Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Scenic Lakeside View!

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, sleeps 4 to 6

Beautiful location in the Northwoods! 2 Bedrooms (plus a pullout sofa on the screened in porch) 1 Bathroom. Pine paneled with an open floor plan. Two large picture windows look over the lake, which is steps away. Our lakeside cottage overlooks a quiet Lake, part of the Pike Chain of Lakes. Bring your floats and inner tubes, swim in the lake. Bring your fishing gear and catch a big one, or just relax on the pier. Plenty of nearby trails, fire lanes, and roads--great for biking and hiking! We're on the edge of the Chequemegon/Nicolet National Forest Preserve. Enjoy sighting wildlife; deer, loons, eagles, otters, turtles, ducks, humming birds and many other birds and forest animals.

Rosie Varisco
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 19, 2017

About Rosie Varisco

My parents first purchased this cabin on the lake. My husband and I had a total renovation done 5 years ago. I grew up in Chicago, but spent many summers here.

Rosie Varisco purchased this cabin in 1955

Why Rosie Varisco chose Northwest

We are hoping to share the beauty of the cabin and the lake with people who enjoy their natural surroundings.

What makes this cabin unique

The open floor plan and beautiful views of the lake.


Iron River Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 1
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Screened in porch - 1 double
  • 2 Bedrooms with double beds and screened in porch with a double pullout sofa.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
A 'Pack & Play', indoor baby swing, and high chair are available for babies or toddlers. (on request)


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

Scenic Lakeside View!
average rating of 4.8 based on 20 reviews

Lovely property

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay and the great location. Wonderful fireplace which made it warm & cozy. Super clean and they seemed to have thought of everything you might possibly need.

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your stellar review!! Hope you'll come back again next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time. Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to take advantage of everything because my daughter was getting married so we were busy working instead of relaxing. Hope we didn't leave the cabin too messy. We were running late. We definitely would love to stay again in the future though. We were all pleasantly surprised at how well equipped the place was for a vacation. It has everything. We left a few square pans there to add to the collection. Anyway it was a wonderful place to spend our week. Thanks so much!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Kathryn! We are happy you enjoyed our cabin!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean, well-kept cabin

  • 4 of 5

My wife and I, along with our two children (ages 12 and 15) loved our stay at Rosie's cabin. The cabin is clean, well-kept and comfortable.

We'd definitely stay again if we vacation up north again.

The cabin is up high so you have to walk down steps to get to the dock. No big deal. Dock is modern and easy to use.

We caught some fish in the lake, mostly panfish, bass or northern. So plenty of action to keep one occupied if they're interested in fishing. We brought a canoe with us which I'd recommend if you do intend to fish etc.

We did several short day trips, too. Apostle Islands, Duluth etc., Delta Diner....

All in all a great visit.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The property was clean, great location, great view, relaxing stay.

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay as the lake view was awesome. The cabin was clean and was well stocked, which was surprising from past cabin rentals. We enjoyed the relaxation and fishing from the dock. The fish weren't biting much but that didn't matter, we're on vacation! Our only caveat was that some of stairs leading down to the lake were broken, you had to watch your step. We had a very good experience, thank you!

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

cabin stay

  • 5 of 5

awesome,clean and very comfy

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Macomb, IL

Cleanest and Coolest!!

  • 5 of 5

We spent a relaxing week in this beautiful cabin. It is stocked with EVERYTHING needed, absolutely immaculate and we loved looking out the beautiful windows at the lake. We have been coming to the Iron River area for many years for our summer vacation, staying in a different cabin each time, and this one is our new favorite! Thank you for sharing your little piece of paradise!!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Thank you! We are so delighted that you enjoyed our little piece of heaven!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
55 Miles
Duluth, MN
Nearest Barpub
5.4 Miles
Iron River, WI
Nearest Ferry
50 Miles
Bayfield, WI
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Iron River, WI
Nearest Train
55 Miles
Nearest Motorway
5.4 Miles
US 2
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Nearest Beach
1.5 Miles
Twin Bear Campground
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Iron River Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99
Cleaning fee $60

Seasonal rental, June through October. More than 6 people; an additional charge of $50.00 per each person over 6 per stay.

NO SMOKING!! DO NOT KEEP BAIT OR FISH IN THE CABIN REFRIGERATOR OR FREEZER!! Use the buckets and the refrigerator in the shed! Clean up after yourself!

Arrive after 4pm and leave on your last day at 10am. (Cleaning crew must have time to change sheets and towels and make sure everything is clean for the next rental.)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties