Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury/Historic Rowhouse In Dupont Circle Close To White House And Metro

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom, 1-1/2 Bathroom, 6 Sleeps

Brand new central Air Conditioning unit has already been installed!

This home is a beautiful historic house in the Dupont Circle neighborhood of Washington, DC. The house is located on the quiet and beautiful Swann Street, a 5 minute walk from Dupont Circle and close to many national monuments and great restaurants. Historic Georgetown is a scenic 15 minute walk away. This cozy house is ideal for both short visits to DC for parents visiting college students, weddings, or a trip to our Nation's Capital, as well as longer stays for family get-togethers like Thanksgiving.

The first floor of the house includes a living room (brand new couches), foyer leading to a dining room for 8, a half bathroom, and a fully stocked kitchen with stainless steel appliances and granite countertops that will make your stay feel like home. The second floor of the home consists of a generously sized master bedroom (brand new king size bed), two additional bedrooms, and a full bath. Further, the basement has a large additional family room and a laundry room with a full-size washer and dryer. The basement also includes an old bar from when the house was a former speakeasy where, according to the original owner, Louis Armstrong used to play! The house includes designated parking for two cars behind the house, a very valuable commodity in DC.

Swann Street is close to wonderful restaurants, the famous U Street Corridor, lovely art galleries, Meridian Park, a short walk to the the White House, the Smithsonian Museum and all the beautiful monuments of the National Mall.

This home benefits from easy access to both the red line at Dupont Circle Metro Station and the yellow/green line at U Street metro station. Both are a 5-minute walk away. Bus transportation is also available close by and it is always easy to get a cab. Ronald Reagan Airport is 15-20 minutes away.

Our Favorite Neighborhood Spots:

Lauriol Plaza (corner of Swann and 18th) - Mexican, great atmosphere & margaritas

Rosemary Thyme Bistro (corner of 18th and S Street) - Mediterranean, great service

Busboys and Poets (14th and V St.) – great breakfast

Ben’s Chili Bowl (1213 U St.) - local restaurant, chili and hamburgers

Dupont Market (1807 18th St.) - great for breakfast, coffee and sandwiches right around the corner on 18th St. (202-797-0222)

Sushi Taro (1503 17th between Church and P St.) – Japanese cuisine

Essentials:

Safeway is on 17th street, two blocks away.

CVS is on 17th and P St., one block further down than the Safeway. There is also another CVS on Dupont Circle.

Whole Foods is located on 16th and P St., a 5-minute walk away.

More Details

Property Manager
Monica Maurer
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 25, 2017

About Monica Maurer

We are very international family that has lived in the Washington area for twenty years. At the moment we are living overseas so we have the opportunity to share our house.

Monica Maurer purchased this townhome in 2007

Why Monica Maurer chose Washington

We moved to Dupont Circle because it is a charming, safe neighborhood. We love walking to many National Monuments, the White House and to so many ethnic restaurants. We love the feeling of this cosmopolitan, young and vibrant city. A wonderful city to explore!

What makes this townhome unique

There are no words to describe how easy it is to get places. Metro system and public transportation are walking distance.

Amenities

Dupont Circle Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Bathroom has been recently redone.
  • Upstairs you will find a full bathroom with tub/shower, toilet and sink combination. On the first floor there is a half-bath (toilet and sink). Bathrooms include shampoo, soap, conditioner, shower gel and lotion. We also have a hairdryer.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Brand new king size bed.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Full size bed
  • Linens and towels are included. Soap, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion are included. We also TP and paper towels. Dishwasher detergent and laundry detergent are also provided in limited quantities.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

Luxury/Historic Rowhouse In Dupont Circle Close To White House And Metro
average rating of 4.322581 based on 31 reviews
5

Excellent stay in Washington

  • 5 of 5

This is an attractive, thoughtfully furnished and well-ordered house equipped with everything needed for a relaxing base in DC. Swann Street is quiet and leafy, ideally located for restaurants and a range of places of interest, including the Phillips Collection. A short walk takes you to Dupont Circle with its access to the Metro, shops and more restaurants. Thoroughly recommended and we look forward to booking the house again.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted you had a great time in D.C. We are so happy the house was what you expected. Thank you for choosing our Dupont Circle house. Hope to see you again. Sincerely,
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Sweet retreat with plenty of room for whole family

  • 4 of 5

This home had all the comforts we needed for a family of 5, including 3 teenagers. We could gather at the ample dining table for a meal prepared in the very functional kitchen or spread out over the 3 floors, all of which are comfortably furnished. It has lovely character that come with age. Quirks, too, as to be expected. The street is beautiful and quiet but close to shops and restaurants. We were visiting colleges and appreciated its central location to those. We would definitely return.

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks you for your lovely review. The house is truly located in a great neighborhood in D.C. So glad you had a great time! Would love to see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Spring Break

  • 4 of 5

This is a beautiful old row house in a vibrant neighborhood. The neighbors were friendly and the metro as well as a grocery store and restaurants were close by. One thing to consider is that the stairs in the house are very steep. So if you are traveling with small kids or older people this may not be the ideal location.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
LOS ANGELES, CA
5

Really lovely!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed the layout and setup of the house. It was comfortable and pretty. We loved the Latin style furniture. With the downstairs basement, we had four bedrooms, and mattresses for all the kids. We were a bit worried about sharing one shower, but it worked out totally well! All the rooms were very comfortable and user friendly with enough storage as well. It was very very warm in DC while we were there but the AC worked very well so we were comfortable in the house. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Very good location

  • 3 of 5

We stayed here for a week recently. Generally, we found this house to be a good rental but some improvements are truly warranted.

First the positives:

- Brittany the property manager was very attentive and proactive to help us. The week we stayed in Washington was unseasonably hot and she let us know before our arrival that she had added two room air conditioning units to assist the overwhelmed central HVAC system. The house was quite hot when we arrived but within a few hours had cooled down considerably. The heat never became an issue after that during what likely was the hottest week of the year in DC.

- The check-in process was very easy.

-Plenty of room for the five of us. The third bedroom has a trundle bed with a rollout bed underneath. It was fine for two of our kids but adults wouldn't likely be happy with it.

- The kitchen seems newly modernized redecorated. The 1.5 bathrooms were like this as well. The supplied bath products in the shower were good quality - you can likely leave your own at home. Towels were plentiful and good quality. Hot water was plentiful even with five people showering.

- Having a dedicated parking space behind the house was great. There's really room for only one car.

- The neighborhood around Dupont Circle is very nice. The house is a 10-minute walk to the Red Line metro stop which is how we got around the city most of the time. The couple times we used Uber it didn't take long for a driver to arrive. We ate in a couple of neighborhood restaurants which were good. We especially liked Rosemary's Thyme Bistro on 18th.

Now the cons:

- First and most important is that there were several floorboards in the master bedroom which were dangerously loose. When I stepped on them they sank down several inches: were clearly not being supported from underneath. We placed a desk chair over that area of the floor to stop from stepping there. If adjacent floor boards also become loose then it would be a real hazard. This is something that needs to be repaired quickly.

- The door handle in the main bathroom repeatedly came off the door and needs to be replaced.

- Furniture in several rooms needs updating. The bed in the master bedroom is very soft and the box spring squeaks quite loudly with any movement. The couches in the living room have rips in the upholstery in several places and aren't very supportive.

Overall, I wouldn't call this 'luxury' but it was a good stay. Some repairs and updating would go a long way.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Andrew: Thanks for your review. I am so happy you had a great stay in D.C. Your review has helped us notice problems, like the mattress and couches, that if you are not there we don't realize. New bed and couches have been ordered. The floor problem has also been addressed and hopefully the floors will be ready this weekend. We are also getting new stair steps so that they don't squeak. The bathroom door knob's mystery has also been solved.. The door gets stuck in the frame and people have to pull it really hard so the door knob comes apart. They are going to smooth down the door so that it doesn't get stuck. We always recommend only one car parking in the back. Usually our guests only need one parking space unless it is a family reunion. Then we tell them how tight it would be to park two cars. This old houses are difficult to keep up, but they are so charming! Thank you for staying with us! Sincerely,
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Largo, FL
3

Great location, beautiful home, but A/C was weak during heatwave

  • 3 of 5

The location was fantastic! We were able to walk downtown, to the metro and to a ton of restaurants! The house is older and very charming, but we had a few issues with door knobs coming off and the A/C did not cool the house below 79 degrees. When these issues were flagged to the property manager, she was immediately responsive and helpful.

I would recommend the house unless you are going to stay in the heat of the summer as we did.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad your stay in D.C. was good. We have installed extra window units to help us get through the summer. The heat wave was really bad and no company would do the replacement of the A/C with the temperature so high. We will have a new unit ready in Spring! Thanks for staying with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
6.6 Miles
Ronald Reagan Airport
Nearest Train
2.8 Miles
Amtrax Union Station
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Lauriol Plaza
Car: not necessary

Walking distance to the White House, National Mall, Smithsonian, National Zoo. Many wonderful restaurants and bars.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Dupont Circle Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$300
$6,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $230
Tax Rate 14.5%

Renters will have to have Damage Protection to rent this property. Damage Protection could be done with a $1,500 refundable security deposit (Credit Card is the best option) or through and invitation to purchase a Property Insurance Protection for $59.00. If you choose the $59 option, please let me know so I can send you a request to purchase the insurance.

Renters and Owner Cancellation Policy: 60 day notice is required for cancellation. Cancellations made 60 days prior to the arrival date will be refunded excluding a cancellation fee of $200. Cancellations made within 60 days of the arrival date, forfeit the full advance payment.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties