check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Charming Holland Cottage - Lake Macatawa And Holland State Beach

Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more



About the property

3 Bedroom, 2 Bath Cottage. Lake Macatawa And Holland State Park

A pretty cottage nestled in a beautiful oak grove in the historic Chippewa Shores area. This home has all modern amenities, a glimpse of Lake Mac and is just .8 miles from Holland State Park. Miles of fantastic bike paths are accessible just up the street. Three bedrooms and two full baths, including a big Jacuzzi bathtub perfect for relaxing after a day enjoying the attractions of western Michigan. A shaded deck for enjoying morning coffee or evening breezes from the lake. A large lawn for Bocce or Whiffle ball.

Sleeps 7, with an additional 2 on a fold out couch. There is also another large couch for naps.

This cottage is a perfect getaway spot for a weekend, or a great home away for a family vacation. Nicely decorated, with vintage knotty pine in the living area. Hardwood floors in the living and dining area, with carpet in all bedrooms. Kitchen and bath recently upgraded with new appliances and fixtures.

This home is fully equipped for vacation fun:

Full kitchen, including microwave, range and oven, coffeemaker, toaster oven, new dishwasher and new fridge. All utensils, including dishware, flatware, pots and pans, kitchen towels, etc. A small kitchen table for breakfast or morning coffee by the sunny window. A new charcoal grill for hot dogs or gourmet grilling.

3 bedrooms, with all linens included.

Bedroom 1 has a new Queen bed and bunk beds (and cable TV). Bedroom 2 has a Queen size bed.

Bedroom 3 has a single bed.

There is one fold out couch, with linens. There are also some sleeping bags for unexpected guests, or for kids who want to 'camp out' together in the living room.

2 bathrooms, with linens included. One bathroom has a large bathtub with Jacuzzi jets, perfect for cleaning off the kids after a day at the beach. The other bathroom has a shower.

The house has a large living room/dining room space that can accommodate 8 people easily, without bringing out the folding chairs. The space is large enough so that everyone can find a comfortable corner for reading or catching up on email (No!), without crowding. Cable TV in the living room. WiFi enabled.

The dining area has a dining table that seats 6, and can be combined with the kitchen table for a big dinner party.

The cottage has lots of windows that can be opened to enjoy the sounds and smells of the sandy forest, and the lake breezes keep the house pretty cool. But, if the weather warms up, there are three window air conditioners installed that cool the place nicely.

This cottage is perfectly located to serve as a home base for all the summer fun you and your family might plan. The neighborhood is quiet and beautiful, perfect for evening walks down to the wetlands at the point, where you can see Red-winged Blackbirds, Herons, Purple Martins, Ducks and the occasional Loon. Sunset over Lake Macatawa is a treat.

Less than a mile away is the gorgeous Holland State Beach. You can easily walk or ride a bike down to the park for the day, and enjoy one of the most beautiful beaches in Michigan.

More Details

Property Manager
Blake Thomas
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 23, 2017

About Blake Thomas

As kids growing up in Detroit and Chicago, we always wished for a summer place. On our tenth wedding anniversary, though we now live in Los Angeles, we decided to give ourselves, and our kids, the summer place we always wanted. We spent many summers in this house, which served as a summer anchor for our far-flung families. Each summer the house was filled with our family, along with grandparents, aunts and uncles, cousins, nieces and nephews, and long-missed friends. Each year we'd tell our relatives when we would be at the cottage, and invite all to visit. Even with all the scheduling conflicts and summer commitments every busy family had, somehow everyone found a way to come by, if just for a weekend. This cottage has been a joy to our family for the past decade.

Now that our kids are older, they are much busier, and we can't get away for the whole summer anymore. We will still visit our summer home in early August, but in the meantime, we thought we'd let others enjoy it the way we have.

Blake Thomas purchased this cottage in 2002


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

Charming Holland Cottage - Lake Macatawa And Holland State Beach
average rating of 4.5 based on 12 reviews

Great cottage

  • 4 of 5

Exactly as described, we had a great time

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Claire, We are SO happy you had fun! Thanks for the nice review. Hope to see you next year! Blake
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

perfect getaway cottage near the beach

  • 5 of 5

My family enjoyed our stay immensely. Holland is such a great vacation spot and the Little Blue House was perfect for our stay. It's much roomier than it appears on the pictures. The bedrooms are comfy and the big jacuzzi tub was a nice add! the kitchen is well stocked with all the things you'd need. We enjoyed most of our meals on the deck and even BBQ'd one night. The living room has big overstuffed chairs and a two big, comfy couches so one night we did watch a little TV and I curled up in the big chair and read in the mornings with my coffee before everyone was up. We combined a little work while we were there and the house has screaming fast internet. Both my husband and I were on our laptops and our son was on his xbox and there was no hesitation at all which definitely was a bonus.

We stayed over the 4th of July so Holland State Beach is VERY busy and we hear, so are the normal weekends in the summer. The beach parking was closed because it was so full so we just came back to the house and rode our bikes down- it's not even a mile so it's an easy bike ride on a very nice, wide bike path. There are lots of great bike paths so if you don't bring your own bikes, there is a bike rental place not far away up on Ottawa Beach Drive. We went to the Farmer's Market on Saturday and stocked up on lots of great fresh stuff including artisan cheeses, chocolates, fresh fruits and veggies. Holland has a great Farmer's Market for a small town! I wish I would have had time to make it back down again on Wednesday to buy some perennials. They have many wonderful plant vendors and there were some very unique plants.

The shower and the second bathroom are a "little tight" so that was an interesting and quick shower. ;) Obviously, they added it into a very tight spot, but just having a second bathroom with 4 people was nice.

This house is perfect for families with kids or just two couples looking to getaway. It's light-filled and the location is perfect. All the neighbors were friendly and the neighborhood is quiet. We ate a few meals out at DeBoers for breakfast (awesome!) and also had a fantastic meal the last night at Perrides which is a very quaint Italian restaurant with a great wine selection and amazing food. Also, loved The Biscuit for breakfast. We ran the steps at Mount Pisgah which was a great workout with beautiful views, rode our bikes from Kollen Park along the South Shore..We absolutely loved our stay and will book again!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Juli, Thanks so much for the lovely review. I am SO happy your family enjoyed your vacation in Holland. We are looking forward to seeing you again next year! Blake
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Comfort in a wonderful location!

  • 4 of 5

This was our second time renting and we again enjoyed the space, the location and many amenities, especially the jacuzzi tub. We love that you provide the linens, towels, full-equipped kitchen and more. Mari-Jo shared a warm welcome to a very clean cottage. I'd love to see a refresh in the living room--it's such a lovely space. We'd definitely rent again.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the nice words! We're looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

July 11-18

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time and the cottage was great! So glad that we were able to bring our yorkies on the trip with us. This was the first time traveling with them. They were well behaved and felt comfortable at the cottage as well.


  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Donna, We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. And thanks for the nice review! Hope to see you next summer! Blake
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Chicago, IL

Old, Disappointing, and Overpriced

  • 2 of 5

My family rented this home over the 4th of July holiday. The location is great - close to beach, quaint, and safe. We found the house to be overall clean but very dated and dingy, not making it very comfortable. It is air-conditioned by window units so it felt as though there was no air circulation, the "loft" is not usable for sleeping (not even for kids) because it is stuffy and dark, the couch covers/pillows had an odor and felt greasy, there was a moldy-mildew smell, there is no gas grill, the carpets need to be washed, one tiny shower...

Our extended family also rented a home less than a mile away (farther from the beach so not as ideal a location) and we spent most of our time there because it was brand new and much more comfortable for not that much more in price.

I am also disappointed that we were charged an additional $20 to rent a 1975 highchair and gate for my infant.

Sorry, really wanted to like this house and may have had a better review if was not so expensive for what we received. Maybe the prices were extra high because of the holiday but once we saw other options in the area we realized we overpaid.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry that you were disappointed in your stay! We are refunding your security deposit plus an additional $100 as a gesture toward compensation for your disappointment. Generally, our guests are happy with the accommodations, and we get a lot of positive feedback. But we want all of our guests to be satisfied, and we wanted you and your family to enjoy your stay with us. To be certain that our cottage is up to standard, we have repeated our Spring cleaning and inspection procedure (steam cleaning furniture, rugs, etc.), just to be on the safe side. The place is looking great!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Holland Michigan Cottage

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time in Holland Michigan and this cottage was perfect for our family. It was very close to the beach. The owner of the cottage even had all of these beach toys set aside for the kids. Holland Michigan is a great place for a family vacation. I highly recommend it.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jenny, I am so glad your family had a good trip. We hope to see you again soon! Blake
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Ottawa Beach Inn
Nearest Beach
0.8 Miles
Holland State Beach
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Holland Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning fee $150
Tax Rate 9.0%

Weekly bookings are Saturday to Saturday.
Check in time is 3:00. Check out time is 11:00.
There is NO LATE CHECK OUT. We need time to prepare for our next guests.
Total rental amount is due at booking.
Security deposit $200.00 is due at booking, refundable upon satifactory check out.
Cleaning fee $150.00

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Holland Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single , Loft room
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 2 bunk bed
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • swimming
Infant and toddler items can be rented for the duration of your stay. (strollers, wagon, restaurant style booster chairs, high chairs, pack 'n plays, etc.) Beach items (umbrellas, floats, toys) are also available. Please call Mari-Jo for availability and cost of the items at: 616-283-2555.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties