Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Mountain Ski,Swim,Tennis,Golf,watch the fall leaves,No weekend rate increase !

Bedrooms 2
Space 920 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms,full kitchen,fire place, ski slopes, Sleeps 4

Two private bedrooms and two baths, with recliner chair in the living room.We have a roll up mattress if children want to sleep on the floor. Private balcony and full kitchen. Wood burning fireplace in the living room. Breathtaking mountain views.Free shuttle bus to ski slopes on property,walk to snow tubing, indoor pool and 2 hot tubs.Outdoor pool tennis and 18 hole golf course.Walk to Restaurant and pub on property. Lakes nearby for canoeing, swimming and fishing. Amusement parks, minor league baseball , cave spelunking, railroad museum, shopping and many restaurants to choose from in nearby Altoona. Great for viewing all the beautiful Fall leaves as they change colors.Wonderful skiing and snowboarding in the winter within walking distance. Something fun for everyone!

Maritsa Jane Hartlove
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2018

About Maritsa Jane Hartlove

We bought our condo in Blue knob many years ago to enjoy family vacations. We still use our condo but not as often as we like because we moved. We also used the condo in Blue knob for our summer camp that we ran in Md. My husband and I are both graduates of the University of Md. We still enjoy going to Blue knob with our family. Blue knob is our home away from home. We all enjoy skiing,swimming,paying tennis,boating and exploring. Even more we enjoy relaxing away from the city and spending quality time together . If you love nature you will love our condo at Blue knob.

Maritsa Jane Hartlove purchased this condo in 2005

Why Maritsa Jane Hartlove chose Claysburg

We were so excited when we bought our condo in Blue knob because it allowed us to spend time with our whole family in the beautiful Allegheny Mountains. We love Blue knob so much we even bought a second condo to accommodate our whole family as we began to have grand children. We often spend Christmas at our condos in Blue knob . We also enjoy summer vacations at Blue knob because it is so nice and cool in the mountains. We love the nearby lakes, caves, and baseball games. Blue knob offers fun for all ages. The first time we went to Blue knob for a long weekend to ski we fell in love with the resort and bought our condo. We have all learned to ski, swim and play tennis at Blue knob. The area is rich in nature and I always feel closer to God when I am in the mountains.

What makes this condo unique

Our condo is beautifully decorated but also very comfortable. Enjoy roasting marshmallows in the fireplace in the winter or having a cookout on the grounds of Blue knob in the spring, summer or fall. Blue knob is part of a state park which makes it even more attractive. You may even see a bear while you enjoy a romantic dinner at the Black bear Inn . The indoor pool has a large hot tub and sauna that will be very relaxing after hiking,boating,fishing,playing tennis,golfing or skiing. The mountains surround our condo and the views are beautiful. This is a wonderful place to view all the fall leaves as they change colors what a beautiful picture of nature.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Maritsa was absolutely wonderful and a responsible communicator. She made sure everything went off perfectly. I choose Blue Knob partly because of her excellent pre-booking communication. This was especially important because I stayed for an entire month which she graciously and efficiently accommodated. I was there during the entire month of June, 2014 so my review is about summer conditions. With only an occasional summer camp church group and a handful of summer residents and golfers, the resort was as relaxed and quiet as a lazy summer day. The surrounding hardwood forests are a nature lover / day hiker's dream. I was pleasantly surprised how relatively unspoiled the Allegheny hills and forests are. * Very dog friendly. * NO POISON IVY! I'm highly sensitive so this was an unexpected & appreciated bonus. * Many easy-to-moderate blazed trails. "Sound of Music" hilltop meadows filled with wildflowers where ski lifts are located. * A variety of wildlife (groundhogs, salamanders, deer, birds, black bear!) can be spotted. Lots of wildflowers and trees - bring guidebooks. * Very quiet / low usage. * Adjacent to Blue Knob State Park with additional trails, picnic areas, a visitor center and activities. * Sweet self-indulgent options: two hot tubs, sauna, indoor and outdoor pools, tennis court, golf course, two restaurants, bar, pay washing machines/dryers. Hours vary depending on season. * Wireless internet available at the rental office nearby although not always reliable as it depends on their satellite reception/equipment. * The living room DirectTV got local stations, MSNBC, Lifetime, NFL, Comedy Central and Discovery while the bedroom TV was set up for DVDs/VHS. * Grocery, drug store, post office, library, family restaurants available in the small town of Blue Knob. Full service everything available in Altoona, about 25 miles away. * The 2nd floor condo itself is very comfortable and well furnished with a fully functional kitchen and nice view. Everything you need for your stay is provided.
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 2


Claysburg Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 920 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • living room has a couch and a matress for the floor.
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Sauna
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Blue knob all seasons resort is a wonderful place to get away from it all and relax. It is a great family vacation or a romantic get away. You can choose to ski,swim,fish,hike,boat,golf or just relax in the mountains of PA. Our condo is fully equipped and very comfortable. You are sure to enjoy your stay at our Blue knob condo.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

64% Complete
29% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Mountain Ski,Swim,Tennis,Golf,watch the fall leaves,No weekend rate increase !
average rating of 4.548387 based on 33 reviews


  • 5 of 5

We had a nice time. Property owner was very accommodating and quick to reply to our needs. The room was comfortable. The mountain didnt open as anticipated due to snow melt but we still had fun staying at the resort.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had fun! Hope you will visit again soon!so glad you enjoyed your stay! The resort offers many activities! Hope youcanstay input mountain home again soon. The summer months are wonderful!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

good stay

  • 4 of 5

Condo is quaint. Great price. Hot tub was not working. The WI-FI was spotty. Great location for the ski resort. Very clean. Bar and Grill right across the parking lot. Would stay again.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Robert, I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our home in the mountains!Because we are so high in the mountains wifi is sometimes hard to get. Our place is a place to getaway from it all and relax.We just had wifi installed to for travelers who need it.I am sorry to hear about the hot tub not working.I will contact the management company about that.There are two hot tubs on the property!I hope you will visit our home in the mountains again soon! Thanks for staying at our place!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Value

  • 4 of 5

Our family of 6 had a great time

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad you enjoyed our condo in the mountains. I hope you enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pool and hot tub. There is so much to do in the summer with the local amusement parks, lakes, and mountains. I hope you will visit again soon. Thanks for visiting our home away from home.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Dry Run, PA

Last Minute Notice

  • 5 of 5

We were extremely pleased with our experience with this rental. Due to a new job our grandson was in immediate need of accommodations at the last minute. With less than 48 hour notice we were able to obtain our rental for two weeks. The condo was wonderful and Maritsa was very helpful with all her correspondence and making sure our stay was met with all our needs. We are happy to say we would definitely rent again from this owner. Thank you Maritsa for your hospitality and the wonderful accommodations.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure hosting you. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you can visit again soon:)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great apartment!

  • 5 of 5

Our experience was great! We had no issues with contacting the owner when we had questions. The condo didn't have wifi, but it was nice to unplug for a couple days. I would totally recommend this property to my friends and family.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great stay for a great price

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at the condo. The place was clean and comfortable and going down to the Pub on site with live music and good food topped off our night.

The only thing was that we never got a key card for the indoor pool or hot tub. It was suppose to be on the table and wasn't. Couldn't call to find out where it was because there is no cell phone service on the mountain.

Didn't really feel that we missed it because we had plenty to do around the condo. Hiking trails and an out door pool make everything great and the mountain is 10 degrees cooler than the valley with much lower humidity.

One of the best weekends ever!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our mountain home.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Our condo is located on a great ski resort. The slopes are not usually crowded. Ski lessons are available. Great place to ski snow board or go tubing.There are many local activities including Lakemont Park, Canoe Creek Lake, Minor league baseball team, cave exploration, many restaurants to choose from in nearby Altoona and shopping.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Pet Fee $100
Damage Deposit $250

There is a refundable security deposit of $250.00 due in advance of your stay. Rates may change until payment is received.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties