Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

**On Rushing Stream** Authentic Log Cabin**Great Rates**

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2) Authentic Log Cabin, Bring Your Fishing Poles!

As seen on the travel channel, brag to your friends that you stayed in an authentic 110 year old log cabin and grist mill directly between a trout stream and a trout pond! You can bring your pet to romp on the 3 level acres. Adjacent to the Gary Player designed Bent Creek Golf course (which is currently closed due to a management change). This cabin offers all the comforts of home. Central heat and air, 2 wood-burning fireplaces, wood is not provided, 1 in the upstairs master bedroom, hot tub on the back deck overlooking the creek, 2 Tv's with VHS and DVD, charcoal grill, internet access. Rocking chairs on the front and back porches. Mountain views. Easy access, no mountain roads! Come for a visit, you will want to stay for a lifetime!

More Details

Owner
Laurie Contois
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

I had spoken with a few other rental places before choosing you guys. I wanted to tell you that there was another availability, but your friendliness and cooperation is what decided for me. Also, thank you for being so reasonable with the cabin rental as well as the unfortunate doggy damage. I really enjoyed my trip and when I come back, you guys will definitely be the first I will contact in regards to cabin rentals. Thank you again!
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 5

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Tyson Mchgee
Nearest Golf
0.1 Miles
Bent Creek
Nearest Motorway
0.2 Miles
Hwy 321, East Parkway
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Kilometres
Cobbly Nob
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
OberGatlinburg
Car: necessary

Located 15 minutes to downtown, 5 miles to the arts and crafts community and 4 miles to the Greenbrier entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park.

Amenities

Gatlinburg Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Bathroom with walk in shower is upstairs. Please keep this in mind if you have mobility issues.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Large bedroom with walk-in closet, flat screen tv and wood burning fireplace. Bedroom and bath are on the upper level.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
There are 3 outdoor pools that are available from Memorial Day to Labor Day. Feel free to fish in the trout pond. Bring your own poles and tackle. Bring beach towels to use at the pools and for the hot tub.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(102 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
13% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
1% Complete
**On Rushing Stream** Authentic Log Cabin**Great Rates**
average rating of 4.5882354 based on 107 reviews
3

Picturesque on the Outside, In Need of Serious Upgrades on the Inside

  • 3 of 5

I really wanted to love this cabin. The outdoor pics looked amazing. Unfortunately once you're on the inside it's a different story.

When we first entered the cabin, I was met by an unpleasant odor. It just stank. I could never figure out what was causing it. There was always a smell of sewer that came up through the shower drain. I couldn't smell it all the time, just in the mornings when I'd first go into the bathroom.

The mattress was HORRIBLE. It was hard. I mean floor hard. I understand that mattress preferences are subjective. but, literally, it felt like I was sleeping on the floor.

The kitchen is in need of a major upgrade. I swear the appliances are older than I am. The oven is a nice retro puke green color, and only half of it works.

Air conditioning works, but it is extremely loud.

The cabin was pretty much clean, but needs a super deep cleaning because there are dust bunnies and cobwebs in corners and on the balconies. I didn't even open up the jacuzzi. I didn't want to get in it because the cabin had an overall feeling of yuck to me.

There's also a big list of don'ts when you stay here that was very off putting to me, beginning with the welcome email you get right before you get there. The thermostat can't be higher than a certain temperature. You have to bring extra towels because they only supply so many due to theft. I get that there are some lousy people in the world that steal. But three towels and two washcloths for a week? Come on. Charge extra and provide enough linens. I'm not camping here.

Also, they say not to put trash outside because of bears. Then please provide a bear proof can or trash cage outside. We were there for five days, and the smell got so bad we had to take our garbage to a nearby dump.

There also wasn't a lot of silverware/dishes/pots and pans to do any substantial cooking.

I get this is a family home, but you're putting this cabin up for rent to the public. It needs to be more customer centered. This could be such a lovely place if it was remodeled and updated. My stay didn't ruin my vacation, but it certainly didn't enhance it in any way.

Also, not a complaint but a word of advice. This place is WAY out of town. It took about 25 minutes to get to Gatlinburg. The nearest grocery store is almost to Gatlinburg. It's a long ride to get to anything you want to see. If you're wanting to do a lot of stuff in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge, stay closer to town.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Don't even know how to begin to respond to your inaccurate review. Since the log cabin is over 110 years old, how would you like me to update it? Drywall? The stove is less than 4 months old!! The only olive green appliance is the wall oven....which we would love to replace but can't due to the size. The other appliances are all less than 10 years old and work just fine. Just don't think stainless steel would go with the AUTHENTIC cabin feel. We have NEVER asked guests to bring extra towels due to theft. We do suggest they bring beach towels to use with the hot tub or the swimming pools. We provide 6 towels, not 3 and if you even attempted to reach us to comment or complain about this or any of the other issues, we would have promptly addressed them and even told you where the "secret stash" of towels were kept. If I walked into cabin that i had rented and it smelled bad, the first thing I would have done would have called the manager. Do you know we could have moved you if your concerns were valid? We can't address a problem if we are not aware of it!! If it took you 25 minutes to get to town, you must drive very slow. I at one time managed over 80 homes in the Cobbly Nob community. It is a very popular area of Gatlinburg and this home is 12 miles from the heart of downtown and 5 miles to the city limits, 7 miles to a large grocery store and within walking distance to a market for all basic needs. All reachable by Hwy 321, a well traveled state Hwy with a 45 mph speed limit. The photo's on the site are not altered in anyway. You knew what it looked like both inside and out. I am not even going to get back into the mattress debate since we just replaced it. Your personal assessment on how hard it was is unfair to me as an owner since you even say that your opinion is subjective. What a shame you put up with this "Yuck" as you state it especially since you did not even lift the cover off the hot tub. By the way, the shed by the garbage can is a great place to put your trash. Did you know that the other major rental companies in the area command that you haul off your trash or they fine you? We pick it up on your behalf. Again, a simple phone call. You had your rant, now I have had mine. Next time you should let the owner or manager know that you are unhappy rather than saying nothing and broadcasting inaccurate information on the internet.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Holy Moly

  • 5 of 5

Couples... this is a must stay. Fireplaces upstairs in bedroom and in living room (wood) and 2 porches... main floor off living area (where comfy rockers and hot tub overlook the brook) and one upstairs (2nd floor is bedroom, a bathroom w/ a huge walkin shower and porch on back with more comfy chairs) This was heaven. Pond on property stocked. Off the tourist circle but still close enough (10 min) We truly loved it and can't wait to stay again- Thank you!!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! Thank you! A positive review surrounded by a couple negative ones! I really appreciate your input and kind words. Please come back and visit soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Nice Little Cabin by the Creek

  • 4 of 5

Yes, we would stay here again.

Will we try another place next time?

Yes, but we would not mind staying here.

The place was clean, beautiful area and close to the tourist attractions. We stayed here 9/8 - 2 nts 2017. Due to Hurricane Irma, we arrived several hours earlier than check-in. I emailed them and Tammi called to lets us know we can go in early. It was around 10 am. She also offered the place to us on the last day because they had a cancellation.Very attentive and kind.The jacuzzi was ready for us and we used it both nights.Nice big yard for kids/pets away from the road and fishing in the creek. We saw an otter!

4 stars because of the smell of smoke in the cabin.

There is a chimney, but it smells like it's cigg/cigar smoke. Of course your senses get use to it once you're inside for awhile, but it will catch you off guard when you walk in.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. Glad we were able to accommodate you. I had damage to my home in Florida due to Irma, so know how you feel. We absolutely do not allow smoking in the home, but the fireplaces, since they are original, can put out a smoky smell. What some guests do not realize is this cabin is rented almost every day this time of year. Housekeeping may have literally put out a fire a few hours before your arrival. It is something we can not control. We look forward to your return!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Conway, Arkansas
3

Lovely historic cabin but needs cleaning and a few more amenities.

  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed our stay and the cabin was pretty much as advertised. It was in need of some deep cleaning though. A lot of dust and cob webs. Also I think you would have better success if you added a few more amenities such as a gas grill and towels for the hot tub. A little would go a long way.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write this review. The criticism is constructive and will be addressed as soon as possible. You are the first that has requested a gas grill though. We hope you come back and try us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gatlinburg|
5

Outstanding For Couple

  • 5 of 5

The sounds from the stream was so relaxing sat for hours just watching it. Great place to get away from it all, just sit and relax, very private, and close to downtown Gatlinburg.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Waukesha, WI
5

Great Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I, along with our dogs stayed at the Lindsey Mill for about a week. We absolutely enjoyed it! The house is just as advertised, however the pictures don't do it justice. The place is beautiful and the location superb! I've seen on other reviews that some people had problems. I can only say that my wife and I experienced none of what the others mentioned. The kitchen was adequately stocked with plenty of pots, pans, trays and utensils. The air conditioning worked well, and it was in the 90's with high humidity everyday that we were there. We were comfortable in the house. We had no issues with any critters. We saw a beaver and several turkeys. We heard the bullfrogs every night. Our dogs just ignored them. We grilled on the Weber grill three times while we were there and had no issues with the grate. Yes, the grate had rusted through, but I covered the area with foil and used the areas that didn't have a problem. Overall, it was a pleasant experience staying at this beautiful home! If we ever plan to return to the Gatlinburg area, I would stay at the Lindsey Mill again.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Resort Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties