Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

gulf access, pr. dock

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

2 br. 1 1/2 ba

The Shuck Shack, sitting directly on the Steinhatchee River with a private dock is a 2br. 1.5 bath complete house with 1 king bed and 3 single beds and a sleeper sofa. The Shack is 1.3 miles down an undeveloped dirt road. It is surrounded by natural pristine old Florida woods and nature. It has a fully equipped kitchen, dish TV, DVD player, wi-fi, washer/dryer and a downstairs fresh water shower. It's great for birding, sipping coffee on the front porch while enjoying boats parading up and down the Steinhatchee River, jumping in your boat and heading to the Gulf, socializing with special people, scalloping, fishing, a quiet romantic weekend away from it all or partying or all of the foregoing. It has a grill and an outdoor fire pit. In the interests of full disclosure, The Shack is not where you will find a fitness center, swimming pool (we swim in the river), room service or a near by shopping mall. Bring your bug spray as there are no-see-ums and mosquitos. When it rains a lot the dirt road that takes you to The Shack can hold water at high tide. The yard can also hold water at high tide when the heavens open but it has to be a pretty heavy downpour. This is Florida. The Shack is on a well so you should bring your own drinking water. My family loves jumping into the river after a long day on the flats as the river is fresh and cool, perfect to wash off the salt from the Gulf. But swim at your own risk in the Steinhatchee River. You'll have everything you need and all of life's basic comforts. It is perfect for a water filled holiday, great for families, couples, getting away from it all, you name it. Drink in the natural and undisturbed natural beauty of Steinhatchee while enjoying all the comforts of home. You are in for a unique experience.


Owner
Fred Parker or Suzanne Bass
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 17, 2017

About Fred Parker or Suzanne Bass

My wife and I bought this nice little place because we love to fish and scallop and just be in or near the water. We love that it is nestled in the woods at the end of 150 acres, loaded with many different birds and wildlife. We live and work in Jacksonville, and it is a 2 1/2 hr drive for us to get to the shack. We like the fact of easy access to the Gulf and we love its being remote from strip centers and traffic jams. We enjoy the 'wild' aspect of our place and we love the comfort of its offerings.

Fred Parker or Suzanne Bass purchased this house in 2005

Why Fred Parker or Suzanne Bass chose Steinhatchee

If you like nature and the setting of an old Florida fishing area, than you will love it here. The house is located 2 miles from the mouth of the gulf. There is a boat ramp almost directly across the river, also 3 other ramps in the area. The Shack is clean, comfortable and equipped with everything you need. It is rustic, not fancy but perfect for whatever you have in mind. The dock on the Steinhatchee River is ready for your boat. Once you visit the Shack you will want to return.

What makes this house unique

We love seeing a wide variety of birds and wildlife.

We have seen otters, turkey, eagles, owls, hawks, bobcats, manatees and a few species of snakes (mostly non-poisonous). You can drink your coffee on the screened porch and enjoy a parade of boats of folks heading to the flats.

Amenities

Steinhatchee House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Bathroom 3 - outdoor shower
  • Bring your own towels and washcloths.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 3 twin/ single
  • Bedroom 1: 1 king size bed with1/2 bath attached. Bedroom 2: 3 single beds. Living room contains a sleeper sofa. Sheets are provided.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The Shack is most unique because it is surrounded by natural and unspoiled beauty. You may see manatees in the river or a wild critter of some kind. Birds are everywhere. The Shack sits at the end of a dirt road. The dirt road, 1.3 miles, is surrounded by dense woods. Along the dirt road are places with low overhanging tree branches which may swipe or possibly damage your boat. It is recommended that you launch your boat before checking in to avoid branches hitting your boat. Also, the dirt road ends at the gate to our property. It is not often easy for people to turn around when pulling a boat. It can be done, however. Backing just the boat trailer into the gated yard can be achieved, however, with fewer issues.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
gulf access, pr. dock
average rating of 4.6875 based on 16 reviews
5

Restful, Relaxing and Really Fun

  • 5 of 5

Upon arrival everything was clean and ready for us. The cabin is well laid out for a family or just for a getaway for one or two. The dock for just right for docking our 24 foot boat and it was easy to secure the boat for overnight. The cleaning house was well placed on the dock and had running water and lights, so when we returned from fishing and scalloping , we could clean the days catch before going to the house. Our vacation was a family affair for us, our son, daughter inlaw, and 3 grandchildren. We were relaxed and all had a good time. Enjoyed the cabin, the ocean and the small town. You would certainly not go wrong in staying at the Shuck Shack, we had a blast.

The Lindsey Family

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Joyann, The fish cleaning table in the small enclosure on the dock was my husband's creation. Fishing and scalloping are such a vital feature of enjoying the Gulf, especially in the summer. Thanks for the favorable remarks about the Shack. Funny thing, my sister told me I shouldn't refer to our place as 'the Shack'. It isn't, of course, 'a shack'. It's become a term of endearment for us and now perhaps for you and your family. Our place, the Shack, captures the true flavor of Steinhatchee, and we so enjoy sharing it with folks like you. Please visit us next year, or sooner. Fall is a great time to be on the Gulf. Suzanne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A great weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful weekend at The Shack. A cozy, clean, comfortable retreat. Beautiful location on the Steinhatchee River. Listing description is spot on. Beds are very comfortable and kitchen has everything you need. Air conditioning worked great and the screened-in porch was great for relaxing river view. We rented a boat at the Shelter Cove Marina and had a great day out in the gulf. A beautiful drive out to Cedar Key for a day trip, too. A perfect relaxing weekend.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

We had such a great time!!! House was very clean and the wrap around porch was great! Would highly recommend, and we will definitely stay again!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

my stay at the shuck house

  • 5 of 5

Goodness, what a great time we had at the shuck shack,

from the moment we drove into the driveway till entering

the front door we were already in love with the house and property.

Just felt like home and so comfortable the inside décor

just fit the scene of a vacation home. the kitchen was spacious and I loved the having a washer and dryer access. The outside screened in porch was the best and the river view was perfect. the outside dock and fish cleaning house were the best even caught a few fish and grilled them out for supper. The slide going into the water was fun and brought back child hood memories. We had access to our activities and eateries so quickly. I will definitely be coming back.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful cabin on the Steinhatchee River

  • 5 of 5

Right on the Steinhatchee with good access to the Gulf for Scalloping. Furnishings are really nice and a good kitchen. The AC works really good which is important when coming back in the afternoon from boating. Owners are really nice and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: John, Thanks for taking the time to post your nice remarks. You are spot on about the need for A/C when the salty water and sun have been the big part of the day. That's why we have the downstairs shower. Sounds like you found the scallops. Good deal! I welcome you to visit us again. The fall months, September and especially October are great flats fishing, not quite as hot, not as busy. Can't pick up the scallops but you can still jump in to look. It was indeed our pleasure to host you and your family. Suzanne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Only plus is the dock and river access, other than that the stay was a roof over our heads.

  • 2 of 5

First off we stay in Steinhatchee every year and normally in a higher end place. The prices were about the same except this place has a dock on the river. First we asked if we could check in early and we were told yes, when we arrived I contacted "Fred" via text with the #provided and asked for the gate access code. I received a reply back"sorry can't talk right now." So we called the house keeper which gave us the code. The house is a hodge podge of themes ranging from old cabin decor, 1970s, to psychedelic underwater with signs posted everywhere not to smoke or directions that were not disclosed in the advertisiment on the poor water quality and pressure for washing clothes, bathing etc. The dock is in OK shape with nails that are starting to protrude and the screen is all torn so it's pointless. We made the kids wear shoes since there is no urgent cares within miles for a tetnus shot. Previous guest have dumped scallops all on the rocks so the area just looked trashy. The first night we lost power and we tried to call the electric company with the number provided but you can't access or report cause you don't have a acct #, full name, or associated ph# for the acct. So we attempted to get into with the owners it took them a while to respond so we contacted the poor housekeeper again and she was quick to help us out. When the wife finally contacted us via phone it felt like she was upset that we bothered her. The night prior to leaving I received a text at 1015 pm reminding us that we need to be out prior to 11am since we checked in early.....ok....yes ma'am I read that in the detailed instruction packet that was emailed to me. Would I stay at this place again? No I feel for the amount they charge for 3 nights is the same as one of the higher end places in the area and the house is very outdated for the costly amount. It needs a water filtration system and wouldn't hurt to redecorate in one theme, also new screens on the porch and dock area to keep the nats off. The dock also needs some upkeep more for safety reasons. The housekeeper was great and willing to help each time we needed her I hope they keep her around.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many former guests have volunteered very positive and encouraging reviews from the many years we have hosted. My husband and I pride ourselves on offering our guests a squeaky clean one of a kind vacation home sitting but a few feet from the banks of the lovely and pristine Steinhatchee River. It is in fact the close proximity to the river that makes the well water a constant challenge though we indeed disclose in the description and the other docs sent before and after the booking that said water has issues and to bring water for drinking. It is a continuing concern. We have a filtration system. I apologize if you were in any way misled. Power outages happen and it was not welcome to happen close to midnight. Yes you should have had more information. I was however immediate in responding to your call. I called you right back when I learned how long the repair would take. I'm glad your wait was short. The gate code and keyless entry instructions were emailed days prior to your arrival and for which your receipt was confirmed. I regret that you had misplaced that information when you first arrived. That’s why I offer several numbers in the event there isn’t an immediate response to the first call. I am gratified, that your early check in was not frustrated. I am unabashedly ‘no smoking’. Because I live 2.5 hours away and cannot personally inspect after each guest departs perhaps I overcompensate. I address scallop shucking and fish cleaning in the procedures sheet and arrival points. I do my best to encourage guests to use specified disposal suggestions. Some guests are better than others in following the directions. It is indeed an eclectic decorating theme and because Steinhatchee is so uniquely Old Florida I purposely put it all together to achieve my own version of retro Florida kitsch. One guest raved about the cast net art and sought to find his own horseshoe crab skeleton. My goal is to totally set apart our place from the flat, redundant and commercial look and feel of a Hampton Inn or a DoubleTree. Maybe it is a little funky. Coastal Florida as presented in Steinhatchee and offered to guests who stay with us is uniquely different. I take hosting responsibilities very seriously. Steinhatchee is special. I sincerely regret your disappointment. I thank you, however, for your exacting appraisal. Your comments have raised my consciousness and in so doing I am confident I will be a better host.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Car: necessary

A lovely scenic and natural setting are the Steinhatchee falls. The falls are upriver from the property and paddle time, downriver, from the falls to the dock takes approximately 4 hours. Many more natural settings are nearby.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning fee $125 + Tax
Pet Fee $100
Tax Rate 10.0%

Call or email for the discount rate for renting an entire month. Or more. Cleaning rate of 125.00 will be charged. Check in is 4:00 pm. Check out is at 11:00 am. An application will be emailed along with directions and procedures. We will need an email address. The application is to be returned to us via email or snail mail after it is filled out and signed. It contains vital contact data and other identifying particulars. A separate procedures document will tell you information about what you need to bring, etc. Also, it is mentioned elsewhere on this site and this is duplicative but be on notice that it isn't the easiest to turn your boat around when you arrive at the Shack. When you turn off the main road onto the dirt road, it is 1.3 miles to the house. The dirt road ends at the gate. It is recommended to launch your boat before checking in as not only it is dicey to turn around but there are places on the road where low hanging tree limbs and branches could swipe and possibly scratch or damage a T-top or bimini style top. It's easier to back your trailer into the yard and there's room to do that.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties