Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Gorgeous Soundfront 5 Bdrm, Heated Pool and Dock,

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Space 2,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10) We rent year round!

Please book early for 2018 as our property usually books up by March for the summer! This immaculate home is located directly on the Albermarle Sound with a private dock and swimming platform. Enjoy a (FREE) solar heated swimming pool just feet from the Sound. We also use a salt chorinator, which is much healthier than chemicals and better for the skin. An acre of beautiful landscaped yard and breathtaking waterfront views are yours to enjoy!

There are two large Master suites with Andersen french doors that open to sitting areas where you can enjoy the serenity of the water with your morning cup of coffee and listen to the variety of native birds. The home, with touches of Cape Cod decor throughout, has a total five large bedrooms, three full baths, a large indoor jacuzzi tub, , wood floors, French Doors onto a patio, a gas fireplace, and a beautiful piano.

Also, the bedroom areas are on either end of the house and separated by the common living area (living room, kitchen and dining room). So, there is much more privacy in situations where there are two families or if the adults want to be separated from the kids (smile). The property is located on nearly an acre of beautifully landscaped grounds with several large pine trees where the kids can explore the hideaways, nooks and crannies, and spend hours swimming in the lake-like Sound or in the heated pool with Soundfront views. Use the firepit in the backyard for smores!

Guests have told us time and time again that the pictures don't do justice to the experience. There are (2) two-person kayaks for your use and a hammock for relaxing in the back yard. Crabs are plentiful from the dock and the Sound has a clean, sandy bottom and is just 4 feet deep for 100 yards. Call soon to enjoy kayaking, swimming, fishing, bicycling, or relaxation at our home.

Located away from the hustle and bustle of the tourists but close enough to enjoy the quaint shops, the local winery and eateries. This house will provide the rest and relaxation you need. If you are looking for an escape with or without family, we invite you to visit our Soundfront home at the Outer Banks!

Keywords: House 5 bedroom, heated pool , fire pit, 2 master suites, lawn furniture, decks, private dock, patio...read our reviews!!!

More Details

Owner
Tawyana Fleming
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 20, 2017

About Tawyana Fleming

I am a nurse anesthetist and fitness instructor in Columbia, MD I am passionate about fitness and good nutrition. I have traveled a good bit and have tried to create an experience for families who visit a "Sound Decision" It offers privacy and many opportunities to reconnect with each other as it seems all have such a busy life these days.

Tawyana Fleming purchased this house in 2004

Why Tawyana Fleming chose Northern Coast & Outer Banks

We have been visiting the Outer Banks for several years. We wanted a quiet location to spend time with our family. We were so blessed to find a property right on the sound with an existing dock and all on one level. Its located on the mainland but still on the most beautiful waterfront and the best sunsets at the Outer Banks. Its a 5-7 minute drive right over the bridge to the main Outer Banks attractions so its close to the 'action' but private for those of us who truly like a vacation away from it all. This is a unique location and the only vacation rental property in this neighborhood.

What makes this house unique

An acre of flat land with a beautiful back yard right on the Albemarle Sound. The crabbing right off the dock is excellent. The water is clean with a sandy bottom and about 4 1/2 feet deep as far as you can see! The salt chlorinator solar heated pool is open from mid-May to mid-October The home accommodates 2-3 families very comfortably with 5 bedrooms and 3 full baths. We provide one canoe and one kayak for your use in the sound. We have several repeat renter families that have been coming to the Outer Banks for a long time. Once they stay at our place, they say nothing else compares and its like staying at a home rather than a rental property.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This has got to be one if not the best rentals for this area! The view and the privacy, by far, cannot be beat! The owners have thought of every ammenity possible-they are a pleasure to talk to and work with. This home is much more than meets the eye and I can honestly say that we can't imagine staying anywhere else while visting the outer banks! Even in the "off season", my young children (3,5, and 8)were completely satisfied and entertained! We will be back and cannot wait to sit once again in those red chairs by the ocean!
Mar 2010
  • 1 of 6

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Norfolk
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Simply Southern
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Kitty Hawk
Nearest Point of Interest
Holly Ridge Golf Course
Nearest Point of Interest
A Sound Decision home
Car: necessary

Catch your own crabs from the dock! This is a great place to kayak, jet-ski,or boat. You are only 3 miles from the brand new water park scheduled to open spring 2017! The closest rental home to the park. A PGA rated golf course is seven minutes away by car with a great restaurant, You can drive to Manteo in the summer to see a live re-enactment outdoor play of the Lost Colony, The Wright Brothers Memorial is 15 minutes away by car. A brand new WATER PARK less than 7 minutes driving distance away is planned for 2017 or 2018. Our vacation rental home is the closest to the waterpark! Others will have to drive back over the bridge in traffic while you can enjoy the watepark at your lesisure Our favorite activity is sitting on our private dock and enjoying the gorgeous sunset! In the evening, build a fire in the firepit with firewood provided and roast marshmallows, The kids love this!

Amenities

Point Harbor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 1 bunk bed
    Sunroom - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king , 1 baby crib
  • King size beds (3) , Double Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1) Porta-Crib and High Chair, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Central Heat and Air Conditioning, 6 TVs, 3 VCRs, 4 DVDs, and Internet access, Books, Videos, DVDs, Linens provided for a small fee, Beach towels, 2 Double Kayaks, In ground- Outdoor Firepit, High Chair, Port-a-crib, Furnishings are new, House is newly remodeled! NO Smoking and NO Pets, All Paper products, foil, hand soaps, plastic wrap, detergents, and light cleaners are provided (please replenish if necessary) New playground/park, walking track, and boat launch on the Currituck Sound within 3 miles of the home, Dock your boat or personal watercraft right at the home! Bring your laptop and connect to high-speed internet while enjoying breathtaking waterfront views. There is a private inground swimming pool with salt chlorinater and roof top solar heater! The hot tub is no longer available after 2016.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
3% Complete
Gorgeous Soundfront 5 Bdrm, Heated Pool and Dock,
average rating of 4.571429 based on 34 reviews
Greenville, NC
5

Great location and has everything you could need and want!

  • 5 of 5

We used about everything the house has to offer. The grill outside is like a camp grill but in really good shape so bring charcoal. We tried some fishing off the dock but only caught one trout...still tasted good! We used the crab traps but the crabs we caught were a little small so the place may have been previously fished my commercial fisherman removing all the big ones. Pool was very nice! Rooms were clean and there was plenty of room for everyone. The area outside was private and it was quiet at night. Not to mention all the stars you could see in the sky! We would definitely go again!

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

This property could be a really nice place, however, it is in dire need of maintenance.

  • 2 of 5

You could not ask for a nicer location. The pool was very nice and the dock was beautiful. However, it was such a disappointment to see the condition of the yard. When we arrived for our weekly stay on Saturday afternoon, we were completely shocked by the long grass. It was knee high and there was a dead tree lying in the yard. We contacted the owner and were told that it had been mowed 2 weeks prior. Having experienced yard keepers with us, we knew that the yard had not been tended to in months. Many of the outdoor furniture pieces were wobbly and we were too afraid to sit in them. We would not allow our children out in the yard due to the extremely high grass. We could not use the fire pit due to the overgrown yard. We were told that a yard service would be there on Monday to fix the yard. A yard crew came on Tuesday and said it was so bad they would not do it. Someone finally showed up on Friday, the afternoon before we left. We were given a small refund. We appreciated the gesture, but considering we mainly booked this place for the yard and then we could not use it, it was a major disappointment to not be able to enjoy the outdoors.

Other reviewers mentioned the cleanliness of the house. It needs a thorough cleaning. It was full of dust and dead bugs. The bathtubs would not drain.

We were charged a linen fee for towels and sheets. Every single towel in the house was soured and we could not use them. Our family of 10 had to go to Wal Mart and buy towels and wash cloths to use. We would have just cloroxed them but, the washing machine was broken and would not spin out. Again we contacted the owner since the place is advertised to have a washer. She told us to use the quick wash cycle only and only wash small loads. We tried only washing 2-3 pieces of clothing and it would not spin out. The owner told us she would not be replacing the machine.

One other thing...The pictures show a hot tub. It is not there. Also, the hammock is broken, a previous review mentioned this issue.

.

Being vaction rental property owners ourselves, we hate to leave a negative review. But we know the time and dedication it takes to keep a property maintained.

Overall, this place was a huge disappointment! The place could be great with some tender love and car. It is obvious that the house is For sale and it appears that keeping it up properly is not a priority. Hopefully these issues with the property can be addressed for future renters

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was notified early on by this tenant that the lawn needed tended to. My lawn company has basically quit and never informed me. I attempted to get several other companies there during their stay but no one was available. I felt really bad for the tenants because the yard gets full sun and rain and grows rather quickly. I have them 200$ credit and profusely apologized but it was out of my control. Had I been closer geographically I would have mowed it myself! The other issues towels, outdoor furniture, bath tubs slow draining, I was not made aware of until this review and they stayed there over 2 months ago. It clearly states in the welcome letter and contract to notify me if anything needs repaired or is unsatisfactory. I make every attempt to get things fixed if I know there is a problem. Once again I am so very sorry about the condition of the yard and it's impact on your vacation I certainly understand that. The hot tub is NOT listed as an amenity at all in the listing. It hasn't been on there for 2 years. There is one picture where you can see the corner Of the hot tub but it was taken off the amenity list over 2 years ago. I wish I had been notified by this tenant about any problems with outdoor furniture, towels, cleanliness. I wasn't made aware of any of those things until this review. That's unfortunate as those are issues I would have been happy to remedy so their stay would have been more pleasant especially since the yard bit being mowed was a big impact on their vacation. Once again so sorry about the yard and wish you had let me know about the other things early on. All of those are easy fixes I can handle remotely. Tawyana
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Great location but everything else was terrible. Home was worn nothing like the pictures

  • 1 of 5

My wife and another couple rented this home from August 19 to the 26th. When we arrived at the home the temperature inside was 86. The kitchen was dirty so my wife and buddy's wife had to clean it. Called the owner along with the two emergency numbers and left messages. Never heard back from anyone until the next day when the fire alarm went off for no reason. We weren't even cooking. Fire chief came and knocked on the door and informed us that this wasn't the first time he was at his house for the same reason. Owner claims she never got the text. The fire alarm beeped until the next day until we were able to get ahold of the security company and told us how we could shut it off. For the next day the temperature was 82° inside. The pool and the view made the stay enjoyable. The pool did have a leak so we had to keep putting the hose on so that the level of the water would be above the skimmer. We were told not to move any outside furniture because it was strategically placed. The real reason was because if you moved anything you would fall apart. You couldn't sit on some of the outside furniture because it wouldn't hold your weight. The cushions on most of the outside furniture along with the wicker set on the porch were too dirty and worn to sit on. Out of the three bathrooms only one didn't have a problem. The one in the master bathroom didn't drain so your feet were in water when taking a shower. The other bathroom shower adjuster didn't work and the sink drain was all rusty. Must give owner credit because she did send a plumber to fix it. Washing machine didn't drain. The TV in the living room have a sign saying don't use broken. When we mention that to the homeowner she acted like she had no idea even though it had the same handwriting as the note on the fridge that said, welcome to my home here's my number if you have a problem. Photos on home and away site showed an outside Jacuzzi hot tub. When we got there there wasn't one and the photo was taken off of the website. We have used Homeaway in the past and have never had a problem. The owner did offer to refund our money minus the one day if we could find somewhere else to stay. Unfortunately there wasn't any vacancies at that short of a notice. I do have photos to back all of my claims.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Due to the numerous complaints from this tenant I called both previous tenants to inquire about their experience of the home. Their version was quite different. Some tenants will be unhappy with things just as in general some people will see the glass as half full in life. Specifically I saw early on, these tenants were the latter. They even complained that there was no laundry detergent. Specifically, a plumber was called to fix the faucet and my security company was called to deal with the beeping smoke detector. These concerns were addressed by me as soon as I was notified of them. As far as the hot tub, it is not an amenity at the house and is NOT on the listing. After renting this beautiful property for 13 years I have discovered some will complain about numerous and minor issues to get money back. It just happens and is frustrating as a homeowner. I receive so many good reviews and compliments I focus on those rather than the rare negative complaints. The guests checked in on Saturday. I received a text on Sunday from my alarm company the smoke detector was going off. I called them and they said there were no smoke issues then proceeded to complain about everything I mean everything with the house. I knew I could never make these tenants happy so I immediately told them I would refund all their money and they should look for another place to stay. Well they didn't and stayed the whole week in the home. If it was so terrible as they say, I believe they would have definitely checked out.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Soundside Serenity

  • 5 of 5

We throughly enjoyed our stay at Point Harbor. The serenity and beauty of the sound was so relaxing! The location was great as it was not in the middle of all the Outer Banks traffic and congestion, yet close enough to go to there when you want. We would love to visit again! Thank you for the opportunity to stay in this wonderful home!

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mary Annette thanks for choosing our home we think it's a little piece of paradise as well. Hope to have you stay again
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

The location is perfect, right on the sound in a nice neighborhood

  • 2 of 5

I felt for the condition the property was overpriced. There was no hot tub as shown on the website. The amnesties are pretty dated. The house has had several additions and feels a little choppy. The tvs and internet kept going out and had to be reset. The bathroom in the master bed was EXTREMELY small, maybe 7-8 sq. Feet. This is a nice property at a much smaller rental price.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dave I am sorry you felt the property was overpriced. In 6 years we have not increased the price to keep it reasonable for families. I feel sure if you review similar 5 bedroom 3 full bath properties with private dock, kayaks, inground pool on one acre right on the water you will find our property is very reasonably priced. We do not have hot tub listed as an amenity as it's not offered. As far as the cable service goes I have absolutely no control over that and It's left to the cable provider Mediacom. I do know it rained a lot the days of your trip so possibly your review was biased as you could not spend as much time enjoying the beautiful yard and waterfront as you might have liked Best of luck in your future ventures and thanks for choosing our home for your family vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at your home! The kids especially loved trapping the crabs and cooking them.We all agreed that this is a place to return to. Thank you so much for sharing your home with us.Kim

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Linens $75 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 12.75%

Linen rental fee of $75 is additional. Pool opens mid may and closes mid October. Hot tub is open year round but in off season from mid October to mid May there is a $50 fee for hot tub use. There

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties