Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Romantic honeymoon jungle and mountain view cottage

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 500 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Cosy, Romantic Stand alone Cottage With Jungle And Mountain Views

This very special treehouse style cottage will have you falling in love with a side of Hawaii rarely seen anymore. Although modern and beautifully arcitectured it offers the jungle up to you. Every window looks out to tropical lush beauty. A wrap around screened lanai overlooking valley and mountains provides the perfect setting for romantic evening dining or morning coffee and jungle song bird musing. The large kitchenette is well supplied with stay at home cooking in mind. All the most amazing north shore beaches as well as the famous Kalalau Trail are mere minutes away and if you want to feel a little adventurous you can walk to the river for an evening dip in the jungle swimming hole. Take your camera because the river birds are beautiful. Best of all is the big comfy king bed and the star gazing skylight above you.

Homestay..#9481

More Details

Owner
Dawn McConnell
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 12, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Dawn, I couldn't find a spot on the VRBO link to enter a review so I shall just enter here.



We really enjoyed our stay at the Sea Turtle. We arrived late at night after a long travel day and fell into the WONDERFUL bed without knowing what to expect in the morning. It rained all night--that glorious jungle rain. Imagine our delight to wake up to bird calls and the spectacular view of the mountains embellished with our first of many rainbows. We appreciated the zen-like simplicity of the Sea Turtle's hexagonal structure, the peace of the jungle, the joy of showering under the waterfall showerhead while viewing the mountains and jungle wilds, and the glory of breakfast on the lanai.



Although I would have appreciated some standard amenities like towel bars to hang up wet towels, a robe hook, and an attached soap dish in the shower, we had everything we needed. The location was beautiful and convenient to Hanalei, ( 10-15 minutes by car) and the west end beaches,. The short jaunt to the Bay Colony Coffee shop was also a treat.



Thank you for creating such a delightful retreat for us.



Mahalo

Pam and MIke



** you made a brilliant investment in the bed! We usually have back pain when we sleep in hotel beds, Mike wants me to ask you the brand name and model of the mattress and springs. **
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Hanalei Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Exotic shower built to feel like an outdoor shower
  • Exotic tigerwood shower and bathroom enclosed but built into the flow of the jungle
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • Cottage with King bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There is a quaint corner store about 1/4 mile at the end of our street and an organic take out burrito store There is a fine dining oceanside restaurant 1+ miles away with a local lua and a coffe shop. Hanalei town is 3 miles away with shopping and multiple restaurants

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
22% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Romantic honeymoon jungle and mountain view cottage
average rating of 4.5 based on 19 reviews
5

Look No Further...

  • 5 of 5

If you want a beautiful, quiet, comfortable little house to yourself just down the road from Kauai's best beaches and the town of Hanalei, look no further. Dawn has carefully created a lovely little spot, comfortably appointed with attention to detail. You hear the river and the birds (and only the occasional, far away rooster). There is enough kitchen to feed yourself as much as you'd like, and you'll become convinced that a private outdoor shower is the only way to live. The St. Regis folks on the hill can eat their hearts out, because you'll have the real deal in Hawaii at Sea Turtle Cottage.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Jungle Hut

  • 4 of 5

The views from the property are just as shown in the photos. It is a stand alone cottage but the main house is located just a few steps away. However, it is quite private. The outdoor bathroom is quite spacious although the lighting is a bit dim and the hot water in the shower is very difficult to control - it goes from steaming hot to cold. The small table on the veranda is nice; we often ate dinner there and were not bothered by any pests at all. The kitchen inside consists only of a two burner hot plate and a microwave. However, outside, near the entrance is a full stove and a BBQ. We found the space inside to be a bit small for two people as there is no place to store/put luggage and the "closet" is very small. It is a quaint place and we enjoyed its peacefulness.

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was a very sweet couple who were a pleasure to host. We had been having difficulties with a new hot water system that functions on demand. It has been changed over to a better system and it's working really well now. I so apologize for the inconvience this couple went through. I'm glad they did enjoy themselves insite of this issue.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Pittsburgh, PA
4

Lovely stay

  • 4 of 5

Overall, this is a very nice property. The owner was extremely responsive and helpful. The property is approximately 1/2 mile back a slighty rough unpaved road. This is a guest house attached to the main house (which is also a property for rent). The owner has really done a lovely job decorating this studio apartment. The previous review mentioning bugs is ridiculous. Of course there are going to be tiny flying insects at night if the lights are on, but overall the apartment is beautifully screened and clean. I had to get used to going outside to the toilet and shower, but it was actually fun. The owner has made sure to surround the passageway to the bathroom and the bathroom area with privacy screens. Waking each morning to roosters crowing was actually very relaxing and I loved listening to the sounds of the jungle. I would have liked to have a functioning stove (it is currently out of commission ) , but a hot plate and toaster oven were there and very functional. The use of the washer and dryer after a muddy day hiking was greatly appreciated. My only slight complaint is that this apartment shares a hot water heater with the main house and three times I had no hot water for showers. We enjoyed sushi from the small Sushi Girl restaurant at the end of our road. We also enjoyed a lovely meal at Bar Acuda. Hiking the Na Pali coast was challenging. The lighthouse area is beautiful and well worth a trip. I think this is a very comfortable property for the traveler on a budget.

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: These were lovely guests and it was a true pleasure having them stay in the cottage. The shower is not actually shared with the house.. the on demand heater supplies hot water only for the cottage and it's shower. However it was a new system and it was giving us some difficulties so we've had it replaced with an upgraded model that is now functioning satisfactorily. The contractor fixed the stove too while he was there installing the new hot water heater!. Yay! I feel so sorry that these guests had to put up with these transitions during their stay. I must say that their gracious kindness with the inconvenience was awesome and so very much appreciated. I do hope they return some day.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very charming cottage!

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I stayed here in early November for a week. The property manager was very accomodating about our arrival time, allowing us to have access a few hours ahead of schedule since the cleaning was finished. The cottage was very sweetly appointed, with cute bedding and decor throughout. We really enjoyed the outdoor shower and patio, though we HAD to use the provided citronella candle and quite a bit of bug spray to fend off the mosquitos. (Not a complaint so much as a warning for any future guests: DON'T forget your bug spray!) The provided beach stuff was in good repair and plentiful.

The only things that I would classify as MINOR complaints are as follows:

1. The rental listed a stove as one of the kitchen amenities. It sat unusable in the entryway when we arrived. I was a bit disappointed as I was planning on cooking most of our meals at home, and we ended up having to eat out more than expected. There is a hot plate and microwave inside, which I used to cook breakfasts at least.

2. The cottage is positioned across a driveway from the main house. We could hear pretty much everything going on out there and, I assume, other visitors could hear us. One night, several other guests arrived late at night and pulled the whole "slamming doors and speaking at full volume or above" routine. It's just really not as secluded as maybe we had expected.

Another night, what seemed like six or seven cats simultaneously went into heat or something. Imagine the creepiest yowling noises a cat could make, multiply that by six or so cats, and add a spooky jungle echo effect. Every other night, we slept great though: the mattress in the cottage was very comfortable.

All in all, the Sea Turtle Cottage was a very cute, affordable place to stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The cottage's kitchen amenities were less than described, which was disappointing but we made it work. We would stay again based on our experiences here, and would generally recommend it to anyone who was considering it.

  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A real jungle experience

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay in this jungle cottage. It was secluded, private and had lovely views. There is a real bird symphony each morning. We found the property clean and well equipped with everything we needed. The outdoor shower is a real experience. Because of the secluded location there really isn't much within walking distance. We didn't mind trading a bit of extra driving time for a relaxing and quiet location. So, if you're looking to be somewhere with walkable beach property or restaurants, you will not like this property. It was about a 5 minute drive to Hanalei town center. It is much closer to some of the lovelier beaches (tunnels, Ke'e) on the North shore than staying in town. We would definitely stay again.

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
San Francisco, CA/USA
5

Exotic jungle sanctuary

  • 5 of 5

I travel to Kauai a couple times a year and this is one of my favorite spots so far. It's secluded but close to Hanalei, nicely furnished, and surrounded by a lush jungle property. It's a magical place. The sea turtle overlooked the jungle valley, was cozy and clean, and I just felt well taken care of a guest overall. I don't usually write reviews but I just wanted to express my thanks for a great vacation. I can't wait to come back.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Hanalei Bay
"Hanalei Bay is about 3 miles from the Sea Turtle Cottage. It is perfect for snorkeling, surf..."
Na Pali Coast State Park
"The Sea Turtle Cottage is about 2 miles from the Na Pali Coast Kalalau Trail and Ke'e Beach"
Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Lihue Airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Tahiti Nui
Nearest Ferry
45 Miles
Nawiliwili
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Princeville
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Kuhio
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Mediterranean Gourmet
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Wainiha, Lumaha'i and Tunnels
Car: recommended

We are central to numerous sandy white beaches, some of which offer uncrowded privacy. mOst of which are excellent for snorkeling and surfing and swimming

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $130 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.25%

rates may vary with seasons and length of stay

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund