Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Very Private Log House Hot Tub, Outdoor Wood Fireplace, Convenient Location

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10, 3 Full Baths, Large, Spacious Common areas, Internet/WIFI

Private, quiet, wooded location, this log home has it all. We are just 7 miles from Cooperstown along the East Lake Road and Glimmerglass State Park is less than a 5 minute walk.

Regardless if you are coming for Dreams Park, The Opera, The Hall of Fame or any of the other local attractions, Anna's Retreat should be YOUR retreat!

Tucked into the wooded hillside overlooking Otsego Lake, this retreat provides plenty of interior space for gathering with friends and spacious, well appointed bedrooms when you need some quiet time.

One of our guest's favorite features is the massive bluestone patio with a glorious sunken hot tub (seating for 7) and a wonderful wood burning fireplace...can you say S'mores?!?

Our home features a great wide open floor plan with the kitchen opening to the dining area and great room. Adjacent to the dining area is a screen porch perfect for evening cocktails. The great room features 20' cathedral ceilings and twin French doors leading to the massive wrap-around deck. Flooded with sunshine during the day, this is the spot to watch awesome sunsets in the evening.

All bedrooms feature very comfy bedding and the entire home is spotlessly clean. The kitchen is fully stocked for food preparation.

The lower level family room is perfect for the kids...large flat screen and fooseball table and an adjoining bunk room with a private, tiled, full bathroom.

French doors open onto the very private bluestone patio. Roast marshmallows over the wood burning fireplace and then retreat to the sunken hot tub large enough for 7 guests!

Anna's Retreat is one of the most desirable vacation homes in the region...modern construction with central air conditioning, quietly and privately located on the undeveloped East side of the lake and yet just a few minutes to Glimmerglass State Park, The Glimmerglass Festival/Opera and an easy drive to the village of Cooperstown and Dreams Park.

More Details

Property Manager
William Miller
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2017

About William Miller

Liz and I have been welcoming guests to our Cooperstown vacation retreats for more than a decade. We believe a well maintained and spotlessly clean home is just a small component of a great vacation experience. Too often, consumers experience the result of lack of focus on the part of service providers...telephone calls go to voicemail... emails go unanswered...questions are unanswered and problems go unresolved.

Our philosophy; Great Vacation Experiences Begin And End With Great Customer Service.

For this reason, we have chosen to limit the number of homes we manage to ensure our ability to provide the best customer service possible. Our goal is to leverage a lifetime of intimate knowledge of the Cooperstown area to enable our guests to experience all that Cooperstown has to offer... we are "locals" providing visitors with inside information to enhance their time in our special region.

We are standing by, ready to help you. Call us...908-304-4666 or email us at Bill@CooperstownLuxury.com

Safe travels, Liz and Bill

William Miller purchased this lodge in 2004

Amenities

Cooperstown Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • No parties/gathering allowed. Up to 4 day guests permitted.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Spotlessly clean, always!
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Upper level master bathroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • Spotlessly clean and well-equipped
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Main floor queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Upper floor master suite with king size bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Main floor queen bedroom
    Bedroom 4 - 4 bunk bed , 2 sets of bunk beds on lower level
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
15% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Very Private Log House Hot Tub, Outdoor Wood Fireplace, Convenient Location
average rating of 4.78125 based on 32 reviews
5

Great weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5

Property was a very spacious and well appointed log home. Very convenient to Cooperstown town center and baseball hall of fame, just a few minutes drive. Hot tub was clean and up to temperature as well as covered by deck above making use of it outside in snow conditions all the more fun. Owner very responsive to questions and needs throughout the weekend stay even on New Year's Eve.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Aimee! A hot tub, friends, and some snow make for a great experience:) We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future:) Liz and Bill
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Disappointing.

  • 3 of 5

This property is overpriced . It Is roomy. The two bedrooms on the main floor are right by the kitchen and share the main bath which is also next to the pantry and kitchen. The basement sleeping area has four twin beds which are bunk beds and a bathroom with a walk-in shower. The master bedroom , upstairs is roomy and has a nice size bathroom and a sitting area. The living room and dining area is large and nice.

When we arrived the A/C was not on. You would think it would have it a comfortable temperature for the upon arrival. We had trouble getting the unit to come on and had to contact the manager for instructions . The living room ceiling fan didn't work either and it was filthy. A man came to help but he said he didn't know anything about the property and came as a favor to the manager.

1. Coffee pot did not work. I contacted management on Saturday and he brought two pots and coffee Monday. Three mornings without a coffee pot.

2. Cooking utensils needed to be updated. The non-stick coating came off on my food and there is not a large enough skillet to fry a large amount of bacon or anything. The manager left some new cookware with the coffee pot but still not a very large skillet.

3. The outside areas were dirty appearing. Bird poop was on the outdoor furniture and cobwebs . A person was sent to clean up. The fire pit was very nice and the hot tub and was clean and ready to use.

4. The walking paths and trails were non existent. Overgrown with brush and the short walk from the drive to the lake, think again.Is not as convenient as described.

5. The furniture was stained and also the carpet.The baths were clean and the kitchen.

6. The icing on the cake for me was when I heard noises in the middle of the night, turned on my flashlight and saw a mouse run under my bed.We set a trap and caught it the next night.

7. There is a beautiful view of the sunset but you cannot see the lake, only treetops and brush. The large windows are dirty and when the sunlight blares in during the afternoon very noticeable.The screened in porch was nice, but dirty. A granola bar was stashed in the corner, maybe a mouse?

8. There were outdoor grills and firewood provided.The outdoor furniture is not comfortable.

9. The water smells bad and the washer took forever to fill. "Luxury" rental , look elsewhere.Property could be so much nicer with some effort. Mgmt. offered to credit some for inconvenience.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We encourage every guest to provide their input after each and every visit. While it may be easier for us to read the 5-Star reviews, we consider every submission as an opportunity from which we can learn and improve the level of service we provide. It's clear in this case that we didn't deliver on our goal of providing the best experience possible. Because we were unable to satisfy the guest with the various remedies we provided during their visit, we issued a credit for their rent payment. And we have extended an open invitation for them to return in the future so we may demonstrate to them the manner in which we customarily exceed our guests' expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A lovely hilltop retreat - a perfect location for our special weekend.

  • 5 of 5

We found the house to be just as described. The deck and stone patio provided great outdoor space and the hot tub was a big hit with our teen! We used the house for our daughter's wedding weekend and so will always have very fond memories of Anna's Retreat.

The owner couldn't have been more responsive to our questions and needs - would rent from him again in a heartbeat!

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Suzanne, weddings can be so hectic, we are glad you had the chance to unwind at Anna's Retreat! It was our pleasure to have your family stay at our home and we look forward to seeing you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Enveloped in nature with close proximity to Cooperstown, Dream Park, and Glimmerglass State Park.

  • 4 of 5

Perfect for relaxation. Clean with excellent views, comfortable beds, and lots of privacy. Sun room was perfect for morning coffee and meditation. Lower patio with fireplace and hot tub was perfect for nighttime fun. Wild turkeys, deer and hummingbirds during the day and a brilliant starlight sky at night. Fossils galore in the area. We went for baseball but found a nature treasure.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Your comments are so appreciated! We knew about turkeys and hummingbirds frequenting the property...but not about the abundance of fossils! Thanks for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home close to Cooperstown and Dreams Park- Spoil Yourself!

  • 5 of 5

Anna's Retreat is a beautiful home 7 miles from Cooperstown. We stayed there while our son played at Dreams Park. The drive to and from the fields took about 25 minutes but was worth it for the beautiful accommodations and all the amenities and the scenery including Otsego Lake. It helped make a week of baseball feel like a real vacation. A couple of shout outs:

- The woodwork in the home was beautiful

- Beds were very comfortable and plenty of linens were included

- Kitchen was fully stocked with plenty of utensils, pots, pans- even a waffle maker

- The side porch was perfect for a quiet breakfast- several times spent watching deer next to the house

- The outdoor Jacuzzi was a winner- great after lots of walking and fun way to start and end the day

- Lower level bunk beds were a hit with our two ball players post tournament as was the foosball table

- Lower level bathroom is delightful- dual shower heads including rainfall- I snuck down there vs. using master shower when I could

- Outdoor fire pit was amazing- plenty of smore's and beverages for all

- The sunsets were ridiculous

- Owner was extremely responsive with our minor needs including light bulbs for ceiling fixtures and questions about Internet

If you find yourself in Cooperstown and want to make the most of your stay, I highly recommend you stay at Anna's Retreat.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Mike for your kind words. And so glad you enjoyed. I have to agree, the sunsets across the hillsides are awesome and I never miss the opportunity to snap a picture whenever I am at the home during those magic moments!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
chesterfield, virginia
4

Very private home across the road from Glimmerglass state park

  • 4 of 5

We stayed in this home for my son's visit to Cooperstown Dream Park. It was about a 22 minute drive to the Dream Park and about a 10 minute drive to the village of Cooperstown.

The upstairs shower could use some updating wish it was like the downstairs basement shower. The screened porch and patio where great to relax after a long day at the fields.

Overall a nice home and plenty of room. Just beware if you wash any white clothes the water leaves orange stains on the garments.

You can not see the lake from the home during the summer months but I'm sure during the winter with all the leaves off the trees it would be a nice view.

We went to the state park and it was very nice and the lake was beautiful. It is a 7.00 charge to get into the park. There is a beach with lifeguards for swimming and plenty of places for picnics.

This home is super private and quite the climb as your driving up the private drive to get to it. Plenty of privacy!!

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our home is truly private but yet only 7 miles to Cooperstown. While the home did have a lake view in the past, as noted, the trees which are on state-owned property, have matured over the years. Hence, we do not promote any lake views, but it is just a few minutes walk from the home!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Albany, NY
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
Cooleys
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Otsego Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
Route 31
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
Nicolettas
Nearest Ski
45 Miles
Royal Mountain
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Glimmerglass State Park

So many things to see and do...

Anna's Retreat is a perfect 'base of operations' for your small family or larger gathering of friends. With accommodations for up to 10 people, there is plenty of common and private spaces.

Nestled in the woods, hike the property and explore the stream. Walk to Glimmerglass State Park where there is sand volleyball, basketball courts, swimming beach, hiking and running trails, pavilion with snack bar, etc. Explore the nearby hamlet of Cherry Valley with its great collection of restaurants. Cooperstown is just 7 miles south along the edge of the lake...what a great commute into town!!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Damage Insurance $59
Damage Deposit $300

Following are house rules that we ask you to observe as a courtesy to our nearby friends:

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties