Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Family-friendly town is waiting for you!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,016 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Great place, great people, great activities.

Clean, two bed room condo, 1,016 sq ft.

Comfortably located in down town Girdwood.

Sleeps: 8 people plus crib for baby.

Beds: 1 Queen, Bunk, Sofa, CRIB, King size air mattress, Twin mattress - bedding is included.

Bathrooms: 1 full, towels are included.

Full Kitchen: cookware, dishes, coffee maker, microwave, oven, refrigerator, toaster.

Fireplace, deck, parking.

Washer and Dryer are in the building.

Rates: $135 standard rate for one (when available) to two nights; $120 for longer stay.

Special rates available for pick or low seasons (as low as $80 per night).

No pets, no smoke.

*Quoted rates are for occupancy of 4 people or less. For groups of 5 or larger, add $10 per person.

Rates do not include 12% city tax and $25 cleaning fees applicable to all reservations. $200 deposit at Check-In or credit card on file required.

For booking information or questions call (907) 764-9622

Hope to host you soon!

More Details

Owner
Vlada
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, russian, czech, Russian
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
50%
Calendar last updated:
May 21, 2017

About Vlada

We love Girdwood. Lived there for many years and now just come for a short stay. You can enjoy our little get away place and everything Girdwood or Alaska can offer! And of course you will have blast enjoying Alyeska Ski Resort. No need to drive - shuttle will pick you up at the front door for a short 1/4 mile dive up to the slope!

Vlada purchased this condo in 2002

Why Vlada chose Alaska

You will like location and size: 2 bedrooms and large living room with fire place for less than a room in a hotel. And... you can cook for yourself and do not worry about cleaning :-)

Amenities

Girdwood Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1016 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub
  • Bathroom has a full bathtub.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 1 bunk bed , extra mattress
  • One bedroom has bunk bed that can be easy rearranged into two beds on a floor. It also has an extra mattress. Second bedroom has queen bed and crib. Couch in a living room, folding bed and king size air mattress (have to be requested) offer an extra sleeping space.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Corner unit, large, free firewood and crib.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

Family-friendly town is waiting for you!
average rating of 4.4 based on 15 reviews
Sarasota
1

One star strictly for the location

  • 1 of 5

Overall we were under impressed and very disappointed. After being outside all day and taking in the breath taking scenery, I was looking forward to downtime in a cozy, attractive, charming apartment. Not the case here. Bare white walls, no decor at all, what little decor there was, was all mismatched. Internet but no cable or satellite tv, VCR in 1 bedroom, DVD in LR. Furniture that appeared to be yard sale items that were in poor condition. I've rented vacation homes before and stayed in charming little places, ones that I couldn't wait to go back to. This was everything but charming. If your strictly looking for a roof over your head, a bathroom and a bed (full size and uncomfortable) this will fit the bill perfectly.

Thew were exactly 4 small bath towels and 4 of us, no wash cloths, and 4 hand towels. We stayed for a week, that amount of towels was impossible to work with. Not having full size bath towels was a real bummer. Two hangers in the closet. No iron. No laundry basket to carry items downstairs to the laundry room. If you rent just be aware it is a bare bones rental, with a key that requires great effort to unlock the door. Oh, if your sleep comfort is at all important, the master bedroom (if you can call it that) had a wobbly full size bed, it did a job on my back!! The second BR has a bunk bed broken down into 2 pieces with both placed on the floor!

There was a bowl of old dried out, cut up veggies in the refrigerator on arrival. This made me question the after stay cleaning that takes place. There were many utensils that were not clean. There was coffee creamer which was open as well, not sure if was left for our use or what, but not knowing how long it had been there open, I would never have touched it.

There were a few positives. It is located across from the local Mercantile, which had absolutely everything you might need for your stay. There were several restaurants that were just across the street or a 2 minute walk away. Girdwood is the best place to have a home base and travel to many incredible places in AK with a 60 minute travel time.

After originally booking 7/17/16-7/23/17 and paying the down payment, I contacted the owner via email requesting to drop off 1 day and have the balance adjusted. She never responded to my email or several others I sent in regards to my payment, very disappointing. I ended up having to pay for a day I did not use. Never again. I'll definitely pay more to stay somewhere else.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lisa, I am truly sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. And I am very sad to receive review of this kind. First of this kind. I am sure most of your complaints would be resolved should you have called me as I truly go out of my way to meet everybody's needs. I do apologize you didn't find towels - there are at least a dozen towels in the box in the closet and I would be happy to help you to find should I have known it was a problem. There are 4 TV channels and that is normal to have in Girdwood as Girdwood is surrounded by mountains and, unless you are at the higher point on a hill or/and have personal dish, you just do not get more. I do have a high speed internet and received many compliments before, never had issues. There at least 20 hangers in closets and that is hard to miss. Beds - yes, there is a bank bed and it is set as two beds. So people have an option to have more space and put it together or leave it the way it is and not to go up and down. Everybody has its own preference. Decorations - It is exactly as presented in photo gallery. Each room has some painting on the wall. And rugs. In a living room I have a real painting by local artist and dearly love it. Two frames in a hall - traditional and historical Girdwood symbols, you, perhaps, saw it in other places. Bedrooms have my paintings I personally selected, sorry you didn't like it. Well, it is not fancy decorated condo, luxury condo. There are white walls. That is why you pay low and fair rate for over 1,000 sq f condo with a fire place. Fire wood was provided, together with extra beds and linen that was all used during your stay, paper towels, coffee, tea, oil, other cooking supplies that guests and myself leave for others to use... Change of dates for your stay - I did review all correspondence. I only have email from you the day of your arrival informing me you will be staying in Anchorage first night. I am usually very flexible and make exceptions when needed regardless of short term lease agreement. My personal apology for dry vegetables in the refrigerator and thank you for letting me know - I am certainly going to address it with my housekeeper provider. Again, I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at our condo and I truly wish you have contacted me during your stay that I had an opportunity to make you stay more comfortable. Vlada
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Great place but much greater person to treat with!

  • 5 of 5

The place is neat, clean and convenient. All services available. I would recommend this condo for any family since it is close to Portgage, Alyeska, Whittier and Anchorage. Even Seward is only a 2 hours drive down. Vlada is an excellent person, very easy to treat with, helpful and kind.

Don't hesitate, this is the place to stay for your family vacation to Alaska. Thanks Vlada for all!.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your response! I am proud of our State and what it has to offer - it is my pleasure to have you and your family as my guests. I hope you enjoyed your visit and will be returned.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

great stay for a big family on budget

  • 5 of 5

We liked the stay here in Girdwood, it was away from all the noise of Anchorage and closer to the places that we wanted to explore. The price was right for a family of eight and I would recommend this place to anyone that has a big family and is planning a family vacation.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your response. I was glad to have you as my guests. Travelling with big family is extra challenging and I am glad to accommodate in anyway I can.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great, spacious condo near Alyeska and many local resources.

  • 5 of 5

Vlada's condo was perfect for our group of 3. The condo is located a 1 minute drive from Alyeska and is directly across the street from the grocery store, the Mercantile (which is secretly a Safeway in disguise), and the Silvertap bar and grill which is a great place to grab a bite and listen to some live music.

The condo was spacious and fit our group very comfortably and included all the comforts of a home. The kitchen had all the pots and pans we needed and even a dishwasher. Having a fireplace with included firewood was very nice and provided a cozy atmosphere while we rested in the living room. There are many entertaining DVDs to watch as well!

The sauna is in a creepy room in the bottom floor of the building and looked as if it hasnt been used in years, but it worked great!!! It heated to a good temperature and was really nice to have after a long day of skiing.

This was a comfortable location to explore the backcountry in the surrounding area, and it was nice to have the rangers headquarters nearby to check in regarding the avalanche conditions.

We enjoyed our stay fully and totally recommend this condo as it is super affordable, comfortable, and has great value.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed Girdwood as I truly love this small town. You are right about sauna, it wasn't updated in a while. If it was up to me, I would have updated it long time ago. But it is shared area and, as in any condominium, we have association to control expenses. I hope it will be done shortly as we were talking about it for a while. May be next time, if you decide to visit Girdwood again, it will be more up to date. I am glad you had a good time anyway and hope to host you again in a future. Vlada
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect stay in Girdwood

  • 5 of 5

Three of us came out from Australia for a week's skiing in Alyeska and couldn't recommend Vlada's unit enough. It's in a great location with a bar and supermarket across the street and the shuttle bus that takes you around the town and to the ski lifts picks you up out the front as well. The place itself was comfortable and warm, had cooking facilities and waging facilities and a sauna located downstairs in the building. Vlada was an amazing host and gave us plenty of information and help when necessary. We definitely recommend staying here. Thanks again Vlada!

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. It was my pleasure to have you and your friends stay and I am glad you had a good time and comfortable stay. I will be glad to host you again in a future. Vlada
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Alaska
4

Traveling

  • 4 of 5

Great location, very quiet.

For what you pay, it's difficult to find a better deal. I would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Alaska Railroad? 1 (877) 484 5875
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Seward Highway

We love Girdwood with its unique atmosphere of friendship, history and security. There is a lot to do for everybody and it is just a great place to visit. We will help you to make an individual plan to get the best out from your stay. Come visit us!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Girdwood Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
4th of July
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$145
$850
$2,300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleanning fees $25 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Cancellation Policy:
7 days prior Check-In - 100%
If reservation was cancelled less than in 7 days, one night rate will be withheld as a cancellation fees.

Call for inquiry on 2 or more nights or for last minute reservations discount at (907) 764-9622.

One night stay: we do take reservations for one night stay. This is can be done only on a short notice or if occupancy enables us to assist.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties