Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Waterfront with a great beach, fireplace and large yard

Bedrooms 2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

One bedroom with a loft, kitchen, living room, bath and a screened in porch

This is a private Door County cottage on North Bay Shore Drive. What a retreat! You have to see it to believe it. You can see the beautiful sunsets right from your back door over the waters of Sturgeon Bay and Green Bay. If you go north about nine miles, you will come to Egg Harbor on your relaxing drive along Bay Shore Drive.

Thenell's Cottage is steps from the water and the panoramic view of Potawatomi State Park and Sherwood Point lighthouse. It is located north of Sturgeon Bay where you can visit the Door County Maritime Museum. We have attractive antique and gift shops, excellent restaurants, and more.

There are two casual dining rooms that are short walking distance from the cabin.

More Details

Property Manager
Thenell's Cottage Door County Vacancies
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 13, 2017

About Thenell's Cottage Door County Vacancies

This property is managed by Dreamland Properties, LLC

dba Door County Vacancies - Thenell's Cottage (920) 737-4823


Sturgeon Bay Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront
  • Rural
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Loft area
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

57% Complete
14% Complete
14% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
Waterfront with a great beach, fireplace and large yard
average rating of 4.142857 based on 7 reviews

Great location. Needs more TLC

  • 3 of 5

Generally speaking the location was great but the cottage itself could have used more maintenance and routine cleaning.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

Great cottage right on the water, it suited our needs for the 3 of us. It would be benifical at some point and time for the home owners to update the electrical wiring. Everything worked ok, but as my daughter stated " it was a little sketchy". We would come back in the future.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not favorably impressed

  • 2 of 5

About the only favorable impression we had of Thenell was the view. We were sorely disappointed in the cottage and the response to a lighting issue we had. We were not expecting a campground bathroom, but we were expecting somewhere to plug in things like a hair dryer or chargers for our phones. We had to purchase a 3 to 2 prong adapter since the plugins are not grounded. I really was not expecting to have to bleach the dishes after being used and since no gloves were provided to do so, we had to go with disposable products which we also had to purchase. No extra linens were provided for the beds, so fortunately, they were not needed since responses to issues were not addressed. The light fixture in the kitchen was not working properly when we arrived, so we notified the manager immediately. The fixture was still not working when we left on Saturday, with no call back in response. I would not recommend this rental to anyone.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry the property did not meet your expectations. The cottage was built by the owners’ grandfather, and we take pride in maintaining the original look and feel of the property. We attempted to call you at the number on file to address your concern about the light fixture. I am sorry we did not connect. Upon your departure, we checked and the light was in working order. Thank you for suggesting outlet adapters. We will add them to the property.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Perfect week in a sweet log cabin!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the natural feel of this cabin. You can tell that this cabin has been taken care of and loved for years, even loved by a few friendly spiders. We luckily had a gorgeous week of weather, so that helped. Even with the warm days in the 80s, the fans cooled the cabin down at night. Our 6 year old girl loved the place. The owners were available if we needed anything and stayed in touch with us. It was nice to have Birminghams right up the drive for dinner - but we also did lots of day trips to explore Door County. Hope to come back!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderfully Peaceful!

  • 5 of 5

We just got back from vacation here and it was wonderful! The best thing was the privacy- is has a really huge private yard (we’ve had a number of vacations where other people were on top of us practically). It was wonderful to be so close to the lake. We had fires every night next to the shore, and there was a huge amount of fire wood for us to use- definitely a noteworthy thing since firewood is so expensive.

We definitely hope to come back in the future- I’d absolutely recommend coming here. I’d recommend bringing paper plates, etc. though since there isn’t a dishwasher at the cabin.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oregon, WI

Peaceful and relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Cannot say enough of how we enjoyed our stay at Thenell's cottage! The proximity to the water and the views far exceeded our expectations. Cottage was quaint, but very well maintained and cared for. Had everything we needed! Arrived on a hot and humid July day and was concerned about the heat in the loft for sleeping, but the fans cooled the room off quickly, and with the windows open the breeze made sleeping more than comfortable. Neighbors were kind, Birminghams bar/restaurant at the top of the hill was convenient as was the general store. We had a campfire every night and watched the sunset over the water. If we have the opportunity, we will be back for another visit!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Barpub
0.01 Miles
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $200

The price per night DOES NOT INCLUDE the VRBO booking fee, security deposit and the taxes.
Weekly $1,490 includes taxes
Nightly $260 per night includes taxes
(3 night minimum)

Call the manager directly to confirm reservation details.
Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

60 day cancellation notice with a $75 cancellation fee.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties