Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Short Walk To Beach, Dining, Shopping And River Cruise Line.

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

4 Bedroom, 1.5 Baths, Large Kitchen, Living Room, Dining Room And 'river Room'.

House is located in the heart of the Village, and is a short walk to the st. Lawrence River and downtown for shopping and dining. The house features a quaint mahogany front porch with wicker chairs for relaxing evenings hearing the freighters go by. The four upstairs bedrooms feature a queen bed, and four twin beds. The living room and dining room have overstuffed leather sofas, which could be used for additional guests. Hot tub on side deck. Cable television, VCR and DVD player. Fenced in side yard. Driveway for ample parking, and less than one block from the arena parking lot for boat and trailer. Basketball hoop for kids. Boat launch two blocks away. Dockage is available at an additional charge. Check out our Facebook page at 'The Cottage'.

owner/ property manager
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 23, 2017

Why owner/ property manager chose Thousand Islands

This property is truly your home away from home.


Alexandria Bay House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Village
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

Short Walk To Beach, Dining, Shopping And River Cruise Line.
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 9 reviews

A Sweet Retreat on a Beautiful Fall Weekend

  • 5 of 5

This roomy, private cottage in the town of Alexandria Bay is fantastic. It's lot is woodsy feeling. It's decorated with care that makes it feel special but not over done. It has a ton of rooms to accommodate sleeping, eating, and hanging out. We lucked out with a gorgeous late fall weekend and used the front porch morning and night. Close enough to walk into town. We walked the pier and visited the Dockside Bar & Grill. The owners were willing to extend their season and make sure we had working heat when we lost out on our original rental in the area. Lara was very easy to work with and responded quickly to all my texts and emails. Would stay again for sure.

  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Buffalo NY


  • 5 of 5

This was the first time I discovered VRBO, and I hit the jackpot with this place. I was looking at hotels in the area and was very unimpressed! I contacted the owner by accidently stumbling upon this rental. She was awesome. She called me and accommodated my last minute request for a rental, even though she was in the middle of taking a last minute trip her self out of town. I loved this place, there was so much room, and it had all the comforts of home. The front porch was great, my family sat out on the porch the 2 mornings we were there and drank coffee, it was great.

The owner was even gracious to leave advise on where to eat and go. It was a clean home with a FULL kitchen and more than enough room for my family of 4. my kids each had their own rooms which they loves, and there was even a extra room left that went un used. I would say you can comfortably have 7 people sleep in the bedrooms alone. The price beat what you would pay to stay at the hotels around the area BY FAR! Now that I have stayed in this rental I will NEVER stay in a hotel again , if there are VRBO rentals like this around. Thank you so much for helping make memories to last.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We were happy to accommodate your family. Also, thank you for treating our home as your own and leaving it immaculate. It was greatly appreciated. The Walton family
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect weekend get away!

  • 5 of 5

We came up for a weekend stay with friends last weekend and had a great time. The house is spacious, has a ton of charm, and is very classy. It's was a short walk to downtown restaurants and boat tours. Located on a quiet street in a very nice neighborhood. Hope to visit again next summer.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Charm Galore!!

  • 5 of 5

Just returned home from our vacation, staying in this beautiful "village cottage". This was a perfect choice for our family, located on a quiet street, but still easy walking distance to downtown and waterfront. The house was immaculate, and beautifully decorated! I so enjoyed reading the river books that are all around the house. This house is equipped with everything you need, and the owners are wonderful! Thank you so much Lara for all your kindness! Everything was perfect! We will be booking again next summer! Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice house, beware higher than advertised price

  • 3 of 5

The owners increased their price to $300/night because we had 6 people, even though the house is advertised for 8. The house was cozy but in need of some repair, and the kitchen was very poorly equipped.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, Irina! Always nice to get different perspectives. Our apologies again for the confusion on our rates, but are happy to clarify, again. The nightly fee is $250 for a maximum of 4 guests. Each additional guest is $25/night. Fortunately, when given the opportunity to specify our rates, to prospective renters with a party that exceeds 4 guests, it is a non issue. As for our kitchen, we are looking forward to installing a new stainless refrigerator for the upcoming 2016 season. We are confident it will compliment the newly installed dishwasher. Our rental property has a page on Facebook called "The Cottage". Our 100+ year old village rental property has many great characteristics. It boasts the feel that your within close proximity of the St. Lawrence river Again, thank you for taking time to submit your review and we were happy that we were able to accommodate your family's early check in. Best, Lara and Peter Walton
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Wedding "home base"

  • 5 of 5

I was getting married in the Thousand Islands and needed a good "home base" for my family -- 3 young siblings and parents. Lara did everything to make everything stress free-- from booking and payment to requests day of arrival. It is truly a unique river home. The kids loved the trampoline, the swing, the attic room and hammock! The fenced garden is perfect for a BBQ. There is also a hottub. Very nice quaint neighborhood and relaxed atmosphere. Can walk 10 minutes to town/boat rental. Day after the wedding we walked to town, rented a pontoon and hung out at the river. Thank you, Lara for everything!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Anya! It was such a pleasure talking to you. What a beautiful weekend it was to have a wedding. Your sister left a message in the guest book apologizes for the glitter. The Cottage can use a little sparkle every now and then. I thought of your nice family when a sparkle caught my eye last week. :) The very best to you and yours, Lara
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0



Rates & Availability

Alexandria Bay House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pricing is based on a maximum of four (4) guests. Each additional guest is $25 per night.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties