Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Home, Large Spa, sleeps 6 to 10. From $199 per night

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 2,237 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

Great location, West side, 3 or 4 Bedrooms, 2.5 or 3.5 baths, sleeps 6 to 10

The Newport Hale' is a new 3 bedroom 2 1/2 bath 1650 square foot craftsman style home that sleeps 6. The main house is accessed by a front yard driveway that accomodates two vehicles. Price is $199/night (low season) and $250/night (high season).

If you need more room, there is an additional 672 square foot upstairs living area that sleeps four and includes a fireplace, kitchenette, two flat screen TV's, one queen bedroom and one queen sleeper/sofa and allows you use of the garage accessed from the alley! (additional $109/night and $60 cleaning fee) Please let us know if you are interested.

The 1650 square foot 3 bed 2 1/2 bath main house is spacious, beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. There is one queen memory foam bed, one queen select comfort air bed and one comfortable full bed. The house is centrally located on Bends trendy West Side, close to Drake Park, down town, numerous brewpubs, eclectic restaurants, mountain bike trails and the road to Mt. Bachelor. Amenities include natural gas heat, cool air conditioning, two car driveway, fireplace, large flat screen TV, private/gated patio with plenty of seating, porch swing, outdoor waterfall, large Sundance six person therapy spa and a nice barbeque for summer fun!

Small to medium size dog is allowed with a non-refundable security deposit. Please tell us about Fido prior to booking so we can approve him!

More Details

Jeff Hehn
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2018

About Jeff Hehn

Jeff and Jolee Hehn are Bend natives. 'Married for 35 years we have four adult children and nine grand children. We know Central Oregon and are excited about helping vacationers have fun in Bend!'

Jeff Hehn purchased this house in 2012

Why Jeff Hehn chose River West

Extremely comfortable, fantastic location, great value!

What makes this house unique

Walk to great restaurants, brew pubs, downtown. Short bike ride to Phil's Trails, Private entertaining patio. Quality home - Best value in Bend! Super location to launch your Central Oregon adventure!


River West House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2237 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , downstairs half bath
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Tub/shower, separate toilet room, walk in closet with vanity
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Tub/shower with separate toilet room!
  • Beautiful linens!
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Select Comfort mechanical air bed with massage!
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , memory foam with walk in bath, closet and flat screen HGTV
  • All three beds boast luxurious linens and specialty mattresses to provide maximum comfort!
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(48 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
12% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
Beautiful Home, Large Spa, sleeps 6 to 10. From $199 per night
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 48 reviews

Some issues occur during our visit

  • 3 of 5

Beautiful home but had some issues with check in, spa/patio unable to use due to bee hive in spa cover and the internet connection was poor. Jeff was responsive to our complaints and gave us a discounted rental for our troubles and gift certificate to a local restraunt.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please be advised there was NEVER A BEE HIVE IN THE SPA COVER. An expert concluded there was probably a bee hive in the area and, due to the mild winter, bees were looking for water. They would squeeze under the spa cover and drown. We have professionally addressed the issue and the bees are gone. To make things right, we provided multiple discounts to our guest. Please remember we cannot control the natural process of bees, just as we cannot control the weather and low snow totals on Mt. Bachelor. In response to slow internet: We immediately had Bend Broadband remotely test internet speed and connection. All was working excellent. We are not a large metropolitan area however, and as such, internet speed may vary due to usage spikes in the area. In conclusion, JoLee and I want guests to have a wonderful time here in Bend. We will always act timely to make our guests stay a positive, fun experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

House was beautiful and in the perfect location.

  • 5 of 5

Had a great family trip. Plenty of space for everyone, true to what was advertised. Owner was great to work with. Location was ideal, easy walk to a market, breweries, restaurants. Straight shot to downtown, Mt. Bachelor, etc. Street was a bit busy but worth it for the ease of getting around. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beware: This house is for sale

  • 2 of 5

PROS: Location good, although on busy street. Well stocked. Nicely decorated. CONS: House is for sale with a huge sign in the font yard! So, I would be wary to book too far ahead. Gas grill is old and cooked meat super uneven because burners are not working well. Wifi was just terrible!! There were lots of bees under lid of the hot tub, every time we lift the lid. There is a wine rack in the kitchen and kitchen was stocked with coffee, spices etc. We used ONE bottle of cheap wine fron the wine rack - thinking it is included in the ‘well stocked kitchen’. Jeff deducted $15 from our security deposit for the bottle of wine?! If the wine is just for display, I suggest he puts a ‘display’ sign at the wine rack. Fireplace did not work most of the time. Jeff recommended to ‘fiddle with it’ if it does not work... We would not stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: My wife JoLee and I have always done our absolute best to make all guests feel welcome! We keep the Newport Hale' absolutely clean and up to date. If you look at past reviews, you will see renters are very happy with their stays. Please do not judge the Hale' from one poor review. In our defense, these particular renters were finicky and hard to please from the beginning. I will respectfully address each of the Negatives from their review: 1) The home is no longer listed for sale. It was listed as a VACATION RENTAL PROPERTY. The buyer would purchase it as such and continue to vacation rent the property. No rental reservations were in jeopardy. We would never do that. 2) The gas grill is only a few years old. I cleaned it and it works well. Never a complaint from renters in four years. 3) I immediately checked our WIFI speed when renters mentioned it. Speed was 49.5 Mb, which is very good. We even installed a signal booster upstairs to make sure the entire house has a strong signal. Never had a complaint in four years. 4) We have had a mild winter and there are still bees looking for warmth during the day. Yes, there were several bees hovering around the spa during the day, but they were gone by evening when it cools off. I contacted our spa service and were told bees should not be around this time of year and there is not much we can do. 5) We have a decorative wine rack with 6 bottles displayed in the kitchen. Price is marked on each bottle. 6) I personally showed renters how to turn fireplace on and off when they arrived.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

This house could not have been any more ideal for my group of friends and I! Aside from its beauty, it was so cozy and had everything we needed. Jeff was great and met to show me how to work everything within the home. There were 11 adults total (3 came last minute), we also had the additonal space which was also amazing! The drive to Bachelor was a breeze. The beds super comfy! I could go on and on, but just see for yourself! Would return again for my next trip to Bend =)

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house!

  • 5 of 5

We came to Bend for a half marathon and it was the perfect getaway home to enjoy! we loved the hot tub after the long run and enjoyed all the ammenties the home had to offer. It was very clean and in a great location!

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful with spacious rooms and plenty of charm.

  • 5 of 5

We rented the extra space and it's well worth the extra charge, with 2 extra sleeping areas and another bathroom. Hot tub was secluded and very easy to get in and out of. Kitchen was well stocked too. It was super comfortable for our family and in a convenient location

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Diana, We are so thrilled that your family enjoyed the house. We thank you for staying and for the review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Bend municipal airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
10 barrel
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Aubrey Glenn
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Highway 97
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Nearest Ski
16 Miles
Mt Bachelor
Car: recommended

Bend, located in the heart of Central Oregon is known for its scenic setting, year-round recreational and sports activities and eclectic culture. Mt Bachelor ski resort is just twenty minutes away (You can snow ski and water ski the same day in late spring!). Minutes to some of the finest fly fishing rivers in the nation, nationally acclaimed golf courses, world renowned rock climbing, endless mountain biking and hiking trails, gourmet restaurants, brewery pubs, coffeehouses, and boutiques line Newport Avenue to downtown riverfront. With over 300 sunny days per year, Bend is an outdoor enthusiasts paradise! No wonder Bend is the hottest destination in the Northwest. Our Newport house is the perfect location for your Bend Adventure!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $160
Pet Fee $50
Damage Deposit $500

11 percent city of Bend transient room tax
1 percent State of Oregon Tax
$160 cleaning fee
$50 non refundable pet deposit per pet
$20 per night per person over 6 persons

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.