check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Rates displayed in USD per VRBO policy. Read details for how to view in CAD

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
bungalow
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
1
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

About the property

This 1900 square foot home with 3 bedrooms and 1.5 baths sleeps 8

*Please note that vrbo is now displaying all rental rates, as the default, in U.S. dollars even though my listing is in Canadian funds. Please ensure you have changed the currency to view in to Canadian for an accurate quote. Click on the 'rates' tab and change the currency icon from USD to CAD.

This lovely beachfront home will more than fulfill your vacation needs of fun, sun and relaxation. Most of the rooms in the house offer unobstructed views of the lake and beach. Most of the house has been freshly painted. We have installed a staircase down to the water from the yard and we have built a wheelchair ramp to one of the decks.

The home is shaped like an 'L' with 2 very large family rooms at opposite corners of the house. The kids can be busy in one room watching t.v., playing video or board games while mom and dad can enjoy their own quiet space while still keeping an ear on the kids. We supply a tv with digital antenna, dvd player, a selection of dvd's, and high speed wi-fi internet for rainy days but we think you'll be spending most of your time outside.

There are 3 bedrooms, two of which have a view of the lake. Two bedrooms have queen sized beds, the mattress in one being newly purchased October 2015. The third bedroom has twin beds both mattresses new in October 2015. The sofa/sectional in the family room can accommodate 2 people - so The Beach House can sleep 8 comfortably.

The home boasts 4 decks - 3 of them are around the house. The 4th is located at the edge of the property - where lawn meets sand. Beach chairs, a small table for your refreshments and an umbrella for shade will make this the perfect retreat whether you're watching the kids swim, watching them fish from the shore or watching twilight settle.

Linens and towels are supplied but you should bring your own beach towels. There is a washer and dryer in the home for your use.

The kitchen has been renovated and even washing dishes the old fashioned way can be fun when you can look out the kitchen window with a view of the lake. A newer stainless steel stove and fridge, coffee maker, toaster and microwave round out the kitchen appliances. We also provide a waffle maker, George Foreman grill and slowcooker along with an assortment of baking dishes.

There is a full bath with shower, sink and toilet and a half bath with sink and toilet. Your vehicles can be parked on a paved parking area which will hold four cars.

If you don't want to head out to a restaurant we provide a propane bbq for your use and the firepit on the beach is just the thing for night time marshmallow roasts.

Pt. Pelee is a wonderful place to explore and you will have the use of our family pass for the duration of your stay. Hillman Marsh is also close by and great for kayaking or canoeing. Grab the bikes, jump in the car and head to Kingsville to catch the Pelee Island ferry. Spend the day pedalling around this lovely island and discover restaurants, nature, fresh air and wine tasting.

We keep coffee and tea stocked in the kitchen so that you can enjoy your first morning on the deck in the sun without having to head into town for groceries.We also provide paper towel, toilet paper, cleaning supplies, dish soap, laundry soap, hand soap, coffee filters and garbage bags.

This property is a wonderful place for a family reunion, a group of adults travelling together or just a couple.

More Details

Owner
Pauline Simpson
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 15, 2017

Why Pauline Simpson chose Ontario

This house is all about the wonderful, wide sandy beach and a layout that is terrific for families and larger groups traveling together. Whether it's a group of birders in spring or fall or a family reunion/vacation - this home is large enough. Views of the beach are available from most of the rooms in the house. This is also a great place for birders. Bring a group. It's only 25 minutes to Pt. Pelee National Park and 10 minutes to Hillman Marsh.

What makes this bungalow unique

We love this house for the views of the lake, the sandy beach, the large and airy principal rooms and the fact it's out of town but not too far away. The Beach House is well designed for families who want to be together but have some private space (inside or out) when they need it. You can view Pt. Pelee from the beachside deck. The home is in a year round community so you won't feel isolated. The property is on municipal water and sewer. You can drink the tap water. If it gets too hot there's central air conditioning.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

Rates displayed in USD per VRBO policy. Read details for how to view in CAD
average rating of 4.785714 based on 28 reviews
5

Absolutely loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Our group of 8 adult friends (no children) had a fantastic time!! The house is very spacious and has everything! No need to bring anything but your clothes and food. Every cupboard in the kitchen and bathroom was stocked well. The house was very clean and lots of bedding provided. There are 2 record players and an amazing selection of vinyls, which we played all weekend. The water was too rough to get out in the kayaks so we took a walk down to the pier and did a bit of fishing. Very nice, quiet neighbourhood, and close enough to town to run in and get a few groceries. Martha and Martin - the property managers - were SO kind! We brought firewood but not quite enough and they had some at their house that we bought and they delivered it right to us. There was only one thing that wasn't good - the BBQ didn't work and we weren't informed of it until we arrived. The couple that planned a BBQ dinner just had to cook it in the oven, but it turned out just fine. This property was the perfect fit for our group. Had a huge dining table and a big enough kitchen for us all as well. We are already thinking of doing it again next year! Thank you for a wonderful experience!

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Amy; Thanks for taking the time to post a review of my property. I'm sorry the bbq didn't work for you as I thought it had been repaired in time for your group. I'm happy that you enjoyed yourselves otherwise. And I'm glad you had fun with the vintage vinyl :) Thanks for choosing us for your getaway weekend.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Roseburg Oregon
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

Our group enjoyed our 2 week stay. Nice house and great waterfront property. Property manager Martha and her husband Martin were spectacular. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Melody. So glad you enjoyed your stay. We try to go above and beyond in providing a great place for vacationing guests. Thanks for choosing The Beach House.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A little bit of Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We have just returned from a very enjoyable week at the Beach House and it is a beautiful home and we had a great time, There is lots of room for everyone and with all of the decks around the house, you can always find a little bit of shade, if that is what you want. All you have to do is bring your clothes and your groceries, there is everything there that you would ever need. It is a very nice and quiet neighbourhood and it is so nice to hear the waves hitting the beach and just watching the water is very comforting. We would like to thank Pauline for sharing her beautiful home, it is just like Paradise to go there. Martha was a great help to us and we really had a great time, I had my birthday while we were there and Martha even brought me her famous carrot cake, thanks Martha. We would recommend it to anyone, it is a great place.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the lovely review. We try hard to make your stay as enjoyable and stress free as possible. It is a relaxing location and I'm glad it lived up to your expectations. Thanks for choosing The Beach House.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Large, spacious, clean house

  • 5 of 5

This home was completely outfitted for all of our needs - five adults. As listed in the description, it is a family home with all of the amenities accurately described. It was clean, spacious, bedrooms were spread apart so sound did not carry as much. Bedding and linens were clean and good quality. One queen bed was firm, one was softer; two twin beds were firm. The two living room areas were huge, the kitchen was massive and well appointed. Although only one shower was available, we made it work. There was a second washroom as well. Tile and hardwood floors in the main areas made it easy to keep clean. The outside areas were great. Large decks facing the lake, shady or sunny spots available. The beach was smaller due to higher waves but still accessible for swimming and kayaking. The massive fire pit allowed for amazing bon fires while the grassy areas were safely away from the fire pit and the beach wall. A good gas barbeque was an added benefit. Air conditioning or the many open windows kept the house cool, the breezes from the lake were exceptional, and sunrise/sunset were picture perfect from the house or deck .

Situated conveniently near Leamington, Point Pelee and Pelee Island, wineries/winery tours, Hillman Marsh, lots of fresh fish to buy, many good fish fry eateries; 10 to 15 minute drives for everything you need for groceries, fast food, restaurants, typical amenities in a city (Leamington). Although Lake Erie can be cool, it is a pleasant lake for swimming when the wind is calm. For those who like waves, it can be fun as well when the surf is up. The beach is gritty type stones and sand mixture, with a fast drop off in some places. There is a public beach very near to this house which has a lower slope shoreline than the house's beach. Both are still safe though. Kayaking from the house beach was perfect.

Access to the beach is in transition right now - a boat ladder down the beach protection wall, or stepping onto a log stump while holding on to a side fence for one big step. Both were okay but not very accessible.

The property manager/neighbour was available at all times and quick to respond to our needs. Check in was arranged by a direct phone call to her, and went smoothly. Email communication with the owner plus personal phone calls with her made this a comfortable rental process. Note rates are initially shown in U.S. dollars.

This is a quiet and peaceful spot on the lake. We would recommend this home and would return again.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review Ginny. I am glad the house met the needs for your family vacation. We try and create a great space for our guests and I'm glad the weather complied. Thanks for choosing The Beach House.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Family Vacation Cottage

  • 5 of 5

My husband, my daughter, her husband, our 3 year old grandson and 5 month old granddaughter just came back from a wonderful vacation at the Beach House. We were very lucky with the weather, blue sky and hot temps daily. Our grandson enjoyed the kayak, beach and camp fires. When he needed a break from the sun, there were games and toys for him to explore. We appreciated the ramp on the deck, when bringing the stroller on the deck.

Since our daughter got married, we take a yearly family vacation, and the kids mentioned that this maybe a return place! We all had such a relaxing time there.

Thanks to Pauline, who was a pleasure to deal with when booking and to Martha, who was of great assistance during our stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad your family enjoyed themselves, Jutta. We try hard to create an environment where all you need to do is relax. Thanks for the lovely review and I hope you decide to vacation with us next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Toronto
5

Everything you want in a cottage

  • 5 of 5

My family of 4 along with my sister family of 4 stayed at this wonderful cottage for 7 days. We had a wonderful time. Lots of space to spread the family around with two large living rooms. The location was convenient with going to Leamington and Point Pelee National Park. Wheatley Provincial Park was right next door and we really enjoyed it there. The cottage was fully stock! George Foreman grill! The Montreal Steak spices came in handy since we forgot to bring ours from home. The new bbq was awesome! Lots of board games for the kids. There is a big screen tv but we never turned it on because we enjoyed the outdoors and playing board games.

Thanks Pauline for a wonderful experience.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Minh; Thank you so much for the lovely review. We put thought in to creating a great family getaway, right down to the board games and vintage record player. I'm glad your family enjoyed your time at The Beach House and I hope we see you next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Windsor
Nearest Ferry
15 Miles
Pelee Island ferry from Kingsville
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Talbot Trail Golf Club
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Chatham-Kent
Nearest Motorway
20 Miles
Hwy. 401
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Wheatley
Car: necessary

This home, on the southern edge of Wheatley provides the quiet and relaxation of a small town while being close enough to Leamington for shopping and dining.

Pt. Pelee and Hillman Marsh are both within a 20 minute drive. The border to Detroit is a 45 minute drive.

The front yard is a lawn merging into a sandy beach which is a great spot to launch your canoe or kayak. The surrounding countryside is flat so why not try exploring on your bike? For the locavore, the area abounds with farms, farm stands and pick-your-own fruit and produce opportunities. There are several local fish stores which sell fresh and smoked fish if you don't want to catch it yourself. Leamington is 15 minutes west and offers a larger selection of restaurants and shopping. Further west of this is Amherstburg (about 25 minutes away) with a great waterfront, some lovely dining opportunities and historic Ft. Malden.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Wheatley Bungalow Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
fall
Sep 5 2016 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$133
$987
 
 
Festival of Birds
May 1 2017 - May 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
$171
$1,081
 
 
Pre-summer
May 23 2017 - Jun 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$152
$1,062
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,138
$3,794
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $76
Refundable damage deposit $190

A booking is not guaranteed until payment has been received. There is a cancellation policy in effect. Cancellations made within 14 days or less of the start of your rental period will result in a refund of 50% of the cost of your rental period. Cancellations made between 15 days and 30 days of the start of your rental period will result in a refund of 75% of your rental cost. Cancellations made 31 days or more prior to the start of your reservation will be refunded in full.
Failure to comply with the terms of the signed contract, including unauthorized guests using the property overnight, will result in non refund of the security deposit.

Invoices are sent by email through Paypal and payment may be made with a major credit card or a paypal account. An immediate payment of your security deposit is required to hold dates for the 2017 season. The balance owing is invoiced as 50% of the balance due 60 days prior to arrival and the balance due 30 days prior to your arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Wheatley Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , Toilet, sink with cabinet and storage
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Bathroom was gutted and renovated in November 2014
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • A large sectional couch in the family room converts to a queen size bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 3 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Birders will appreciate that Hillman Marsh and Pt. Pelee are close by. Kayakers will enjoy launching from the front yard directly into the lake.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties