Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Recently Remodeled Two Story, 3 Blocks From Beach And Close To Pleasure Pier

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,650 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3BR/2BA - Sleeps 8-9

This beautifully restored 2 story home is located 3 blocks from the Sea Wall in the East End Historic district of the island. The house was restored in 2013. Amenities include a well equipped/remodeled kitchen with custom cabinets and granite countertops, 2 updated baths, a family friendly living area and 3 bedrooms. There is a sun room on the 2nd story with a nice view as well.

There are 2 central A/C units so that you will stay cool when you get back from the beach!

The house has a deck with seating and a gas grill. There's also an outdoor shower with hot and cold water for convenient cleanup from the beach.

The sleeping accommodations include a Queen bedroom and a bathroom with shower downstairs and 2 Queen bedrooms (1 with an additional Twin sleeper sofa) and another full bathroom with tub/shower upstairs. There is a Queen sleeper sofa in the living room as well.

Bedding, bath towels, and beach towels are provided as well as enough toilet paper, shampoo/conditioner, paper towels, garbage bags, dish tabs and laundry tabs to get you through a few days without needing to immediately run to the store.

A large flat screen TV in the living room is great for watching your favorite sports after a day at the beach. An assortment of family friendly movies, books and board games for your enjoyment is provided as well.

A washer/dryer is available for any laundry that you may need to do.

More Details

Owner
Angie Wilcox
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2018

About Angie Wilcox

We are a family of 6 with 4 daughters who live in the Houston area. We enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of Galveston and decided we would like a weekend getaway that was close to home, so we purchased this home in 2012 and have taken a year to remodel it, which has been loads of fun! We hope you enjoy it as much as we do.

Angie Wilcox purchased this house in 2012

What makes this house unique

The house is 3 blocks from the sea wall and about a mile from the Pleasure Pier. It's also about half a mile from The Strand, so it's close to many things on the island.

Amenities

San Jacinto House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1650 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • two full baths, plus an additional outdoor shower for rinsing off after a fun day at the beach
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , pack-n-play crib w/ sheets
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • 3 Bedrooms, sleeps 8-9 sunroom has single sleeper sofa living room has queen size sleeper sofa
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Outdoor shower with Hot and Cold water for rinsing off after the beach.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

95% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Recently Remodeled Two Story, 3 Blocks From Beach And Close To Pleasure Pier
average rating of 4.85 based on 20 reviews
5

Beautiful home in great location.

  • 5 of 5

We headed to Galveston for a girls trip in June of 2018. This house was absolutely perfect for our stay. It was a short walk to the beach and to Pleasure Pier. We also found several cute cafes within walking distance. The house itself had everything we needed. A very spacious and open living room greeted us as we entered the home. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed to prepare meals. We loved sitting on the porch outside at night, and the outside shower was great for cleaning off after a day at the beach. The beds were like sleeping on a cloud. They were very comfortable. The two bathrooms were great for our group's size. The house is very modernly updated and we will definitely look to stay here again if we ever head back to Texas.

The owners of this home were absolutely fantastic to work with for our trip. They were super accommodating and very friendly.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in our home and appreciate your kind remarks. We are so glad to know that you found our little beach getaway as warm and comfortable as we do. Thank you for taking care of it as if it were your own. We welcome your return anytime and would recommend you as great renters for others who own property :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston, Tx
2

Labor Day disapointment and washout

  • 2 of 5

The house is roomy and updates are nice. The master downstairs mattress was way too soft and the frame creeked every time you moved. The streetlights were very bright all nite coming into those windows so it was hard to sleep. The A/C was very noisy in this room too. The fan had to be turned off it made so much noise. The supplies were very limited, laundry detergent was so low I could not do clothes, toilet paper was limited as were air freshner etc. The grill had to be taken apart to be used the igniters were out which is ridiculos for the rental price per night. Books were all upstairs and I did not discover this till we were about to leave.The weekend was terrible for rain as well & you could not even open a door without a lot of water running down the doors, it definetly needs some gutters in front and on the side of your house. The drive way was terribly narrow & steep for a high profile vehicle which is not noted in your description. Some of our guests left due to the seating, small area when It can hold up to 10 guests, the limited blocking of the sun with small umbrella and the motion detector light coming on every time someone moved. Overall the stay was not that great. I have sent 2 message to Angie with no response from her. I called & got VM. There were no TV's in two upstairs bedrooms so you had to come downstairs to watch 4 channels only (no premium channels)

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was sorry to hear that your weekend was a “washout”, unfortunately we can not control the weather in Galveston nor can we have the street lights disabled as they are there for your protection as well as the motion detection lights. My apologies that there was not a tv in the bedroom. That was taken down some time ago due to lack of use and was removed from the property description, however I did find it was still listed under the “amenities section” and this was an oversight on my part. As for supplies in the home, housekeeping leaves amounts according to the number of guests expected and in your case that was submitted as “3 adults.” I also indicate that the extra paper goods,bath products,washer tabs, etc. are left as a convenience so that you “don’t have to run to the store immeduately.” I do apologize if you took that to mean that you would have enough for your entire stay. I will however check with our cleaning service and make them aware of your complaint on amounts. I did receive your voicemail about when to expect your deposit back but there was no deposit collected for this rental, it was $59 non-refundable Property Damage Protection offered through VRBO/Homeaway and we never personally see that money. We have always had 5 star reviews and are disappointed to hear that you didn’t have better weather for a beach vacation 😕�
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was a great house.

  • 5 of 5

The outside shower came in handy. The living room was great for games. We loved that we could walk everywhere(the beach, restaurants).

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review of our property. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay including the convenience of the outdoor shower 😀
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, well equipped home just a quick walk from the beach!

  • 5 of 5

This was such a great place. It is convenient to everything. The host has everything available that you would ever need. We had somewhat of a family reunion coming in and out of town. It was perfect!

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. We try really hard to make sure our guests have everything that we would expect to have when renting a place. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our home as much as we do. Thanks again and we hope you'll book with us again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The home was one of the very best I've ever stayed in.

  • 5 of 5

My sisters and I enjoyed all the special touches in this home. We had room to relax and a short walk took us to the beach! We were all so happy with our home away from home.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review of our property. We try very hard to make sure you have what you need for your stay. So glad you had a good time 😊
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A wonderful anniversary week! Thanks for the perfect place!

  • 5 of 5

We could not have asked for a cozier, nicer place for our anniversary week! Your house is filled with charm! Love the location, and the neighborhood is very peaceful and quiet which was nice. Enjoyed the deck. It was a pleasure to meet Ed, too! We learned much history about the island during our stay. It was also convenient to spend a few nights in because your wonderful home was so accommodating. We enjoyed a couple of nice movie nights. You truly thought of everything! I would love to know where you found those lovely small quilts with the sand dollars and seashells! Love those! Thank you again for making our trip a memorable one in a very nice way. Also, the book of information you left for your guests was extremely helpful to us! Look forward to a repeat visit and would highly recommend your lovely home! We truly miss it so much already!

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Houston Hobby
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Salt Grass Steakhouse
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Stewart and Perdido
Car: recommended

About 1 mile from the Pleasure Pier and The Strand.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $145 + Tax

15% hotel tax extra
100% refundable if cancelled 30 days prior to reservation
$100 cleaning fee
$250 security deposit
$75 non-refundable pet fee, per pet
if you would like to rent just the weekend, email mail the owner and he will check availability
Minimum age 25, identification available on request
$600/wknd for special event weekends such as Mardi Gras, Lone Star biker.....

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties