Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Your next San Diego vacation home

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 2,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Come relax in the backyard and enjoy the golf course view of the 9th green, waterfall and fountain as you float in your own private pool on your air mattress.

Walk to the award winning Veranda, the Rancho Bernardo Inn outdoor patio, or five star Spa with Health Club just 400 yards out the back gate.

Is golf your thing? The Rancho Bernardo Inn course is considered the gem of the seven JC resort courses and your living on the most desirable hole.

Just a 20 minute drive from the beach, “Torrey Pines and Del Mar”, you won’t have the marine layer clouding up your mornings then coming back mid afternoon. Here the sun always shines. Go to the beach then come back to sunny skies and pool or the warmth of the sauna after a swim in the Pacific Ocean.

Centrally located between, The Beach, Lego Land, Sea World, The San Diego Zoo, San Diego Safari Park, La Jolla, and Downtown. All of these mentioned destinations are about 30 minutes away. Even Disneyland is only an hour and ½ away.

A lot of work went into making this home what it is today and we want you to enjoy your stay at the Rancho Bernardo Retreat.

More Details

Owner
Tom T
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 16, 2017

Amenities

San Diego House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Golf Course View
  • Resort
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , A
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • Sauna

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
18% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Your next San Diego vacation home
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 11 reviews
5

Loved this Property

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved this home. We rented for one week in July ,4 adults and 5 boys ages 10-12 and the kids were not bored for one minute. The pool is absolutely amazing to swim in day and night. The kids loved the trampoline and ping pong table. The adults loved just sitting outside and enjoying the view of the golf course. The house is really centrally located for day trips, it was a quick trip to sea world and the zoo and to the beaches. Tom was so great and was there in a minute if we needed him. The property is just amazing and well taken care of. I really cant say enough. If we ever go back to San Diego this is the only place we want to stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Toronto Ontario Canada
5

Beautiful, Private Home Overlooking the 9th Green of the Rancho Bernardo Golf Course!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 stayed at this beautiful home for a week and thoroughly enjoyed the experience! The house is much larger, and the views across the pool and golf course are more beautiful, than photos can capture.

The living-dining area is spacious, with comfortable seating overlooking the pool, patio and golf course. The kitchen has modern, stainless-steel appliances and all the cooking utensils, etc. you need. We took advantage of the gas BBQ grill, sauna, and front-loading washer/dryer. The home’s central air conditioning works well, though we rarely needed it, even on hot days.

Our two teens each had their own good-sized bedroom and shared a bath. At the end of a long hallway, there’s a HUGE, very private master bedroom with king bed and sitting area. The master bath features 2 sinks, and a separate toilet and large walk-in shower.

The views from the pool and patio area are magnificent! From two comfortable outdoor seating areas, you can see the ninth fairway/green, two beautiful fountains, a pond and waterfall. This slice of paradise is accented by the course’s lush landscaping, trees, shrubs, flowers, and stunning sunsets. After playing golf here, we can verify that this home’s backyard setting is probably the finest on the course!

The house also features a large flat-screen TV in the living room, and an iPad-controlled sound system letting us to enjoy internet-streaming music anywhere inside the house or pool/patio area. The free, high-speed Wi-Fi is great.

The home is located at the end of a very quiet cul-de-sac. Good grocery stores, pharmacies, restaurants and shopping malls are 10-15 mins. away by car, and it’s just 30-40 minutes to San Diego or great beaches. The owner can provide beach chairs and an umbrella, and plenty of towels.

Exit the back gate and it’s a short walk to the five-star Rancho Bernardo Inn, with its excellent restaurants, pro shop and outstanding spa. We loved playing this challenging, beautiful course!

We’ve rented more than a dozen Home-Away properties around the world, and Tom – this home’s owner – was among the friendliest and most accommodating we’ve met. He gave us complete privacy, always providing notice before he dropped by every 2-3 days to clean the pool or do yard work. And he remained available by text to answer our questions.

Whether you love to golf, or simply want to enjoy a very relaxing Southern California home, you should seriously consider staying here. We’ll certainly be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great property in quiet neighborhood close to freeways.

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at this property for a week with our 7 grandchildren ages 6-14. Their parents got a great deal this year for their "alone time" vacations! The property was a hit with the kids with the pool, ping pong table and trampoline. When we had a little difficulty understanding the TV system, Tom was dropped by to explain it to us. The backyard edges the golf course and we had the borrowed view of the greens and two fountains--very nice. The rooms were large, plenty of towels and linens. The carpet is white so taking off your shoes at the door is a must which was no problem for us. The kitchen was adequate but some of the drawers would drop out of their openings because they have no runners--had to be careful with kids opening them. Fridge could be fixed--no handle on freezer and broken fronts to crispers. All in all, however, our stay was great and we enjoyed the property. Recommended.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Excellent Californian Vacation!!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this awesome mid-century modern house for 3 days for a family get together. Have to say this is the picture I had in my head of what California living is like. Think Frank Sentara / Palm Springs. Amazing back yard pool and sitting area. The golf course view is spectacular and overlooks the 9th green and fountain. We had fun watching the golfers from the pool. The sun shines on the pool area until evening and was perfect for our get together.

The inside of the house is a blend of mid-century Eames chairs, and wood furnishings with succulent planters everywhere. The beds were comfortable and there were plenty of pillows. The house had a distributed audio system with speakers in every room including the back yard and you control it all from the iPad. House WIFI worked great and the TV’s are new with HD receivers.

The bathrooms are remodeled but still missing trim. Not an issue for us. The kitchen appliances were newer and all worked. Coffee pot was functional and clean. The missing 4 tiles between the entryway and kitchen was covered by a throw rug and wasn’t an issue for us. Owner replaced all incoming hot and cold water 3 years ago he stated and that’s why the tile thingy. No big deal.

House was super clean with washed bedding in all 4 rooms. Plenty of toilet paper and linens including beach towels, boogie boards, beach chairs, coolers, and surf boards for us to use.

Tom the owner stopped in to check on us and chlorinated the pool and made sure we were comfortable with everything.

No complaints and we’ll be back

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you and please consider us next time you visit San Diego.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Nice pool and location

  • 3 of 5

Stayed at this property at the end of July. The house has great potential, good pool and outdoor space, good location, lots of space and liked the clubhouse close by. However was disappointed to find it was in the middle of renovation with missing floor tiles, skirting and door trims and bathroom plumbing in need of repair. Kitchen was in desperate need of updating and think this should have been mentioned in the listing of property. Kids did however love the surprise table tennis.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay. FYI to future guests: The minor incomplete renovation (missing door trim, missing tiles, etc.) have been completed. The bathroom remodels are complete with new everything including trim. :) The comment on the kitchen is a personal opinion of the guest. All the appliances are new within 3 years and the style of the kitchen matches the mid century modern house built in 1967. We won't be changing this.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice house, great neighborhood, good location, great time

  • 4 of 5

We had a family vacation (6 adults, 1 child) in San Diego and chose this property due to its central location relative to the places/activities we had planned. So, the location was great for us - very close to I-15 and pretty close to some decent beaches. The neighborhood was very nice - super clean, quiet and cozy. The backyard/pool area was VERY nice and we enjoyed it immensely. The view of the 9th green on the golf course was great too. The house itself, while very clean, functional and spacious had several areas of minor incomplete renovation (missing door trim, missing tiles, etc.). Finally, the owner was great to work with and made sure the property was maintained during our stay (pool was full, etc.). Overall, we had a great time.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay. FYI to future guests: The minor incomplete renovation (missing door trim, missing tiles, etc.) have been completed. The bathroom remodels are complete with new everything including trim. :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Nearest Airport
29.3 Miles
San Diego International Airport
Nearest Golf
1 Metres
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Nearest Restaurant
1 Metres
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Nearest Beach
20.6 Miles
Torrey Pines State Beach
Car: necessary

Come relax

You won’t want to leave once you arrive. Relax in the backyard and enjoy the view of the 9th green, waterfall and fountain as you float in the pool on your air mattress.

Walk to the award winning Veranda, the Rancho Bernardo Inn outdoor patio, or five star Spa with Health Club.

Is golf your thing? The Rancho Bernardo Inn course is considered the gem of the seven JC resort courses and your living on the most desirable hole.

Just a 20 minute drive from the beach, “Torrey Pines and Del Mar”, you won’t have the marine layer clouding up your mornings then coming back mid afternoon. Here the sun always shines. Go to the beach then come back to sunny skies and pool or the warmth of the sauna after a swim in the Pacific Ocean.

Centrally located between, The Beach, Lego Land, Sea World, The San Diego Zoo, San Diego Safari Park, La Jolla, and Downtown. All of these mentioned destinations are about 30 minutes away. Even Disneyland is only an hour and ½ away.

A lot of work went into making this home what it is today and we want you to enjoy your stay at the Rancho Bernardo Retreat.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $150
Refundable damage deposit $650
Tax Rate 10.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties