Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lovely Loft Retreat in the Heart of the Historic District

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,900 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Spacious 3 bedroom, 2 bath...steps from Waterfront Park and best restaurants.

This wonderful property sleeps 6 or 7 and is perfect for those who want the true Beaufort experience. Anything that is 'Downtown Beaufort' is easily accessible by foot. Galleries, historic tours, unique shopping, Beaufort's best restaurants and coffee shops, and even an exercise room are at your fingertips. The lovely Waterfront Park is within a block. Southern history and hospitality abounds.

This historic space has been recognized by the Historic Beaufort Foundation as a significant, contributing building in this, South Carolina's largest Historic District. Most of the architectural elements are original and have been professionally restored.

The owners' areas of expertise are interior design and painting. They have created an invitingly comfortable space that is a cross between LowCountry and Restoration Hardware with touches of Luxury. Interesting accessories from all over the world, several very interesting and unique furniture items, as well as, 600 thread count sheets will spoil you.


24 huge windows create a light airy atmosphere and give you the feeling that you're living in the trees.

You have your own private parking spot, just steps from the front door.

10 foot ceilings...original.

Original heart pine floors.

Original art everywhere.

New walk in shower in master bath.

Large, lush area rugs.

And best of all...the feeling of spaciousness within the almost 2,000 sq. ft.

There is a 32 inch flat screen television in the living area, a second TV in master bedroom ,internet access, and a new washer/dryer right off the master bedroom, which, by the way, is extremely quiet,

being entirely off the road.

There is a binder in the living area with maps, menus, tours, and our personal recommendations.

The owners are also interested in Home Swaps, anywhere but especially in the following areas:

British Columbia, Canada

Kauai, Maui, Hawaii


Provence, Spain, Italy...

They are are also interested in longer term rentasl (several months) as is evident in their very reasonable monthly rate.

You will enjoy this unique opportunity to experience the essence of Beaufort and the LowCountry.

Also, our family owns VRBO #364922 and #844874.

More Details

Lana Hefner
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2018

About Lana Hefner

Al and Lana Hefner's first major undertaking after locating in Atlanta, Georgia was the founding of Hefner Productions, a design studio specializing in corporate graphic design, multi media, and new product development. Twelve years later they retired from all that and moved to Beaufort. Here they established Bay St. Gallery and began to renovate historic property. ArtLofts is one of their restoration projects. Their approach is to retain the original character of the architecture, while introducing modern conveniences and luxuries.

Why Lana Hefner chose Historic District

Perfect for wedding attendees.

What makes this apartment unique

Only sizable secluded accommodation in Historic Downtown area. Waterfront, restaurants, churches, and shopping within walking distance.


Historic District Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
  • Catering available
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Porcelain tub/shower, heart pine floors, pedestal sink.
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Pedestal sink
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 child bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Master is very spacious and has its own sitting area. Master bath has new walk in shower. New full size washer dryer just off master bedroom.
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(41 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
14% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Lovely Loft Retreat in the Heart of the Historic District
average rating of 4.731707 based on 41 reviews

Spacious and luscious loft in the best location in downtown Beaufort

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at many cottages, carriage houses and lofts, but this one tops them all. It is the perfect location for everything in Beaufort. The loft is so spacious yet cozy and comfortable. Beds were extremely comfortable. Loved every minute of our stay! Highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not happy with the stay....

  • 2 of 5

Wow, where to begin. I'll start with the positive; nice space, unique, and great location for adventuring around downtown Beaufort. Oh, and clean linens.

Unfortunately, we had the following issues: They were using a jackhammer on the space below us (very loud, you can see light through the floors) everyday all three days starting at 9:00am...even on Sunday. Half the power was out in 1/3 of the loft, luckily found breaker. The floors where so dirty, all of our feet and socks literally turned black. Had to call housekeeping who did respond and mop all the floors for us the second day. The alarm system kept chirping, no instructions how to disable. Door lock kept malfunctioning, stood outside for 10 minutes one evening trying to get it to work. The washing machine did not work, water not connected.

The frustrating part to all this, I tried to call and email the manage and the owner and they have yet to return ANY of my communications regarding my frustrations. Not acceptable. The only responsive individuals was the owners son and housekeeping, but they could only do so much. If your the owner of a place and have a disgruntled renter, you respond and offer to help in any way, period. Try harder.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Since the owners were temporarily out of the country, they had made sure that a manager, the owners' son (architect), the house keeper, and the contractor who was handling some improvements to the building all responded to these visitors (which they did). The housekeeper recleaned and reported that the complaints were not true and that the visitors later told her that the apartment had indeed been clean. And importantly, there was NO work going on on Sat and Sun. It is a sad fact that this visitor's inaccurate comments may be damaging the otherwise pristine reputation enjoyed by this property. And to what end? The Owers
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Weekend At ArtLofts

  • 4 of 5

ArtLofts was really a perfect spot for our family get together. It is conveniently located in the heart of the historic district, which is exactly what we were looking for. The loft is furnished very tastefully and the beds are quite comfortable. I would certainly go back again.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very clean. Excellent atmosphere for friends & family to spend time together.

  • 5 of 5

Very nice, clean, & lots of room. Great location for a walking tour of the historic area.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect stay......

  • 5 of 5

Lovely space, easy to arrange, wonderful location----we will definitely be back! A pleasure of an experience.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

The loft is spacious yet cozy, tastefully appointed, and conveniently located. We couldn't have been more pleased.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $90
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 7.0%

Cancellation: Total refund if canceled more than 60 days before arrival. 50% refund with 30-59 day notice. No refund for cancellation 30-1 day prior to arrival. (Trip insurance is encouraged)

Pet policy: There is a $100 pet fee for each preapproved pet.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties