check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Outstanding lakefront property with views of spectacular sunrises.

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
12
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

4 bedroom house with 3.5 bathrooms, lounge, kitchen, TV room and Loft

This is a one of a kind house sitting on a one acre lot with approx. 100 feet of lake frontage. The western end of the lakefront is set aside as a beach hidden from the house by overhanging birch trees that also provide shade when needed. A dock positioned to the side of the beach provides a convenient place to fish, sunbathe or just watch the sunsets.

Back from the beach there is a hollow tree that is home to chipmunks and a strange spider like creature that spins webs each summer between the branches.

Also between the trees you will find a hammock that is the best place to spend a sultry afternoon while the rest of the family are at the pool.

Between the trees and the house there is a grass lawn that is purpose built for volleyball and badminton.

The house is on 3 floors with a wrap around deck on the second floor. The ground level is reached from the second floor deck by dual staircases at the front of the house.

The second floor deck is spacious with plenty of room for cooking on the grill and setting out dinner for 8 or more. Umbrellas are provided for meals to be eaten in the shade while you look out over the lake and the water activities in progress.

Entering the house from the second floor deck takes you into the spacious lounge with picture windows looking out over the lake. There are cream leather arm chairs and sofas arranged around the room. A drop leaf mahogany table and chairs is available for eating inside.

The kitchen is reached via an arch from the lounge. The cupboards and counter top were recently installed with new stainless steal appliances that include a trash compactor. A small seating area is configured under the countertop with a view of the dam and is a convenient breakfast venue for the two early birds who rise early.

A full bathroom decorated in black marble is also reached from the lounge. As is one of the four bedrooms.

An oak staircase leads up from the lounge to the 3rd floor where the main and 2nd bedroom is located. The main bedroom has floor to ceiling windows that lead out to a small balcony that overlooks the lake. There is also a full size en suite bathroom with both a shower stall and a tub. The main bed is a kingsize.

The second bedroom has two single beds and patio doors that give access to a balcony overlooking the drive and wooded section of the property. There is also an ensuite half bath.

The basement is configured with the fourth bedroom. the TV room, a laundry room and a full bathroom. The TV room includes a SMART TV from Visio that gives direct access to Internet resources like Yahoo, Amazon Instant Video and Netflix via a WIFI connection. Basic cable is delivered by the traditional connection.

There is a library of video cassettes (VHS not Beta) and DVDs that are made available for your use.

The bedroom has two twin beds and the laundry has a washer and dryer both electric.

There is a large loft under the roof of the garage that is reached via the second floor deck. The loft contains a pool table, sofas and a futon bed which has a single bed on top and a full bed on the bottom. There is also a set of children's bunk beds. There is also a selection of games. The loft has access to the main house bathroom via a walk way.

The land between the house and the road is partially wooded and provides a great place for the children to play hide and seek. No linens are provided with house, but we do have a contact number who would supply them for a small fee or as most people prefer they bring their own.

More Details

Owner
Karen Kennington
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 18, 2017

About Karen Kennington

Dave and I are from England and came to the US in 1993. We have two sons and a daughter and are in the process of collecting grandchildren. In 2002 we were living in Westfield New Jersey and purchased the house at Bear Creek to give the children the opportunity for adventures. We now live in Ocean Grove New Jersey and spend less time at Bear Creek. We hope you will enjoy your time at our house by the lake. It truly is a little piece of heaven. Enjoy your stay and please let us know if you have any ideas for improvement. Thank you.

Karen Kennington purchased this house in 2002

Why Karen Kennington chose Poconos

This is a great property. We have had other people over from Westfield and the question we get asked is 'how did you find this place - it is a little piece of heaven'. I think you will agree that the proximity of the lake, the absence of speed boats, the lawn sloping to the water, the sandy beach and fishing dock all come together for a truly wonderful place to vacation.

If that is not enough, the facilities of Bear Creek give you access to a swimming pool, tennis and basketball courts.

In the surrounding area, (and we did not find this out until we moved in) there is so much to do. Biking, hiking, whitewater rafting, paintball, to name just a few.

There are also several great restaurants - Trattoria 903 is close by and is so popular you need to reserve a table. Down the hill to the turnpike you will come upon Platz restaurant that serves great american food.

Jim Thorpe has more restaurants and lots of history. In the 1800s people from New York referred to Jim Thorpe as the Switzerland of America.

So book our property and find out what we found out - Bear Creek is the ultimate summer vacation

What makes this house unique

Our Lake House is located on the edge of Bear Creek Lake community giving access to community resources while not being surrounded by other houses.

The property's direct access to the lake is what makes it unique.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

Outstanding lakefront property with views of spectacular sunrises.
average rating of 4.866667 based on 30 reviews
5

Fantastic house. Fantastic location. Fantastic view.

  • 5 of 5

Rented the house for a bachelor party. All of the guys, especially the groom, were amazed at the size, quality, and amenities of the house. Between the fire pit, kayaks, and pool table, we were entertained all weekend. We spent most of our time at the gorgeous fire pit, which made a great bonfire. The kitchen was nicely laid out with plenty of counter space and everything I needed to make all the meals for the weekend. The house was clean and very organized with even the light switches labeled! This was a nice touch. All weekend I heard nothing but compliments on choosing such an amazing house. I hesitate to say this for fear the price will go up, but everyone agreed that this house was a great bargain considering what you get.

All my thanks go to Karen for sharing and maintaining such a great house. I think you will have some repeat customers from this group.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Mark for your wonderful review I am so pleased you all had a great weekend and enjoyed the house. Thank you also for being such great guests in taking great care of my home I hope we do see you again soon Kind regards Karen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

One of the best Pocono rentals

  • 5 of 5

Great house on the lake. The owners have thought about every detail to make our stay fantastic - lots of Privacy, lakefront dock, kayaks, lots of sleeping options, multiple decks, well-stocked kitchen, great firepit. ..and so much more!

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Adam for your wonderful review and for being great house guests. So glad you enjoyed the lakehouse Thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great lakefront property

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at this property. The beach access to the lake is great for young kids because they can just wade right in. The house is clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay again.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Melissa it was so nice to have you and your family back to o the lakehouse again I am so pleased you all had a wonderful time Thank you again for choosing my lakehouse Enjoy the rest of your summer Kind regards Karen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Good property, loads of trouble communicating with owner

  • 2 of 5

We stayed at the location over Memorial day, with 2 kids. The stay itself was fairly enjoyable. Our biggest problems were the lack of AC (only one bedroom and the main living room has AC, none of the other bedrooms do and they get really really warm at night!), and quality of the bathrooms (spotty).

The location is lovely though and its a good place to go with kids.

However, after the stay I had a lot of trouble getting the deposit back, even though the owner specifically said we had left the house in good order. Karen needed to send the money back via physical check (doesn't use any electronic means for transfer). We had a lot of trouble communicating on this topic, and she deducted $50 for sending the check. I was not happy with this whole transaction at all

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry you found the bathrooms Spotty all my other guests always comment on the cleanliness of the house You should have mentioned this to me during your stay. The reason you had a problem getting your security deposit back was because I sent it back in good time and if you remember when I texted you to say the check was in the mail you told me that you had moved address six months prior but had not told me so hence I sent the security check back to the address on the check. I then had to go to the bank and cancel that check on a busy Saturday morning and wait 45 minutes, which I told you I would deduct the cancellation fee as it was your mistake not mine. All of this receiving your deposit back could have been avoided if you had informed me at some stage of your new address
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

lake house with a tranquil view

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed the Beautiful lake house with a tranquil view. Close to historic town of Jim Thorpe. I would definitely recommend and would consider another stay here. Very attentive and helpful owner.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Michele it was a pleasure renting my home put to you Tahnk you for leaving my home in good order and thank you for recommending my home to other people.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quiet and relaxing family vacation

  • 4 of 5

The house was perfect for the type of family vacation we were looking for. Plenty of space to get together, while offering room to be alone as needed. Very comfortable furniture in the main living space with plenty of room for our entire family. It was great waking up to a sunrise down on the secluded beach area. All of the space in the yard was great for some outdoor games and fun. It was a GREAT GETAWAY.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kirk it was a pleasure having you and your family stay at my lake house and thank you very much for being such great guests Enjoy the rest of your summer Thanks
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
33 Miles
lehigh valley
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Reillys
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Mahoning Valley
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Jim Thorpe
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
I 476 PA Turnpike
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Trattoria 903
Nearest Ski
8 Miles
Big Boulder
Nearest Beach
On property
Car: recommended

The property is located in the community of Bear Creek Lake that includes a 160 acre lake with 2 beaches and a boat dock. Power boats are not permitted so the lake is peaceful but with plenty of room for sailing and fishing. The community also includes an Olympic size pool, tennis courts, basketball, bocce and horseshoes.

A 30 min walk from the house will take you to an overlook on the Lehigh Gorge. From several large rocks you can look down 100s of feet to the railroad and riverbed below.

A shuttle runs from the local office of Pocono whitewater to White Haven for a 26 mile bike ride down the Lehigh Gorge. After the ride, the shuttle will pick you up in Jim Thorpe to return you to the local office. Another great and novel bike ride is the switchback trail that runs 11 miles up from Mauch Chunk lake park to Summit.

Hiking trails close to the house start at the entrance to the state game lands on Church Lane and run deep into the forest.

For evening entertainment there is Penns Peak which hosts great bands and is less than 5 miles from the property. The Opera House in Jim Thorpe also hosts bands and theatrical performances.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Jim Thorpe House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring
Apr 1 2018 - May 26 2018
2 night minimum stay
$375
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$375
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $165
Property Damage Protection $59

If a guests pays by credit card and then has to cancel the booking, a full refund is given minus the credit card charges that we have to pay. These are standard charges which normally total around $65.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Jim Thorpe House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , Half bath on 3rd floor ensuite to bedroom 2
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , On second floor accessible from lounge
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , On ground floor accessible from entrance hall
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , On 3rd floor as ensuite to main bedroom
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master Bedroom with ensuite bath
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , On 3rd floor with ensuite half bath
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , On second floor adjacent to bathroom
    Bedroom 4 - 4 bunk bed , On ground floor adjacent to bathroom
  • There is a sofa bed in the TV room on the ground floor that will accommodate 2 people. Further beds are to be found in the loft over the garage, but only to be used on summer rentals as there is no heating and the toilet is situated in the main house. The small passage way is lit with lights
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
the house at Bear Creek is unique and very restful We have done our best to create a wonderful retreat with easy access for adventure when required. Enjoy

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties