Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

AVAILABLE WEEKS August and Labor Day

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

Good Harbor Beach in Gloucester, MA

Third house from gorgeous Good Harbor Beach, furnished, spacious family-friendly in-law apt with private entrance, located in a private home. Available one week or more. Easy transport to Boston by car or train in about 1 hour. Renovated apt. with new granite counters, windows, kitchen; includes washer dryer, private parking. Beds for 5 can sleep comfortably up to 2 adults and 2-3 children. Only 1 bathroom in master bedroom, No pets, no smoking.

Howard Fingert
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 15, 2017

Why Howard Fingert chose North of Boston & Greater Merrimack Valley

Excellent location with parking, steps to beach. Spacious private home with sunny private yard at Good Harbor Beach, easy walk to shopping, restaurants, and one of the most beautiful oceanfront walking or bicycling routes in the North Shore, yet easy transport (approx 1 hour) to and from Boston. Located on safe, quiet street.

What makes this house unique

Easy walk to beach, large yard, outdoor eating area, shopping, restaurants. Dedicated private parking in area that has limited parking. Quiet street that is easy for children or families.


Gloucester House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Blue tile shown in photo
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • See beds shown in photos. 5 beds sleep 2 adults and 3 children or adults. The second private bedroom has 1 double and 2 single bunkbeds that can be separate, or put together for adults or children. Living room has futon couch.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Good Harbor Beach! A shared garage is available for storing bicycles or surf board, etc. There are two outdoor parking spots, which may be on downward slanted driveway and second car parked tandor. Multiple restaurants that provide take-out or delivery. Shao Lin Music Center in Rockport has wonderful summer concerts


3.8/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
40% Complete
0% Complete
AVAILABLE WEEKS August and Labor Day
average rating of 3.8 based on 5 reviews

Wrongly advertised property

  • 2 of 5

Very nice location. We were not aware we would be staying in a very damp basement. The owners grandchildren were visiting so we had the pleasure of listening to their every step. The owner did offer to give us our money back but we were unable to find another spot. We ended up leaving our family reunion two days early due to my allergies. We were reimbursed for one night.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

great for a couple or small family

  • 5 of 5

What a gem! The apartment is clean, well equipped, spacious and close to the beach. Having a washer and dryer is a bonus while vacationing at the beach. We had access to the garage for storing our belongings. There is parking for 2 vehicles. The bathroom is located off the master so, the rental would be good for a small family. The backyard is huge. Great neighborhood. The area has many great restaurants. It's close to the grocery store and other amenities. The owners are incredibly nice and accommodating! We'll be coming back.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Boston area

Location was great but make sure to check on amenities

  • 2 of 5

We were in Gloucester for a family vacation with our two teenagers. We arrived to find out that there was no television or internet service. This was a big disappointment for our family and we would have appreciated knowing that there was a problem prior to our family vacation. The owner indicated that she was not able to reach me because of the internet problem. This was surprising to me because she had a contract that we had signed with contact information on it. She suggested that we could go home. This was a really bad way to start our vacation. We complained about the problem but were not met with any resolution so decided to rent a room down the street for a few nights. We complained to one of the owners who refunded us $70. It should have been more. This was a nice gesture on his part but it did not make up for the way we were treated by the owner at the outset. The grill was rusty. I think that if one is going to rent out their property and and asks to be paid a lot of money that this is not the way to treat a paying customer.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have been updating amenities every year, building from constructive feedback from our guests. The WIFI and Cable services were disrupted centrally by the provider, further delayed by a local strike by Verizon workers, They promised repair prior to these renters, but failed to do so and we had no prior knowledge to be able to inform the renters differently.. We then changed to a new provider for both cable and wifi, and have not had any service problems to date. We also have provided (a) flatscreen HD TV w DVD built in;, and (b) backup system for WIFI.. We did not tell them "to go home" as suggested in their comments: instead, we offered to fully refund their payment if they elected not to stay. We were pleased to here that their relatives had previously booked a room to stay at the bed&breakfast across the street, enabling them to have wifi and TV during the period that our systems were down. As an aside, the beach and weather was fantastic this year, and we have not had concerns raised by others who really seek to come here for the beach.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Kansas City

Perfect for a family beach vacation

  • 5 of 5

Location is absolutely perfect and apartment was clean and had everything we needed. Includes a parking spot practically next door to the entrance of Good Harbor Beach. Quiet neighborhood, love having laundry in the rental, big back yard with everything you need to feel at home. Spacious rental and owners couldn't be nicer. Will definitely go back!

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

we are a couple

  • 5 of 5

The location could not be better!!! The apt is clean and fresh. The owners are nice and quiet. The beach is spectacular! The apt is very private and the yard is cool and pleasant to eat all meals outdoors. Grocery store is a few blocks away. Kitchen is well equipped. So nice to have a washer/dryer. Shower is strong. Lots of good restaurants in Gloucester. Definitely would recommend for a couple or a couple with children.

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Logan Airpot, Boston
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Multiple bars in Downtown Gloucester
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Public course in Essex; Private course nearby
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Gloucester to Boston Commuter Rail
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Route 128 to Route 1, to Boston
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Multiple restaurants Rockport & Gloucester
Nearest Beach
30 Metres
Good Harbor Beach
Car: not necessary

Rental available one week or more, Saturday to Saturday. Absolutely best prime location and parking for Good Harbor Beach, spacious apt and large yard. In-law apartment in private home, located on quiet street adjacent to beach 2 parking spots available for renter; the walk just seconds to the beach, walking path or bicycle route that circles Cape Ann with views of Atlantic Ocean and Gloucester Harbor.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $100

Fantastic location just steps to the ocean and one of the largest, cleanest beaches in New England, easy walk to grocery store, spectacular walks and views along the ocean. Parking is a real gift as there is no free parking in this area. By parking tandem, two spaces are provided for standard size cars. Weekly rentals are Saturday to Saturday. Rate over July 4 weekend will add $200. Refund to 50% if cancel at least 30 days prior to planned arrival, or 100% if a new renter takes over the same rental period. No smoking and no pets allowed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties