Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront Luxury, ~AC~ in 5 King Beds+Bunkrm, Private Pool, Stunning Views

Sleeps20
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms6
Space 5,140 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

6 Bedrooms, 6 Baths, Sleeps 20

Hale Pua (“House of Flowers”) now features AC as an option in all of its sleeping areas: five king bedrooms, one bunkroom with four twin beds and game room with queen sofabed. This special home is maybe the only 6 bed/6 full bath oceanfront vacation rental on the Kona Coast. For recent candid photos and input from guests, please visit our FB page, halepuahouseofflowers.

Hale Pua is a coastal oasis with high-end comforts and details throughout. While this privately-owned home works wonderfully for large gatherings, it is just as warm & welcoming for several couples or a smaller family group.

The home boasts full baths for every bedroom, and a sprawling sea-facing great room with easy access to the kitchen and wetbar. Multiple wall-to-wall glass sliding doors on the oceanside allow trade winds to gently flow while enjoying the stunning water and sunset views. You can SEE or HEAR the ocean from nearly every room!

The spacious lanai with waterfall pool and spa extends the full length of the house along the oceanfront. A lush stretch of yard is the only separation between the rolling surf against the lava rock wall and the home’s lanai.

Just a 50 foot walk from the lanai along a wide rock wall is a small sandy beach with gentle entry to abundant tide pools and out to the ocean for snorkeling, surfing or kayaking.

Your ocean view is unobstructed and stunning; no walking path between you and the sea as can be the case in many local beachfront neighborhoods.

After a day of sun & fun, kids (or adults!) can chill out watching their favorite movie or TV show in the media room featuring leather home theater recliners and a 70” Smart Samsung flat screen TV with surround sound. Many Blu-ray movies are provided for your enjoyment.

The executive open-design dream kitchen features granite counter and dining room seating for 16 indoors, 8 outdoors. This chef-worthy kitchen is equipped with 2 refrigerators, 2 dishwashers, 1 wine cooler, Subzero & Dacor appliances along with flatware & dishes to serve over 20 people.

Hale Pua is a special home that has been recently renovated with custom paint, window treatments, wall art and designer Restoration Hardware furniture. Each bedroom bears a fitting title in a brass doorplate, such as “Surf’s Up”, “Kona Coffee”, “Pua Suite” and so on. The Hawaiian bedroom décor showcases updated linens, pillows and tropical touches that will make you smile. All bedrooms have flat screen TVs with cable.

The 2nd floor Master Suite, with panoramic ocean views, provides optimum whale and dolphin watching opportunities. Another guest suite is “Ohana” designed, also ocean view offering upstairs sleeping and separate downstairs living/sleeping with wall-to-wall sliders opening onto the lanai.

The baths are all full-size, three with double-sink vanities. Four of the six baths have very large tiled walk-in showers; the other two have shower tubs, one of those featuring a Jacuzzi. Vaulted beamed ceilings throughout the home, with finish work done in native Koa wood. The large laundry is centrally located in the home featuring two Whirlpool Duet full-size washers/dryers.

Hale Pua is perfectly located; close enough for adults and kids to walk to Old Kona Town and the pier. Set back 130 feet from prestigious Alii Drive, behind a private remote-controlled gate, the setting is peaceful and secluded.

Part of Hale Pua's charm is its Hawaiian coastal open-air design. The home has louvered and screened windows throughout and features large wall-to-wall sliding doors on the ocean side of the house - the prevailing trade winds from the west over the ocean and the mountain breezes from the east keep the main living area of this island home comfortable with ceiling, table top and floor fans throughout.

Virtual Tour available

Hawaii Tax ID: TA-128-351-6416-01

More Details

Property Manager
Boundless Hawaii
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
November 20, 2017

About Boundless Hawaii

This is the second home we’ve owned in the Kona area, the first being up in the Kona Coffee belt of Holualoa. Having retired in 2009, we can now focus more on one of our favorite vacation spots – the Big Island! Only two previous owners (those who built Hale Pau and one other couple) meticulously cared for this estate. We plan to live up to their legacy for many years to come, maintaining and investing in Hale Pua as generously as they did.

Why Boundless Hawaii chose Kailua-Kona

We have three children, two grown and one in high school, three grand kids and a large extended family. We’ve struggled to find a home to rent with enough bedrooms and baths so kids weren’t in sleeping bags and stepping all over each other. When our family & friends join us on the Big Island, they all yearn for an oceanfront property with both pool and hot tub; the adults and younger ones alike want ocean access to snorkel, kayak, boogie board and surf; the kids are thrilled when there’s a theater room for movies & video games; and everyone hopes to be near enough to walk to Kona town. We finally found the perfect venue with Hale Pua!

What makes this house unique

Stunning views & sunsets, plenty of spacious bedrooms & baths. Please come and enjoy.

Guestbook comments from the manager

The house was beautiful, and having the ocean view and swimming pool was wonderful for everyone. We had 9 adults, 5 children. The bedrooms were spaced out and it made each family feel like they had their own space. We discussed that it might be so nice to have air conditioning in the main part - living area and kitchen, because it was hot and humid in summer. But some thought that it helped us to go out and not just sit on the couch. So there were positives and negatives to that. The cool bedrooms made for a great night's sleep. This is a very nice property.
Jul 2017
  • 1 of 6

Map

This home tenders the services of a well-known and respected local property manager (Boundless Hawaii) to handle your queries and needs before and during your stay.

Please come enjoy our very unique, well appointed and relaxing tropical retreat for a vacation we’re sure you, your family and friends will remember.

MASTER SUITE (1 king bed, daybed & trundle with gel memory foam mattresses for two additional twin size beds, sleeps 2-4). Extensive 22’ x 15’ bedroom, vaulted wood ceiling, lanai with panoramic ocean views. Double door entry to spacious bath featuring body spray spa shower with river rock tile work. Double sink granite vanity, private toilet room, and large walk-closet with laundry chute.

OHANA UNIT (one king bed in loft, queen sofa bed in living room downstairs, sleeps 2-4). Featuring same vaulted ceiling as master, wall-to-wall sliders opening to the lanai, sleeping and living area have ocean view, 2-sink granite vanity, large walk-in shower, private toilet room. Perfect for one couple or family of four.

Three GUEST SUITES (king beds in each, sleeps 6). All of these suites feature the same vaulted ceiling as the Master and Ohana. One suite has shower tub with Jacuzzi. Another suite has a vaulted ceiling bath with expansive skylight.

TWIN BED SUITE (two twins can be made into king, one bunk bed, sleeps 2-4). Bath has toilet & shower room separated from sink vanity and bedroom.

GAME ROOM (one queen sofa bed with new gel mattress, sleeps 2). Great for kids and/or young adults.

For immediate assistance or to see additional photos for this property, visit our property manager's site directly, Boundless Hawaii. Or email or call one of our reservation specialists for more details.

Toll Free 877 782-5662 / 808 334 0548

Monday-Friday 8:00 am - 4:30 pm

Amenities

Kailua-Kona House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 5140 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 100
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
Bathrooms:
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • Master bath features body spray shower with river rock. A double sink vanity and large walk in closet. One guest suite features a Jacuzzi tub. The Ohana features a large walk-in shower and double vanity sink.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • 5 King beds, 4 Twin beds, 2 Sofa Bed beds, 1 Bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
Notes:
Outside Shower located on northwest corner of the home, nearest to the walkway to the ocean. Beach booties in various sizes hanging on outside wall pegs, along with miscellaneous pool toys.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
15% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Oceanfront Luxury, ~AC~ in 5 King Beds+Bunkrm, Private Pool, Stunning Views
average rating of 4.8 based on 46 reviews
4

Grench Review

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We have been to the Big Island countless times. From Waikoloa to Kona to Kapoho. Hale Pua lacked nothing except trade winds. The hale was so huge and poorly ventilated that even with all them ceiling fans it was stuffy. The A/C was a must and in my opinion, after spending so much for the rental, it was cheap on your part to charge $60 a day for A/C. I know electricity is very expensive on the islands but you have all them solar panels to help offset some costs.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: Boundless Hawaii LLC
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. Like you, the owners have rented coastal homes from Puako to South Kona for the past 20 years. Most of those homes did not have A/C and the few that did (in bedrooms only) charged daily for the amenity, averaging $10/bedroom/day. Hale Pua can sleep up to 20 with its six bedrooms and another game room sleeping area, so $60/day is a very competitive and fair charge. Even with the solar panels, Hale Pua’s average electricity cost is $.34 per kwh, THREE times the mainland average. The owners have found their utility billing increase well above the $60/day when the A/C option is used, so they are actually subsidizing some additional cost for guest comfort. Hope this explains the pricing behind this amenity option.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Renton, WA
5

Perfect Rental for Family Celebrating 50 Year Anniversary

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The location is perfect, right off the beach, and includes everything that we needed. The pool to keep the kids busy during the day. The beautiful surroundings as well as the accomodations. We were able to get a private chef to prepare the celebratory anniversary dinner and the kitchen was large enough for them to do their magic. Had a photographer come in to do family photos with the great ocean view in the background. We were able to do fishing, opihi picking, snorkeling, barbequing, watching movies, and of course just plain relaxing. Everything was perfect.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: Boundless Hawaii LLC
Owner's Response: Mahalo for staying with us for your special celebration! This home provides the perfect setting for a memorable Hawaiian visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Please let us know if you decide to return and we would be happy to offer a 10% discount for your next visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Orinda, CA
5

The perfect paradise escape

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We have just returned from celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary with our family of 12 and it could not have been more special. Hale Pua is located right on the water which allowed hours of relaxing, swimming, snorkeling and fishing. The wonderful pool was in constant use and the wall was the perfect spot for our young children to try their hands at fishing. Hint: the fish love shrimp. The kitchen was great and had every amenity possible. Having the 2 dishwashers was ideal - we used both every day. Except for a lunch, we ate in all the time. Why go out for meals when you have paradise at your doorstep! The bedrooms were perfect with comfortable beds and nice decor and the bathrooms had plenty of towels and great showers and tubs. Don't forget to bring soap for the showers and tubs. The house was very well maintained and very clean. We really appreciated working with Boundless Hawaii. They were very helpful and very friendly from beginning to end. We would all love to return to Hale Pua again. It was the perfect vacation!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha and thank you for taking the time to a leave such a wonderful review! Please let us know when you return and we would be happy to host you for your next visit to Kona. Remember, as a returning guest you will be eligible for a 10% discount!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Fox Island, WA
5

Family Vacation and small wedding ceremony

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Incredible, magical, could not have been more perfect. Stay here!

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: Boundless Hawaii LLC
Owner's Response: Aloha and mahalo for visiting. We would be so happy to welcome you back to Kona next time for a 10% discount as a returning guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous oceanfront property!

  • 5 of 5

The moment we drove into the driveway we knew Hale Pua was a unique and special place. It is perfectly located within walking distance of downtown Kona where there are excellent restaurants and shopping; and public beaches where we can swim, snorkel and boogie board. We saw magnificent sunsets from the patio. We took yoga classes on the back lawn from a professional yoga instructor.

The owners have gone above and beyond in updating this beautiful property. All of the rooms have new king-size beds. As an added comfort, air-conditioning has recently been installed in the bedrooms. The kitchen has every thing you would ever need. The kids spent lots of time in the theater-style media room.

We were vacationing with three other families and we all had our own space with private bath. It was such an exceptional property that I plan to bring my extended family back next year to celebrate my mother's birthday.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Grand Lake, CO
5

A Very Magical Place

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The Kona area can be a very busy place which is fun but also can become a little tiring. When you step into the doors of this home, all of the hustle and bustle disappears. This house is so relaxing and you seldom see anyone else but those you are staying with, an occasional boat or surfer. Sitting on the seawall we were able to enjoy a display of tropical fish and turtles just below us. We also saw dolphins and whales in the distance. The opening walls of the house bring the outside in. The beds were great and with a group of 9,everyone had their own space. I highly recommend Hale Pua and hope to return again some day.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: Boundless Hawaii LLC
Owner's Response: Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit. We would love to host you and your group again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Rates above do not include taxes, fees or available discounts and are subject to verification at time of booking. Taxes required by the State of Hawaii include the collection of a 9.25% Transient Accommodations Tax and a 4.166% General Excise Tax on all rental and cleaning fees. Taxes are subject to change.

    To book direct and save or inquire about last minute specials please email reservations@boundlesshawaii.com or call 1-877-782-5662.

    Choice between a Vacation Rental Damage protection plan $49.00 or an equivalent deposit. Refundable security deposit and departure cleaning fee may vary. Optional travel insurance is available.

    Deposit is equivalent to 3 nights rent with balance due 60 days prior to arrival.
  • .
  • USD
  • * A/C optional for $60/night

You might like these similar properties