Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Prime weeks left. Summer retreats, fishing, vineyard tours, biking

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,520 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedroom 2 bath with harbor and ocean views

Enjoy spectacular views from this waterfront haven in Little Compton, RI. This New England cottage is a renovated 1940s ice cream and general store and is the perfect summer home or three-season weekend retreat. View the colorful sunrises from the back deck overlooking quaint Sakonnet harbor. A quiet and peaceful retreat as you watch fishing boats pull up with their daily catch, visiting sailing yachts slip into the harbor and the small boats of a nearby sailing school speckle the horizon. From the front deck, enjoy glorious sunsets and a majestic view of Narragansett Bay, Sakonnet Lighthouse, Aquidneck Island and roaring waves on the coastline. Enjoy the fresh breezes of spring, summer and fall from all rooms. Walk to several beaches. Quiet and peaceful rustic three-bedroom, two-bath shingled cottage.

More Details

Owner
Rhonda Marvell
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 25, 2017

About Rhonda Marvell

I have lived in Town since 1974 and I would like for people to enjoy it as much as I do. I love Little Compton, it is quiet and personable, small and great for a summer stay. My children grew up here and they continue to return.

Rhonda Marvell purchased this house in 2005

Why Rhonda Marvell chose Little Compton

If you like a quaint harbor, but still have some privacy, this is the place. What could be better than having a dinner on the deck and watching all that goes on. An untamed beach that has privacy for bathing or beach combing is very nearby.

What makes this house unique

There are unique aspects because of the sun sunset over the harbor and with the changing light every few minutes. No other property overlooks the harbor, with its bustling day activities and the wind down as the sun sets. Breezes, ever changing panoramic views, and rustic beaches all draw you to this property.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Watching beautiful sunsets and sunrises on the deck,dinning on the deck. Never ate inside during our stay. Beach is near, can go fishing, buy fresh fish from the dock everyday We will return for another stay
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 2

Map

Nearest Airport
44 Miles
Providence Rhode Island
Nearest Train
29 Miles
Providence, Rhode Island
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Route 24
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
1/4 of a mile from property
Car: necessary

Pack up a picnic and take a short walk or bike ride to a natural beach. Plenty of space to feel like you are totally alone sunbathing or searching for the allusive sea glass. All under the watch of the Sakonnet Lighthouse. OR take an afternoon dip in the harbor right out back. Kayak among fishing boats and well heeled sailboats. All fun!

Amenities

Little Compton House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2520 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , Claw foot tub
  • bathroom with shower bathroom with tub
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • Masterbedroom has king size bed. One bedroom with 2 twins, one bedroom with queen bed. Plus there is a single futon in master bedroom. There is one sleeper sofa in large living room.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This is on the harbor so you can put a boat in at the town landing and launch canoes, paddle boards, go fishing, swimming and much more. There is a beach at the end of the road that you can walk to as well. The Stone House is 1/2 mi away.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
Prime weeks left. Summer retreats, fishing, vineyard tours, biking
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 11 reviews
5

This rental is in a great spot!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this rental for nine days this August. The house is situated in an awesome spot, water views front, back and sides. We watched incredible sun sets, walked to the nearby beach and dined on the back porch overlooking water and boats. The home was cozy, spacious and fun. The house has a bohemian and artsy feeling. We found everything we needed at the home. We totally enjoyed our stay

And would come back again.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Nice location, but....

  • 1 of 5

The place was right on the water as advertised but many issues. Walking into the unit there was a large collection of the prior rentals trash by the front door with flies and assorted insects. Once inside, the sliding door to the deck was not operating which made the trip to the deck cumbersome. There were many lightbulbs not working and several electric plugs were inoperable. The dishwasher had about three inches of dirty water and the clothes drier was not working. Worst of all there was a large stain on the bed sheets. Like I said, great location but needs a LOT of attention. Grossly overpriced in our opinion.

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are terribly sorry that your stay wasn't up to your expectations. We have taken your comments very seriously and will work hard to amend your concerns. However, as with any rental, we could have mitigated some of these problems immediately if you had gotten in touch earlier. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Great say!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a great time staying here in Little Compton this summer! The property is right on the harbor (gorgeous!!) and very spacious. I would definitely do it again!!

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful vacation

  • 5 of 5

We loved it! We'll definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Ideal location!

  • 4 of 5

We absolutely loved our stay at the Cove in Little Compton! The location was perfect, right on the marina, close to a boat launch for our kayaks, and just a short walk to a beautiful beach! The house was very spacious with a large deck overlooking the marina. All the seentials were provided and fresh flowers in every room was a nice touch.

We found plenty of places to kayak, salt water marshes, Quick Sand Pond, which leads right out to the ocean, and the marina itself. We also enjoyed the best lobsters I have ever had purchased right down the street, you can also buy fresh fish right on the dock next door as the boats come in.

The only drawback was that the place could have been a little cleaner, and we were required to strip our own beds and wash the sheets and towels prior to departure, which was an early 10am....considering we paid a $150.00 cleaning fee, I thought that was a little unreasonable, but the great location made up for that, I would defintely book again!

RJM

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
5

Exactly what we were looking for

  • 5 of 5

This place is fantastic! Casual, spacious, and cozy. With a waterfront view and a short walk to 3 private beaches we couldn't ask for much more. Little Compton is cute and quaint and very quite for a nice getaway. However, pack all you own food to stock up the kitchen BEFORE you arrive! The closest supermarket is 45 minutes away!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Cleaning $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.0%

50% is due now, 50% is due 90 days prior to check in. Damage Protection is due 30 days prior to check in. (refunded within 20 days)

Holiday nights are an additional fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties