Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

EARLY JUNE SPECIAL: Light Filled Cabin, Sunny Donner Lake's West End

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,345 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bdrm, 2 Bath, Sleeps 9, Clean & Close To Beach

Welcome to our Donner Lake vacation rental. Our cabin is available June through mid- August. Our cabin is located in the West end neighborhood and is walking distance to the public beach. The house is super clean and bright, a great way to spend your vacation.

There's a master bedroom + bath with shower upstairs. A king size bed and picture window overlooking pines.

Downstairs there are 2 bedrooms. Bedroom one has a double bed as well as a double bed/twin bed bunk. The twin top has a weight limit of 150 lbs, so is perfect for the kiddos. Bedroom two has two twin beds. The downstairs bathroom has a bath only.

The living area is nice and open, great for family get togethers. The living space opens up to the dining space which leads into the clean, open kitchen.

This is a great neighborhood that we feel incredibly fortunate to be a part of, we hope you have a great vacation in arguably one of the most beautiful places on Earth.

More Details

Owner
Shannon Chadwell
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
July 20, 2017

About Shannon Chadwell

We are both originally from the Reno area, and currently live in Seattle. We spend as much time as humanly possible in the winter in Tahoe/Truckee and grew up spending our summers at Donner. We love the community, the amazing sunsets, and of course, the snow.

Shannon Chadwell purchased this cabin in 2013

Why Shannon Chadwell chose Donner Lake

We choose Donner because of summers on the lake, it's amazing proximity to some of the best skiing around, and the short drive to Woodward (you & your kids will never want to leave).

What makes this cabin unique

PROXIMITY. You are 20 minutes to Tahoe, 10 mintes to Boreal/Woodward, 10 minutes to Truckee, and a 10 minute walk to West End Beach.

And - just steps to killer hikes in the Donner Lake wilderness with unbeatable views.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi you two, yes we had a wonderful time while we were there. Staying at the house was the way to go. We started our days out with morning walks, and enjoying the deck w/ music, and coffee. The weather couldn't have been better while we were there. We took advantage of the beautiful surroundings; Lake Tahoe is a beautiful backyard to play in. :) We rented bikes and rode around Lake Donner, which was pretty, enjoyed the pretty little town of Truckee. Found some good restuarants, and was part of a beautiful wedding celebration at a regional national park on the beautiful Truckee River.
Sep 2013
  • 1 of 1

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Reno
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Northstar or Tahoe Donner
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Amtrack, Truckee Station
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
I80
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Donner Lake Kitchen
Nearest Ski
4 Miles
Sugarbowl
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
West End Donner Lake

West end beach is less than a 10 minute walk from our cabin. There are also countless hikes out the front door and in to the Donner wilderness.

Amenities

Donner Lake Woods Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1345 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Downstairs Bathroom - toilet , tub
    Master Bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Newly purchased bunk has a double below and a twin on top
    master - 1 king , New nightstand lights for reading while relaxing in bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

79% Complete
16% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
EARLY JUNE SPECIAL: Light Filled Cabin, Sunny Donner Lake's West End
average rating of 4.75 based on 25 reviews
5

Wonderful vacation

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time in this great cabin. Perfectly located! The owners we very accommodating and helpful. We would love to come back and visit again.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice Place but needs more care.

  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed this place and it had some major improvements from last year i.e. new big screen TV & kitchen flooring. Down side was upstairs bath towels smelled gamy, so we washed them on day one. Flatware was dirty and needed washing before use. BBQ igniter would not work, so i bought a new battery and installed it to no avail. So used fire igniter to operate BBQ. Upon trying to BBQ the second time gas cylinder was empty. So gave up on that and reverted to stove top cooking. Kitchen window does not work due to mechanical disconnect. All in all, we feel sure we will find a better place next year. We will not be returning to this VRBO.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We would like to begin by expressing our disappointment at not meeting your expectations. As we do not take these observations lightly, we would like to respond to each of your critiques. The bath towels smelling "gamy" is disappointing as we purchased a new washer spring of 2016 and the dryer this past June. We have been satisfied with each appliances performance and attribute the towels odor to not being fully dry at time of storage - we will notify property manager. We hope you were able to find a more satisfactory bath towel from our 16 bath towel inventory located in the bathrooms. We were also baffled by the state of the flatware, as the dishwasher is brand new. We utilized the dishwasher for several loads prior to summer season without incidence. Without specific detail of the flatwares appearance, we can only assume lack of proper rinsing while loading may have been the culprit - we will mention to property manager. The BBQ is also new, but unfortunately, the electric igniter quickly malfunctioned. Our experience is that these igniters don't survive in these harsh mountain environments, thus repair is futile. We were pleased that you found the wand-type lighter we left for convenient and more reliable lighting. Due to the popularity of summer BBQing , we have explicit directions on page 1, of our cabin binder, on propane tank refilling. In addition to these explicit directions, our property manager is local and responsive, and would of been available to fill the propane tank if notified. Unfortunately, the kitchen window has been repaired numerous times due to closure while locking mechanism is engaged. We will remedy this issue with more clear and concise labeling of "locked" and "open" positions of window lock. Thank you for your observations, as we are always looking to improve our guests experience. If you have a change of heart, and would like to stay at our cabin in the future, we would like to offer you returning guest discount.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Girl-Cation!!!

  • 4 of 5

My girls and I had an amazing Girl-Cation and this cabin. The 8 of us loved the location and comfy beds. There was room for 8 of us, and the front patio was a perfect hang out spot. Everything was organized and labeled nicely. We plan on going back again next year.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco, CA
5

Love this house & can't wait to come back!

  • 5 of 5

We just returned for our third visit to this wonderful Donner Lake house and it keeps getting better. We love the quiet neighborhood, the walk to the lake, and the proximity to beautiful trails. We also appreciate the family-friendly setup with the open kitchen, dining area, living room and deck. It's easy and fun to cook or grill while everyone hangs out. The house is always spotlessly clean when we arrive, and the owners and property manager are extremely responsive - they even replaced a broken washing machine within a day when we said it was important to us to have. It feels like a home away from home in so many ways!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Home

  • 5 of 5

The layout of the house was great. It was very comfortable, clean, and had all the amenities. I highly recommend the house.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Silver City, NV, South Lake Tahoe, CA, Austin, TX
5

All the comforts of home at Donner Lake!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed about two weeks at this wonderful place on Donner Lake. The house is very comfortable and clean and was just perfect for all my needs. I was able to work in a quiet and beautiful neighborhood in the woods, visit many of the amazing local high country trails for hiking and running, visit historic landmarks and just relax! I would recommend this house for anyone wanting amazing Tahoe/Donner access, a kid friendly home away from home on the shores of beautiful Donner Lake!

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Pet Fee $35 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Cancellation policy: A 100% refund for cancellations 60 days prior to check-in. A 50% refund will be given for cancellations 30 days prior to check-in date. Less than 30 days and deposit is forfeited.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties