Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming tranquil studio in garden setting..walk to see turtles or Maui at sunri

Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 450 sq. ft.
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

A private 400 sq ft studio courtyard/lanai, in quiet Kaimalino; walk to ocean

Kaimalino translates to 'calm waters' in Hawaiian and is a very quiet, restful place...as is this unit. Relax indoors or outdoors under a large pergola, in a private enclosed courtyard looking out at the many fruit and flower trees on the property. The studio has a full kitchen, and the covered lanai/patio has a barbecue grill. Being 400 sq ft, the studio easily accommodates 2 people and can sleep up to 4 as there is both a queen size bed, and a full size sofabed. If traveling by car, park immediately in front of the gate entering the studio's courtyard. Enjoy the flowers (lotus, lillies, various hibiscus and orchids), and the fruits from the property.


Owner
Usha Prasad
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, spanish, Hindi and some Spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 17, 2017

About Usha Prasad

I am medical anthropologist, originally from Fiji Islands, and in Hawaii since 1980. I teach online (Chaminade University) so I can be a full-time stay home mom for my young son, Aman. We are an 'outdoor' family, w/a newly built treehouse in the back, fruits a'blossom on our trees, and an unbelievable ocean playground around the corner. I also enjoy cooking and its quite common for neighbors and friends to stop in for a bite and friendly chatter. We also share our home with Sami and Paco - two older, rather lovable mutts - who stay quiet until the opportunity to be petted presents itself.

Usha Prasad purchased this studio in 2002

Why Usha Prasad chose East Oahu

Kaimalino means 'calm waters' in Hawaiian, and is quite suited as a description of my tranquil neighborhood, hemmed in on two sides by an ocean, and large sprawling lawns. It is one of the few areas on Oahu Island that houses such large sprawling lawns, ocean access, a turtle nesting grounds, and on a VOG-free, clear day, views of Molokai/Maui/Lanai islands. Ours is a plantation style home, originally built in 1956; the studio for guests was built in 2006, and remodeled in 2013. The home is both very comfortable and quite separate from the studio...guests in the studio can have little to no contact with us in the main house. Old Mokapu Road, along which the house sits, comes to a dead end just three houses away. This road is the original road to Mokapu Peninsula and Kaneohe Marine Corps base, and sees little traffic other than local residents. Aikahi Shopping Center (Safeway grocery store, many restaurants, wine shop, beauty shops) is about a 7 minute walk. The bus stop (to Honolulu and elsewhere around the island) is in front of the shopping center. The freeway is a 7 minute drive. And Kailua Beach is just a 10 minute walk from the studio. Kaimalino is both a wonderful area to live in and to share with others; it is both tucked away from the main thoroughfare of Kailua, and at the same time, quite close to other necessary resources.

What makes this studio unique

One of the best features of this studio is the large number of fruit trees on the main property. Nearly every fruit tree and plant has been planted by the owner herself. The smaller coconuts (one at the mailbox) were planted specifically for their 'spoon meat and water' (both are rare varieties). Also on the property are three varieties of mangoes, two avocado, breadfruit, cherimoya and atemoya, bananas, apple guava, lemons, fig, pomegrante, tangelo and sugarcane. On any day, you can hear and see the many birds that live in and around this property, including the wonderful Shama thrush (nest in a mango tree), Bulbuls, Cardinals, Eye-eye, etc. The resident Kolea flies off to Alaska in April-May, and returns in July-August; she has done this for the past 9 years. When not sitting and relaxing in the studio's lanai for birdwatching, a quick stroll can be taken to the ocean to see the turtles, take a short reef walk, or take in a view of the outer islands and/or islands towards Lanikai (at the extreme opposite end of Kailua)The ocean is a stroll away, Spring/summer is a good time to see the turtles. And if Kiluaea Volcano isn't erupting on the Island of Hawaii, than anytime is a good time to view Molokai and Maui, and perhaps Lanai.

Amenities

Kailua Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 450 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Full sized shower, marble floors, drop step from shower/toilet to sink level.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Single foldable cot.
  • Queen sized bed, single folding cot, chest of drawers, nightstands, reading lamps and luggage racks.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Charming tranquil studio in garden setting..walk to see turtles or Maui at sunri
average rating of 4.774194 based on 31 reviews
4

Adequate and convenient

  • 4 of 5

We stayed in the studio one week. The hostess was very nice indeed, she let us check in early and was gracious in every way. She Generously provided us with beach equipment, The studio is well equipped with kitchen, bathroom and laundry appliances and accessories, and stocked with supplies. The location is in a nice, quiet neighborhood", close to shopping. However, not having cable TV, especially news, is a negative point (TV was only Roku Amazon and Netflix). The lanai looks good, but it is blocked by a neighbor's wall, therefore has no breeze any time. The studio's windows have no darkening curtains, and they face the family's backyard, which interferes with privacy. The kitchen area has a sky window, which, if left open, allows some rain in (and we did not know how to close it).

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Lovely Location but too-close-for-comfort host

  • 2 of 5

We stayed in the larger house on the same property during our yearly visit to Kailua to visit our family. The location is lovely, and the house very nice. However, the host lives in the cottage connected to the house and was constantly micro-managing our stay, from telling us how to wash things off with the hose, to reprimanding us for our dryer usage. I think maybe she was trying to be helpful, but it was just too much. We are a very responsible family who also also rents property in Hawaii. The worst experience was when we had our extended family over for pizza dinner the night before leaving Oahu (ages 2-70) and the host starting texting and then knocking on the door accusing me of having a party and that I should have asked her. We were eating, chatting, laughing with one another, and the kids were watching shows on the iPad. She also texted me to end the "party," ask my guests to leave, and then leave at the check-out time of 11am the next day, when earlier she had said we could stay a little longer to pack/clean. She said there were no guidelines in the property book about "parties" but that I should have known to ask. This was rude and strange behavior, and everyone felt uncomfortable. We will definitely not be back.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Adrienne..I think your waiting 6 months to post this review speaks fairly loudly of your intentions. Yes, my home is not suitable for large and loud parties (see description of my property)...if you had been honest about being from Kailua and planning these events, I would have happily suggested another location. Or if you had simply given some given me some notice and consideration about your party plans, I would have accommodated (other guests, larger families than yours, have had gatherings here with very happy results) and informed my neighbors. While there are elements of truth in your review here, there are many false statements. In the end, as vacation rental owners who offer their homes and the comforts that come with, one can hope that honest and mature thinking guides the writing of a review. In my experience, it always had but not in this instance.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for our family of 4

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in the larger home which Usha owns and is attached to the Studio but totally separate and private. Usha is an amazing and graceful hostess, and her recommendations and assistance with everything was greatly appreciated. Our daughter left something in one of the bedrooms which Usha promptly mailed back to us.

The house is extremely comfortable ... clean, roomy and breezy. It was perfect for our family of 4 (kids = 18 & 9 yrs old). There is nothing fancy about the structure/furnishings, so if you are expecting the Four Seasons, you will be disappointed. Who goes to Hawaii to sit indoors anyway?

The town of Kailua is very quaint and quiet compared to the leeward side (Wikiki + Honolulu). There's not a lot of "action" so if that's what you're looking for, Kailua is not your town. However, we LOVED it and so did our kids. The beach was not a walkable distance for our family but there was ample parking in the access areas. Our favorite beach was Bellows Beach (only open on the weekends) and our favorite breakfast stop was Over Easy. The Curb has awesome coffee and Foodland has the best Poke EVER. Bob's Pizza was another dinner location we enjoyed for takout. If you need a cheap "Hawaiian" shirt, swing into the Salvation Army on Kailua Road. They have a TON (plus I found a very collectable vintage bowl that's worth $$. Bonus.). Rent kayaks and paddle boards at Holokai Kayaks and head out to the many sand bars. Drive north on 83 and visit the Boyodo-in Temple and eat lunch at the Waiahole Poi Factory (I don't know if it's actually a "factory" but it's a great location to try traditional Hawaiian food. Small and nothing fancy.) Grab a malasadas (Portuguese donut) at Lenord's Bakery truck (parked in the Windward Mall parking lot near Macy's) and if you like sushi, swing into Local Boy Sushi (walk up window - open 10AM-6PM).

One thing to keep in mind regarding this rental. The house (and adjoining studio) is located in a residential area ... which means kids, dogs, lawn mowers, etc. Plus, it's next to a military base. You may hear revelry at 8AM and/or a helicopter or two. We enjoyed it and felt totally at home, but it may not be for everyone hence the reason I'm stating this detail in my review.

I would totally recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location, great home, great price, great host! Highly recommended!!!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I had been to Oahu before and stayed in the Kailua area with my daughter, Sarah, and her family. This time we brought a total of 6 family members so Sarah helped us find a place close to her and with her endorsement, we booked.

The home is located near the end of a quiet street in a highly desirable neighborhood. All the homes and yards are well-maintained and families are out walking on a regular basis. I loved the open floor arrangement. My oldest son, the 6th family member, slept outside in the beautiful fenced back yard/patio area on a comfortable outdoor sofa. Waking up to the birds and breeze through the windows was being in your own area of paradise.

Usha was an outstanding host and welcomed us with coffee, bananas, and pineapple. The home was just as advertised, and she regularly asked us if we needed anything. The second day we noticed that there wasn't a toaster and Usha immediately gave us her toaster oven and later that day a brand new toaster. Such was the fantastic service she offered throughout our stay, regularly asking us if we needed anything. Usha lives in a studio attached to the house with her wonderful young son and dog. Being so close was a blessing to us, not a hindrance, nor did it affect our privacy. We felt like family.

The neighborhood is one of the most desirable locations in all of Kailua, which itself is one of the most desirable areas in Oahu. It is located very closed to the H3 highway and you will be at Pearl Harbor, Honolulu, or Waikiki Beach within minutes. It is also an easy drive to Dole Plantation, North Shore and Hanauma Bay (absolutely beautiful with great snorkling). But what we really liked about the location was it was so close to the things we have grown to love: Kailua Beach Park, Lanikai Beach, a great Cross-Fit gym, mountains and waterfalls, Pillbox hikes, Turtle Beach (located literally in the neighborhood--you can snorkel and view sea turtles), Island Snow and shave ice, Boston's Pizza and of course our daughter and family.

The capstone was the launch of a new church, Manna Hawaii by Shawn, our son-in-law, that occurred on Feb 12, 2017 at the Pearl Ridge Theaters. It is an extension of Manna near Fort Bragg, NC and is part of the growing plants along the "military highway" to support troops, their families and of course the local population. Shawn (played quarterback at Hawaii). So having a safe and comfortable home was so vital to our special trip. Thank you Usha!!!

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sammy and his family are welcome back in my home anytime! They (all of them) are exceptional guests...warm, kind and extremely courteous. No one would have known that 6 people had just visited my home. Since now having met Sammy and his family, I have the added benefit of seeing Sarah and her son 'AJ' in Aikahi. I'm not sure how much home/property owners read up on intended guests but if they did, there is little more to say than this is a great family who would make great guests. My warmest aloha to you Sammy!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice, clean, quiet rental home

  • 4 of 5

We had a group of 4 that stayed at this location. We liked the quiet and calm of the neighborhood and liked that there were stores close by so that we did not have to eat out every night. If you are a runner, it's a nice little area to go for shorter runs as well. Usha was very nice and gave us a ton of information about the beaches, places to dine, etc. If we had a question, she could give us an answer. The house was clean when we arrived and everything was where Usha said it would be. It was also a comfortable size for the 4 of us.

However, there were a couple of instances where we felt a little uncomfortable. We could not figure out how to lock the back doors but saw there were dowels so we used them to keep someone from entering. We, of course, left behind valuables each time we left the premises and wanted to make sure they were safe. After using the dowels, Usha texted to let us know that the dowels did not have to be used, the doors locked from the bottom and that the area was pretty safe but we could do as we wished as far as locking the doors. We had to conclude that Usha entered the house while we were not there. We did not feel that we gave any reason for the premises to be entered or inspected while we were not there since we were renting the unit and did not do anything to cause concern. Closer to the end of our trip, Usha's young son asked one of us, "Are you partying in the house? My mom doesn't want anyone partying in her house." We thought that was a weird statement since we were not "partying" and were respectful of Usha's home. We were on vacation and did have beer but, again, we were respectful of the premises.

Overall, we were happy with our stay and would recommend the house for anyone who is looking for a nice, clean, quiet rental with a short commute to the beautiful beaches. Again, Usha was very helpful in answering questions and providing information about local attractions, dining, beaches that would be great places to visit while there.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Chelsey...I'm sorry you felt uncomfortable by my suggestion to not worry about using the daols; this suggestion was made after hearing the struggle you had with closing the sliding doors. As an alternative, I did suggest that you simply use the locks at the bottom of each sliding door.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco Bay area
5

Very nice house with lots of character and close to beaches.

  • 5 of 5

We liked our stay a lot. Usha is very helpful and very friendly. She even had a Christmas tree for us and helped us wherever possible. We'll definitely be back on our next trip to Oahu.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Honolulu International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
Pinky's
Nearest Golf
2.5 Miles
Luana Hills
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
H-3 Freeway
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Gyotaku, Pinky's, Willow Tree, Papa John's pizza,
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Kailua Beach
Car: recommended

A green sea turtle nesting grounds is 18 houses away from the property. This is also the ocean access for kayaks, stand up paddle boards, surf boards and diving/snorkeling. Open ocean facing Molokai, Maui and Lanai islands is about 30 houses away. This is most ideal for viewing the sunrise; Haleakala can be seen in the distance. Marine Corps Base Hawaii (MCBH) is about 150 yards from the property.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Damage Insurance $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.