check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Stunning 360° Sea Views and Beautiful Private Beach

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
4
Minimum Stay
7 nights

About the property

4 bedroom, 4 bathroom house, featuring decking and pool

Wonderful house for families or groups vacationing together (you can also rent Hibiscus House next door). Plenty of room for cooking, entertaining, BBQ's, relaxing with a book, sunbathing and swimming by the pool or taking in the stunning views. Across the road is the private beach with turquoise warm waters and a nearby reef for snorkeling. Be sure to Bring your camera to capture the sunsets and sunrises which are different every day.


Owner
Penny Vaughan
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 23, 2017

About Penny Vaughan

Jimmy and Penny have been coming to the Bahamas for over 50 years and now spend most of the year here. They also have a home in London, England. Their daughter is a Life Coach and lives in London and their son works in finance and lives in New York. They often have friends and family visiting from around the world and love to entertain. Jimmy can even sometimes be found singing at their famous restaurant - Mangoes!

Penny Vaughan purchased this house in 2002

Why Penny Vaughan chose Abaco

Penny's father used to manage the British Colonial Hotel in Nassau and she used to teach water skiing there and has been in love with the Bahamas ever since. When she married Jimmy they decided to buy a beach house in Marsh Harbour which proved to be so wonderful that it has now become their family home.

What makes this house unique

The fact that Eastern Shores is on a peninsula means you have the sea on both sides of the house, this allows for magnificent views both day and night. It is a magical place and a not so well kept secret, we hope you enjoy every minute as much as we do.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

Stunning 360° Sea Views and Beautiful Private Beach
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 18 reviews
3

Location of house is fabulous & the views are too. Amenities are average. Oven & lights not working.

  • 3 of 5

I believe when the house was new it was probably fantastic. Time and nature has taken its toll. The house needs some upgrades and TLC.

The were dead flies on the floors and most of the windows do not have screens. We found a note that the oven was broken when we arrived which directly affected what we could cook. A bottle of wine was sent over on Thursday ( we arrived the Friday before) to account for the 'trouble'. It would have meant more if either of the Vaughn's had delivered it personally. We enjoyed ourselves in spite of this. The views from this home are beautiful. If returning to Marsh Harbour, I would look for a different rental.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. I apologise for the inconvenience you had. I will explain the reasons not the excuses. We have just gone through a hurricane which left some damage to the house and to the electricty problem. As you know we are an island and have to order parts, screens etc from the US. We are dependant on them arriving in time, this does not happen often but we are in the hands of the suppliers and the cargo boats delivery of the items. Then they have to go through customs and pay duty, this can sometime take days or weeks. I have no reason or excuse for the dead flies, i am truly sorry about that. Despite all your comments I am happy that you enjoyed our paradise. Regards, Penny
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Palm House is perfect!

  • 5 of 5

The Palm House exceeded our expectations. Beautiful water views from every room. We even had a stingray swim by during Happy Hour! The house is large and very accommodating. We look forward to staying there again in the future.

  • Submitted: May 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Incredible Locale

  • 5 of 5

We loved our two week stay at this house. The 4 bedrooms with 4 baths is well suited for 4 couples. The views are spectacular and the beach is so easily reached and beautiful that we did not spend any time in the pool. The caregiver, William, is hard working and willing to help any way he can. Snorkeling is so good off the beach that you really don't have to go anywhere else, but a trip to Mermaid Reef is suggested. We rented a boat and were able to keep it right at the owner's dock. There is a pretty spectacular collection of fish right under the dock and we also saw a moray eel and a nurse shark. People go to the bars downtown to see the sunset, but you can enjoy the sunrise and sunset right from your own decks. We enjoyed having the beach toys, comfortable rafts and kayak. We left another raft, a kite and a beach ball for you to enjoy. The WiFi is dependable and the television gets lots of channels, but no one had time to watch. We have rented lots of houses on lots of islands and we are pretty used to what you get. If you are renting for the first time, you may be dismayed that not everything is in working order. We were without phone service for the entire two weeks. It just takes longer to get things repaired. The doors are not sliding easily and the lights for the pool do not work. The owner and/or her caregivers will take care of these things if you ask. We were having too much fun to bother. We would rent this house again. The views alone are worth 5 stars.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I apologise for the few problems that the house had. I appreciate the fact that you understand the problems we having living on an island away From civilization ??!! I have been waiting for replacemnt doors for months. Same goes for the telephone, hoping to get that fixed next week....fingers crossed! Hope you come back one day. Thank you for the beach goodies. Enjoy the rest of the summer Penny
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
arvada, Colorado
5

Beautiful views!

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Palm House. There were four couples and each bedroom had sliding glass doors to one of the decks and beautiful views. We used all the decks on different days. The house had plenty of room and was in a great location. The people of Marsh Harbour were very friendly and helpful. It was very clean and had everything we needed. We rented a boat for a couple days and went to the reef and Nippers Beach Bar and Grill on Guana Caye.... beautiful beach with snorkeling. I would highly recommend the Palm house.

Leigh Welch

Arvada, Colorado USA

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Leigh, Happy That you enjoyed your time with us and in Palm House. Its always nice when a renter takes time to write a review, I really appreciate it. Hope to see you back one day! All the best Penny
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome Vacation, Home, Views, Location!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Awesome home in an awesome location! Home had exceptional space and was very clean. Views from both sides are incredible. Perfect home and location as we rented a boat and went island hopping throughout the islands. Ray...the housekeeper was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Owner's were wonderful to work with and everything was just very low key and relaxing, which was perfect for us. Also, everyone we encountered throughout our stay was so helpful and friendly! We will definitely be coming back!!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking time to write such a nice review. I am happy that you had a good holliday and that you will be back. Hope that I will be there next time to welcome your return. All the best Penny I
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Perfect home for large family or four couples. Boat dock right on the property to put your rental boat for the week. Swimming pool to cool off after a long day of boating. Everything you need in the kitchen to cook all your meals right here. Upstairs refrigerator to keep drinks close by upstairs. Wrap around porches to enjoy the cool ocean breeze. Hammock on back porch to just take a long nap. So much more to list! Book this house and you will be impressed.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your great review. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Best Penny
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Nearest Airport
6 Miles
Marsh Harbour International Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Mangoes
Nearest Ferry
0.5 Miles
Crossings Beach
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Treasure Cay
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Mangoes
Nearest Beach
Private Beach
Car: recommended

Palm House is located on a private peninsula with the sea on both sides which allows for stunning views. There is a private beach for sunbathing, swimming, snorkeling, watching sunsets and it has been known to spot dolphins swimming by! We highly recommend renting a boat to experience all the islands, some are inhabited with picturesque houses, fun restaurants and bars, others have nothing to offer but pink sand and palm trees - the choices if yours.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Marsh Harbour House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$3,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Please contact owner for monthly and long term rates.
THERE IS A CLEANING FEE OF $150 ON 5 DAY RENTALS.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Marsh Harbour House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Catering is available from Mangoes restaurant.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties