Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Walk/Bike to Everything

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom in Central Boulder

Old world charm meets modern comfort in this neo-victorian Whittier Central Boulder home. We are located just walking distance from Pearl Street Mall, the University of Colorado, Naropa University, Boulder Creek Path, Whole Foods Market, 29th St Mall and more. Easy access to all Boulder has to offer -- walk or bike to everything!

The home features new furniture, hardwood floors, a fully stocked kitchen, all major appliances, and central air and heat. The three upstairs bedrooms have queen sized beds with brand new mattresses and new upscale bedding, and the downstairs room which can be used as a bedroom or cozy media room, has a brand new day bed.

There is a small fenced yard with a back deck -- a perfect place to enjoy morning coffee, afternoon tea or an evening cocktail. Despite it's downtown location, the neighborhood is quiet and there is plenty of off street parking.

Compliant with City of Boulder short term rental regulations, which permits a maximum of 4 unrelated occupants. Property #RHL2016-00924

As this is also a residence for at least 6 months of the year & the owner's schedule is flexible, the calendar may not always reflect availability so please feel free to email or call if there are specific dates you would like.

More Details

Owner
mahlia lindquist
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 7, 2017

Why mahlia lindquist chose Boulder

We like older neighborhoods, with established trees and a sense of history. Most important, we love the location. It is walking or biking distance to the restaurants and shopping on Pearl Street, 29th Street Mall, CU, and Boulder Creek. For trips to Denver and the airport, it's easy to hop on highway 36, which is just a half mile away. At the same time, our area has a great neighborhood feel and is quiet.

Amenities

Whittier House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
22% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Walk/Bike to Everything
average rating of 4.5 based on 22 reviews
5

An absolutely wonderful place for our family!

  • 5 of 5

Mahlia"s home was the perfect home away from home for our family. So comfortable and clean and supplied with everything we needed. However, be wary that she does have a very nice high end grind your own beans coffee maker which totally confused us old folks but our niece stopped by at just the right moment and totally rescued the situation. We hope to return next summer to enjoy Mahlia's wonderful house and another season of Colorado Shakespeare Festival! Thank you all so very much! Fair thee well all wonderous souls!

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: HI Cindy. So glad that you enjoyed your stay and, most importantly, figured out the coffee maker! I would love to have you all back and am always happy to give returning guests a 10% discount. Cheers, Mahlia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable, spacious, a perfect spot!

  • 5 of 5

Perfect spot!

  • Submitted: May 18, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, cozy, awesome location

  • 5 of 5

If you're looking for a great place to crash in downtown Boulder this is definitely worth considering.The street is quite, the house gets lots of natural light and the photos represent the interior well. There is plenty of rooms and places to sit in the living room and the kitchen was well stocked and clean. Owner was incredibly professional and responsive.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Boulder retreat

  • 4 of 5

The house was exactly as advertised and was perfect for four old friends gathering for our annual reunion without wives. It was clean and ready for our arrival. It is located in a very quiet Boulder neighborhood. We never had a problem finding a parking spot on the street. The internet worked great. The house layout of 4 bedrooms and two bathrooms provided plenty of room to sleep and hang out. Depending on how far we needed to go on Pearl Street, our leisurely walk took about 20-30 minutes, always on sidewalks, through pleasant and safe surroundings. We had a marvelous time and enjoyed our stay.

Although quite minor, a TV probably would have enhanced our stay and window screens would have been nice since we liked to open windows a bit to get a mountain breeze.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Do not rent if you stay up past 9 pm!!!

  • 1 of 5

This house is older but would be ok except for the BITTER NEIGHBORS who are very upset about this VRBO being in their neighborhood. We rented this house with the owners FULL KNOWLEDGE that it was a bridal party of under 8 people, house maximum for sleeping, for 5 nights. We only had 10 people at any one time in the house discussing the upcoming wedding festivities, only 3 extra people who did NOT stay the night and they left before midnight. There was no music, only talking and the occasional laugh. NOONE smoked in the house and following the rules of the house by smoking outside.

The neighbors first complained to us about us parking on the public street even though there is NOWHERE else to park. She then glared at us at every opportunity and called the owner to report our 10 people inside the house for an after the rehearsal dinner discussion. She was literally outside her house at every occasion watching us, reporting on us. The owner then called the next day, threatened to call the police if we didn't " Get Out of Her House! while screaming at myself and my mother. A normal , professional discussion should of consisted of "Hey Keep it down" etc.. Not Get Out! The owner has obviously had a lot of problems with her neighbors and they are truly sick of this VRBO. We refused to leave since we had the wedding the next day and THANKFULLY didn't hear from her again although the anger continued from the neighbors.

The house is older, not well maintained(dryer has to be turned on via pliers), and has a lack of electrical sockets, as evidenced by the extension cords under the couch. This is actually the reason why we broke one lamp after tripping over the extension cord and this owner decided it was worth the exact amount of our deposit. Interesting, huh? She also claims we stole a ceramic rabbit. YES, you are reading this right, a ceramic Rabbit! RIDICULOUS!

All I can say is if you plan to actually ENJOY your vacation, I would not recommend renting from this owner or the house.

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Actually, we received two complaints from different neighbors because of a parade of people shuffling between a camper and our home, and a party that went past midnight on a Tuesday. The camper was parked in front of a neighbors home with people loitering about, smoking and talking loudly late into the evening. That neighbor threatened to call the police The "bitter" neighbor referenced in the review has no issue with vacation rentals in the neighborhood because she uses our her own house as a vacation rental. We have been friends with both of the neighbors who complained for over 15 years and hosted many parties, as well as renters for several years. Neither one has ever complained. not even once. Moreover, having rented our house as both a short term and long term rental, I have never had to keep any portion of a deposit. Finally, in addition to the parties, which our agreement clearly states are not permitted, there were at least 2 additional people staying in the house other than what was disclosed, in addition to the friends and family coming in and out of the camper. The amount withheld in this case did not even being to cover the damage.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2
Jackson, Wyoming
5

Everything as advertised. Great location in Boulder. Plenty of room for 6 adults.

  • 5 of 5

Great experience all the way through. Outstanding communication via the app. Clean and spacious as advertised house. Many thanks for a great weekend.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Denver International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Numerous
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Flatirons Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Highway 36
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Numerous
Nearest Ski
21 Miles
Eldora Ski Resort
Car: not necessary

Boulder is centrally located in the foothills of Colorado's Rocky Mountains, just 35 minutes northwest of Denver. The City of Boulder sits 5,430 feet above sea level. Boulder enjoys 300 plus days for sunshine a year and moderate weather.

Visitors can enjoy the benefits of a community created by residents that embrace a healthy, culturally-enriched lifestyle. Whether you are an outdoor enthusiast, seeking intellectual stimulation or want a relaxing getaway, Boulder offers a variety of experiences for every type of travel. Catch a glimpse of some of Boulder's furry and feathery residents while strolling, hiking or biking through our 300 miles of trails and 45,000 acres of open space, people watch at an outdoor café or restaurant on the Pearl Street Mall, or experience the beauty and tranquility of a one-of-a-kind Persian Teahouse.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Additional Guest Fee $25 per person per night
Damage Insurance $59
Damage Deposit $250

This is a family home in a quiet neighborhood, so no parties please. Also, absolutely no pets.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties