Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

luxurious penthouse with 3 terraces in important historical palazzo

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,829 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

3 double bedrooms, 1 dressing room , 2 bathrooms

Luxurious, spacious penthouse  with 3 terraces in an important  historic palazzo of the 12th century, built by spice-and silk traders from the orient. The interior design reflects  the period and origin of the Palazzo and is adapted to modern lifestyle in a unique way; the apartment is a true oasis  in Cannaregio - a very special  part of  Venice  where you can still find typical Venetian atmosphere and scenes, away from  mass tourism but  close to all the main attractions and surrounded by numerous Restaurants and wine bars. There are spectacular views from all three terraces over the roofs of Venice as far as the Campanile of San Marco, and the panoramic window overlooking Murano, which is akin to a Canaletto seascape painting, changing colors according to light and weather. On all the terraces you can relax and breath the fresh sea air, accompanied by the sound of sea gulls.  The first is dedicated to relaxing, with a sun bed and deck chairs; the second has a modern barbecue and eating area, while the third is ideal for breakfast or evening cocktails.

The  penthouse apartment itself of approx.170 sq m occupies the whole of the third and top floor as a single unit and is accessed by an elevator. It is luxuriously furnished in mainly oriental style with precious art work. Ancient beamed ceilings, which are  illuminated  by spot lights, are visible throughout the apartment and create a very special atmosphere. There is  one  large living room with dining area, from where you enter a fully equipped small kitchen under the eves;  opposite,  again under the eves, there is a relaxation/television room with a pull out double bed couch (adaptable into a 140 cm wide bed )… Also off the living room is another bedroom (160 cm bed width) with an own terrace; and finally, a shower / bathroom in beautiful Venetian style mosaic. Whereas the master double bedroom (160cm large bed) with its own  terrace, facing west, is a separate unit and has a luxurious en-suite marble bathroom with mosaic inlays and a jacuzzi whirl-pool and shower. It is accessed through a studio/dressing room with  2 single pull out beds and has another terrace, facing east. There is  Wi-Fi, satellite television, washing machine and a dual mode air conditioning/heating system, as well as underfloor-and central heating throughout the whole apartment.

although it would sleep 7 guests , we only accept 5

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, french, german, italian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 20, 2017

About The Owner

designer , art collector

Why The Owner chose Venice

historical background of the Palazzo and it's interesting surrounding in this very special area of Cannaregio

What makes this apartment unique

the unique views , the serenity of this place, a true oasis where you can recharge your batteries

Guestbook comments from the manager

Mark and I certainly enjoyed our stay in your lovely apartment. Besides being the nicest we have stayed in our visits to several European conferences, it was a most convenient location.
Jun 2012
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Cannaregio East Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (terraced)
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1829 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Elevator ...
  • Free Local Calls
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mosquito Magnet
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , bidet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , bidet
  • Bathrooms luxuriously equipped, Venetian Orsoni mosaic work as well as marble
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , The sofa bed consists of 2 single bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , bed size 160 cm large
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , bed 160 large
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , bed of sofa 140 large
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • DVR
  • MP3 Dock
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Singles
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • sailing
  • swimming
Notes:
Direct access to apartment by elevator.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(64 traveler reviews)

luxurious penthouse with 3 terraces in important historical palazzo
average rating of 4.84375 based on 66 reviews
4

Queen for a day

  • 4 of 5

The experience of staying in an honest-to-goodness palazzo was unique but not without a few bumps. Literally. My husband and two adult sons forgot to duck when entering the kitchen and hit the door jamb several times. I was the only one who could enter unscathed, and I managed to hit my head on the beams inside the kitchen. Using the washing machine was an experience - the opening was so small I had to get on my hands and knees and crawl into the space. The furniture was very unusual but also very uncomfortable. The elevator stopped working at one point (four floors to climb!) and after realizing a day later that none of the residents had apparently called for assistance, we found the concierge's contact info by the front gate, called, and the elevator was repaired later that day. On the up side, the beds were comfy, the views amazing, and the location ideal. We walked everywhere except on the few occasions when we returned by vaporetto because it was late and we were too tired to walk back. There were excellent restaurants nearby, several supermarkets, easy access to historic sites, and plenty of shops to browse. A few bumps on the head was a small price to pay for such an opportunity. Potential guests should be aware of the foibles of an ancient building but shouldn't let that deter them from the experience. We would book again if we have the opportunity.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your time to put down a true review, as its always helpful to get a feedback. As you know, the palazzo itself dates back to the 12th century and is a part of the historic beauty of this unique city. I know that you appreciated it for what it is. Very sorry though for the bumps and we shall try to put some soft protection on the door frames of the kitchen.. Apologies also regarding your problem with the elevator, which unfortunately has been a bit of capricious recently. I explained the possible reason for it in my response to the previous guest review; The same regards the hot water issue- we could have resolved it , if we had only known that somebody had manipulated the switch on the boiler, so the hot water could not flow constantly and switched automatically back to cold. The guests who arrived the day after you and have been there now for one week, reported that there is no problem whatsoever with the water. The furniture is antique and many are oriental ( linked to the historical background of the palazzo) , so perhaps not as comfortable as modern sofas, However it is is a unique apartment with a character of its own with furnishing which reflects Venice and all its cultures. Thank you for being such great guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Scottsburg, IN USA
3

Decent place to stay, but we did have some issues.

  • 3 of 5

There were many nice things about this apartment, but I would probably not choose to stay here again. Most of the issues we had are due to the fact that it is a very old building -- if you find this charming, then you will be delighted, but if you don't, you will just be annoyed.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the housekeeper, who does not speak English. Fortunately, I speak Italian. She had quite a bit of information to impart about what to do if the breakers trip and how to get the hot water going in the master bathroom tub. She also showed me that the lounge chair on the terrace was broken. To make up for this, there was quite a lot of written information in the apartment which was in English.

The apartment is quite spacious, with nice views, but is accessed by an elevator which doesn't always work. We had quite a bit of trouble with it on our last full day. Fortunately, it was working the next morning when we had to get our luggage down.

The location is nice, in a very quiet area, close to some nice restaurants, and not far from the tourist areas and the train station.

We had to have a bit of a discussion with the housekeeper when we arrived about our bedding needs. We were four adults, and needed three beds (2 adult sons), and the housekeeper kept insisting that she had been told to only make up two beds. We were able to get it resolved, but it would have been difficult if I did not speak Italian.

Since the apartment is on the top floor, and is under the eaves, the bathrooms and the kitchen have areas that are difficult to access without stooping. The kitchen in particular is difficult to navigate -- I banged my head several times while trying to make breakfast. The hot water system is also problematic -- getting it to start providing hot water can be a chore, and then the water can go cold without warning. On the plus side, the kitchen is nicely appointed with modern appliances and plenty of equipment for cooking and eating.

There is a washer and dryer available, but getting to it requires stooping through a four-foot high door into an area right under the eaves. We especially appreciated the dryer, since it is uncommon to find one in European apartments.

The beds were comfortable, and the apartment was reasonably clean, although one of the bedrooms was a bit dusty. Once we figured out how to get the air conditioning working, it cooled the apartment well.

In spite of a few issues, we did have a pleasant stay.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We'd like to point out that there are hardly any new buildings in Venice! The Palazzo dates back to the year 1112 and is a part of the historic treasures of Venice. The building and apartment have been constantly restored and are fully functional, so the guest is right to say that it should be appreciated for what it is and not for the modern conveniences you would find in everyday hotels. Venice is also a fragile city, which can cause functional issues. However, we seldom have complaints of this kind. Our apartments stunning with exceptional views of the lagoon and over the city from the three terraces. Many of our guests, who appreciate these benefits, return regularly. Our maid is very capable and able to provide the necessary arrival details for guests, even though she does not speak English. Moreover, all the information is provided in the House Manual to be read at leisure. Anna takes her work seriously, is accurate and cleans thoroughly. She would always be willing to make up an extra bed; so we cannot imagine that there had to be a discussion with her, which she denied as well. On the terrace the lounge chair was broken by a previous guest and the carpenter hasn’t had time yet to repair it. In Venice repairs take longer than anywhere, as getting artisans is not so easy for logistical reasons. Many Palazzi don't have elevators, as technically not possible.Our elevator was installed several years ago and unfortunately it hasn’t got a sensor to keep the door open and closes after one or two minutes automatically; so at times, when the door is pushed back before closing, it gets blocked but most of times functions again by pushing it back. We agree,the kitchen door is a bit of an issue for tall guests and we shall try and pad it at the entrance. However there is enough height except where the beams incline and it's the same in the “laundry room”. Apologies for any banged heads. We are used to it and know when to lower the head, but we imagine that it can be an issue for tall guests . Sorry for the hot water issue; if we had known about it immediately, we could have reacted, either by sending a technician, who was there not long ago, or we could have given advice.It was due to the fact that somebody had manipulated the switch so the hot water could not flow properly. Normally we use the apartment ourselves , but this time we didn’t; so the next guests had the same issues. Apologies for any inconveniences this guest had to encounter!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What a fantastic apartment in Venice

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed in several apartments in Venice over the last 10 years, but now this is the one we return to.

The ease of getting to the apartment from the airport and the lift gets us off to a great start. Then the views from the balconies, the location, the decor, all fantastic.

Look at the pictures, that's how it is !

Alexandra (the owner ) has always replied efficiently and courteously to any queries we have had.

What a fantastic apartment in Venice

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Richard! It's always a pleasure having you!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Decatur, GA, UsA
5

Most elegant apartment we have ever visited

  • 5 of 5

We booked this apartment 6 month before our trip because once we found it online, we just knew we had to stay here. Before entering I said if it is just half as beautiful as I expect, I will be happy. It was actually everything that I hoped/dreamed it would be.

The apartment is so huge, comfortable and inviting. The pictures speak for themselves. So I will move on to some of the other advantages of this apartment.

The location was perfect. Close enough to everything, but far enough away from the more commercial parts of the city it did not feel touristy. Instead of shop after shop of merchandise there are shops of the artisans all around. Within a 5 min walk we visited a beadmaker who's work has been featured in the New York Times, a mosaic artist and a dressmaker with the most exquisite dresses for Carnival. All took so much time to talk to us about their work.

It is also a very short walk to one of the vaporetto stops. There are wonderful restaurants and a very hip/fun wine bar close by.

The host was so welcoming and she provided a wealth of information about our stay and provided very detailed directions on how to arrive. Not to mention the details of the history of the building. I could go on and on.

Let's just say, we would not stay anywhere else if in Venice again.

Lisa

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Lisa. It's such a pleasure to have guests, who appreciate our special apartment. Hope you will come back again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
edinburgh
5

Stunning penthouse-apartmen in a fantastic palazzo

  • 5 of 5

My family have stayed in this beautiful apartment three times now and it is the best apartment in Venice. It has accommodation for 6, 3 balconies with superb views of the Venice skyline. It is the penthouse of an ancient and imposing Palazzo Mastelli with lovely garden scrubs and trees at the entrance and even has a magnificent entrance hall both from the canal and the street. It is on the third floor with a lift so ideal for us slightly older folk. Located near Madonna Dell' Orto church the apartment is well appointed especially having air conditioning and a beautiful living room of immense size. The spectacular window view to Murano and the church are unique I think. So for a family holiday in residential Cannaregio but minutes from the Grand Canal you will find this apartment superb - and the host is gracious and excellent at giving you information and ensuring you have the holiday of lifetime.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you are enjoyng your Venice home over and over again! We are doing our best to make you feel comfortable in doing continuous improvements. Thank you for being such wonderful guests and leaving our penthouse in such an impeccable state, that Ana, would be jobless, if all our guests were like you! warm regards!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Beautifull apartment

  • 5 of 5

A beautiful apartment with good access,close to restaurants and convienient for shops, made the more special by Alexandra's prompt and friendly helpfulness, both through the booking process + on our arrival.

The photos show the oriental themed decor, but not it's spaciouness. We were 2 couples, and each felt we had loads of persnal space, with balconies as well.

The reliable elevator, wifi laundry + aircon made our 8 night stay a holiday to remember.

We would recomend you try to include Torcello, and "Row Venice".

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Kilometres
Venezia Tessera
Nearest Ferry
400 Metres
Madonna dell' Orto
Nearest Golf
2 Kilometres
Lido
Nearest Train
1 Kilometres
Venezia Santa Lucia
Nearest Restaurant
50 Metres
Nearest Beach
2 Kilometres
Lido

Cannaregio is an insider area of Venice loved by locals. It's great to discover a neighbourhood largely unchanged by the city's tourist hordes. Its bars, restaurants and shops are great places to taste local life attractions in the nearby surroundings, which is largely unchanged by the city's tourist hordes. Its bars, restaurants and shops are great places to taste local life. Cultural attractions: Tintoretto house, Madonna dell' Orto Church, where Tintoretto is buried. Campo dei Mori with the interesting story of the 3 traders coming from the Orient in the 12th century. Many Restaurants and bars along the Fondamenta della Misericordia. Little stores and supermarkets nearby...vaporetto station only 5 min away from the apartment in the historical palazzo.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Cannaregio East Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
main season Biennale
May 6 2017 - Sep 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$298
$1,746
$6,209
 
 
autumn
Sep 15 2017 - Oct 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$272
$1,682
 
 
November
Oct 27 2017 - Nov 7 2017
3 night minimum stay
$233
$1,423
 
 
Christmas & New Year
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 6 2019
5 night minimum stay
$298
$1,811
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$272
$1,682
 

Additional information about rental rates

end cleaning $77.62

. Laundry, end cleaning and utilities included for 2 pax
Eur 20 for each extra guest
. Prices may be subject to change at the advertiser's
. Monthly rates on request.
. Last minute offers available.
.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties