Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Truly Breathless....Luxury Mountain Lodge, Long range Mtn view with Hot Tub

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 3,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Hike, Climb and Zipline thru The Mountains Of Western NC at Truly Breathless!

Truly Breathless offers an Extraordinary Setting! Hike and enjoy the peace in your own private paradise at 4,000’ on historic Cold Mountain! Breathtaking views from every room. Craftsman custom post and beam with dramatic 30' ceilings. Gourmet kitchen, antique doors, skylights, and stained glass windows throughout. Gourmet kitchen with Subzero and Jenn Aire appliances. Loft for the kids and TV, and a Master on the main. Huge covered decks with hot tub... Only 30 minutes from downtown Asheville.

4WD Vehicles are required because when you sit at the top of the world, there's always a hill to climb to get there! When you're approaching the house, please be prepared for a long and steep gravel driveway. Before starting up the driveway, shift into a low gear, then keep a steady pace of 10-15 mph throughout the scenic climb.

We found our piece of heaven at 4,000 feet elevation on 4 acres lying on the side of Cold Mountain, North Carolina. The breathtaking views of six, seven, and sometimes eight layers of the Great Smoky Mountains – all the way into Tennessee – are a sight to behold.

We have four seasons. Quiet and beauty beyond our wildest dreams. The sunsets are spectacular. We overlook the valley of the historic Pigeon River and we look down the mountain at the farms below. Watching the weather change is our pastime. Often the clouds temporarily settle below our house and the mountain peaks poking up through the clouds look like islands in a white sea. At night we see the lights of the community of Bethel in the valley surrounded by the gorgeous simplicity of the Nantahala National Forest.

Our temperatures are about ten degrees cooler than in the valley and twenty degrees cooler than Asheville (just thirty minutes away). The sounds of the howling wind are incredible…

There are more than fifteen original logging trails, which are now padded with grass. There are many springs on the steep mountain road ascending to our house.

As a frequent traveler to Asheville for mountain getaways, we always reviewed home listings carefully for the most perfect one to truly experience all that the beauty of North Carolina offered. When we came upon our home, we were so taken aback that we couldn't even walk in. It was the best of all the homes we had ever stayed in, the things we wanted in a mountain home experience are all here, it is exactly perfect.

Our timber frame home is made of all natural wood supported by mortise and tenon bracing, held in place by wooden pegs. The view is the main decor. The posts are handmade the old way, with no metal brackets.

The house includes sky lights, wooden floors, stucco walls, walk-in closets, a stone fireplace, a steam shower, an Italian glass block shower, and a hot tub that sits at the edge of the mountain overlooking the valley. The cowboy motif continues into the downstairs guest suite and tv room, which feature collectible posters from cowboy movies and rodeos. The breakfast bar was made by an artist with a tree as the support. The bathroom tub and shower have a drop dead views. Large french doors open onto our fabulous, partially-covered timber-framed deck, overlooking the pigeon river valley. Windows are floor-to-ceiling across the entire front of the house.

From outside we hear coyotes and see black bear, grouse, white tail deer, and wild turkeys. There are a huge variety of trees: spruce, pines, chestnut, blooms of rhododendron and mountain laurel.

The area is full of folklore and history. The movie Cold Mountain was about a Civil War soldier named Inman; one of his grandchildren was the original road builder up to our home...

Our reaction to the peace, serenity and beauty of home when we first saw it gave us its name ….Truly Breathless.

More Details

Owner
Owner/Property Manager
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 16, 2017

About Owner/Property Manager

We're a blended family with lot's of kids and dogs that share a passion for the outdoors and the Blue Ridge Mountains!

Owner/Property Manager purchased this house in 2003

Why Owner/Property Manager chose Canton

Our family has stayed at many mountain houses in the Asheville area and we all agreed on some specific criteria:

1- The view must be breath taking.

2- We needed to have luxury in a rustic environment.

3- We wanted to walk out of our home and go hiking.

4- We wanted a place with a 'special feeling'. You just don't know that until you experience it.

5- We wanted to be close to Asheville (We are 33 mins from door to downtown and have also discovered the gem of a town called Waynesville only 20 mins away).

6- We wanted a place with enough room for family and friends to gather and re-connect!

We found it all at 'Truly Breathless'!

What makes this house unique

The previous owner built a 'one-of-a-kind' home on a beautiful mountain slope. The location is the perfect blend of mountain solitude and closeness to small town convenience.

Amenities

Canton House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , tub , shower , Great Soaking tub with awesome view of the mountains!
    Guest Bath - toilet , shower , Features a Steam Sauna
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , Master bedroom with large walk-in closet.
    Guest Bedroom #2 - 1 queen
    Guest Bedroom #1 - 1 queen , Bdrm has great view and walk out to hot tub w/ mtn view
    Loft - 1 double , Extra comfortable Futon
  • Spacious Master Bedroom with HD TV and large walk-in closet. Large sunny private Keeping / reading area with a view right outside the bedroom door.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

96% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Truly Breathless....Luxury Mountain Lodge, Long range Mtn view with Hot Tub
average rating of 4.8846154 based on 26 reviews
5

Amazing spot

  • 5 of 5

What an incredible home! The views are spectacular, it's peaceful and the hikes are great - right from the house! Highly recommend staying here!!! Be sure to heed the 4x4 requirement.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Andrew! Hope to have you back soon! Jeff and Monica
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta, GA
5

Perfect name!!

  • 5 of 5

Amazing part of the world with awesome views and anA+ house

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words! So happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back Soon! Jeff and Monica
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

This was the perfect house for our group of 5 adults to stay in comfortably. The view is worth every bit of the climb up the mountain. I want to reiterate the need for 4WD vehicles as mentioned in the house details. We had 2 trucks and had zero problems going up and down. The property is an easy 30ish minute commute to the sites in and around Asheville. The house is very well decorated, top of the line appliances and comfortable bedding and towels. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing, refreshing mountain get away.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

2nd stay in as many months!

  • 5 of 5

This home is beyond peaceful and the views are as advertised. We have found the owners very easy to deal with and responsive! The sunset views are incredible. The hiking is incredible. The view of the valley is incredible. I think it would be hard not to love this home, it's coziness and it's location! We made a mistake regarding the 4x4 on our first visit but the owners were very reasonable and it didn't impact our stay one bit. Our second trip was even better and it's only a matter of time before we stay for a 3rd time. Love this place!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Nice, but issues

  • 2 of 5

DO NOT CONSIDER RENTING UNLESS YOU HAVE 4 WHEEL DRIVE VEHICLE! The property was lovely, however the 4 wheel drive requirement was in the 3rd paragraph of the VRBO or Homeaway website. When we received the email, confirming our reservation, too late to change our reservation, with parking and driving instructions to the property there was no comment regarding a 4 wheel drive vehicle. We eventually rented a 4 wheel drive truck in Asheville after being stuck up the hill with our 2 SUV vehicles. We called AAA and they couldn't get the cars out, they didn't have 4wd or the correct equipment.

We received a call from the home owner mid stay and said we need to pay $250 or they would kindly split it with us for $125 due to the road being damaged because we tore up the road trying to get up the mountain in our 2 wheel drive vehicles.

We will not stay again.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Anne, I'm sorry that your experience with us was not perfect. We both hope that you enjoy the house, view and surrounding forest during your stay. To be fair, the 4WD requirement is clear in both the listing, initial email and in the Hospitality App. The specific text is: 4WD Vehicles are required because when you sit at the top of the world, there's always a hill to climb to get there! When you're approaching the house, please be prepared for a long and steep gravel driveway. Before starting up the driveway, shift into a low gear, then keep a steady pace of 10-15 mph throughout the scenic climb. We did not charge you $250 but gave you the option to repair the damage yourself or that we would need to have the road damage your vehicles caused repaired for future guests and that we would need to charge you $125. The choice was yours to make. We have a steep gravel driveway that allow our guest to getting our home at 4,000 ft elevation to enjoy the views. Keep the road well maintain for all of our guest is a key safety focus for us. We spend a great deal of money each year to ensure the road is maintained properly for both properties on the mountain. Your's is the first non 5 Star review we've received and we're sad that this incident biased your stay. Jeff and Monica
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta, GA
5

Way more amazing than the pictures

  • 5 of 5

Heaven. The weather couldn't have been more perfect the house better appointed, and the overall mountain feeling completely realize in this beautiful destination!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Asheville
Cataloochee Ski Area
"Great Ski place for the family!"
Lake Junaluska
"Beautiful Lake"
Pisgah National Forest
"Amazing National Forest right outside the door!"
Laughing Seed Cafe
"A favorite Vegetarian restaurant!"
The Sweet Onion
"Great family restaurant right around the corner"
Asheville Outdoor Center
"Great place for tubing or kayaking on the French Broad!"
Lexington Avenue Brewery
"Great Beer, Great Food, Great Time. That's all I've got to say about that. "
Green Man Brewery
"Awesome Beer! One of the best. "
Navitat Canopy Adventures
"The Nation's best Zipline facility! "
Mast General Store
"One awesome place to find EVERYTHING you need to enjoy the outdoors in the Asheville area"
The Old Woolworth's Soda Fountain
"The best place to find treasures from local artists. We ALWAYS go there everytime we are do..."
Lowe's Home Improvement
"Easy access for anything needed around the house"
Tipping Point Tavern
"This is our favorite corner pub.  Great food and beer plus it's a price performer!"
WNC Farmers Market
"Amazing place to find farmer fresh product, local honey, jams, grass fed beef and pork and e..."
Tupelo Honey Cafe
"One of Asheville's best breakfast...... anytime. Always a line so go early."
Asheville RAD
"The Asheville River Arts District has an amazing number of working artists. Everything fro..."
12 Bones Smokehouse
"The world's best BarBQue and southern style sides. The Obama's agree as well. "
Nearest Airport
33 Miles
Asheville
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Maggie Valley Ski Area
Car: necessary

Close to the world famous Biltmore Estate (26 miles); Harrah's Cherokee Casino (33 miles) and Lake Junaluska (12 miles)

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $90 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $400
Pet Fee $85
Tax Rate 11.0%

Discounts for bookings greater than 2 days will be applied at quote and range from 5-12%. Rates are subject to change and will be confirmed by our Asheville Management company. Please remember **4WD REQUIRED**

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.