Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spectacular Lake View!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Home, 4 Bedrooms , 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

The Lookout sits high on a secluded hilltop and has spectacular views of Center Hill Lake. A relaxing vacation awaits you in this nice home. An open floor plan is great for large groups - you can get away from it all at The Lookout. Located near the Hurricane Bridge Boat Dock, there is quick water access for boaters and skiers. Hurricane Marina is 3-4 miles away.

A private upper deck gives you plenty space to relax and enjoy the sun. A beautiful sunrise makes the coffee taste great on the deck. Complete privacy awaits you on this hilltop. The first floor has four bedrooms, 1 King and 3 Queen beds, two full baths and a washer and dryer. Two of the bedrooms open onto a patio overlooking the lake with comfortable furniture and a porch swing along side the Hot Tub with a lake view. Upstairs has a half bath. 8 Person Maximum including Children.

The second floor has a cupola that offers lots of natural light and walls of windows with incredible lake views. It includes a living room with a wood burning fireplace, dining area with large table, a fully equipped kitchen, family room with a pool table. A gas grill and deck furniture are located on the upper deck overlooking beautiful Center Hill Lake.

Be sure to click MORE PHOTOS below. To see photos of the inside and the outside views of this charming home. We are PET FRIENDLY but your pets must be pre-approved. Non-refundable Pet Fee of $50/per pet required.

Very steep concrete driveway similar to a boat ramp.

NO SMOKING PLEASE and NO CHARCOAL GRILLS. NO HOUSE PARTIES. You MUST be 25 yrs or older to rent.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Rochelle Coll
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 2, 2017

About Rochelle Coll

We purchased The Lookout June 2007. We first stayed at The Lookout in March 2007 to look for a lake home. We fell in love with this place. We live in Nashville and The Lookout is only an hour away. We have been very happy and have shared it with lots of good folks. We hope you will stay at The Lookout and enjoy it as much as we do.

Rochelle Coll purchased this house in 2007

Why Rochelle Coll chose Center Hill Lake

High atop a big hill at The Lookout you can see Center Hill Lake. The views are beautiful. You can see the lake on two sides even though there are trees all around. We stay as much as possible and share with family and friends. Its just a great place for large groups.

What makes this house unique

It is only one hour away from Nashville. The views are beautiful of Center Hill Lake. It is less than one mile to the nearest boat dock and three miles to the nearest marina. Smithville is just 6 miles away and Cookeville is 20 miles away. There is shopping, restaurants and grocery stores are nearby.

The Lookout has plenty of space. The top level has an open floor plan. While you are working in the kitchen, you are still connected with all the other family members that are in the Living area, dining area or pool table area. The Lookout is a comfortable place to be.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The Lookout is awesome! It provided the perfect weekend getaway for our family. Thanks.
Nov 2008
  • 1 of 40

Amenities

Smithville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • No sleeping on the couches.
  • No charcoal grills allowed. Gas Grill Furnished.
  • All Guests on Property must act in a proper and reasonable manner.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Ground Level. Has washer & dryer.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Ground Level.
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , Up Stairs Level.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Has TV. Ground Level.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Has TV. Ground Level.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Ground Level.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Ground Level.
  • King size beds (1) On first level with TV., Queen size Beds (3) All 3 on first level.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
Spectacular Lake View!
average rating of 4.285714 based on 54 reviews
Port orange
5

We loved the Lookout.

  • 5 of 5

The Lookout was lovely and a great place to escape hurricane Irma. There were four adults and the setup provided opportunities for family time and privacy. Very clean and comfortable. Loved the porch in the trees. Driveway was steep but navigatable. The kitchen was well stocked with pans dishes and utensils. Bring extra paper goods. A steamer would be nice. Highly recommend this treetop getaway.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review. Hope your home was not damaged during the hurricane. Rochelle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice Center Hill House

  • 4 of 5

This house was very comfortable for our family. We were 4 adults and 4 children and the four bedrooms with two hall baths set up worked perfectly for us. The bedding and towels were fresh and new and the kitchen/dining area was also a great layout and easy set up. There was plenty of couch space for gathering around in the evening and the pool table was a fun addition. The location just a few minutes up the road from Hurricane Marina worked well. The only reason I give four stars instead of five is that the lake view is pretty minimal (just a glimpse through thick trees) and the deck could use some attention. Luckily we spent all day out on the lake, but if we had wanted to spend much time outside at the house, it wouldn't have been what we were looking for. Didn't use the hot tub. With some clearing of the overgrowth and a little work on the deck, the house would be a top notch rental.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. Yes I agree with you. We stayed there for the eclipse. My wonderful friends from Evansville cut down the growth all along the driveway and house. They blew off all the leaves from the driveway too. It looks great. The trees will be cut back soon. They seem to grow so fast. Glad you enjoyed your stay and yes it is quite comfortable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Still waiting to have our deposit returned!

  • 1 of 5

House was great, had a great time! However, after several contacts and promises to return our deposit we are STILL waiting as of July 21, 2015 to receive the deposit that was soooooo, required on our part, only to get the run around! Might need to retain an attorney if your going to rent!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Completely my fault. I failed to return the deposit. I have changed my system of handling the customer check out routine so future customers will receive their security deposit back as stated in our rental agreement. I did mail their deposit out this morning. Rochelle Coll - The Lookout LLC
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Gallatin, Tennessee
5

Great family Time

  • 5 of 5

The house was great and perfect for our family. We really enjoyed the pool table. My in-laws came with us and they really enjoyed the house too. Rochelle, the owner, was very nice and attentive. We stayed from May 15 until May 18th.

  • Submitted: May 28, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a great time. Rochelle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Nashville
1

Not the best place....

  • 1 of 5

It took me a while to write my review..... but it is never too late! The house is in poor condition, especially outside. The patio furniture are old and dirty. The house needs a good Cleaning and Painting! We had a major problem inside in the bedrooms with Bugs... scorpions!!! Also it is very noisy.. Over all it was not a good experience! I would not recommend this place. Sorry!

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: My customer stayed at The Lookout Friday, August 30th to Monday, September 2nd, 2013. I have not heard from this customer since she checked out. I did not receive any telephone calls, emails or comments from this customer until this review notification on February 24, 2014 from VRBO. #1 - Poor condition & #3 - Painting: Every room at The Lookout was painted in April 2013 with updated colors. It had not been painted for several years. The cupola was re-painted in September 2013 because of water leaks around the windows. The outside siding has to be spray washed in the spring & fall seasons. With trees all around and near the lake, a lot of moisture causes the siding to become dirty. The roof was replaced in November 2012 because of hail damage. #2 - Patio Furniture: The patio furniture on the deck has a table with 4 matching chairs (chairs purchased 2012) and 4 plastic chairs. The wind is always strong and the furniture does slide around. There are some chairs on the side of the deck that need to be removed and repaired. Wooden table and chairs located on lower patio are older but solid wood. A metal table with two matching chairs were repainted in 2012. #4 - Bugs: On Page 4 of the Rental Agreement there is a paragraph about Wildlife. "This area is in the forest and is home to indigenous creatures that guests may not be familiar with. Guest may encounter various types of birds and small mammals like squirrels. Bugs are a part of this natural environment as well. The Lookout is treated for pest control on a regular basis, as well as cleaned. Occasionally a few bugs will make their way inside or guest may find the spider webs. This is not evidence of poor cleaning practices. No refunds will be given. Guests should do their part by keeping windows and doors closed and all food & trash inside or in the appropriate outside receptacles." Scorpions are indigenous to the area. They live in rocks which The Lookout is built upon a large rocky hill. The pest control includes scorpions. They are not poisonous but are scary. #5 - Noise: The Lookout is located off the main highway on top of a large hill and you do hear some noise from traffic. The home is not perfect but very comfortable. I have owned The Lookout since June 2007 and always enjoy my stays during the early spring and late fall since it is always booked during the spring/summer/fall months.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
Nashville, TN
4

Great house-poor communication

  • 4 of 5

Our stay was great. The house was just as listed.

My only issue was that the owner failed to tell us she would be unreachable for 3 weeks following our stay-making it an issue receiving our deposit. I wrote two emails and left two voicemails. I eventually got in contact with her other business to find out she was on a vacation and wouldn't be reached for another week. When I finally got in contact with her, she said she thought she had sent the deposit check to me, but oops-it was left in her wallet. She must have forgotten to tear it out. I understand, mistakes can happen. However, when I've left voicemails and emails asking about the deposit-it is not likely the story panned out as stated. I did, receive the check in the mail after my last call. Thankfully.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You are correct. I did fail to refund your security deposit in a timely manner. I was out of town and did not bring my check book with me. I am glad you enjoyed The Lookout and Center Hill Lake. Thank you for your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Security Deposit $300
Pet Fee $50
Tax Rate 14.75%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Must be pre-approved for Pets.

ASK ABOUT WINTER SPECIAL** 3 Nights for the price of 2. Holidays excluded.**November 2016 thru April 2017

1st Payment due asap to lock in dates.
2nd Payment due 30 days before check in.
$300 Security Deposit Required.
We accept MC/Visa/AE/Dis or checks.
A copy of your drivers's license is required.
You must be 23 yrs or older to rent.
Maximum of 10 People. No House Parties.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties