "right" so that all of our guests are satifisfied. In this case, we were never informed of your concerns.
The bayou is not a permanent feature in front of the Cape Villas beach. The area has had an extraordinary amount of rain in the past months. The extra water along with westward winds has pushed the end flow of the bayou in front of Cape Villas temporarily. Historically, this has happened a few other occasions. The HOA at Cape Villas is currently working to have the issue permanently corrected. We are in the end stages of the process of finalizing all the government permits (both state and federal) that are required to move the sand and correct the end flow path of the bayou away from Cape Villas as it would normally flow and to deter the wind pushing it out of bounds ever again. We expect the process to be complete in the coming weeks.
As for the furniture, I can honestly say that over the years we have owned our villa, no one has ever complained about the comfort of the furniture. We have, however, had four guests ask where we bought the furniture because they liked it so much. It is typical beach condo furniture. I suppose wheter you find it comfortable or not, is simply a personal preference. Again, we have never had a complaint about comfort before from any of our hundreds of previous guests.
Again, thank you for your feedback. Your opinion does matter a great deal to us.
Our townhome is located conveniently near the town of Port Saint Joe to the west and the historic town of Appalachacola to the east.
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
Partial weeks and monthly rentals will be considered based on a case by case basis.