Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Less than 10 miles to WHITEFACE! Ideally located to explore the High Peaks ...

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Enclosed Bedrooms, 2 Full Bathrooms and A Pull-out Couch For Overflow.

Located on a quiet, country lane, you will feel right at home in this pristine A-Frame located in Ausable Acres in the village of Jay, NY on 1.2 private wooded acres and backs up to Clark Mountain.

Imagine relaxing in front of the wood burning fireplace with wood provided after a day of adventure in the High Peaks.

You will enjoy an open floor plan with each bedroom on a separate floor. A fully stocked kitchen, dining area and living room along with master bedroom (California King bed) and one full bathroom located on the second floor. A foyer, second living room and a gas stove, plus large bedroom (Queen bed) and full bathroom are on first floor. Loft and enclosed third bedroom with twin beds is on the third floor. You will love the airy, sunlit loft perfect for reading or enjoying a cup of coffee.

All linens and towels included in the price of rental. We want you to feel at home and provide hair dryers, coffee machine, microwave oven, radios and other basic essentials,, along with garbage and recycling pick-up.

We have Wi-Fi!

More Details

Owner
Stacy Spletzer
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, some French
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 25, 2017

About Stacy Spletzer

My husband, daughter and I are Americans (Chicagoans) living and working in Montreal, Canada. When we realized that the beautiful Adirondack Mountains were an easy 2 hour drive from Montreal, we bought our rustic cabin in the woods in 2005 and have enjoyed countless weekends of skiing, biking, hiking and pure enjoyment. We bought the Scenic Point Chalet in 2010 so that we can share the region with others. We have enjoyed meeting many like minded, interesting and active people because of the chalet which has been a fun return.

Stacy Spletzer purchased this chalet in 2010

Why Stacy Spletzer chose Whiteface Mountain

The Scenic Point Chalet is a rustic retreat. We fell in love with its multiple levels and two living areas which allow two families to have privacy or even better, for the adults to enjoy the upstairs living area and the kids downstairs. There is also something warm and inviting about its ambiance ... especially when the fire is roaring. We are quite proud of the chalet and the reviews we have rec'd since 2010.

What makes this chalet unique

The chalet backs up to Clark Mountain which provides hours of adventure for those that want to take it. Miles and miles of x-country ski trails are within walking distance from the chalet's front door. Lake Eaton is also an easy stroll for a picnic, playground, tennis game or canoe ride. Also, one of the best benefits is that it is 'quiet' ... great if you just want to get away from the city noise and get back to nature.

Amenities

Jay Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , California King - comfy!
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , NEW mattress - nice
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Enclosed loft - NEW mattresses
  • Each bedroom is on its own floor of the chalet.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(50 traveler reviews)

Less than 10 miles to WHITEFACE! Ideally located to explore the High Peaks ...
average rating of 4.88 based on 50 reviews
3

nice, but dirty....

  • 3 of 5

House as described on VRBO, but very DUSTY. I can handle the everyday dust that builds up, but this was dust and cobwebs that have clearly been there for a while. Turned on the ceiling fan after returning from a long day of hiking only to be showered in a bunch of dust bunnies, yuck!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. We take the cleanliness of our beautiful vacation rental seriously and will definitely address your feedback with our cleaning team. I am happy we were able to accommodate your last minute booking and hope you enjoyed the close proximity to the great hiking in the region.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

beautiful weekend in the adirondacks

  • 5 of 5

while the adirondacks in themselves are so beautiful and make for a great escape, Stacey's chalet was a huge bonus! it's beautiful and so well appointed. we were able to cook to our hearts content, laze around listening to the birds chirping, the towels were fresh and cooking supplies abundant. the deck was beautiful and we were able to grill as well. thank you so much stacey!

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gatineau, Quebec
5

Scenic Point Chalet

  • 5 of 5

Ce beau chalet se trouve sur une rue très tranquille à Ausable Acres, une quinzaine de minutes de Whiteface. L'endroit est parfait pour explorer les High Peaks, Lake Placid et pour faire du ski à Whiteface. Mais aussi le Clark Mountain juste en arrière du chalet vaut la peine d'être découvert! Nous étions six personnes (2 adultes, 4 enfants) et le chalet était assez grand pour nous, et nous avons même reçu de la visite! Nous avons aimé que la cuisine est complète, on a même fait des muffins. La belle décoration du chalet et bien sûr le foyer rendent le chalet très chaleureux. Quel bonheur d'y retourner après une journée de ski ou de randonnée! Il va falloir y retourner en été!

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Scenic Point Chalet in Ausable Acres

  • 5 of 5

The Scenic Point Chalet is a great house in a great location. It's located in Ausable Acres in Jay. The house is big enough to sleep probably 8 people and has 2 bathrooms. The kitchen is fully stocked and the living room/dining room on the main level is big and comfy. It's about 15 minutes to Whiteface Mountain if you're a skier, which we are. Ausable Acres is a nice development. You have neighbors but not right on top of you. And it's all wooded which we really liked. My husband was able to go for a hike with our dog right from the chalet. There are many trails to hike on, which he loved. Lake Placid is probably about 16 - 18 miles away. It's an easy drive to get to the village. This is our third year in a row to the Lake Placid area and this was one of the best houses that we've rented. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Richmond
5

Scenic Point Chalet

  • 5 of 5

The Chalet is a wonderful place. The owners take great pride in their cozy abode and really go above and beyond to make sure their guests are happy. I highly recommend this property if you are looking for a relaxing get a way from it all!

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time staying at this wonderful home. The home was very comfortable and cozy. Everything was clean and in great shape. Would recommend to anyone looking to stay in the high peaks region.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Plattsburgh
Nearest Golf
3.5 Miles
Ausable Forks Club
Nearest Ski
8 Miles
Whiteface Mountain
Nearest Beach
7 Miles
Wilmington Beach
Car: necessary

Miles of x-country ski trails and the Ausable river are within walking distance from the chalet. Downhill skiers only have to drive 15 minutes to Whiteface Mountain. Shopping, spas, golf and other activities abound in the Olympic city of Lake Placid which is a scenic 14 mile drive, guaranteeing there is sure to be something for everyone

Photos

Rates & Availability

Jay Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
June Special
Jun 1 2017 - Jun 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$190
$900
 
 
Fourth of July
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$230
$1,250
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$225
$1,150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $40
Cleaning fee - 6 or less $50

Cleaning fee is 100$ for parties of more than 6. An additional charge is applied to most holiday weekends. Please note that weekly rentals can either be Friday to Friday or Sunday to Sunday.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties