check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

On the Beach - 8th Fl, Amazing Gulf Views and Sunsets

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
condo
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

Description

Gulf Beach Condo Rental Photos and Description

1 BR, 1.5 Baths, Balcony Overlooks Gulf & West For Sunsets

My condo is located on the western end of the building, with sliding glass doors out to the balcony and the Gulf, then floor to ceiling windows facing west toward the rest of the island and the inland waterway for extraordinary sunsets!

King Bed, Queen sofa sleeper, extra half bath, fully equipped kitchen, entertainment center with video library.

If someone in your party isn't a total sun-bunny, the balcony gets shade most of the day, so you can still be 'on the beach' - the view 8 stories up is incredible. Let the sound of the waves lull you to sleep for a nap on the sofas in the heat of the day. And I just added black-out curtains if you need full darkness for sleeping in the living room.

The building itself is lovely, with an outdoor pool, indoor heated pool, hot tub, and exercise room with new equipment. Staffed front desk for questions and help, and low 'people to elevator' density, so you're not stuck waiting. Across the street from a nice shopping center with a restaurant/ bar, and close to several grocery stores and other restaurants, but not in a crowded area - the eastern end of Perdido Key is a State Park area, so crowds tail off here. And because you're on the 'Florida' end, you can skip the traffic on Hwy 59 - it's 3 hours, 15 mins from downtown New Orleans, or 20 mins from the Pensacola Airport.

Once there, you're within easy driving distance of Pensacola, Gulf Shores, Orange Beach, and the rest of the Florida Gulf Coast attractions - the Naval Museum, a Golf course designed by Arnold Palmer, hiking trails along the inland waterways, outlet shopping just a bit up Hwy 59, and gorgeous State Park areas. Or just bring what you need, and never leave the beach!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible

Owner
Yvette Voelker
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 29, 2016
Call Owner

About Yvette Voelker

I grew up in New Orleans, and our family came to the Florida Gulf Coast at least twice a year. We started out camping in Fort Pickens and eventually moved up to renting condos. Finally getting the cash together for a down payment on my own was a stellar day!

Yvette Voelker purchased this condo in 2012

Why Yvette Voelker chose Perdido Key

With friends and family, I've rented from Gulf Shores, through Orange Beach, and Perdido Key, but Perdido Key has always been my favorite. The water is cleaner, the beaches are not as crowded, and it's actually an easier drive, instead of coming down Hwy 59. Years ago, I settled on the Perdido Sun as my favorite condo in the area - the association makes sure that both common areas and individual condos are well-maintained - I never had a bad experience renting here. So when I started looking to buy, this was my top choice, and although I looked from here to Fort Morgan in Alabama, the Sun still had the best combination of amenities and value.

What makes this condo unique

I fell in love with this particular condo because of its location on the western edge of the building - allows for a 2nd set of floor to ceiling windows, which makes the living area feel more spacious, and provides spectacular sunsets over the inland waterway.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

On the Beach - 8th Fl, Amazing Gulf Views and Sunsets
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 18 reviews
3

You get what you pay for....

  • 3 of 5

All the basics were there. The unit was clean and access was easy, elevator waits were not bad either. That being said the unit really needs some TLC/updating. The building needs a little help as well. One of the access doors actually had its latch covered with duct tape? Seriously?? One more thing... the laundry room is coin operated so plan ahead because there is no change machine.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kirk, Thanks for your comments, I'm always striving to respond and update accordingly. October at the beach is a beautiful time of year, but it's also "repair and maintenance time." The building had tape on that access door prior to painting and replacing the handles (which rust alarmingly fast in the salty Gulf air!) I have just finished repainting my condo, and I've replaced the stove and some of the furniture. I hope you'll give the Perdido Sun another chance!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

My overall impression when I walked in was dirty floors, long black hair on the floor and not fresh.

  • 1 of 5

In the past 15 years of going to Perdido Key, this was the worst condo we ever stayed in. We walked in, and it did not smell fresh. The floors were dirty, and there was dirt under the chairs. It is in desperate need of paint because the walls were filthy and dirty. The living room furniture was dingy and dirty looking. The arms of the chair was black and dirty. We had to go and buy ice because the ice maker made about 10 cubes a day. We also found long black hair in the freezer section of the refrigerator and on the floor. We did not feel comfortable, at all, in this condo. It was not worth the money we paid for 4 nights, and I'm sure we paid a cleaning fee. If you pay a cleaning fee, the condo should smell and be clean when you walk in. Won't stay there again.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m so sorry you were disappointed, and even more sorry that you didn’t call any of the numbers I gave you in case of problems. You’re right about the paint, I had just finished having room darkening drapes installed in the living area, and it pointed up that my next project needs to (and will be, at the end of October) a fresh coat of paint. I had also just had the furniture upholstery cleaned, but I agree that it needs to be replaced by the end of winter – I’m a solo owner, and have to do everything in stages :) However, ice maker issues, dirty floors, and stray hairs are a housekeeping problem, and I pay an annual fee over and above my per-guest fee for what should be immaculate cleaning. Neither I nor my housekeeping company can address that unless we’re informed, and I can assure that I’ve taken it up with them for the future. I only regret that I couldn’t make you more comfortable while you were there, and again, that would have taken just a phone call – my housekeeping service is on-site, and could have sent someone as soon as you called. People sometimes fiddle with the fridge temp, and that affects the ice-making – either the front desk or I could have talked you through re-adjusting it for optimal temp, and I have ice trays as a back-up. Again, I’m so sorry for your unhappy experience – I love my little place on the beach, and I love to share it with others.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

EXCELLENT LOCATION!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved our stay at Yvette's lovely condo! The view is A++... the best! The oceanfront location is perfect, and the angle of the balcony keeps the sun off of it most of the day, making it a great place to relax if you're tired of walking down to the beach or if the weather is so-so. The condo has corner windows, meaning you can see both the gulf and the view west down the road--you can see if the rain is coming your way or not!

Yvette was wonderful and responsive as well, a pleasure to work with. We look forward to booking our next vacation with her or at the Perdido Sun! We love Perdido, as it's tucked away from the crowds but still with great restaurants, a Publix just a few minutes away, and beautiful beaches!

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Breathtaking

  • 5 of 5

The condo was in a great location and contained all of the amenities that we needed. The kitchen had everything we needed to make some or our meals. There were grills available outside. Our condo was located in Perdido Sun Resort. It was very clean and well maintained. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this unit to anyone. The half bath was a great surprise as well. The balcony was great and the views breath taking. The beaches were well maintained. We had a wonderful Honeymoon!!

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

VRBO PERDIDO SUN #814 PERDIDO KEY, FLORIDA

  • 5 of 5

We had a peaceful, relaxing vacation in the beautiful, nicely decorated condo at Perdido Sun #814! The views were AWESOME! Wish we could have stayed 2 more weeks! Everything about the condo was just right! Yvette, the owner was very nice to work with and responded to our inquiries ... Very quickly! She was so helpful and accommodating! We would gladly choose this condo again!

P.S. The bed was so comfortable!

Many "THANKS" again!

Susan & Joe

Louisiana

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great view

  • 5 of 5

We love the Perdido Sun and we loved this condo. The owner is so easy to work with; she answers emails and texts very quickly. Some earlier reviews did not like that the living room had only sheers. Yvette has put in blackout curtains and it is now dark in the mornings. Nice if she would do the same in the bedroom! This is a corner unit so the balcony has two open sides and there are extra windows in the LR. The unit is at the far end of the bldg away from the main elevators, so it is quiet. The condo has everything you need for your stay. Hopefully we will be back.

  • Submitted: May 21, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Pensacola, FL
Nearest Beach
outside your door!
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Gulf Beach Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring
Mar 1 2017 - May 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$140
$840
 
 
Early Summer
May 26 2017 - Jun 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,050
 
 
High Summer
Jun 30 2017 - Sep 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$185
$1,110
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$95
$575
$1,350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $82
Tax Rate 11.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Gulf Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 8
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 860 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • Queen-size sofa sleeper in living area
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • tennis

Partner Offers